yes, therapy helps!
Types of phobias: exploring fear disorders

Types of phobias: exploring fear disorders

May 6, 2021

Phobias have long been part of the collective unconscious of the West . Even those people who have never experienced a phobia in any of its forms, know that the human being is capable of developing an irrational fear of practically everything that can be perceived or imagined: clowns, spiders, concrete colors, etc. But ... would it not be more appropriate to talk about types of phobias than "phobias" as if they form a single unit?

This is precisely what makes phobias such an interesting topic: there are as many of them as there are elements in our habitat and our cultures. That is, they are practically endless , and it is always surprising to see to what extent there may be people who, at a certain moment in their lives, develop an atrocious fear of things, ideas or living beings that can hardly be described as dangerous. For example, in this article you have some examples of strange phobias.


What are the types of phobias that exist?

TThis variety makes it difficult to make a "mental map" about phobias and know which are the most common . In fact, it is impossible to have access to a completely exhaustive and detailed classification of phobias, because the variety of these is very possibly infinite, and therefore it is useless to try to create an exhaustive classification with all types of phobias: there will always be some It will leave the schemes. Anything or thought is prone to generate an irrational fear under certain circumstances.

However, they can be drawn general classifications about the types of phobias . They may not be perfect or totally exhaustive, but at least they are useful and allow a rough idea of ​​how these irrational fears often express themselves. Thus, a classification of classes of phobias that include the most common could be the one we offer below.


1. Specific phobias

The types of phobias that belong to the category of specific phobias they have in common that what generates fear is a situation, object or concrete . That is, something that can be easily identified and separated from the rest. In addition, the DSM IV manual distinguishes between five subtypes of specific phobias: those related to blood and injections, phobias triggered by animals, those related to natural environments, situation phobias and the category "other specific phobias".

1.1. Animal phobia, or zoophobia

Here I would enter all those phobias related to living beings with worse image, such as spiders or snakes , but technically any one of those types of phobias can be included in this category whose trigger is an animal, be it a hummingbird, a raccoon, a crab or any of the possibilities offered by evolution.


Three types of phobias specific to this category that deserve an honorable mention for their commonness are ophidhophobia, arachnophobia and cynophobia, snake phobia, spider phobia and dog phobia, respectively. It may be useful in certain cases to have some respect for these animals for their ability to harm us, but of course spiders and dogs are numerous enough to make them too afraid to be very counterproductive.

Other examples of animal phobia are found in anxiety disorders such as musophobia, or fear of mice, as well as in hypophobia or escolechiphobia.

1.2. Blood phobia, or hematophobia

One of the great classics and that, according to some studies, seems one of the most common types of phobias. But nevertheless, the blood phobia presents a particularity that distinguishes it from the rest: it often leads to fainting . You can read more about this topic in the article dedicated to this phenomenon.

1.3. Natural environment phobias

1.3.1. Acrophobia, or fear of heights

The fact of being more or less high with respect to the place we perceive as "ground" or base of the place in which we have climbed has an evident relation with the danger to which we expose ourselves. The higher the height, the greater the risk of dying in the event of a fall. However, sometimes the fear of heights can be so severe and disabling that it can be considered a type of phobia related to the natural environment. This is especially relevant if we take into account that in the cities sudden changes in height are frequent, especially in buildings.

1.3.2. Astraphobia, or fear of storms

Storms are often associated with a lot of things that can be quite scary , and when in addition to a traumatic component linked to past experiences, the existence of astraphobia is not strange at all.This is a type of phobia that can give special problems, because the noise of storms pierces walls and makes it calmer to be complicated.

1.3.3. Pluviofobia, fear of rain

One of the strangest types of phobias, since in this case the phobic stimulus is rain itself, an element that hardly poses a real risk beyond the floods.

1.4. Situation phobias

1.4.1. Aerophobia, or fear of flying in airplanes

Airplane phobia is possibly the most frequent situational phobia . Not only is there the component of fear of dying in the event that the surrounding machinery fails, but also the fact of being in a small space with many strangers piled up makes stress difficult to reduce.

1.4.2. Claustrophobia, fear of closed spaces

Narrow places or with walls very close to each other generate a sense of anguish in many people, but they can also cause some to enter a state of panic. The claustrophobia is one of the types of phobia most known for the seriousness that supposes to fear this type of spaces in the societies in which great part of the life is realized inside buildings and enclosed enclosures.

1.4.3. Amaxophobia, or fear of driving

The irrational fear of driving is, one of the unpleasant surprises that many people discover when they have to make their first practical classes of car (the other surprise is the estimate of the money they are going to spend on them). But amaxophobia is especially dangerous among all types of phobias, because it prevents prudent driving and puts one's own life and that of others at risk. You can read more about amaxophobia in this article.

2. Social phobia

A different category of phobias types than what we have seen so far is the one that h ace reference to social interaction . Social phobias can be very varied, appear only in certain contexts and not in others and based on different reasons, such as fear of aggression that can be triggered or fear of marginalization.

One of the frequent symptoms among people suffering from social phobia is erythrophobia, which is the fear of blushing. You can delve into the causes, symptoms and treatments for social phobia by reading this article.


How Phobias ACTUALLY Work (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur

Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur

Mai 22, 2019

Les phobies font depuis longtemps partie de l'inconscient collectif de l'Occident . Même les personnes qui n'ont jamais connu de phobie sous aucune de ses formes savent que l'être humain est capable de développer une peur irrationnelle de pratiquement tout ce qui peut être perçu ou imaginé: clowns, araignées, couleurs concrètes, etc. Mais ... ne serait-il pas plus approprié de parler de types de phobies que de "phobies" comme si elles formaient une seule unité?

C'est précisément ce qui rend les phobies si intéressantes: il y en a autant qu'il y a d'éléments dans notre habitat et nos cultures. C'est, ils sont pratiquement sans fin et il est toujours surprenant de voir dans quelle mesure il peut exister des personnes qui, à un certain moment de leur vie, développent une peur atroce des choses, des idées ou des êtres vivants qui peut difficilement être qualifiée de dangereuse. Par exemple, dans cet article, vous avez des exemples de phobies étranges.


Quels sont les types de phobies existantes?

TCette variété rend difficile la création d’une "carte mentale" des phobies et la définition des plus courantes. . En fait, il est impossible d’avoir accès à une classification complètement exhaustive et détaillée des phobies, car la variété de celles-ci est très probablement infinie, et il est donc inutile d’essayer de créer une classification exhaustive avec tous les types de phobies: il y aura toujours Il va quitter les régimes. Toute chose ou pensée est susceptible de générer une peur irrationnelle dans certaines circonstances.

Cependant, ils peuvent être tirés classifications générales sur les types de phobies . Elles ne sont peut-être pas parfaites ni totalement exhaustives, mais au moins elles sont utiles et permettent de donner une idée approximative de la façon dont ces peurs irrationnelles s’expriment souvent. Ainsi, une classification des classes de phobies incluant les plus courantes pourrait être celle que nous proposons ci-dessous.


1. Phobies spécifiques

Les types de phobies qui appartiennent à la catégorie des phobies spécifiques ils ont en commun que ce qui génère de la peur est une situation, un objet ou un concret . C'est quelque chose qui peut être facilement identifié et séparé du reste. En outre, le manuel DSM IV distingue cinq sous-types de phobies spécifiques: ceux liés au sang et aux injections, les phobies déclenchées par des animaux, ceux liés aux environnements naturels, les phobies de situation et la catégorie "autres phobies spécifiques".

1.1. Phobie animale ou zoophobie

Ici je voudrais entrer toutes ces phobies liés à des êtres vivants avec une plus mauvaise image, tels que les araignées , mais techniquement, chacun de ces types de phobies peut être inclus dans cette catégorie dont le déclencheur est un animal, que ce soit un colibri, un raton laveur, un crabe ou toute autre possibilité offerte par l’évolution.


L'ophidhophobie, l'arachnophobie et la cynophobie, la phobie du serpent, la phobie de l'araignée et la phobie du chien sont trois types de phobies propres à cette catégorie qui méritent une mention honorable. Il peut être utile dans certains cas d’avoir un certain respect pour ces animaux pour leur capacité à nous faire du mal, mais bien sûr, les araignées et les chiens sont suffisamment nombreux pour leur faire trop peur pour être très contre-productifs.

On trouve d'autres exemples de phobie animale dans les troubles anxieux tels que la musophobie ou la peur des souris, ainsi que dans l'hypophobie ou l'escoléchiphobie.

1.2. Phobie sanguine ou hématophobie

Un des grands classiques et qui, selon certaines études, semble être l’un des types de phobies les plus répandus. Cependant, la phobie du sang présente une particularité qui la distingue du reste: elle conduit souvent à l'évanouissement . Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur ce sujet dans l'article consacré à ce phénomène.

1.3. Phobies de l'environnement naturel

1.3.1. Acrophobie ou peur des hauteurs

Le fait d’être plus ou moins élevé par rapport à l’endroit que nous percevons comme «sol» ou base de l’endroit dans lequel nous sommes montés a un rapport évident avec le danger auquel nous nous exposons. Plus la hauteur est élevée, plus le risque de mourir en cas de chute est élevé. Cependant, parfois la peur des hauteurs peut être si grave et invalidante qu'elle peut être considérée comme une forme de phobie liés à l'environnement naturel. Ceci est particulièrement pertinent si l'on tient compte du fait que dans les villes, les changements de hauteur soudains sont fréquents, en particulier dans les bâtiments.

1.3.2. Astraphobie ou peur des tempêtes

Les tempêtes sont souvent associées à beaucoup de choses qui peuvent être assez effrayantes et quand, en plus d’une composante traumatique liée aux expériences passées, l’existence de l’asthraphobie n’est pas du tout étrange.C'est une forme de phobie qui peut poser des problèmes particuliers, car le bruit des tempêtes transperce les murs et le rend plus calme.

1.3.3. Pluviofobia, peur de la pluie

Un des types de phobies les plus étranges, puisque dans ce cas, le stimulus phobique est la pluie elle-même, un élément qui ne présente guère de risque réel au-delà des inondations.

1.4. Phobies de la situation

1.4.1. Aérophobie ou peur de voler en avion

La phobie de l'avion est peut-être la phobie de la situation la plus fréquente . Non seulement la peur de la mort est-elle un élément constitutif de la défaillance de la machine environnante, mais le fait d’être dans un petit espace encombré de nombreux étrangers rend le stress difficile à réduire.

1.4.2. Claustrophobie, peur des espaces fermés

Des endroits étroits ou avec des murs très proches les uns des autres génèrent un sentiment d’angoisse chez beaucoup de gens, mais ils peuvent aussi amener certains à entrer dans un état de panique. La claustrophobie est l’un des types de phobie le plus connu pour le sérieux qu’il suppose de craindre ce type d’espaces dans les sociétés dans lesquelles une grande partie de la vie est réalisée à l’intérieur de bâtiments et de clôtures fermées.

1.4.3. Amaxophobie ou peur de conduire

La peur irrationnelle de conduire C’est l’une des surprises désagréables que beaucoup de gens découvrent lorsqu’ils doivent faire leurs premiers cours pratiques de voiture (l’autre surprise est l’estimation de l’argent qu’ils vont dépenser pour eux). Mais l'amaxophobie est particulièrement dangereuse pour tous les types de phobies, car elle empêche de conduire prudemment et met en danger sa vie et celle des autres. Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur l'amaxophobie dans cet article.

2. phobie sociale

Une catégorie de types de phobies différente de celle que nous avons vue jusqu’à présent est celle qui h référence à l'interaction sociale . Les phobies sociales peuvent être très variées, n'apparaître que dans certains contextes et pas dans d'autres, et pour différentes raisons, telles que la peur de l'agression pouvant être déclenchée ou la peur de la marginalisation.

L’érythrophobie, c’est la peur de rougir, est l’un des symptômes fréquents chez les personnes souffrant de phobie sociale. Vous pouvez explorer les causes, les symptômes et les traitements de la phobie sociale en lisant cet article.


Relaxation guidée : réduire vos angoisses et vos peurs. (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes