yes, therapy helps!
Types of psychostimulants (or psychoanalytics)

Types of psychostimulants (or psychoanalytics)

December 5, 2021

We go out partying and we want to hold dancing all night. We have to study for an exam or deliver a project in a too short period of time. In these and similar situations one's physical and / or mental energy can quickly diminish until we are exhausted.

Some people, aware of this fact or simply for recreational purposes, they decide to consume substances to raise their level of activation and mood . These substances that maintain or raise the level of activation are called psychostimulants, being in many cases substances with an enormous addictive potential.

But the concept of "psychostimulant" does not refer to a specific and well-defined class of substance. Rather, there are different types of psychostimulants which are studied both from clinical psychology and from psychiatry. Let's see what they are and what characteristics they present.


Psychostimulants or psychoanalysts

Psychostimulants are a group of substances with psychoactive effects whose main effect is to produce an increase in brain activation . This increase generally produces an alteration and acceleration of activity and mood, as well as metabolism. Also called psychoanalytics, the type of alteration they cause supposes a state of stimulation perceptible in a subjective way by the sufferer, without this having to affect the state of consciousness.

The effect of these substances is mainly due to their interaction with the mechanisms of reuptake or release of neurotransmitters, especially dopamine and noradrenaline. For this very reason they are highly addictive substances , to greatly affect the brain reward mechanism.


The use of these substances can be derived from a large number of factors. Sometimes they are used in medicine for the treatment of some disorders , being used as anesthetics or for its effects on behavior. In many cases its use is purely recreational, running the risk of abusive consumption, poisoning and withdraw withdrawal syndromes (in which effects appear contrary to those generated by intoxication).

Because they allow to increase the level of physical and mental activity, they are sometimes used to improve physical performance or maintain the ability to concentrate during the study . Other substances included in this group are frequently consumed in the usual diet, precisely because of their stimulant effects, or they are started and continue to consume due to social reinforcement.


Main types of psychostimulants

The group of substances known as psychostimulants consists of several substances that have in common the increase in stimulation and activity they cause. As the main components of this category we found cocaine, amphetamines, xanthines and nicotine .

The first two and its derivatives are considered major stimulants, generally consumed illegally and for recreational purposes although in some cases they are used at the medical level to treat some disorders and symptoms. As regards the last two, xanthines and nicotine, they are a type of psychostimulants considered to be lower when they provoke a lower stimulation (although more controllable).

1. Cocaine

Initially elaborated for medicinal purposes, this psychostimulant obtained from the plant Erythrosylon coca It is one of the most known and dangerous excitatory substances of vegetable origin, besides being among the most addictive drugs.

Cocaine acts at the neurochemical level blocking the reuptake of monoaminergic neurotransmitters , producing a profound effect especially in the dopaminergic transmission. Being dopamine one of the main responsible for the brain reward system, this causes us to be faced with a substance with a high addictive potential.

Generally consumed by nasal aspiration, its administration produces important behavioral changes with surprising rapidity. After consumption Euphoria and hyperexcitation appear, uninhibiting behavior and causing perceptual changes and even in some cases hallucinations. It increases the vividness of the subject, increasing the heart rate and tension at the physical level. There appear feelings of greatness that together with the expansive mood can lead to aggression. The effects last relatively short-lived.

Its effects are also well known when combating the sensations of hunger and cold, as well as inhibiting pain. For that reason has been used as an analgesic and even used by the army during great warlike conflicts, such as the First World War.

The appearance of dependence on this type of psychostimulant is frequent, as well as intoxications and withdrawal syndromes . In the latter case, the effects are the opposite of those caused by the consumption: lowering of the mood can lead to depressive symptoms and anhedonia, fatigue, hypersomnia, hypothermia, intense hunger and compulsive desire to use drugs or craving.

2. Amphetamines

Popularized among the soldiers during the Second World War for their ability to combat the decayed state of mind and decrease fatigue, Amphetamines are a type of psychostimulant with effects similar to those of cocaine .

Initially it produces a sensation of well-being or "high" followed by behavioral and social disinhibition, hyperactivity and little capacity for reasoning.

It also has a bronchodilator effect and decreases appetite. Its mechanism of action also affects monoamines , acting above all in dopamine and noradrenaline by blocking its reuptake. But, in addition to the blockade of the recapture they cause that it is released in more quantity, with what the effects are more lasting than those of the cocaine. When it lasts longer, consumption distances more over time. Even so, there is still a high risk of dependence on this type of substance.

Nonetheless, At the medical level, amphetamine derivatives are used to treat multiple disorders . Specifically, its effects have been used in the treatment of obesity, narcolepsy and it was initially used as a treatment for asthma, although over time other substances have been administered.

Although it may seem strange due to the high level of activity that many of those who suffer from it, another of the disorders in which an amphetamine derivative is used is ADHD, since they increase the ability to concentrate and produce an improvement in the symptoms.

3. Xanthines

Although the name of xanthine can not tell us anything at first the substances grouped under this name are some of the most consumed by the majority of the population. We are talking about caffeine, theophylline or theobromine : mainly coffee, tea and chocolate, although they can also be found in soft drinks and energy drinks.

These are products consumed en masse by most of the population in relatively low doses, being unlikely the appearance of problems of dependence, abuse or abstinence. Its main effects are an increase in activity level, decrease in fatigue and fatigue and a slight improvement in mood.

The performance of the xanthines is mainly due to an antagonistic action on adenosine , an action that would result in a greater presence and transmission of catecholamines (including dopamine, noradrenaline and serotonin).

In the case of caffeine, cases of physiological dependence and rebound effect have been found after stopping taking it. Excessive or excessive consumption can cause anxiety symptoms such as restlessness, insomnia or accelerated thinking. Although excessive doses can cause death due to respiratory failure, the amount needed is so high that it is not likely.

4. Nicotine

When we think of someone who smokes we usually imagine someone trying to relax by using tobacco. But nevertheless, although it may seem paradoxical nicotine is actually an exciting substance , producing an indirect effect on dopamine, serotonin and noradrenaline. That is why it is included within the main types of psychostimulants.

Extracted from the plant Nicotiana tabacum , nicotine acts producing an increase in neuronal activity by acting on certain acetylcholine receptors called nicotinic, increasing the excitability of the neuron. With this Get neurotransmitters, especially dopamine, to be released more easily . In addition, as is known, it is a highly addictive substance.

The fact that many people consider smoking to be relaxing is due to the fact that the behavioral effects of this substance vary according to the dose and the pattern of consumption. At lower doses the excitatory effect is more visible, producing disinhibition and a higher level of activity, vigilance and performance .

However, if the nicotine consumption is very high or prolonged over time, the neurons are overexcited and it ends up generating a depressant effect on the nervous system, which behaviorally becomes sedative or tranquilizer.

Bibliographic references:

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.

Altered States - Crash Course Psychology #10 (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Types de psychostimulants (ou psychanalytiques)

Types de psychostimulants (ou psychanalytiques)

Août 17, 2022

On fait la fête et on veut danser toute la nuit. Nous devons étudier pour un examen ou livrer un projet dans un délai trop court. Dans ces situations et similaires, l'énergie physique et / ou mentale peut rapidement diminuer jusqu'à épuisement.

Certaines personnes, conscientes de ce fait ou simplement à des fins récréatives, ils décident de consommer des substances pour augmenter leur niveau d'activation et leur humeur . Ces substances qui maintiennent ou augmentent le niveau d'activation sont appelées psychostimulants. Il s'agit dans bien des cas de substances ayant un potentiel de dépendance énorme.

Mais le concept de "psychostimulant" ne fait pas référence à une classe de substance spécifique et bien définie. Très bien, il existe différents types de psychostimulants qui sont étudiés à la fois de la psychologie clinique et de la psychiatrie. Voyons ce qu'ils sont et quelles caractéristiques ils présentent.


Psychostimulants ou psychanalystes

Les psychostimulants sont un groupe de substances à effets psychoactifs dont l’effet principal est d’augmenter l’activation cérébrale . Cette augmentation produit généralement une altération et une accélération de l'activité et de l'humeur, ainsi que du métabolisme. Aussi appelé psychanalytique, le type d'altération qu'elles provoquent suppose un état de stimulation perceptible de manière subjective par la personne qui en souffre, sans que cela n'affecte l'état de conscience.

L'effet de ces substances est principalement dû à leur interaction avec les mécanismes de réabsorption ou de libération de neurotransmetteurs, en particulier la dopamine et la noradrénaline. Pour cette raison même ce sont des substances hautement addictives , influer grandement sur le mécanisme de récompense du cerveau.


L'utilisation de ces substances peut être dérivée d'un grand nombre de facteurs. Parfois, ils sont utilisés en médecine pour le traitement de certains troubles , utilisé comme anesthésique ou pour ses effets sur le comportement. Dans de nombreux cas, son utilisation est purement récréative et comporte des risques de consommation abusive, d’empoisonnement et de retrait des syndromes de sevrage (dans lesquels les effets semblent contraires à ceux produits par l’intoxication).

Parce qu’ils permettent d’accroître le niveau d’activité physique et mentale, ils sont parfois utilisés pour améliorer la performance physique ou maintenir la capacité de concentration pendant l'étude . D'autres substances comprises dans ce groupe sont fréquemment consommées dans le régime alimentaire habituel, précisément en raison de leurs effets stimulants, ou bien elles sont initiées et continuent à être consommées en raison du renforcement social.


Principaux types de psychostimulants

Le groupe de substances connues sous le nom de psychostimulants comprend plusieurs substances ayant en commun l’augmentation de la stimulation et de l’activité qu’elles provoquent. En tant que composants principaux de cette catégorie nous avons trouvé de la cocaïne, des amphétamines, des xanthines et de la nicotine .

Les deux premiers et leurs dérivés sont considérés comme des stimulants majeurs, généralement consommés illégalement et à des fins récréatives bien que, dans certains cas, ils soient utilisés au niveau médical pour traiter certains troubles et symptômes. Les deux derniers, les xanthines et la nicotine, sont un type de psychostimulants considérés comme plus faibles lorsqu'ils provoquent une stimulation plus faible (bien que plus contrôlable).

1. cocaïne

Initialement élaboré à des fins médicinales, ce psychostimulant obtenu à partir de la plante Erythrosylon Coca C'est l'une des substances excitatrices d'origine végétale les plus connues et les plus dangereuses, en plus d'être l'une des drogues les plus toxicomanogènes.

La cocaïne agit au niveau neurochimique bloquant la recapture des neurotransmetteurs monoaminergiques , produisant un effet profond en particulier dans la transmission dopaminergique. Étant donné que la dopamine est l’un des principaux responsables du système de récompense du cerveau, nous sommes confrontés à une substance à fort potentiel de dépendance.

Généralement consommé par aspiration nasale, son administration produit des changements comportementaux importants avec une rapidité surprenante. Après consommation Euphorie et hyperexcitation apparaissent, comportement désinhibant et causant des changements de perception et même dans certains cas des hallucinations. Il augmente la vivacité du sujet, augmentant le rythme cardiaque et la tension au niveau physique. Il se dégage des sentiments de grandeur qui, associés à une humeur expansive, peuvent conduire à une agression. Les effets durent relativement peu de temps.

Ses effets sont également bien connus pour lutter contre les sensations de faim et de froid, ainsi que pour inhiber la douleur. Pour cette raison a été utilisé comme analgésique et même utilisé par l'armée lors de grands conflits guerriers, tels que la Première Guerre mondiale.

L’apparence de dépendance à ce type de psychostimulant est fréquente, ainsi que des intoxications et des syndromes de sevrage . Dans ce dernier cas, les effets sont opposés à ceux causés par la consommation: un abaissement de l'humeur peut entraîner des symptômes dépressifs et l'anhédonie, de la fatigue, une hypersomnie, une hypothermie, une faim intense et un désir compulsif de consommer de la drogue ou un état de manque.

2. Amphétamines

Popularisé parmi les soldats pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour leur capacité à combattre l'état d'esprit délabré et à réduire la fatigue, Les amphétamines sont un type de psychostimulant ayant des effets similaires à ceux de la cocaïne. .

Au début, il produit une sensation de bien-être ou «élevé», suivi d'une désinhibition comportementale et sociale, d'une hyperactivité et d'une faible capacité de raisonnement.

Il a également un effet bronchodilatateur et diminue l'appétit. Son mécanisme d'action affecte également les monoamines , agissant surtout dans la dopamine et la noradrénaline en bloquant sa recapture. Mais, en plus du blocus de la reprise, ils font en sorte qu'il soit libéré en plus grande quantité, avec des effets plus durables que ceux de la cocaïne. Quand cela dure plus longtemps, la consommation s'éloigne davantage avec le temps. Même dans ce cas, le risque de dépendance à ce type de substance demeure élevé.

Toutefois, Au niveau médical, les dérivés d’amphétamine sont utilisés pour traiter plusieurs troubles . Plus précisément, ses effets ont été utilisés dans le traitement de l'obésité et de la narcolepsie et il a d'abord été utilisé dans le traitement de l'asthme, bien que d'autres substances aient été administrées au fil du temps.

Bien que cela puisse sembler étrange en raison du niveau élevé d'activité de beaucoup de ceux qui en souffrent, un autre des troubles dans lesquels un dérivé d'amphétamine est utilisé est le TDAH, car ils augmentent la capacité de concentration et produisent une amélioration de la les symptomes.

3. Xanthines

Bien que le nom de xanthine ne nous dise rien au début, les substances regroupées sous ce nom sont parmi les plus consommées par la majorité de la population. On parle de caféine, de théophylline ou de théobromine : principalement du café, du thé et du chocolat, bien qu’ils soient également présents dans les boissons non alcoolisées et les boissons énergisantes.

Ce sont des produits consommés en masse par la majorité de la population à des doses relativement faibles, peu susceptibles de donner lieu à des problèmes de dépendance, d'abus ou d'abstinence. Ses effets principaux sont augmentation du niveau d'activité, diminution de la fatigue et la fatigue et une légère amélioration de l'humeur.

La performance des xanthines est principalement due à une action antagoniste sur l'adénosine , une action qui entraînerait une plus grande présence et transmission des catécholamines (incluant la dopamine, la noradrénaline et la sérotonine).

Dans le cas de la caféine, des cas de dépendance physiologique et d’effet de rebond ont été mis en évidence après l’arrêt de la prise. Une consommation excessive ou excessive peut provoquer des symptômes d'anxiété tels qu'agitation, insomnie ou accélération de la pensée. Bien que des doses excessives puissent provoquer la mort par insuffisance respiratoire, la quantité nécessaire est si élevée qu'il est peu probable.

4. nicotine

Lorsque nous pensons à quelqu'un qui fume, nous imaginons généralement quelqu'un qui tente de se détendre en utilisant du tabac. Cependant, bien que cela puisse paraître paradoxal, la nicotine est en fait une substance excitante , produisant un effet indirect sur la dopamine, la sérotonine et la noradrénaline. C'est pourquoi il est inclus dans les principaux types de psychostimulants.

Extrait de la plante Nicotiana tabacum , la nicotine agit en augmentant l’activité neuronale en agissant sur certains récepteurs de l’acétylcholine appelés nicotiniques, augmentant ainsi l’excitabilité du neurone. Avec cela Obtenir que les neurotransmetteurs, en particulier la dopamine, soient libérés plus facilement . En outre, comme on le sait, il s’agit d’une substance hautement addictive.

Le fait que de nombreuses personnes considèrent le tabagisme comme étant relaxant est dû au fait que les effets comportementaux de cette substance varient en fonction de la dose et du type de consommation. À des doses plus faibles, l'effet excitateur est plus visible, produisant une désinhibition et un niveau d'activité, de vigilance et de performance supérieur .

Cependant, si la consommation de nicotine est très élevée ou prolongée dans le temps, les neurones sont surexcités et il en résulte un effet dépresseur sur le système nerveux, qui devient alors sédatif ou tranquillisant.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid

Neurobiologie des drogues (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes