yes, therapy helps!
Unconditioned stimulus: what it is and how it is applied

Unconditioned stimulus: what it is and how it is applied

September 26, 2022

Let's imagine that we have not eaten for a long time and we are hungry. Imagine also that in this situation we put our favorite dish before us. Surely we will begin to notice more intensely the hunger we have, and we will notice how we began to secrete saliva. In a less perceptible way our digestive system, spurred by the vision and smell of food, will begin to prepare for the act of eating. Imagine now that they give us a shock, or a puncture. We will move away immediately from its source, as a reflex.

All these examples have one thing in common: the source of the cramp or the puncture or the presence of food are stimuli that have generated an immediate response, by themselves. It's about unconditioned stimuli , a concept that we are going to deal with throughout this article.


  • Related article: "Behaviorism: history, concepts and main authors"

What is an unconditioned stimulus?

It receives the name of unconditioned stimulus all that stimulus or element that has the ability to generate an autonomous response and on a regular basis to a person or way of life , said stimulus being something biologically relevant for this.

This unconditioned stimulus can be both appetitive and aversive, being able to suppose both a benefit and a harm for the subject to be experiencing it. The response generated in the organism or living being, for example the activation of some bodily systems or reflex movement, are also called unconditioned. It is important to keep in mind that these responses are given at the innate level, not being the product of subjective reflection or evaluation of whether something is pleasant or unpleasant.


While there are many stimuli that can be considered unconditioned, the truth is that usually they are linked with basic processes for our survival : the pain or the fight / flight response to an attack, the presence of food or the presence of sexually attractive stimuli. However, it must be taken into account that the specific stimulus can vary enormously depending on the species or even the brain configuration.

Your role in classical conditioning

The unconditioned stimulus, which generates an unconditional and natural response, is not only important by itself but is also the basis (according to the behavioral perspective) that allows the creation of associations, which are in turn the basis of the appearance of learning and behavior according to classical behaviorism .

And in the middle there are a lot of stimuli that do not generate a direct reaction, which in principle are neutral. But if they are associated repeatedly and consistently with an unconditioned stimulus they can associate with it and cause them to generate an identical or similar response to that generated by the unconditioned stimulus itself.


Thus, the association between unconditioned and neutral stimuli, which become conditioned, are a basis for the ability to learn and acquire simple behaviors. This process is what is called conditioning (since one, the unconditioned, conditions the other) with regard to the simple association between stimuli and responses is called classical conditioning .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Classical conditioning and its most important experiments"

Unconditioned but not unchangeable

The unconditioned stimulus has the capacity to generate a response by itself, but this does not mean that it will always generate an unconditioned response. It is possible that an unconditioned stimulus devalues ​​and loses its properties.

An example of this is satiation, a process in which the fact of subjecting oneself abundantly to exposure to a stimulus that generates a reflex response ends up causing the response to it to decrease. For example, if we eat a lot and we expose ourselves to food (unconditioned stimulus) it will not generate an answer given that we are already satisfied.

As well there may be a habituation to the stimulus : the repetition of the exposure to the stimulus over time makes the response generated less intense. For example, if exposure to sexual stimuli is habitual, the stimulus in question may lose (although it may also increase, there being sensitization instead of habituation) part of its appetitive power.

By last a counterconditioning may occur , in which an unconditioned stimulus is paired with another stimulus that generates an opposite response. We could say that the unconditioned stimulus becomes a conditioned stimulus, generating a response where before there was another.


Classical conditioning: Neutral, conditioned, and unconditioned stimuli and responses | Khan Academy (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le stimulus inconditionnel: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-il appliqué

Le stimulus inconditionnel: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-il appliqué

Octobre 13, 2019

Imaginons que nous n'ayons pas mangé depuis longtemps et que nous ayons faim. Imaginez aussi que, dans cette situation, nous mettions notre plat préféré devant nous. Nous allons sûrement commencer à remarquer plus intensément notre faim et nous verrons comment nous avons commencé à sécréter la salive. De manière moins perceptible, notre système digestif, stimulé par la vision et l'odeur des aliments, commencera à se préparer à l'acte de manger. Imaginez maintenant qu'ils nous donnent un choc ou une crevaison. Nous nous éloignerons immédiatement de sa source, par réflexe.

Tous ces exemples ont une chose en commun: la source de la crampe, de la perforation ou de la présence de nourriture sont des stimuli qui ont généré une réponse immédiate, par eux-mêmes. Il s'agit de stimuli non conditionnés , un concept que nous allons traiter tout au long de cet article.


  • Article connexe: "Behaviorism: histoire, concepts et principaux auteurs"

Qu'est-ce qu'un stimulus inconditionnel?

Il reçoit le nom de stimulus inconditionné tout ce stimulus ou élément qui a la capacité à générer une réponse autonome et régulière à une personne ou à un mode de vie , ledit stimulus étant biologiquement pertinent pour cela.

Ce stimulus inconditionnel peut être à la fois appétissant et aversif, en supposant à la fois un avantage et un préjudice pour le sujet. Les réponses générées dans l'organisme ou l'être vivant, par exemple l'activation de certains systèmes corporels ou le mouvement réflexe, sont également appelées inconditionnées. Il est important de garder à l'esprit que ces réponses sont données au niveau inné, et ne sont pas le produit d'une réflexion subjective ou d'une évaluation visant à déterminer si quelque chose est agréable ou déplaisant.


Bien que de nombreux stimuli puissent être considérés comme non conditionnés, la vérité est que généralement ils sont liés aux processus de base pour notre survie : la douleur ou la réaction de combat / fuite à une attaque, la présence de nourriture ou la présence de stimuli sexuellement attrayants. Cependant, il faut tenir compte du fait que le stimulus spécifique peut varier énormément en fonction de l'espèce ou même de la configuration du cerveau.

Votre rôle dans le conditionnement classique

Le stimulus inconditionnel, qui génère une réponse inconditionnelle et naturelle, est non seulement important en soi, mais constitue également la base (selon la perspective comportementale) qui permet la création d’associations, qui sont à leur tour la base de l'apparition de l'apprentissage et du comportement selon le behaviorisme classique .

Et au milieu, il y a beaucoup de stimuli qui ne génèrent pas de réaction directe, qui sont en principe neutres. Mais s’ils sont associés de manière répétée et cohérente à un stimulus non conditionné, ils peuvent s’y associer et leur faire générer une réponse identique ou similaire à celle générée par le stimulus non conditionné lui-même.


Ainsi, l'association entre les stimuli non conditionnés et neutres, qui deviennent conditionnés, constitue une base pour la capacité d'apprendre et d'acquérir des comportements simples. Ce processus est ce qu'on appelle le conditionnement (puisque l'un inconditionné conditionne l'autre) en ce qui concerne la simple association entre les stimuli et les réponses est appelée conditionnement classique .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le conditionnement classique et ses expériences les plus importantes"

Inconditionné mais non immuable

Le stimulus non conditionné a la capacité de générer une réponse par lui-même, mais cela ne signifie pas qu'il générera toujours une réponse non conditionnée. Il est possible qu'un stimulus inconditionnel dévalue et perde ses propriétés.

Un exemple de ceci est la satiété, un processus dans lequel le fait de se soumettre abondamment à une exposition à un stimulus qui génère une réponse réflexe finit par entraîner une diminution de la réponse. Par exemple, si nous mangeons beaucoup et que nous nous exposons à la nourriture (stimulus inconditionnel), cela ne générera pas de réponse, car nous sommes déjà satisfaits.

Aussi il peut y avoir une accoutumance au stimulus : la répétition de l'exposition au stimulus au fil du temps rend la réponse générée moins intense. Par exemple, si l'exposition à des stimuli sexuels est habituelle, le stimulus en question peut perdre (bien qu'il puisse également augmenter, une sensibilisation au lieu de l'habituation) une partie de son pouvoir appétitif.

Finalement un contre-conditionnement peut se produire , dans lequel un stimulus inconditionnel est associé à un autre stimulus qui génère une réponse opposée. Nous pourrions dire que le stimulus inconditionné devient un stimulus conditionné, générant une réponse là où il y en avait auparavant.


Analyse publicité Nina Ricci (Octobre 2019).


Articles Connexes