yes, therapy helps!
Ulysses syndrome: chronic stress in immigrants

Ulysses syndrome: chronic stress in immigrants

June 11, 2024

Ulysses syndrome is a specific stress disorder for immigrants . It is associated with the multiple experiences of grief that these people face, as well as the difficulties they must overcome to adapt to the new context.

In this article we will describe Ulysses syndrome, its main symptoms and its most common causes . For this we will base fundamentally on the work of Joseba Achotegui, the psychiatrist who coined the term by which we refer to this alteration.

  • Related article: "The psychology behind emigration"

What is Ulysses syndrome?

The Chronic and Multiple Stress Syndrome, more commonly known as "Ulysses syndrome" , is a set of symptoms that derives from severe stressors associated with emigration. One of the factors that contribute the most in its appearance is the scarcity of economic resources that many people face in this situation.


The usual nomenclature of this syndrome refers to Odysseus, a hero of Greek mythology who was known as "Ulysses" in the Roman world. According to narrate the Iliad and the Odyssey, the two main epic texts of Ancient Greece, after participating in the Trojan War UIises sailed for 10 years going through great difficulties before arriving home.

The term was coined and popularized in the 1990s by Joseba Achotegui, who currently serves as full professor at the University of Barcelona and directs the support program that is called "Psychopathological and Psychosocial Care Service for Immigrants and Refugees "Or" SAPPIR ".

Although this syndrome can affect people of all ages, the available evidence reveals that It is more common in the elderly and middle-aged . This is probably due to factors such as the lower number of socialization opportunities and the greater difficulty to learn the new language or to adapt to a different culture.


  • Maybe you're interested: "3 important aspects to adapt to a new country"

Main symptoms

The symptoms present in people with Ulysses syndrome may vary depending on the particular case, but have been related to four categories of psychological alterations: anxiety, depression, dissociation (disconnection of physical and emotional experience) and somatoform disorders (physical symptoms of psychogenic origin).

In the depressive area, the presence of feelings of sadness associated with the perception of personal failure, low self-esteem and thoughts related to guilt and, rarely, the desire to die, stand out. According to Achotegui, the specific symptoms are influenced by the culture; for example , guilt is more common in Westerners than in Asians.

The experience of anxiety, also very relevant in this syndrome, manifests itself in symptoms such as recurrent and excessive worry (similar to that of generalized anxiety disorder), tendency to irritability, psychological and physical tension or feelings of fear. Insomnia is favored by anxiety and poor living conditions .


Achotegui includes in the spectrum of somatization symptoms and signs such as headaches, present in three quarters of people diagnosed, and fatigue, associated with the lack of psychological motivation. It also highlights the tendency of Asian people to present symptoms of a sexual nature or that of Maghrebis to chest discomfort.

Other problems that frequently appear in people with Ulysses syndrome are low self-esteem, the decrease in performance at a general level, excessive consumption of substances such as tobacco and alcohol or painful symptoms gastrointestinal, osseous and muscular.

  • Related article: "This is the personality of those who love solitude and do not fear singleness"

Causes of this syndrome

The Ulysses syndrome has been linked to the grieving process, which consists of adaptation to psychologically significant losses . People who emigrate are separated in part from their usual environment, their family, their friends and even their identity as citizens of a specific region of the world.

When the demands of the new situation are perceived as excessive for the migrant, chronic symptoms of stress and other related psychological alterations may appear that negatively influence well-being and adaptation to the context. This chain of events is what is generally known as Ulysses syndrome.

The sensation of sociocultural isolation is considered a key factor in the appearance of the syndrome. In this sense, the ignorance of the language or the differences in values ​​are relevant, but also prejudices and discrimination on ethnic and cultural grounds to which immigrants from many countries are subjected in a systematic way.

In cases where the migration process has been carried out illegally, the fear of possible consequences (in particular detention and deportation) is an additional stressor and with a particularly high potential to favor a state of chronic emotional distress .

On the other hand, the Ulysses syndrome is also favored by the marked difficulties experienced by a large number of immigrants when trying to legalize their situation, when looking for work or when accessing basic services such as housing and medical assistance. The frustration of personal and economic expectations of the person is also relevant.

Bibliographic references:

  • Achotegui, J. (2005). Limiting stress and mental health: the Immigrant Syndrome with Chronic and Multiple Stress (Ulysses Syndrome). North Journal of Mental Health of the Spanish Society of Neuropsychiatry, 5 (21): 39-53.
  • Achotegui, J., Morales, MM, Cervera, P., Quirós, C., Pérez, JV, Gimeno, N., Llopis, A., Moltó, J., Torres, AM & Borrell, C. (2010) Characteristics of immigrants with chronic immigrant stress syndrome or Ulysses syndrome. of the Spanish Society of Neuropsychiatry, 8 (37): 23-30.
  • Diaz-Cuéllar, A.L., Ringe, H.A. & Schoeller-Diaz, D.A. (2013) The Ulysses Syndrome: Migrants with chronic and multiple stress symptoms and the role of indigenous linguistically and culturally competent community health workers. Retrieved from www.panelserver.net/laredatenea/documentos/alba.pdf on July 27, 2017.

The misfortunes of Ulysses: Interviews on immigrant stress and grief (Ulysses syndrome) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome d'Ulysse: stress chronique chez les immigrés

Syndrome d'Ulysse: stress chronique chez les immigrés

Septembre 21, 2021

Le syndrome d'Ulysse est un trouble de stress spécifique pour les immigrés . Il est associé aux multiples expériences de deuil auxquelles ces personnes sont confrontées, ainsi qu’aux difficultés qu’elles doivent surmonter pour s’adapter au nouveau contexte.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire Syndrome d'Ulysse, ses principaux symptômes et ses causes les plus courantes . Pour cela, nous nous baserons fondamentalement sur le travail de Joseba Achotegui, le psychiatre qui a inventé le terme par lequel nous nous référons à cette modification.

  • Article connexe: "La psychologie derrière l'émigration"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome d'Ulysse?

Syndrome de stress chronique et multiple, plus communément appelé "syndrome d'Ulysse" , est un ensemble de symptômes provenant de stresseurs graves associés à l’émigration. L'un des facteurs qui contribuent le plus à son apparence est la rareté des ressources économiques auxquelles de nombreuses personnes sont confrontées dans cette situation.


La nomenclature habituelle de ce syndrome fait référence à Ulysse, un héros de la mythologie grecque connu sous le nom d'Ulysse dans le monde romain. Selon l'histoire de l'Iliade et de l'Odyssée, les deux principaux textes épiques de la Grèce antique, après avoir participé à la guerre de Troie, ont navigué pendant 10 ans en passant par de grandes difficultés avant de rentrer chez eux.

Ce terme a été inventé et popularisé dans les années 1990 par Joseba Achotegui, qui est actuellement professeur ordinaire à l'Université de Barcelone et dirige le programme de soutien appelé "Service de prise en charge psychopathologique et psychosociale pour immigrants et réfugiés". "Ou" SAPPIR ".

Bien que ce syndrome puisse toucher des personnes de tout âge, les preuves disponibles révèlent que Il est plus fréquent chez les personnes âgées et d'âge moyen . Ceci est probablement dû à des facteurs tels que le nombre réduit d'opportunités de socialisation et la plus grande difficulté d'apprendre la nouvelle langue ou de s'adapter à une culture différente.


  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "3 aspects importants pour s'adapter à un nouveau pays"

Symptômes principaux

Les symptômes présents chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome d’Ulysses peuvent varier selon les cas, mais sont liés à quatre catégories de altérations psychologiques: anxiété, dépression, dissociation (déconnexion de l'expérience physique et émotionnelle) et des troubles somatoformes (symptômes physiques d'origine psychogène).

Dans la zone dépressive, la présence de sentiments de tristesse associés à la perception d'échec personnel, à une faible estime de soi et à des pensées liées à la culpabilité et, rarement, au désir de mourir, se démarque. Selon Achotegui, les symptômes spécifiques sont influencés par la culture; par exemple , la culpabilité est plus fréquente chez les Occidentaux que chez les Asiatiques.

L'expérience de l'anxiété, également très pertinente dans ce syndrome, se manifeste par des symptômes tels qu'une inquiétude récurrente et excessive (semblable à celle du trouble d'anxiété généralisée), une tendance à l'irritabilité, une tension psychologique et physique ou un sentiment de peur. L'insomnie est favorisée par l'anxiété et les mauvaises conditions de vie .


Achotegui inclut dans le spectre des symptômes et des signes de somatisation tels que les maux de tête, présents chez les trois quarts des personnes diagnostiquées, et la fatigue, associée au manque de motivation psychologique. Il met également en évidence la tendance des Asiatiques à présenter des symptômes de nature sexuelle ou celle de Maghrébins à un malaise thoracique.

Les autres problèmes qui apparaissent fréquemment chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome d'Ulysses sont la faible estime de soi, la diminution des performances au niveau général, consommation excessive de substances telles que le tabac et l'alcool ou symptômes douloureux gastro-intestinal, osseux et musculaire.

  • Article connexe: "C’est la personnalité de ceux qui aiment la solitude et ne craignent pas la solitude"

Causes de ce syndrome

Le syndrome d’Ulysse a été associé au processus de deuil, qui consiste en adaptation aux pertes psychologiquement significatives . Les personnes qui émigrent sont en partie séparées de leur environnement habituel, de leur famille, de leurs amis et même de leur identité en tant que citoyens d'une région spécifique du monde.

Lorsque les exigences de la nouvelle situation sont perçues comme excessives pour le migrant, des symptômes chroniques de stress et d’autres altérations psychologiques connexes peuvent apparaître et avoir une influence négative sur le bien-être et l’adaptation au contexte. Cette chaîne d'événements est ce qu'on appelle généralement le syndrome d'Ulysse.

La sensation d'isolement socioculturel est considérée comme un facteur clé dans l'apparition du syndrome. En ce sens, l’ignorance de la langue ou les différences de valeurs sont pertinentes, mais aussi préjugés et discrimination pour des motifs ethniques et culturels auxquels les immigrés de nombreux pays sont soumis de manière systématique.

Dans les cas où le processus de migration a été effectué de manière illégale, la crainte de conséquences éventuelles (notamment la détention et l'expulsion) constitue un facteur de stress supplémentaire et est particulièrement susceptible de favoriser un état de détresse émotionnelle chronique. .

D'autre part, le syndrome d'Ulysses est également favorisé par les difficultés marquées rencontrées par un grand nombre d'immigrés lorsqu'ils tentent de légaliser leur situation, de chercher du travail ou d'avoir accès à des services de base tels que le logement, l'assistance médicale. La frustration des attentes personnelles et économiques de la personne est également pertinent.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Achotegui, J. (2005). Limiter le stress et la santé mentale: le syndrome de l’immigrant souffrant de stress chronique et multiple (syndrome d’Ulysse). North Journal of Mental Health de la Société espagnole de neuropsychiatrie, 5 (21): 39-53.
  • J. Achotegui; MM. Morales; P. Cervera; C. Quirós; JV Pérez; N. N. Gimeno; A. A. Llopis; J. J. Moltó; J. A. Torres et J. Moltó. d’immigrants atteints du syndrome de stress immigrant chronique ou du syndrome d’Ulysses. de la Société espagnole de neuropsychiatrie, 8 (37): 23-30.
  • Diaz-Cuéllar, A.L., Ringe, H.A. et Schoeller-Diaz, D.A. (2013). Syndrome d'Ulysses: migrants présentant des symptômes de stress chroniques et multiples et rôle d'agents de santé communautaires autochtones compétents sur les plans linguistique et culturel. Extrait de www.panelserver.net/laredatenea/documentos/alba.pdf le 27 juillet 2017.

Bachata à Strasbourg - Salsa In The City Part3 (Septembre 2021).


Articles Connexes