yes, therapy helps!
Urie Bronfenbrenner: biography of this development psychologist

Urie Bronfenbrenner: biography of this development psychologist

September 10, 2022

Urie Bronfenbrenner (1917-2005) was a Russian-American psychologist who contributed much knowledge to the theories of child development. He maintained a holistic perspective from which he proposed an Ecological Theory of Systems, one of the most important contributions for evolutionary psychology.

Then we will review the life of Urie Bronfenbrenner in a brief biography , seeing what his most important work consists of and the professional background that was decisive for his development as a psychologist and researcher.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Urie Bronfenbrenner: biography of a pioneer in developmental psychology

Urie Bronfenbrenner was born in Moscow, Russia on April 29, 1917. At the age of 6, Bronfenbrenner moved with his family to the United States, where his father would work as research director of the Institute for the Mentally Handicapped in New York.


In 1938, Bronfenbrenner graduated with a degree in psychology and music from Cornell University, later a postgraduate study in Developmental Psychology at Harvard University, and finally, he obtained a doctorate degree in the same area from the University of Michigan, in 1942.

Several years after finishing their studies, and in the course of World War II , Bronfenbrenner served as a psychologist within the armed forces of the United States Army. Many of these experiences were an important basis for the theory that would later develop.

After working in the army, he gave classes in different universities, on psychology, human development, studies on the family, among other topics. Part of his objectives during his professional development were focused on that theories about human development had a direct impact both in psychology students, as well as in politics and public opinion in general.


It was from this that Bronfenbrenner participated in an important way in the design of programs, where he managed to translate into an operational language the theories about psychological development, specifically in the area of ​​child development, and the socioeconomic sectors of lower income in the United States.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of Development: main theories and authors"

What is a system according to Bronfenbrenner?

The Ecological Theory of Systems is the main work of Bronfenbrenner . In this, he plans a perspective of psychological development that brings together different theoretical proposals, not only evolutionary psychology but also social psychology.

Broadly speaking, it talks about how an individual develops not only from his genetic load or the education he receives from his nuclear family, but in that development there are elements in different environments that are also determinants. For example, the school, the work environment, the neighborhood, the culture.


This is because humans are not only biological beings, but relational beings, that is, our personality and our psychological development are molded largely by the characteristics of the systems in which we live and that make us have things in common or different with others.

Each system coexists, there is no one over another but they are interrelated. For this reason, if a system is altered in an important way, this can affect the need for exploration and the disposition for child learning in other systems.

Likewise, each contains roles, rules and rules that as a whole are determinants for human development.

  • Related article: "The Ecological Theory of Urie Bronfenbrenner"

The 5 systems of the Ecological Theory

It is an "ecological" theory of systems because it focuses attention on the relationship between different environments and how this relationship determines the development of the human being. Currently the Ecological Theory of Systems is considered one of the bridges between the biological, psychological and social (bio-psychosocial) perspectives of development .

For Bronfenbrenner there are five fundamental systems for individual psychological development, ranging from the family to the political and economic structures: the microsystem, the mesosystem, the exosystem, the macrosystem and the chronosystem. Very briefly, we review them below.

1. Microsystem

It is the immediate and closest environment. It is fundamentally our group of belonging: the family, the caregivers, the school, the neighborhood, the peers .

2. Mesosystem

It is made up of the connection between different microsystem environments, for example, between home and school .

3. Exosystem

The exosystem is composed of environments that are considered secondary, because they affect development indirectly. For example, the place where parents work .

4. Macrosystem

This last system is composed of the cultural environment. Sometimes it goes unnoticed, however it is from which certain behavior rules that affect other systems are generated. An example is the cultural differences between Western and non-Western cultures , or the differences between policies and economic systems.

5. Chronosystem

Some time later, Bronfenbrenner added a fifth system to his theory. The chronosystem is composed of the patterns through which our development takes place throughout life and through the different environments mentioned above.

Outstanding works

Among the most representative works of Urie Bronfenbrenner's thought are Two Worlds of Childhood (1972), Influencing Human Development (1963) and The Ecology of Human Development: Experiments by Nature and Design (1979).

Bibliographic references:

  • New World Encyclopedia. (2015). Urie Bronfenbrenner. Retrieved May 31, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Urie_Bronfenbrenner.

Urie Bronfenbrenner Ecological Theory (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Urie Bronfenbrenner: biographie de ce psychologue du développement

Urie Bronfenbrenner: biographie de ce psychologue du développement

Juillet 26, 2022

Urie Bronfenbrenner (1917-2005) était un psychologue américano-russe qui a beaucoup apporté aux théories du développement de l'enfant. Il a maintenu une perspective holistique à partir de laquelle il a proposé une théorie écologique des systèmes, l'une des contributions les plus importantes de la psychologie de l'évolution.

Ensuite nous allons passer en revue la vie de Urie Bronfenbrenner dans une brève biographie , voyant en quoi consiste son travail le plus important et le parcours professionnel qui a été déterminant pour son développement en tant que psychologue et chercheur.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Urie Bronfenbrenner: biographie d'un pionnier de la psychologie du développement

Urie Bronfenbrenner est né à Moscou, en Russie, le 29 avril 1917. À l'âge de 6 ans, Bronfenbrenner a déménagé avec sa famille aux États-Unis, où son père travaillait comme directeur de recherche à l'Institut des handicapés mentaux de New York.


En 1938, Bronfenbrenner obtint un diplôme en psychologie et en musique de l'Université Cornell, puis des études de troisième cycle en psychologie du développement à l'Université Harvard. Il obtint enfin un doctorat dans la même région à l'Université du Michigan. en 1942.

Plusieurs années après la fin de leurs études et au cours de la seconde guerre mondiale Bronfenbrenner a été psychologue au sein des forces armées de l’armée américaine. Bon nombre de ces expériences ont constitué une base importante pour la théorie à développer ultérieurement.

Après avoir travaillé dans l'armée, il a donné des cours dans différentes universités, sur la psychologie, le développement humain, des études sur la famille, entre autres sujets. Une partie de ses objectifs au cours de son développement professionnel ont été centrés sur que les théories sur le développement humain ont un impact direct les étudiants en psychologie, ainsi que dans la politique et l'opinion publique en général.


C'est à partir de là que Bronfenbrenner a participé de manière importante à la conception de programmes, où il a réussi à traduire dans une langue opérationnelle les théories du développement psychologique, en particulier dans le domaine du développement de l'enfant, et des secteurs socio-économiques à faible revenu aux États-Unis.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Psychologie du développement: théories principales et auteurs"

Qu'est-ce qu'un système selon Bronfenbrenner?

La théorie écologique des systèmes est l’œuvre principale de Bronfenbrenner . En cela, il envisage une perspective de développement psychologique qui associe différentes propositions théoriques, non seulement la psychologie évolutionniste, mais aussi la psychologie sociale.

En gros, il est question de la façon dont un individu se développe non seulement à partir de sa charge génétique ou de l'éducation qu'il reçoit de sa famille nucléaire, mais dans ce développement, il existe des éléments dans différents environnements qui sont également déterminants. Par exemple, l'école, l'environnement de travail, le quartier, la culture.


C'est parce que les humains ne sont pas seulement des êtres biologiques, mais des êtres relationnels, c'est-à-dire notre personnalité et notre développement psychologique sont façonnés en grande partie par les caractéristiques des systèmes dans lesquels nous vivons et cela nous fait avoir des choses en commun ou différentes avec les autres.

Chaque système coexiste, il n'y a personne sur un autre, mais ils sont interdépendants. Pour cette raison, si un système est modifié de manière importante, cela peut affecter le besoin d'exploration et la disposition à l'apprentissage des enfants dans d'autres systèmes.

De même chacun contient des rôles, des règles et des règles qui dans leur ensemble sont déterminants pour le développement humain.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie écologique d'Urie Bronfenbrenner"

Les 5 systèmes de la théorie écologique

Il s’agit d’une théorie «écologique» des systèmes car elle attire l’attention sur la relation entre différents environnements et sur la manière dont cette relation détermine le développement de l’être humain. Actuellement, la théorie écologique des systèmes est considérée un des ponts entre les perspectives de développement biologiques, psychologiques et sociales (bio-psychosociales) .

Pour Bronfenbrenner, il existe cinq systèmes fondamentaux de développement psychologique individuel, qui vont de la famille aux structures politiques et économiques: le microsystème, le mésosystème, l’exosystème, le macrosystème et le chronosystème. Très brièvement, nous les passons en revue ci-dessous.

1. Microsystème

C'est l'environnement immédiat et le plus proche. C'est fondamentalement notre groupe d'appartenance: la famille, les soignants, l'école, le quartier, les pairs .

2. Mesosystème

Il est constitué de la connexion entre différents environnements de microsystèmes, par exemple, entre la maison et l'école .

3. Exosystème

L'exosystème est composé d'environnements considérés comme secondaires, car ils affectent le développement indirectement. Par exemple, l'endroit où travaillent les parents .

4. Macrosystème

Ce dernier système est composé de l'environnement culturel. Parfois, cela passe inaperçu, mais certaines règles de comportement qui affectent d’autres systèmes sont générées. Un exemple est les différences culturelles entre les cultures occidentales et non occidentales , ou les différences entre les politiques et les systèmes économiques.

5. Chronosystème

Peu de temps après, Bronfenbrenner ajouta un cinquième système à sa théorie. Le chronosystème est composé des modèles à travers lesquels notre développement se déroule tout au long de la vie et à travers les différents environnements mentionnés ci-dessus.

Œuvres en vedette

Parmi les œuvres les plus représentatives de la pensée de Urie Bronfenbrenner figurent Deux mondes d'enfance (1972), Influencer le développement humain (1963) et L'écologie du développement humain: expériences de nature et de conception (1979).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. (2015). Urie Bronfenbrenner. Récupéré le 31 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/Urie_Bronfenbrenner.

Der ökosystemische Ansatz der Entwicklung (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes