yes, therapy helps!
Types of medications (depending on their use and side effects)

Types of medications (depending on their use and side effects)

July 18, 2024

Medicine is one of the sciences that has had the greatest impact on humanity. Thanks to her, the average life expectancy of men and women has lengthened. The ability to study and understand many of the disorders, infections and diseases that have affected us throughout history has made it possible to find ways to achieve better health. Among them is the use of medications .

Drugs are a chemical compound that is formed by one or several active ingredients (that perform the action inside the organism) and excipients (elements that are there to facilitate the administration of the active principle). Today, there is an extensive catalog of different types of medicines, an entire industry is behind them. And its usefulness has become very common, which has forced campaigns for the rational use of drugs.


  • Maybe you're interested: "15 recommended medicine books for the curious"

Types of medicines according to their use

There are several criteria for classifying drugs, such as the ATC code (Anatomical, Therapeutic, Chemical) used by WHO or other simpler ones, such as those guided by their pharmaceutical form (solid, liquid ...), according to the way of administration (oral, rectal, ...) or as directed. The latter may be the simplest to start differentiating types of medications, because it focuses on its use without going into many more details.

Even so, the list of medications is the most extensive, so the best option is to focus on the most commonly used drugs to simplify the classification.


1. Analgesics

In this group of types of medicines are all drugs that are intended to relieve physical pain , either head, joints or anyone. Its catalog can be divided into two large families: opiates and non-opiates.

The former are more powerful, are not allowed in self-medication and can generate dependence (such as morphine); while the latter are the opposite, and include both Non-Steroidal Anti-Inflammatory Drugs (NSAIDs), such as ibuprofen and aspirin or paracetamol. Among the general side effects of NSAIDs are that they favor the development of ulcers, can cause kidney complications and increase blood pressure.

2. Antacids and antiulcer

Two different groups of types of medications, but share similar functions: the decrease of gastric secretions . If the acidity decreases, the appearance of ulcers is prevented. A known example is Omeprazole.


In these drugs, the most important side effects are changes in intestinal transit (diarrhea or constipation).

3. Antiallergic

In this category are grouped drugs that have the purpose of combating the negative effects of allergic reactions or hypersensitivity.

The most popular are the drugs of the antihistamine family, whose mechanism of action influences histamine, which plays an important role in allergies. Its adverse reactions are minimal, but it can cause diarrhea, drowsiness, fatigue or headaches.

  • Related article: Histamine: associated functions and disorders

4. Antidiarrheals and laxatives

Antidiarrheals are types of medications that are meant to relieve and stop the effects of diarrhea . The most commonly used are drugs that inhibit the motility of the intestine, which favors retention to achieve greater consistency and volume in the feces. The adverse reactions of these drugs are minimal, although some have been recorded as abdominal pain or constipation.

In contrast, laxatives are prescribed for the opposite case, in other words, to solve problems of constipation due to increased bowel movement or lubrication. Its use should be moderate and as support, because a prolonged treatment causes the intestine does not work properly, decreasing its ability to absorb nutrients.

5. Antiinfectives

These types of medications are prescribed to deal with infections . Depending on the infectious agent, they are classified as antibiotics (against bacteria), antifungals (against fungi), antivirals (against viruses) and antiparasitics (against parasites).

Self-medication is not recommended, so you always need a prescription. The greatest side effect, especially in the case of antibiotics, is that they exert an artificial selection on infectious agents.

For example, in the case of bacteria, within the same type of bacteria, there may be strains that resist the effect of a particular antibiotic.When using this antibiotic abusively, all bacteria die except those that show resistance, so in the end it will cease to have an effect.

6. Anti-inflammatories

As the name itself indicates, are drugs that have the purpose of reducing the effects of inflammation . The most prescribed are those listed as NSAIDs, which in addition to reducing inflammation, have analgesic effects.

7. Antipyretics

Antipyretic drugs are a type of drugs that have the ability to reduce fever . Among the best known are aspirin, ibuprofen and paracetamol, which also have other functions.

In general, as NSAIDs are the first two, can cause problems in the digestive system, unlike paracetamol.

8. Antitussives and mucolytics

They are drugs that are prescribed to try to reduce non-productive cough , that is, it does not release mucus. Great care must be taken with its dose, since some of them, such as codeine, cause addiction.

As for mucolytics, they are drugs that are recommended when mucus hinders correct breathing Its side effects are minor, such as headaches or allergic reactions.


What are the side effects of taking medicine for depression? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de médicaments (en fonction de leur utilisation et de leurs effets secondaires)

Types de médicaments (en fonction de leur utilisation et de leurs effets secondaires)

Septembre 24, 2020

La médecine est l’une des sciences qui a eu le plus grand impact sur l’humanité. Grâce à elle, l'espérance de vie moyenne des hommes et des femmes s'est allongée. La capacité d'étudier et de comprendre de nombreux troubles, infections et maladies qui nous ont affectés au cours de l'histoire a permis de trouver des moyens d'améliorer notre santé. Parmi eux se trouve l'utilisation de médicaments .

Les médicaments sont un composé chimique formé d'un ou de plusieurs principes actifs (qui agissent dans l'organisme) et d'excipients (éléments destinés à faciliter l'administration du principe actif). Aujourd'hui, il existe un vaste catalogue de différents types de médicaments, une industrie entière est derrière eux. Et son utilité est devenue très courante, ce qui a imposé des campagnes pour un usage rationnel des médicaments.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "15 livres de médecine recommandés pour les curieux"

Types de médicaments en fonction de leur utilisation

Il existe plusieurs critères de classification des médicaments, tels que le code ATC (Anatomique, Thérapeutique, Chimique) utilisé par l’OMS ou d’autres codes plus simples, tels que ceux guidés par leur forme pharmaceutique (solide, liquide, etc.), en fonction de la méthode utilisée. d'administration (orale, rectale, ...) ou selon les directives. Ce dernier peut être le plus simple pour commencer à différencier les types de médicaments, car il se concentre sur son utilisation sans entrer dans beaucoup plus de détails.

Même dans ce cas, la liste des médicaments est la plus longue. La meilleure option consiste donc à se concentrer sur les médicaments les plus utilisés afin de simplifier la classification.


1. Analgésiques

Dans ce groupe de médicaments, tous les médicaments sont destinés à soulager la douleur physique , soit la tête, les articulations ou n'importe qui Son catalogue peut être divisé en deux grandes familles: les opiacés et les non-opiacés.

Les premiers sont plus puissants, ne sont pas autorisés à l'automédication et peuvent générer une dépendance (comme la morphine); tandis que ces derniers sont le contraire et incluent les deux médicaments anti-inflammatoires non stéroïdiens (AINS), tels que l'ibuprofène et l'aspirine ou le paracétamol. Parmi les effets secondaires généraux des AINS, ils favorisent le développement des ulcères, peuvent provoquer des complications rénales et augmenter la pression artérielle.

2. Antiacides et antiulcéreux

Deux groupes différents de types de médicaments, mais partagent des fonctions similaires: la diminution des sécrétions gastriques . Si l'acidité diminue, l'apparition d'ulcères est empêchée. Un exemple connu est l'oméprazole.


Les effets indésirables les plus importants de ces médicaments sont des modifications du transit intestinal (diarrhée ou constipation).

3. antiallergique

Dans cette catégorie sont regroupés les médicaments qui ont pour but de lutter contre les effets négatifs des réactions allergiques. ou hypersensibilité.

Les plus populaires sont les médicaments de la famille des antihistaminiques, dont le mécanisme d'action influence l'histamine, qui joue un rôle important dans les allergies. Ses effets indésirables sont minimes, mais il peut provoquer des diarrhées, de la somnolence, de la fatigue et des maux de tête.

  • Article connexe: Histamine: fonctions et troubles associés

4. Antidiarrhéiques et laxatifs

Les antidiarrhéiques sont des types de médicaments destinés à soulager et à arrêter les effets de la diarrhée. . Les médicaments les plus couramment utilisés sont des médicaments qui inhibent la motilité de l'intestin, ce qui favorise la rétention pour obtenir plus de consistance et de volume dans les selles. Les effets indésirables de ces médicaments sont minimes, bien que certains aient été signalés comme douleur abdominale ou constipation.

En revanche, les laxatifs sont prescrits dans le cas contraire, en d’autres termes, pour résoudre les problèmes de constipation dus à une augmentation des selles ou à une lubrification. Son utilisation doit être modérée et constituer un soutien, car un traitement prolongé entraîne un dysfonctionnement de l'intestin, ce qui diminue sa capacité d'absorption des nutriments.

5. anti-infectieux

Ces types de médicaments sont prescrits pour traiter les infections . Selon l'agent infectieux, ils sont classés en antibiotiques (contre les bactéries), en antifongiques (contre les champignons), en antiviraux (contre les virus) et en antiparasitaires (contre les parasites).

L'automédication n'est pas recommandée, vous avez donc toujours besoin d'une ordonnance. Le principal effet indésirable, en particulier dans le cas des antibiotiques, est qu'ils exercent une sélection artificielle sur les agents infectieux.

Par exemple, dans le cas de bactéries appartenant à un même type de bactéries, il peut exister des souches résistant à l’effet d’un antibiotique particulier.En cas d'utilisation abusive de cet antibiotique, toutes les bactéries meurent, à l'exception de celles qui présentent une résistance, de sorte que l'effet cesse.

6. anti-inflammatoires

Comme son nom l'indique, sont des médicaments qui ont pour but de réduire les effets de l'inflammation . Les plus prescrits sont ceux listés comme AINS, qui, en plus de réduire l'inflammation, ont des effets analgésiques.

7. Antipyrétiques

Les antipyrétiques sont un type de médicaments capables de réduire la fièvre . Parmi les plus connues figurent l'aspirine, l'ibuprofène et le paracétamol, qui ont également d'autres fonctions.

En général, comme les AINS sont les deux premiers, peuvent causer des problèmes dans le système digestif, contrairement au paracétamol.

8. Antitussifs et mucolytiques

Ce sont des médicaments qui sont prescrits pour tenter de réduire la toux non productive c'est-à-dire qu'il ne libère pas de mucus. Il faut faire très attention à la dose, car certaines, comme la codéine, entraînent une dépendance.

Quant aux mucolytiques, ce sont des médicaments qui sont recommandés lorsque le mucus empêche la respiration correcte Ses effets secondaires sont mineurs, tels que maux de tête ou réactions allergiques.


TOUT SAVOIR SUR LES CORTICOIDES : définition, indications, effets secondaires (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes