yes, therapy helps!
Types of intelligence tests

Types of intelligence tests

June 24, 2022

The study of intelligence is one of the topics that has aroused most interest among psychologists, and was one of the reasons why the psychology began to become popular. Even though the term is currently intelligence is a word that is used normally, this was not so a little over a century ago.

The concept is too abstract and, in general, has provoked great debates between different experts . You could say that intelligence is the ability to choose, among several possibilities, that best option for solving a problem or for better adaptation to a situation. For this, the intelligent individual makes decisions, reflects, examines, deduces, reviews, accumulates information and responds according to logic.


Some types of intelligence tests

There are different types of intelligence and the same thing happens with intelligence tests. Some measure what is known as "G Factor" and others measure different types of intelligence, such as logical-mathematical intelligence, spatial intelligence or linguistic intelligence.

Since this construct began to be studied, several theories have tried to explain it: the crystallized and fluid intelligence of Raymond Cattell, the two-factorial theory of Spearman, the multiple intelligences of Howard Gardner, to name just a few of the most recognized.

The first intelligence test: Binet-Simon test

The first intelligence test was developed by Alfred Binet (1857-1911) and by the psychiatrist Théodore Simon , both French. With this first intelligence test, the aim was to determine the intelligence of individuals with intellectual deficits, in comparison with the rest of the population. The norm for these groups was called mental age. If the test score determined that the mental age was less than the chronological age, this meant that there was mental retardation.


This test was reviewed and perfected in several countries. Lewis Terman adapted it with the test name Stanford-Binet and he used the concept of intellectual quotient (IQ) . The mean CI in an age group is considered 100.

The different types of intelligence tests

There are different ways to classify intelligence tests, but usually these can be:

Acquired knowledge test

This type of tests measure the degree of acquisition of knowledge in a certain area . For example, in the school they can be used in exam format to know if the students have learned enough in a subject. Another example may be a test of administrative skills that is done to qualify for a job.

However, the value of these tests when measuring intelligence is relative, because intelligence is usually understood as a skill rather than an accumulation of previously acquired knowledge.


Verbal Intelligence Test

In this type of tests the ability to understand, use and learn the language is assessed . Rapid comprehension of texts, spelling or richness of vocabulary is also evaluated. Account of the verbal skills necessary to communicate and live in community, but also the way in which thoughts are organized through the structure of the language.

Numerical Intelligence Test

These tests measure the ability to solve numerical issues . In this type of tests different items are presented: calculation, numerical series or arithmetic questions.

Logical Intelligence Test

This type of tests assess the logical reasoning ability , therefore, they put to the test the capacity of analysis and logic of the person. This is the core of many intelligence tests, since it serves to evaluate the ability to perform abstract operations in which the correction or incorrectness of the thought or is both in the content of these and in the way in which they erode each other and how They are formally related.

Types of intelligence tests: Individual vs group

In addition to these types of tests, there are other tests that measure different types of intelligence, such as emotional intelligence.

On the other hand, tests are also classified according to their application: individual tests or group tests. The most known intelligence tests according to these types of tests are shown below.

Individual tests

Individual tests are presented to a single individual. These are the best known:

Stanford-Binet intelligence test

This test is a revision of the Binet-Simon test. It is mainly applied to children (from 2 years old and up), although it can also be used in adults . Children usually do it in 30-45 minutes, adults up to an hour and a half.This test has a strong verbal component and allows to obtain an IQ in four areas or dimensions: verbal reasoning, numerical reasoning, visual reasoning and short-term memory, and a global IQ that is equivalent to "G Factor".

WAIS test

The Wechsler intelligence scale for adults allows to obtain the IC, and also independently offers the manipulative IQ and the verbal IQ . It contains 175 questions and, in addition, comic strips and series of digits. It consists of 15 subscales, and has a duration of 1 or 2 sessions of 90-120 minutes. It applies from 16 years.

WISCH test

The WISC was developed by the same author as the previous scale, David Wechsler, as an adaptation of the Wechsler Intelligence Scale for Adults (WAIS), but, in this case, for children . Like the previous one, it does not allow obtaining scores on three scales: the verbal, the manipulative and the total. It is constituted by 12 subscales.

Kaufman Evaluation Battery for Children (K-ABC)

Kaufman's Battery of Evaluation for Children It was designed with the purpose of evaluating the abilities of children between 2 years and a half and 12 and a half years to solve problems that require simultaneous and sequential mental processing. In addition, it also measures the skills acquired in reading and arithmetic. The tests can be administered in a period of 35 to 85 minutes.

Raven test

Its purpose is to measure the IC. It is a non-verbal test, where the subject must describe missing pieces of a series of printed sheets, and for that must use perceptual skills, observation and analogical reasoning to deduct the missing pieces. It is applied in children, adolescents and adults.

Woodcock-Johnson III Tests of Cognitive Abilities (WJ III)

This test consists of two batteries that measure general intelligence, specific cognitive abilities and academic achievement . They have a wide age range, since they can be used for all ages from two years old. The test consists of a standard battery to evaluate 6 areas, and 14 additional evaluation areas are observed when the extended battery is applied.

Group intelligence test

The group intelligence tests are born thanks to the contribution of Arthur Otis , a student at Stanford University and a student of Lewis Terman. The latter taught a course on the Stanford-Binet Intelligence Scale at the same university. Otis had the idea of ​​adapting this test to a collective test format and, later, this test became the Army Alpha Test, for military selection and job classification.

After the Alpha Test, other tests of collective application have emerged. These are some of the best known:

Otis-Lennon School Skill Test (OLSAT)

This test consists of various image, verbal, figure and quantitative reagents, which they allow to measure verbal compression, verbal reasoning, image reasoning, figure reasoning and quantitative reasoning . It is applied in children from school to 12th grade. This test has two forms and seven levels, each one can be administered in 60-75 minutes.

Cognitive Abilities Test (CogAT)

This test measures children's ability to reason and solve problems using verbal symbols , quantitative and spatial. The test consists of different levels, 3 batteries (verbal, quantitative and non-verbal) and its administration lasts about 90 minutes.

Test of Personal of Wonderlic

This test consists of 50 items that consist of analogies, definitions, problems of logic and arithmetic , spatial relationships, comparisons between words and address location. It is a tool widely used in the selection processes of personnel in the workplace. Its application is short: 12 minutes.


TYPES OF INTELLIGENCE TESTS (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de tests d'intelligence

Types de tests d'intelligence

Avril 22, 2019

L’étude de l’intelligence est l’un des sujets qui a suscité le plus d’intérêt parmi les psychologues et l’une des raisons pour lesquelles le psychologie a commencé à devenir populaire. Même si le terme est actuellement l'intelligence est un mot qui est utilisé normalement, ce n’était pas le cas il ya un peu plus d’un siècle.

Le concept est trop abstrait et, en général, a provoqué de grands débats entre différents experts . On pourrait dire que l'intelligence est la capacité de choisir, parmi plusieurs possibilités, la meilleure option pour résoudre un problème ou pour une meilleure adaptation à une situation. Pour cela, l'individu intelligent prend des décisions, réfléchit, examine, déduit, examine, accumule des informations et répond conformément à la logique.


Quelques types de tests d'intelligence

Il existe différents types d'intelligence et la même chose se produit avec les tests d'intelligence. Certains mesurent ce que l'on appelle le "facteur G" et d'autres mesurent différents types d'intelligence, tels que l'intelligence logico-mathématique, l'intelligence spatiale ou l'intelligence linguistique.

Depuis que cette construction a été étudiée, plusieurs théories ont tenté de l'expliquer: l'intelligence cristallisée et fluide de Raymond Cattell, la théorie à deux facteurs de Spearman, les intelligences multiples de Howard Gardner, pour ne citer que quelques-unes des plus reconnues.

Le premier test d'intelligence: le test de Binet-Simon

Le premier test d'intelligence a été développé par Alfred Binet (1857-1911) et par le psychiatre Théodore Simon , tous les deux français. Avec ce premier test d’intelligence, l’objectif était de déterminer l’intelligence d’individus présentant des déficits intellectuels, par rapport au reste de la population. La norme pour ces groupes s'appelait l'âge mental. Si le score au test déterminait que l'âge mental était inférieur à l'âge chronologique, cela signifiait qu'il y avait un retard mental.


Ce test a été revu et perfectionné dans plusieurs pays. Lewis Terman l'a adapté avec le nom de test Stanford-Binet et il a utilisé le concept de quotient intellectuel (QI) . L'IC moyen dans un groupe d'âge est considéré comme 100.

Les différents types de tests d'intelligence

Il existe différentes manières de classer les tests d'intelligence, mais elles peuvent généralement être:

Test de connaissances acquis

Ce type de tests mesurer le degré d'acquisition des connaissances dans un certain domaine . Par exemple, à l'école, ils peuvent être utilisés sous forme d'examens pour savoir si les élèves ont suffisamment appris dans une matière. Un autre exemple peut être un test de compétences administratives effectué pour être qualifié.

Cependant, la valeur de ces tests lors de la mesure de l'intelligence est relative, car l'intelligence est généralement comprise comme une compétence plutôt que comme une accumulation de connaissances acquises antérieurement.


Test d'intelligence verbale

Dans ce type de tests la capacité à comprendre, utiliser et apprendre la langue est évaluée . La compréhension rapide des textes, l'orthographe ou la richesse du vocabulaire est également évaluée. Prise en compte des compétences verbales nécessaires pour communiquer et vivre en communauté, mais aussi de la manière dont les pensées sont organisées à travers la structure de la langue.

Test d'intelligence numérique

Ces tests mesurer la capacité à résoudre des problèmes numériques . Dans ce type de test, différents éléments sont présentés: calcul, séries numériques ou questions arithmétiques.

Test d'intelligence logique

Ce type de tests évaluer la capacité de raisonnement logique Par conséquent, ils ont mis à l'épreuve la capacité d'analyse et la logique de la personne. C’est le cœur de nombreux tests d’intelligence, dans la mesure où il sert à évaluer la capacité à effectuer des opérations abstraites dans lesquelles la correction ou l’inexactitude de la pensée est à la fois dans le contenu de celles-ci et dans la manière dont elles s’érodent et comment Ils sont formellement liés.

Types de tests d'intelligence: individuel vs groupe

Outre ces types de tests, il existe d'autres tests qui mesurent différents types d'intelligence, tels que l'intelligence émotionnelle.

D'autre part, les tests sont également classés en fonction de leur application: tests individuels ou tests de groupe. Les tests d'intelligence les plus connus selon ces types de tests sont présentés ci-dessous.

Tests individuels

Les tests individuels sont présentés à un seul individu. Ce sont les plus connus:

Test d'intelligence de Stanford-Binet

Ce test est une révision du test de Binet-Simon. Il s’applique principalement aux enfants (à partir de 2 ans), mais il peut également être utilisé chez les adultes. . Les enfants le font habituellement en 30 à 45 minutes, les adultes jusqu'à une heure et demie.Ce test comporte une forte composante verbale et permet d’obtenir un QI dans quatre domaines ou dimensions: le raisonnement verbal, le raisonnement numérique, le raisonnement visuel et la mémoire à court terme, ainsi qu’un QI global équivalent à «facteur G».

Test WAIS

L'échelle d'intelligence de Wechsler pour adultes permet d'obtenir le CI, et propose également indépendamment le QI manipulateur et le QI verbal . Il contient 175 questions ainsi que des bandes dessinées et des séries de chiffres. Il comprend 15 sous-échelles et a une durée de 1 à 2 séances de 90 à 120 minutes. Il s'applique à partir de 16 ans.

Test WISCH

Le WISC a été développé par le même auteur que la précédente, David Wechsler, comme une adaptation de l’échelle de renseignement de Wechsler pour adultes (WAIS), mais, dans ce cas, pour les enfants . Comme le précédent, il ne permet pas d'obtenir des scores sur trois échelles: le verbal, le manipulateur et le total. Il est constitué de 12 sous-échelles.

Batterie d'évaluation Kaufman pour enfants (K-ABC)

Batterie d'évaluation de Kaufman pour enfants Il a été conçu dans le but d'évaluer les capacités des enfants âgés de 2 ans et demi à 12 ans et demi. pour résoudre des problèmes nécessitant un traitement mental simultané et séquentiel. En outre, il mesure également les compétences acquises en lecture et en calcul. Les tests peuvent être administrés dans une période de 35 à 85 minutes.

Test Raven

Son but est de mesurer le CI. Il s’agit d’un test non verbal, dans lequel le sujet doit décrire les parties manquantes d’une série de feuilles imprimées, et pour cela doit utiliser des compétences perceptuelles, l'observation et le raisonnement analogique déduire les pièces manquantes. Il est appliqué chez les enfants, les adolescents et les adultes.

Tests de capacités cognitives de Woodcock-Johnson III (WJ III)

Ce test consiste en deux batteries qui mesurer l'intelligence générale, les capacités cognitives spécifiques et la réussite scolaire . Ils ont une large gamme d’âge, car ils peuvent être utilisés pour tous les âges à partir de deux ans. Le test consiste en une batterie standard permettant d’évaluer 6 zones, et 14 zones d’évaluation supplémentaires sont observées lors de l’application de la batterie longue durée.

Test d'intelligence de groupe

Les tests d’intelligence de groupe naissent grâce à la contribution de Arthur Otis , étudiant à l'Université de Stanford et étudiant à Lewis Terman. Ce dernier a donné un cours sur l'échelle d'intelligence de Stanford-Binet à la même université. Otis a eu l'idée d'adapter ce test à un format de test collectif. Ce test est devenu plus tard le test Alpha de l'armée, destiné à la sélection militaire et à la classification des emplois.

Après le test Alpha, d’autres tests d’application collective ont vu le jour. Celles-ci sont parmi les plus connues:

Test de compétences de l'école Otis-Lennon (OLSAT)

Ce test consiste en divers réactifs image, verbaux, graphiques et quantitatifs, qui ils permettent de mesurer la compression verbale, le raisonnement verbal, le raisonnement image, le raisonnement figure et le raisonnement quantitatif . Il est appliqué chez les enfants de l'école à la 12e année. Ce test a deux formes et sept niveaux, chacun pouvant être administré en 60 à 75 minutes.

Test d'aptitudes cognitives (Cogat)

Ce test mesure la capacité des enfants à raisonner et à résoudre des problèmes à l'aide de symboles verbaux , quantitatif et spatial. Le test comprend différents niveaux, 3 batteries (verbale, quantitative et non verbale) et son administration dure environ 90 minutes.

Test de Personal of Wonderlic

Ce test consiste en 50 items composés d'analogies, de définitions, de problèmes de logique et d'arithmétique , relations spatiales, comparaisons entre les mots et l’adresse. C'est un outil largement utilisé dans les processus de sélection du personnel sur le lieu de travail. Son application est courte: 12 minutes.


Test d'intelligence : un simple casse-tête pour identifier son type d'intelligence (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes