yes, therapy helps!
Urbason (Methylprednisolone): what it is, uses and side effects

Urbason (Methylprednisolone): what it is, uses and side effects

July 22, 2022

Inflammation is very common in a large number of injuries and diseases, whether they are located or generalized and may have a very diverse origin. They are produced as a response of the immune system to an injury or infection, as a reaction to the entry into the body of particles that it identifies as harmful without being so, this being the case of allergic reactions or the cause of diseases such as multiple sclerosis.

Although the majority of inflammations that we will have throughout life will be slight, the truth is that there are also processes in which they can put at risk the life of the person, something that has generated the need to create drugs that can stop the process inflammatory. One of these drugs, relatively known among the general population, is the Urbason . Let's see what it is and how it works.


  • Related article: "Types of major cells of the human body"

Urbason: what is it?

It is known as Urbason a a type of steroid or corticosteroid anti-inflammatory drug whose main active principle is methylprednisolone. Specifically, it would be part of the glucocorticoids, which work by reducing the activity of the immune system of our body and reducing the formation of substances that participate in inflammatory reactions.

This drug, of great potency and being a corticoid of intermediate life, has as its main mechanism of action the interaction of its components with the cell membrane to generate a complex that after entering the nucleus will contribute to increase or stop the synthesis of inflammatory proteins .


It also alters the metabolism , at the same time that it inhibits the action of vitamins like D (something that in turn is linked to decreases in calcium levels). It also works as a vasodilator, decreases the use of glucose in most systems and increases the level of blood sugar. It would act analogously to cortisone, the stress hormone, produced in the axis

This drug has several presentations and routes of administration, it can be used orally in the form of a tablet or in case of emergency it can also be found as an injectable intravenous or intramuscular route.

It is also important to keep in mind that, and especially when it has been used continuously and in high doses, the treatment should never be left at a blow because can generate serious syndromes that could even cause death .


  • You may be interested: "What is Enantyum (dexketoprofen) used for? Indications and effects"

Main indications

Urbason is a drug of great potency and usefulness in the treatment of diverse conditions, both for the treatment of specific diseases and when an immediate treatment is needed and with rapid effects (in the case of injectables, generally when there is danger to life) .

Usually we are talking about a focused use to the treatment of inflammations and alterations in which it occurs an excessive or dangerous response from the immune system .

Among the conditions for which it is prescribed are the treatment of anaphylactic shocks, intoxications, adrenal insufficiency, lupus erythematosus or multiple sclerosis. It is also especially relevant in the treatment of serious edemas such as the cerebral ones (used for example in some traffic accidents) or those of the airways, as well as before rejection responses to transplants.

In many cases it is used as a drug to help the action of chemotherapy or even radiotherapy. It is also used in Addison's disease, in which there is a hypofunction of the adrenal glands that can generate serious insufficiencies.

Other conditions in which it has been shown useful are severe asthma attacks, COPD, various types of arthritis and rheumatism, anemia and hematological problems, urticaria or inflammatory processes such as hepatitis or optic neuritis.

Side effects

As we have said the Urbason, although of relatively frequent use in different conditions and alterations, such as corticosteroid is manifested as a high-potency drug that while it can be very useful and even save lives can also generate various types of side effects.

Some of the most frequent are an increase in appetite and weight, as well as hyperglycemia and increases cholesterol and triglycerides, along with fluid retention, hirsutism (hair growth), skin changes, slow healing and alterations in the distribution of the fats Other regulars are the muscle weakness, dizziness, irregular menstrual cycle, sweating and fatigue .

We must also bear in mind that it is a drug that decreases the immune system response, so that sometimes it will facilitate the onset of infections and diseases.

Likewise can cause erectile dysfunction, hormonal problems, growth disorders, arrhythmias, thrombosis seizures muscle problems, ulcers or glaucoma. It also favors osteoporosis, reducing calcium levels, as we have mentioned previously.

Another type of side effects that the Urbason can generate are the psychological ones: this drug is one of the steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs or corticosteroids that has the greatest propensity to contribute to the onset of symptoms, especially in that it refers to variations of the state of mind

Generally related to the dose used (it is generally considered to be somewhat more frequent starting at 80 mg / day), some of the psychic symptoms that may appear they are mania (being this the most frequent), depression or psychosis, as well as confusional states.

Its sudden and non-gradual withdrawal can also generate serious consequences, among which we can find pain, respiratory problems, loss of appetite, hypotension or hypoglycemia and even adrenocortical insufficiency that could lead to death.

Contraindications

The use of Urbason can be useful, but not everyone can take it since it can be dangerous for certain sectors of the population. To begin with, it has contraindicated all those people who suffer from allergies to this type of drug.

Also the elevation of the blood glucose that it produces can result a danger for those patients who have diabetes , taking into account the need to regulate the insulin and medication used. Neither should they take it or do it with caution and under medical recommendation those people with heart disease, patients who are going to perform some type of surgery.

They also have contraindicated or at least should be consulted in those who have ulcers, infections or diseases such as herpes, glaucoma, liver disorders or in case of pregnancy or lactation .

It is also not recommended (except in case of need, as in medical emergencies) in people with mood or psychotic disorders. If you are taking other drugs, you should consult with the doctor the possibility of using it or not, since there are many medications that interact with Urbason.

Bibliographic references:

  • Spanish Agency of Medicines (2017). Data sheet Urbason 16 mg tablets. [On-line]. Available at //www.aemps.gob.es/cima/dochtml/ft/59123/FichaTecnica_59123.html#4-6-fertilidad-embarazo-y-lactancia.
  • Spanish Agency of Medicines (2017). Package leaflet: information for the user Urbason 40 mg powder and solvent for solution for injection. Methylprednisolone [Online]. Available at: //www.aemps.gob.es/cima/pdfs/en/p/34023/34023_p.pdf.
  • Lozano, M., Pelegrín, C. and O'Neill, A. (1988). Effects of therapeutic drugs on the psyche. Judges for democracy.

Efectos secundarios de la PREDNISONA!!! (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Urbason (Methylprednisolone): Qu'est-ce que c'est, ses utilisations et ses effets secondaires

Urbason (Methylprednisolone): Qu'est-ce que c'est, ses utilisations et ses effets secondaires

Avril 14, 2021

L'inflammation est très commune dans un grand nombre de blessures et de maladies, qu’elles soient localisées ou généralisées et puissent avoir une origine très diverse. Ils sont produits en réponse du système immunitaire à une blessure ou à une infection, en réaction à l'entrée dans le corps de particules qu'il identifie comme nuisibles sans qu'il en soit ainsi, qu'il s'agisse de réactions allergiques ou de causes de maladies telles que la sclérose en plaques.

Même si la majorité des inflammations que nous aurons tout au long de notre vie seront minimes, la vérité est qu’il existe également des processus dans lesquels elles peuvent mettre en danger la vie de la personne, ce qui a généré le besoin de créer des médicaments capables d’arrêter le processus inflammatoire L’Urbason est l’une de ces drogues relativement connues de la population en général. . Voyons ce que c'est et comment ça marche.


  • Article connexe: "Types de cellules principales du corps humain"

Urbason: c'est quoi?

Il est connu sous le nom d'Urbason un type de médicament anti-inflammatoire stéroïde ou corticostéroïde dont le principe actif est la méthylprednisolone. En particulier, cela ferait partie des glucocorticoïdes, qui agissent en réduisant l'activité du système immunitaire de notre corps et en réduisant la formation de substances qui participent aux réactions inflammatoires.

Ce médicament, d’une grande puissance et d’un corticoïde de durée de vie moyenne, a pour principal mécanisme d’action l’interaction de ses composants avec la membrane cellulaire pour générer un complexe qui, une fois entré dans le noyau, contribuera à augmenter ou à stopper la synthèse de protéines inflammatoires. .


Il modifie également le métabolisme , en même temps qu’il inhibe l’action de vitamines comme D (quelque chose qui à son tour est lié à une diminution du taux de calcium). Il agit également comme vasodilatateur, diminue l'utilisation du glucose dans la plupart des systèmes et augmente le taux de sucre dans le sang. Il agirait de manière analogue à la cortisone, l'hormone du stress, produite dans l'axe

Ce médicament a plusieurs présentations et voies d’administration, il peut être utilisé par voie orale sous forme de comprimé ou en cas d’urgence, il peut également être trouvé par voie intraveineuse ou intramusculaire injectable.

Il est également important de garder à l'esprit que, surtout lorsqu'il a été utilisé de manière continue et à forte dose, le traitement ne doit jamais être laissé pour compte, car peut générer des syndromes graves pouvant même causer la mort .


  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "A quoi sert Enantyum (dexketoprofen)? Indications et effets"

Indications principales

Urbason est un médicament extrêmement efficace et utile dans le traitement de diverses affections, à la fois pour le traitement de maladies spécifiques et lorsqu'un traitement immédiat est nécessaire et avec des effets rapides (dans le cas d'injectables, généralement en cas de danger de mort). .

Nous parlons généralement d'une utilisation ciblée pour le traitement des inflammations et des modifications dans lesquelles elle se produit une réponse excessive ou dangereuse du système immunitaire .

Le traitement des chocs anaphylactiques, des intoxications, de l'insuffisance surrénalienne, du lupus érythémateux ou de la sclérose en plaques fait partie des médicaments pour lesquels il est prescrit. Il est également particulièrement pertinent dans le traitement des oedèmes graves tels que ceux cérébraux (utilisés par exemple dans certains accidents de la route) ou des voies respiratoires, ainsi qu'avant les réactions de rejet aux greffes.

Dans de nombreux cas, il est utilisé comme médicament pour aider l'action de la chimiothérapie ou même de la radiothérapie. Il est également utilisé dans la maladie d'Addison, caractérisée par une hypofonction des glandes surrénales pouvant entraîner de graves insuffisances.

Les autres conditions dans lesquelles il a été jugé utile sont crises d'asthme sévères, MPOC, divers types d'arthrite et de rhumatismes, anémie et des problèmes hématologiques, une urticaire ou des processus inflammatoires tels que l'hépatite ou la névrite optique.

Effets secondaires

Comme nous l'avons dit dans Urbason, bien que d'utilisation relativement fréquente dans différentes conditions et modifications, comme le corticostéroïde, se manifeste par un médicament très puissant qui peut être très utile et même sauver des vies, mais aussi en générer différents types. des effets secondaires.

Les plus fréquents sont une augmentation de l'appétit et du poids, ainsi qu'une hyperglycémie et une augmentation du cholestérol et des triglycérides, ainsi qu'une rétention hydrique, une hirsutisme (croissance des poils), des changements cutanés, une guérison lente et des modifications de la répartition de la les graisses Les autres habitués sont les faiblesse musculaire, vertiges, cycle menstruel irrégulier, transpiration et fatigue .

Nous devons également garder à l’esprit que c’est un médicament qui diminue la réponse du système immunitaire, de sorte qu’il facilite parfois le déclenchement d’infections et de maladies.

De même peut causer un dysfonctionnement érectile, des problèmes hormonaux, des troubles de la croissance, des arythmies, une thrombose les saisies problèmes musculaires, ulcères ou glaucome. Il favorise également l'ostéoporose, réduisant les taux de calcium, comme nous l'avons mentionné précédemment.

Les effets psychologiques sont un autre type d’effets secondaires que l’Urbason peut générer. Ce médicament est l’un des anti-inflammatoires stéroïdiens ou corticostéroïdes qui contribue le plus à l’apparition des symptômes, notamment parce qu’il fait référence aux variations de la état d'esprit

Généralement liée à la dose utilisée (on considère généralement qu’elle est un peu plus fréquente à partir de 80 mg / jour), certains des symptômes psychiques qui peuvent apparaître ce sont la manie (la plus fréquente), la dépression ou la psychose, ainsi que des états confusionnels.

Son retrait soudain et non progressif peut également avoir des conséquences graves, parmi lesquelles on peut trouver douleur, problèmes respiratoires, perte d'appétit, hypotension ou hypoglycémie et même une insuffisance corticosurrénalienne pouvant entraîner la mort.

Contre-indications

L'utilisation d'Urbason peut être utile, mais tout le monde ne peut l'accepter car cela peut être dangereux pour certaines couches de la population. Pour commencer, il a contre-indiqué toutes les personnes souffrant d'allergies à ce type de médicament.

De même, l'élévation de la glycémie qu'elle produit peut entraîner un danger pour les patients diabétiques en tenant compte de la nécessité de réguler l’insuline et les médicaments utilisés. Ils ne doivent pas non plus le prendre ou le faire avec prudence et sur recommandation médicale des personnes souffrant de maladie cardiaque, des patients qui vont subir un type de chirurgie.

Ils ont également contre-indiqué ou au moins devraient être consultés chez ceux qui ont des ulcères, des infections ou des maladies telles que l'herpès, le glaucome, des troubles du foie ou en cas de grossesse ou d'allaitement .

Il n'est également pas recommandé (sauf en cas de besoin, comme dans les cas d'urgence médicale) chez les personnes atteintes de troubles de l'humeur ou de troubles psychotiques. Si vous prenez d'autres médicaments, vous devriez consulter votre médecin sur la possibilité de les utiliser ou non, car de nombreux médicaments interagissent avec Urbason.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Agence espagnole des médicaments (2017). Fiche technique Urbason 16 mg, comprimés. [En ligne] Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.aemps.gob.es/cima/dochtml/ft/59123/FichaTecnica_59123.html#4-6-fertilidad-embarazo-y-lactancia.
  • Agence espagnole des médicaments (2017). Notice: information de l'utilisateur Urbason 40 mg poudre et solvant pour solution injectable. Méthylprednisolone [en ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.aemps.gob.es/cima/pdfs/fr/p/34023/34023_p.pdf.
  • Lozano, M., Pelegrín, C. et O'Neill, A. (1988). Effets des médicaments thérapeutiques sur le psychisme. Juges pour la démocratie.

Efectos secundarios de la PREDNISONA!!! (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes