yes, therapy helps!
Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics

Types of psychological tests: their functions and characteristics

January 25, 2022

Within psychology, the evaluation of the mental state The subject who comes to consultation or who requires our services is a necessary and essential element.

The professionals of psychology have a series of tools in order to carry out this evaluation, counting among them with different types of psychological tests .

  • Related article: "What is a psychological evaluation?"

Psychological test: concept

It is considered a psychological test all that test, method or instrument used for the purpose of evaluating or measuring one or more of one of the different characteristics that are part of the psyche of the individual. The psychological tests are based on the observable behavior and the expression of the subjectivity of the analyzed in order to infer the characteristics and mental state of the subject, being necessary a later analysis in order to be able to extract information with clinical significance.


Psychological tests try as much as possible that the information obtained through its execution is valid and reliable , trying to reflect what is intended to be measured (we must not forget that psychological characteristics are constructs not directly observable) and that they can be replicated by other professionals (that is, that the information obtained by a person about a subject can be obtained by another professional if you perform the same measurement).

Likewise, the scores obtained have to be transformed in order to have a meaning, being generally compared or with the average obtained by representative samples of the population, with the previous performance or with a criterion established in advance.


Based on this concept, numerous types of psychological tests have been formulated. following different criteria and with different objectives .

Dimensions and types of psychological tests derived

When performing a psychological test there are many aspects that we have to take into account when assessing what kind of information we want to obtain and how we are going to get it.

Some of the main dimensions that must be evaluated are the following.

1. Level of structuring

The different types of psychological tests can vary enormously depending on whether the information is requested in a more or less concise manner or else the analysand is allowed more or less freedom to express himself.

This aspect is fundamental in order to obtain the information . Having a very structured test will allow you to obtain short and concise answers, directing the evaluation to the aspects considered most relevant. However, you can lose a lot of relevant information that could help a better adjustment and understanding of the mental state of the subject.


In this sense we can find types of unstructured psychological tests (in which the content of the evaluation varies depending on the responses of the subject), semi-structured (in which although freedom of response is offered and questions vary depending on the information which is reflected is intended to follow a more or less predetermined script) or structured (in which although the answers issued are taken into account, the evaluation follows a predefined course)

2. Level of voluntariness

With voluntariness we refer to to the degree that the subject has control over the response issued. For example, if an electroencephalogram is done the subject has no control over what response it emits, while in some tests the individual can decide the type of response it gives.

3. Level of masking

Masking is understood as the degree to which the subject knows the purpose of the test or test that is being applied and / or the connotations of their answers. In this sense the tests can be masked (as for example the Rorschach test, in which the individual does not know what their answers mean) or not masked.

4. Level of objectivity

The level of objectivity of the data refers to the degree to which the answers are derived from the subjectivity of the patient or it is empirical and visible data. In this sense we can find different types of psychological tests, the objective tests and the subjective tests , although all the measurement instruments can be evaluated in this sense.

According to the number of evaluated

When we think of a psychological evaluation we usually imagine a situation in which a person is being analyzed by a professional, usually in the clinical or human resources field.

However, whether in these or other contexts, often It is possible to make a joint evaluation of several individuals , or even perform an evaluation of a group as such. So we can find:

1. Individual tests

It is about those types of psychological tests in which they are evaluated the characteristics or performance of a single subject . These are usually tests that require a certain level of specialization to be performed, and provide a lot of information about the same individual. It also allows establishing a relationship with the evaluator that can allow him to see and analyze various aspects that may or may not be included in the test.

2. Group or group tests

The collective tests are those carried out in groups. They usually require a lower level of training for their application than individual ones. While save time and money , they usually involve a certain loss of information with respect to the individual and the assessment by a psychologist or evaluator is greatly hindered.

Depending on the content

The tests can also be classified according to what kind of mental content are dedicated to evaluate . In this sense we can find the following types of psychological tests.

1. Intelligence Test

Intellectual capacity is one of the aspects that have been evaluated the most throughout history. The purpose of its use is to discover the potential and ability to adapt and use different strategies , along with the ability to store and use one's mental resources is evaluated with these tests.

  • Related article: "Types of intelligence tests"

2. Test of aptitudes

But mental abilities are not limited only to intelligence, there are many other characteristics that allow our behaviors to be more or less effective in one or several areas. Specially applied in personnel selection , this type of tests reflect the capacity in concrete aspects of the reality and allow to predict the effectiveness and performance of the subject.

3. Personality test

People tend to behave and see the world in a certain way, a pattern that we acquire partly through inheritance and partly according to our experiences throughout the development. Measure such patterns of behavior , beliefs, emotions and thought allows us to get an idea of ​​the way of being of the person evaluated, as well as the way he usually sees or acts in the world.

  • Related article: "The 5 big personality traits: sociability, responsibility, openness, kindness and neuroticism"

4. Psychopathology tests

The presence of problems and even mental disorders is an increasingly common element in today's society. Diagnose such problems allows us to guide the individual regarding different measures and treatments to be applied in order to solve the difficulties he suffers.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

5. Neuropsychological test

This type of psychological tests are used to help determine the mental and perceptual state of an individual , usually applied in subjects who have suffered an injury of some kind. Therefore, the objective with which they are designed is the scope of the possible damages in different types of mental processes.

6. Development / aging test

This type of test is used to assess the degree to which an individual it develops throughout the life cycle , observing the presence of alterations and comparing the degree of development in relation to the normativity.

7. Test of interests / professional vocation

They are based on the analysis of the preferences of the subject, allowing its orientation towards certain goals or objectives . Normally they are applied in young people who go through their adolescence or post-adolescence and who need to be oriented to decide their formative trajectory.

Based on performance criteria

Another fundamental aspect when carrying out a test is to take into account how it will be evaluated. In this aspect we can find two great types of psychological tests.

1. Maximum execution test

The maximum performance tests aim to evaluate the maximum potential of a person in a characteristic or psychological aspect. Therefore, the efficiency of the individual is taken into account, being relevant the time it takes to finish a task and evaluating the measured characteristic according to its correction and speed. Objective and sometimes psychometric techniques tend to use this type of criteria, as in intelligence or neuropsychological tests.

2. Tests of typical execution

This type of test is characterized because it seeks to evaluate the performance or typical characteristics of the subject in certain tasks or aspects, ie what is common and everyday in the individual. The time it takes to perform the demanded task is not of interest or significant per se. Within this group the subjective and projective techniques are usually found , which evaluate aspects such as personality.

Pervin's classification

Taking into account all the previous aspects, different authors have generated throughout the history different classifications of the types of psychological tests. One of the most widespread and accepted classifications is Pervin's , which considers the existence of the following categories.

1. Psychometric tests

The psychometric tests are those employees in measuring specific characteristics of the psyche , such as intelligence tests or aptitudes. It is one of the types of psychological tests that considers that individuals will respond sincerely, applying for this non-masked tests, in which the answers are voluntarily controlled by the subject.

They are highly structured , and they are frequently used both in the clinic and in areas such as work and education.

2. Test objectives

Highly structured, this type of test and tests they are based on physiological correlates in order to measure a certain element. Due to this, the answers given are not voluntary nor can they be modified. However, the objective of the test is usually clear, so it would be considered not masked. Different instruments and devices are used to record the individual's responses, not depending on the evaluator for the registration per se. Typical examples of objective tests can be the polygraph or biofeedback.

Within the objective tests we can find:

  • Cognitive tests . Evaluate aspects such as attention, concentration or perception
  • Motor test . Evaluate the performance of muscle responses to various stimuli
  • Psychophysiological tests . They evaluate the relationship between behavior and physiology in aspects such as breathing, heart rate, temperature, sexual response or digestion-

3. Subjective tests

It is the most usual type of psychological tests when measuring aspects of personality and experiences of the subject from self-verbalizations or self-descriptions provided by the same subject according to a series of items. Of voluntary response, the individual may try to falsify the information provided , although in order to detect such attempts, different scales of reliability are usually applied. They are usually semi-structured and adapted to the objective or concrete element that is being measured

4. Projective test

The subjective tests are usually used to analyze the deepest aspects and personality traits of the individual. It is the type of psychological test less structured, not restricting in any sense the answer issued by the analysand and having all the answers of the subject a valid meaning that must be analyzed and valued.

These answers are subjective, since they represent the internal world of the subject in question . The individual in question does not know the meaning or meaning of their answers, being one of the types of psychological tests masked. Each response and aspect represented is important, but it only makes sense and can be given meaning in relation to the whole.

The main problem with this type of test is found in the wide freedom of possible answers and the low level of standardization of these, being able to interpret the same answer from different points of view according to the method of interpretation used. he does not usually know the psychological meaning of his answers.

Within the subjective tests we can find different typologies. Specifically, they include:

  • Structural tests . In them the patient must make sense and organize a visual material. One of the most famous is the Rorschach Test.
  • Thematic tests . It is asked to tell a story from the material presented in pictures (the TAT or Thematic Apperception Test is usually the best known).
  • Expressive tests . The subject is asked to draw a specific element (one of the best known is the HTC, a test in which a person, a house and a tree are asked to draw)
  • Constructive tests . The individual is asked to construct a specific element with the pieces that are provided (the Imaginary Village Test is a good example of this)
  • Associative tests . In this type of projective psychological tests, the analysand is asked to associate a word (orally or in writing) with another word or stimulus that is provided. The Word Association test is one of the most used.
  • Refractory tests . It is based on the analysis of the personality based on the products of the subject's activity, such as his writing.

Bibliographic references:

  • Buela-Casal, G. and Sierra, J.C. (1997). Psychological evaluation manual. Ed. Siglo XXI: Madrid.
  • Cohen, R.J. & Swerdlik, M.E. (2002). Psychological tests and evaluation. McGraw-Hill: Madrid.
  • Sanz, L.J. and Álvarez, C.A. (2012). Evaluation in Clinical Psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR. 05. CEDE: Madrid.

CHARACTERISTICS OF A GOOD TEST : VALIDITY AND RELIABILITY (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de tests psychologiques: leurs fonctions et caractéristiques

Types de tests psychologiques: leurs fonctions et caractéristiques

Janvier 22, 2022

Au sein de la psychologie, l'évaluation de l'état mental Le sujet qui vient en consultation ou qui a besoin de nos services est un élément nécessaire et essentiel.

Les professionnels de la psychologie disposent d’une série d’outils pour mener à bien cette évaluation, comptant parmi eux avec différents types de tests psychologiques .

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce qu'une évaluation psychologique?"

Test psychologique: concept

C'est considéré comme un test psychologique tous les essais, méthodes ou instruments utilisés pour évaluer ou mesurer une ou plusieurs des caractéristiques qui font partie de la psyché de l'individu. Les tests psychologiques reposent sur le comportement observable et l’expression de la subjectivité de l’analysé afin de déduire les caractéristiques et l’état mental du sujet, une analyse ultérieure étant nécessaire pour pouvoir extraire des informations ayant une signification clinique.


Les tests psychologiques essayent autant que possible que les informations obtenues lors de son exécution sont valides et fiables en essayant de refléter ce qui est censé être mesuré (il ne faut pas oublier que les caractéristiques psychologiques sont des constructions non observables directement) et qu'elles peuvent être reproduites par d'autres professionnels (c'est-à-dire que les informations obtenues par une personne sur un sujet peuvent être obtenues par un autre professionnel si vous effectuez la même mesure).

De même, les scores obtenus doivent être transformés pour avoir un sens, en les comparant généralement ou avec la moyenne obtenue par des échantillons représentatifs de la population, avec la performance antérieure ou avec un critère établi à l'avance.


Sur la base de ce concept, de nombreux types de tests psychologiques ont été formulés. suivant différents critères et avec des objectifs différents .

Dimensions et types de tests psychologiques dérivés

Lors de la réalisation d'un test psychologique, nous devons prendre en compte de nombreux aspects lors de l'évaluation du type d'informations que nous souhaitons obtenir et de la manière dont nous allons les obtenir.

Les principales dimensions à évaluer sont les suivantes.

1. Niveau de structuration

Les différents types de tests psychologiques peuvent varier énormément selon que l'information est demandée de manière plus ou moins concise ou que l'analysant a plus ou moins de liberté pour s'exprimer.

Cet aspect est fondamental afin d'obtenir les informations . Avoir un test très structuré vous permettra d’obtenir des réponses courtes et concises, en orientant l’évaluation sur les aspects considérés les plus pertinents. Cependant, vous pouvez perdre beaucoup d'informations pertinentes qui pourraient vous aider à mieux vous adapter et à mieux comprendre l'état mental du sujet.


En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver des types de tests psychologiques non structurés (dans lesquels le contenu de l'évaluation varie en fonction des réponses du sujet), semi-structurés (dans lesquels la liberté de réponse est offerte et les questions varient en fonction des informations qui est reflété est destiné à suivre un scénario plus ou moins prédéterminé) ou structuré (dans lequel, bien que les réponses fournies soient prises en compte, l’évaluation suit un cours prédéfini)

2. Niveau de volontariat

Nous nous référons volontairement à dans la mesure où le sujet a le contrôle de la réponse délivré. Par exemple, si un électroencéphalogramme est effectué, le sujet n’a aucun contrôle sur la réponse qu’il émet, alors que lors de certains tests, il peut décider du type de réponse qu’il donne.

3. Niveau de masquage

Le masquage est compris comme le degré auquel le sujet connaît le but du test ou du test appliqué et / ou les connotations de leurs réponses. Dans ce sens, les tests peuvent être masqués (comme par exemple le test de Rorschach, dans lequel l'individu ne sait pas ce que leurs réponses signifient) ou non masqués.

4. Niveau d'objectivité

Le niveau d'objectivité des données désigne le degré de déduction des réponses à partir de la subjectivité du patient ou de données empiriques et visibles. En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver différents types de tests psychologiques, les tests objectifs et les tests subjectifs , bien que tous les instruments de mesure puissent être évalués dans ce sens.

Selon le nombre de personnes évaluées

Lorsque nous pensons à une évaluation psychologique, nous imaginons généralement une situation dans laquelle une personne est analysée par un professionnel, généralement dans le domaine des ressources humaines ou cliniques.

Cependant, que ce soit dans ces contextes ou dans d’autres, souvent Il est possible de faire une évaluation conjointe de plusieurs individus , ou même effectuer une évaluation d'un groupe en tant que tel. Nous pouvons donc trouver:

1. Tests individuels

Il s'agit des types de tests psychologiques dans lesquels ils sont évalués les caractéristiques ou les performances d'un seul sujet . Ce sont généralement des tests nécessitant un certain niveau de spécialisation et fournissant de nombreuses informations sur le même individu. Cela permet également d'établir une relation avec l'évaluateur lui permettant de voir et d'analyser divers aspects pouvant être inclus ou non dans le test.

2. Tests de groupe ou de groupe

Les tests collectifs sont ceux réalisés en groupe. Ils ont généralement besoin d’un niveau de formation moins élevé que leur utilisation individuelle. Pendant que gagner du temps et de l'argent , ils impliquent généralement une certaine perte d’informations sur l’individu et l’évaluation par un psychologue ou un évaluateur est grandement entravée.

En fonction du contenu

Les tests peuvent également être classés en fonction de quel type de contenu mental sont dédiés à l'évaluation . En ce sens, nous pouvons trouver les types de tests psychologiques suivants.

1. Test d'intelligence

La capacité intellectuelle est l’un des aspects les plus évalués au cours de l’histoire. Le but de son utilisation est de découvrir le potentiel et capacité d'adaptation et d'utilisation de différentes stratégies , ainsi que la capacité de stocker et d’utiliser ses ressources mentales sont évaluées avec ces tests.

  • Article connexe: "Types de tests d'intelligence"

2. Test d'aptitudes

Mais les capacités mentales ne se limitent pas à l’intelligence, il existe de nombreuses autres caractéristiques qui permettent à nos comportements d’être plus ou moins efficaces dans un ou plusieurs domaines. Spécialement appliqué à la sélection du personnel , ce type de test reflète la capacité à concrétiser des aspects de la réalité et permet de prédire l’efficacité et la performance du sujet.

3. Test de personnalité

Les gens ont tendance à se comporter et à voir le monde d'une certaine manière, un modèle que nous acquérons en partie par héritage et en partie en fonction de nos expériences tout au long du développement. Mesurer de tels comportements , croyances, émotions et pensées nous permettent d’avoir une idée de la manière dont la personne est évaluée, ainsi que de la façon dont elle voit ou agit habituellement dans le monde.

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 grands traits de personnalité: sociabilité, responsabilité, ouverture d'esprit, gentillesse et neuroticisme"

4. Tests psychopathologiques

La présence de problèmes et même de troubles mentaux est un élément de plus en plus courant dans la société d'aujourd'hui. Diagnostiquer de tels problèmes nous permet de guider l'individu quant aux différentes mesures et traitements à appliquer pour résoudre les difficultés qu'il subit.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

5. Test neuropsychologique

Ce type de tests psychologiques est utilisé pour aider à déterminer l'état mental et perceptuel d'un individu , généralement appliqué chez les sujets qui ont subi une blessure quelconque. Par conséquent, l'objectif avec lequel ils sont conçus est la portée des dommages possibles dans différents types de processus mentaux.

6. Test de développement / vieillissement

Ce type de test est utilisé pour évaluer dans quelle mesure une personne il se développe tout au long du cycle de vie en observant la présence d'altérations et en comparant le degré de développement par rapport à la normativité.

7. Test d'intérêts / vocation professionnelle

Ils sont basés sur l'analyse des préférences du sujet, permettant son orientation vers certains buts ou objectifs . Normalement, ils sont appliqués chez les jeunes qui passent leur adolescence ou leur post-adolescence et qui ont besoin d’être orientés pour décider de leur trajectoire formatrice.

Basé sur des critères de performance

Un autre aspect fondamental lors de la réalisation d'un test est de prendre en compte la manière dont il sera évalué. Dans cet aspect, nous pouvons trouver deux grands types de tests psychologiques.

1. Test d'exécution maximum

Les tests de performance maximale visent à évaluer le potentiel maximal d'une personne sous un aspect caractéristique ou psychologique. Par conséquent, l'efficacité de l'individu est prise en compte, être pertinent le temps qu'il faut pour terminer une tâche et évaluer la caractéristique mesurée en fonction de sa correction et de sa vitesse. Les techniques objectives et parfois psychométriques ont tendance à utiliser ce type de critères, comme dans les tests d'intelligence ou neuropsychologiques.

2. Tests d'exécution typique

Ce type de test est caractérisé parce qu’il cherche à évaluer la performance ou les caractéristiques typiques du sujet dans certaines tâches ou dans certains aspects, c’est-à-dire ce qui est commun et quotidien chez l’individu. Le temps nécessaire à l'exécution de la tâche demandée n'est ni intéressant ni significatif en soi. Au sein de ce groupe les techniques subjectives et projectives se trouvent généralement , qui évaluent des aspects tels que la personnalité.

Classification de Pervin

Tenant compte de tous les aspects précédents, différents auteurs ont généré au cours de l’histoire différentes classifications des types de tests psychologiques. Une des classifications les plus répandues et acceptées est celle de Pervin. , qui considère l’existence des catégories suivantes.

1. Tests psychométriques

Les tests psychométriques sont les employés dans la mesure des caractéristiques spécifiques de la psyché , tels que les tests d'intelligence ou les aptitudes. C’est l’un des types de tests psychologiques permettant de penser que les personnes répondront sincèrement, en s’inscrivant à ce test non masqué, dans lequel les réponses sont contrôlées volontairement par le sujet.

Ils sont très structurés , et ils sont fréquemment utilisés à la fois en clinique et dans des domaines tels que le travail et l’éducation.

2. Objectifs du test

Très structuré, ce type de test et de tests ils sont basés sur des corrélats physiologiques afin de mesurer un certain élément. Pour cette raison, les réponses données ne sont ni volontaires ni modifiables. Cependant, l'objectif du test étant généralement clair, il serait considéré comme non masqué. Différents instruments et dispositifs sont utilisés pour enregistrer les réponses de l'individu, indépendamment de l'évaluateur pour l'enregistrement en tant que tel. Des exemples typiques de tests objectifs peuvent être le polygraphe ou le biofeedback.

Dans les tests objectifs, nous pouvons trouver:

  • Tests cognitifs . Évaluer des aspects tels que l'attention, la concentration ou la perception
  • Test moteur . Évaluer la performance des réponses musculaires à différents stimuli
  • Tests psychophysiologiques . Ils évaluent la relation entre comportement et physiologie sous des aspects tels que la respiration, la fréquence cardiaque, la température, la réponse sexuelle ou la digestion.

3. Tests subjectifs

C'est le type le plus courant de tests psychologiques lors de la mesure d'aspects de la personnalité et d'expériences du sujet à partir d'auto-verbalisations ou d'auto-descriptions fournies par le même sujet selon une série d'éléments. De réponse volontaire, l'individu peut essayer de falsifier les informations fournies , bien que pour détecter de telles tentatives, différentes échelles de fiabilité sont généralement appliquées. Ils sont généralement semi-structurés et adaptés à l'objectif ou à l'élément concret à mesurer

4. Test projectif

Les tests subjectifs sont généralement utilisés pour analyser les aspects les plus profonds et les traits de personnalité de l'individu. C'est le type de test psychologique moins structuré, ne restreignant en aucune manière la réponse fournie par l'analysant et ayant toutes les réponses du sujet un sens valable qui doit être analysé et valorisé.

Ces réponses sont subjectives, puisque ils représentent le monde interne du sujet en question . L'individu en question ne connaît pas le sens ou le sens de ses réponses, étant l'un des types de tests psychologiques masqués. Chaque réponse et aspect représenté est important, mais il n’a de sens que si on peut lui donner un sens par rapport à l’ensemble.

Le principal problème de ce type de test se trouve dans la grande liberté des réponses possibles et le faible niveau de standardisation parmi eux, être capable d’interpréter la même réponse de différents points de vue en fonction de la méthode d’interprétation utilisée. il ne connaît généralement pas le sens psychologique de ses réponses.

Dans les tests subjectifs, nous pouvons trouver différentes typologies. Plus précisément, ils comprennent:

  • Tests structurels . En eux, le patient doit avoir un sens et organiser un matériel visuel. L'un des plus célèbres est le test de Rorschach.
  • Tests thématiques . Il est demandé de raconter une histoire à partir du matériel présenté en images (le TAT ou Test d'aperception thématique est généralement le plus connu).
  • Tests expressifs . On demande au sujet de dessiner un élément spécifique (l'un des plus connus est le CTH, un test dans lequel une personne, une maison et un arbre sont invités à dessiner)
  • Tests constructifs . L'individu est invité à construire un élément spécifique avec les éléments fournis (le test du village imaginaire en est un bon exemple).
  • Tests associatifs . Dans ce type de tests psychologiques projectifs, il est demandé à l’analysant d’associer un mot (oral ou écrit) à un autre mot ou stimulus fourni. Le test d’association de mots est l’un des plus utilisés.
  • Tests réfractaires . Il est basé sur l'analyse de la personnalité basée sur les produits de l'activité du sujet, tels que ses écrits.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Buela-Casal, G. et Sierra, J.C. (1997). Manuel d'évaluation psychologique. Ed. Siglo XXI: Madrid.
  • Cohen, R.J. & Swerdlik, M.E. (2002). Tests psychologiques et évaluation. McGraw-Hill: Madrid.
  • Sanz, L.J. et Álvarez, C.A. (2012). Évaluation en psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR. 05. CEDE: Madrid.

Ce Que tu Vois en Premier Révèle Une Vérité Inattendue Sur Toi (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes