yes, therapy helps!
Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification

Types of neurotransmitters: functions and classification

May 6, 2021

The neurotransmitters they are chemical substances created by the body that transmit signals (that is, information) from one neuron to the next through contact points called synapse. When this happens, the chemical substance is released by the vesicles of the pre-synaptic neuron, crosses the synaptic space and acts by changing the action potential in the post-synaptic neuron.

There are different neurotransmitters, each with different functions . In fact, the study of this class of substances is fundamental to understanding how the human mind works. In this article, we will review some of the most significant neurotransmitters.


  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

Main neurotransmitters and their functions

The list of known neurotransmitters has been increasing since the 1980s, and at present more than 60 have been counted .

This is not strange, considering the complexity and versatility of the human brain. It produces all kinds of mental processes, from the management of emotions to the planning and creation of strategies, through the realization of involuntary movements and the use of language.

All this variety of tasks he has behind him many neurons coordinating with each other to make the different parts of the brain function in a coordinated way, and for this it is necessary that they have a mode of communication capable of adapting to many situations.


The use of different types of neurotransmitters allows to regulate in different ways the way in which one or other groups of nerve cells are activated. For example, a certain occasion may require serotonin levels to go down and dopamine levels to rise, and that will have a determined consequence in what happens in our mind. Thus, the existence of the wide variety of neurotransmitters allows the nervous system to have a wide range of behaviors, which is necessary to adapt to a constantly changing environment.

But, What are the most important neurotransmitters in the human body and what functions do they perform? The main neurochemicals are mentioned below.

1. Serotonin

This neurotransmitter is synthesized from tryptophan, an amino acid that is not manufactured by the body, so it must be provided through the diet. Serotonin (5-HT) It is commonly known as the happiness hormone , because low levels of this substance are associated with depression and obsession.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Serotonin: discover the effects of this hormone on your body and mind"

In addition to its relationship with the state of mind, 5-HT performs different functions within the organism, among which stand out: its fundamental role in digestion, the control of body temperature, its influence on sexual desire or its role in the regulation of the sleep-wake cycle.

The excess of serotonin can cause a set of symptoms of different severity.

  • If you want to know more, you can visit our article: "Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

2. Dopamine

Dopamine is another of the best known neurotransmitters, because is involved in addictive behaviors and is the cause of pleasurable sensations . However, among its functions we also find the coordination of certain muscular movements, the regulation of memory, the cognitive processes associated with learning and decision making

  • To know more: "Dopamine: 7 essential functions of this neurotransmitter"

3. Endorphins

Have you noticed that after going for a run or practicing physical exercise you feel better, more lively and energetic? Well this is mainly due to endorphins, a natural drug that is released by our body and that produces a feeling of pleasure and euphoria.

Some of its functions are: promote calm, improve mood, reduce pain , delay the aging process or enhance the functions of the immune system.

4. Adrenaline (epinephrine)

Adrenaline is a neurotransmitter that triggers survival mechanisms , because it is associated with situations in which we have to be alert and activated because it allows us to react in situations of stress.

In short, adrenaline fulfills both physiological functions (such as regulating blood pressure or respiratory rhythm and pupil dilation) and psychological functions (keeping us alert and being more sensitive to any stimulus).

  • To delve into this chemical, you can read our post: "Adrenaline, the hormone that activates us"

5. Noradrenaline (norepinephrine)

Adrenaline is involved in different functions of the brain and is related to motivation, anger or sexual pleasure. The mismatch of noradrenaline is associated with depression and anxiety.

  • Maybe you're interested: The chemistry of love: a very powerful drug

6. Glutamate

Glutamate is the most important excitatory neurotransmitter in the central nervous system . It is especially important for memory and recovery, and is considered the main mediator of sensory, motor, cognitive, emotional information. In a way, it stimulates several mental processes of essential importance.

Research claims that this neurotransmitter is present in 80-90% of the brain's synapses. Excess glutamate is toxic to neurons and is related to diseases such as epilepsy, stroke or amyotrophic lateral disease.

  • Related article: Glutamate (neurotransmitter): definition and functions

7. GABA

GABA (gamma-aminobutyric acid) acts as an inhibitory messenger, so it slows down the action of excitatory neurotransmitters . It is widely distributed in cortical neurons, and contributes to motor control, vision, regulates anxiety, among other cortical functions.

On the other hand, this is one of the types of neurotransmitters that do not cross the blood-brain barrier, so it must be synthesized in the brain. Specifically, it is generated from glutamate.

  • Learn more about this neurotransmitter by clicking here.

8. Acetylcholine

As a curiosity, and This is the first neurotransmitter that was discovered . This happened in 1921 and the discovery took place thanks to Otto Loewi, a German biologist who won the Nobel Prize in 1936. Acetylcholine widely distributed by the synapses of the central nervous system, but also found in the peripheral nervous system.

Some of the most outstanding functions of this neurochemical are: participates in the stimulation of muscles, in the passage from sleep to wakefulness and in the processes of memory and association .

Classification of neurotransmitters

Neurotransmitters can be classified as follows:

  • Amines : They are neurotransmitters that derive from different amino acids such as, for example, tryptophan. In this group are: Norepinephrine, epinephrine, dopamine or serotonin.
  • Amino acids : Unlike the previous ones (that derive from different amino acids), these are amino acids. For example: Glutamate, GABA, aspartate or glycine.
  • Purines : Recent research indicates that purines such as ATP or adenosine also act as chemical messengers.
  • Gases : Nitric oxide is the main neurotransmitter of this group.
  • Peptides : The peptides are widely distributed throughout the encephalon. For example: endorphins, dynorphins and tachykinins.
  • Esters : Acetylcholine is found within this group.

Its operation

Do not forget that, although each of the types of neurotransmitters can be associated with certain functions in the nervous system (and, therefore, certain effects at a psychological level), it is not about elements with intentions and an objective to follow, so that its repercussions in us are purely circumstantial and depend on the context.

In other words, neurotransmitters have the effects they have because our organism has evolved to make this substance exchange something that helps us survive, by allowing the coordination of different cells and organs of the body .

Therefore, when we consume drugs that emulate the functioning of these neurotransmitters, they often have side effects that may even be the opposite of the expected effect, if they interact abnormally with substances that are already in our nervous system. The balance that remains in the functioning of our brain is something fragile, and neurotransmitters do not learn to adapt their influence in us to meet what is supposed to be "their function"; We must worry about that.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiology CEDE Preparation Manual PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Guyton-Hall (2001). Treaty of Medical Physiology. 10th ed., McGraw-Hill-Interamericana.
  • Pérez, R. (2017). Pharmacological treatment of depression: news and future directions. Rev. Fac. Med. (Méx.), 60 (5). Mexico City.

Types of neurotransmitters | Nervous system physiology | NCLEX-RN | Khan Academy (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification

Types de neurotransmetteurs: fonctions et classification

Novembre 26, 2022

Le neurotransmetteurs ce sont des substances chimiques créées par le corps qui transmettent des signaux (c'est-à-dire des informations) d'un neurone à l'autre par des points de contact appelés synapse. Lorsque cela se produit, la substance chimique est libérée par les vésicules du neurone pré-synaptique, traverse l'espace synaptique et agit en modifiant le potentiel d'action dans le neurone post-synaptique.

Il existe différents neurotransmetteurs, chacun ayant des fonctions différentes . En fait, l’étude de cette classe de substances est fondamentale pour comprendre le fonctionnement de l’esprit humain. Dans cet article, nous passerons en revue certains des neurotransmetteurs les plus importants.


  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Principaux neurotransmetteurs et leurs fonctions

La liste des neurotransmetteurs connus est en augmentation depuis les années 1980 et à l'heure actuelle, plus de 60 ont été comptés .

Ce n'est pas étrange, compte tenu de la complexité et de la polyvalence du cerveau humain. Il produit toutes sortes de processus mentaux, de la gestion des émotions à la planification et à la création de stratégies, en passant par la réalisation de mouvements involontaires et l'utilisation du langage.

Toute cette variété de tâches il a derrière lui de nombreux neurones qui se coordonnent pour que les différentes parties du cerveau fonctionnent de manière coordonnée, il est nécessaire qu'elles disposent d'un mode de communication capable de s'adapter à de nombreuses situations.


L'utilisation de différents types de neurotransmetteurs permet de réguler de différentes manières la manière dont l'un ou l'autre groupe de cellules nerveuses est activé. Par exemple, une certaine occasion peut nécessiter une baisse des niveaux de sérotonine et une augmentation des niveaux de dopamine, ce qui aura une conséquence déterminante sur ce qui se passe dans notre esprit. Ainsi, l’existence d’une grande variété de neurotransmetteurs permet au système nerveux d’avoir un large éventail de comportements, ce qui est nécessaire pour s’adapter à un environnement en constante évolution.

Mais Quels sont les neurotransmetteurs les plus importants du corps humain et quelles fonctions remplissent-ils? Les principaux neurochimiques sont mentionnés ci-dessous.

1. sérotonine

Ce neurotransmetteur est synthétisé à partir de tryptophane, un acide aminé qui n'est pas fabriqué par l'organisme. Il doit donc être fourni par le régime alimentaire. Sérotonine (5-HT) Il est communément appelé l'hormone du bonheur , car de faibles niveaux de cette substance sont associés à la dépression et à l’obsession.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Sérotonine: découvrez les effets de cette hormone sur votre corps et votre esprit"

Outre son lien avec l'état d'esprit, le 5-HT remplit différentes fonctions au sein de l'organisme, parmi lesquelles se distinguent: son rôle fondamental dans la digestion, le contrôle de la température corporelle, son influence sur le désir sexuel ou son rôle dans la digestion. la régulation du cycle veille-sommeil.

L'excès de sérotonine peut provoquer une série de symptômes de gravité différente.

  • Si vous voulez en savoir plus, vous pouvez visiter notre article: "Syndrome de sérotonine: causes, symptômes et traitement"

2. dopamine

La dopamine est un autre des neurotransmetteurs les plus connus, car est impliqué dans des comportements addictifs et est la cause de sensations agréables . Cependant, parmi ses fonctions, on trouve également la coordination de certains mouvements musculaires, la régulation de la mémoire, les processus cognitifs associés à l’apprentissage et à la prise de décision.

  • En savoir plus: "Dopamine: 7 fonctions essentielles de ce neurotransmetteur"

3. Endorphines

Avez-vous remarqué qu'après une course ou une activité physique, vous vous sentez mieux, plus vif et plus énergique? Eh bien, cela est principalement dû aux endorphines, un médicament naturel qui est libéré par notre corps et qui produit une sensation de plaisir et d’euphorie.

Certaines de ses fonctions sont: favoriser le calme, améliorer l'humeur, réduire la douleur , retarder le processus de vieillissement ou améliorer les fonctions du système immunitaire.

4. Adrénaline (épinéphrine)

L'adrénaline est un neurotransmetteur qui déclenche des mécanismes de survie , parce qu’il est associé à des situations dans lesquelles nous devons être alertes et activés, car cela nous permet de réagir dans des situations de stress.

En bref, l'adrénaline remplit à la fois des fonctions physiologiques (telles que la régulation de la pression artérielle ou le rythme respiratoire et la dilatation de la pupille) et des fonctions psychologiques (nous maintenir alertes et plus sensibles à tout stimulus).

  • Pour plonger dans cette substance chimique, vous pouvez lire notre post: "Adrénaline, l'hormone qui nous active"

5. noradrénaline (noradrénaline)

L'adrénaline est impliquée dans différentes fonctions du cerveau et est liée à la motivation, à la colère ou au plaisir sexuel. L'inadéquation de la noradrénaline est associée à la dépression et à l'anxiété.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: La chimie de l'amour: un médicament très puissant

6. Glutamate

Glutamate est le neurotransmetteur excitateur le plus important du système nerveux central . Il est particulièrement important pour la mémoire et la récupération et est considéré comme le principal médiateur des informations sensorielles, motrices, cognitives et émotionnelles. En un sens, il stimule plusieurs processus mentaux d’importance essentielle.

La recherche affirme que ce neurotransmetteur est présent dans 80 à 90% des synapses du cerveau. L'excès de glutamate est toxique pour les neurones et est lié à des maladies telles que l'épilepsie, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux ou les maladies latérales amyotrophes.

  • Article connexe: Glutamate (neurotransmetteur): définition et fonctions

7. GABA

GABA (acide gamma-aminobutyrique) agit comme un messager inhibiteur, ce qui ralentit l'action des neurotransmetteurs excitateurs . Il est largement distribué dans les neurones corticaux et contribue au contrôle moteur, à la vision, à la régulation de l'anxiété, parmi d'autres fonctions corticales.

Par contre, il s’agit d’un des types de neurotransmetteurs qui ne franchissent pas la barrière hémato-encéphalique; il doit donc être synthétisé dans le cerveau. Plus précisément, il est généré à partir de glutamate.

  • En savoir plus sur ce neurotransmetteur en cliquant ici.

8. acétylcholine

Comme une curiosité, e C'est le premier neurotransmetteur qui a été découvert . Cela s'est passé en 1921 et la découverte a eu lieu grâce à Otto Loewi, un biologiste allemand qui a remporté le prix Nobel en 1936. Acétylcholine largement distribuée par les synapses du système nerveux central, mais également dans le système nerveux périphérique.

Certaines des fonctions les plus remarquables de ce neurochimique sont: participe à la stimulation des muscles, au passage du sommeil à la veille et aux processus de mémoire et d'association .

Classification des neurotransmetteurs

Les neurotransmetteurs peuvent être classés comme suit:

  • Amines : Ce sont des neurotransmetteurs qui dérivent de différents acides aminés tels que, par exemple, le tryptophane. Dans ce groupe se trouvent: la norépinéphrine, l'épinéphrine, la dopamine ou la sérotonine.
  • Acides aminés : Contrairement aux précédents (dérivés d'acides aminés différents), il s'agit d'acides aminés. Par exemple: glutamate, GABA, aspartate ou glycine.
  • Purines : Des recherches récentes indiquent que des purines telles que l’ATP ou l’adénosine agissent également comme des messagers chimiques.
  • Gaz : L’oxyde nitrique est le principal neurotransmetteur de ce groupe.
  • Peptides : Les peptides sont largement distribués dans tout l'encéphale. Par exemple: endorphines, dynorphines et tachykinines.
  • Les esters : L'acétylcholine se trouve dans ce groupe.

Son fonctionnement

N'oubliez pas que, bien que chacun des types de neurotransmetteurs puisse être associé à certaines fonctions du système nerveux (et donc à certains effets sur le plan psychologique), il ne s'agit pas d'éléments d'intention et un objectif à suivre pour que ses répercussions sur nous soient purement circonstancielles et dépendent du contexte.

En d'autres termes, les neurotransmetteurs ont les effets qu'ils ont parce que notre organisme a évolué pour faire en sorte que cette substance échange quelque chose qui nous aide à survivre, en permettant la coordination de différentes cellules et organes du corps .

Par conséquent, lorsque nous consommons des médicaments qui imitent le fonctionnement de ces neurotransmetteurs, ils ont souvent des effets secondaires pouvant même être l'inverse de l'effet attendu, s'ils interagissent de manière anormale avec des substances déjà présentes dans notre système nerveux. L'équilibre qui reste dans le fonctionnement de notre cerveau est quelque chose de fragile et les neurotransmetteurs n'apprennent pas à adapter leur influence en nous pour répondre à ce qui est censé être "leur fonction"; Nous devons nous inquiéter à ce sujet.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gómez, M. (2012). Psychobiologie Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR.12. CEDE: Madrid.
  • Guyton-Hall (2001). Traité de physiologie médicale, 10e éd., McGraw-Hill-Interamericana.
  • Pérez, R. (2017). Traitement pharmacologique de la dépression: nouvelles et orientations futures. Rev. Fac. Med. (Méx.), 60 (5). Mexico.

Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes