yes, therapy helps!
Vagus nerve: what it is and what functions it has in the nervous system

Vagus nerve: what it is and what functions it has in the nervous system

October 28, 2020

The vagus nerve is the number 10 of the cranial nerves . Among other things, it is responsible for transmitting information related to sensory and muscular activity, as well as anatomical functions.

Next we will briefly see what the cranial nerves are, and later we define the vagus nerve.

  • Related article: "Parts of the Nervous System: functions and anatomical structures"

The cranial nerves

The lower part of our brain is composed of a complex network of nerves that we know as "cranial nerves" or "cranial nerves". In total there are 12, they originate directly in our brain and they are distributed along different fibers by means of holes that are in the base of the skull towards the neck, the thorax and the abdomen.


Each of these nerves is composed of fibers that fulfill different functions and that arise from a specific part of the brain (may be at the base or stem). According to their location and the specific place from which they depart, cranial nerves are divided into subgroups :

  • On the stem are pairs I and II.
  • In the mesencephalon, pairs III and IV are found.
  • On the bridge of Varolio are the V, VI, VII and VIII.
  • Finally, in the spinal bulb are the IX, X, XI and XII.

At the same time, each of them has different names according to their origin, their activity, or the specific function that they comply In the following sections we will see how it is defined and what functions the vagus nerve has.


What is the vagus nerve?

The vagus nerve is one of the cranial nerves that is distinguished by having four nuclei and five different types of fiber. Specifically, it is the cranial pair number X and it is The most predominant neural effector of the parasympathetic nervous system , since it comprises 75% of all its nerve fibers (Czura & Tracey, 2007).

It is known as "vague" nerve to mention ramblings and rodeos. It is the nerve whose course is the longest of the cranial nerves, they extend and distribute widely below the level of the head.

It arises in the medulla oblongata or medulla oblongata, and advances towards the jugular foramen , passing between the glosso pharyngeal and spinal accessory nerves, and consists of two ganglia: one superior and one inferior.

Starting from the medulla oblongata and through the jugular foramen, the vagus nerve descends towards the thorax, crossing different nerves, veins and arteries. Both the left and the right part extend from the neck to the thorax; for this reason he is responsible for taking part of the parasympathetic fibers to the thoracic viscera.


The vagus nerve interacts especially with the immune system and the central nervous system and performs motor functions in the larynx, diaphragm, stomach, heart . It also has sensory functions in the ears, tongue and visceral organs such as the liver.

The damages of this nerve can cause dysphagia (swallowing problems), or an incomplete closure of the oropharynx and nasopharynx. On the other hand, pharmacological interventions on the vagus nerve can help control various pains , for example those that are caused by cancer and by tumors of the larynx or intrathoracic diseases.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Parasympathetic nervous system: functions and travel"

Connection with other nerves

As we saw before, the vagus nerve connects with different nerves, that is, exchanges several of its fibers and functions. According to Barral, J-P. & Croibier, A. (2009), the nerves with which it connects are the following :

  • Accessory nerve.
  • Glossopharyngeal nerve.
  • Facial nerve.
  • Hypoglossal nerve.
  • Sympathetic nerve
  • The first two spinal nerves.
  • Phrenic nerve.

Its 5 types of fibers and their functions

The nerve fibers, or nerves, are the extensions that connect the center of each nerve cell with the next. They transmit signals that are known as action potentials and they allow us to process the stimuli.

The latter are not the only types of fibers, there are also to connect and activate effector organs, muscle fibers or glands. According to Rea (2014), the vagus nerve has the following types of fibers.

1. Brachial motor fiber

Active and regulate the muscles of the pharynx and larynx .

2. Sensory visceral fiber

Responsible for transmitting information from a wide variety of organs , such as the heart and lungs, pharynx and larynx, and the upper part of the gastrointestinal tract.

3. Visceral motor fiber

It is responsible for carrying the parasympathetic fibers from the smooth muscle to the respiratory tract, the heart and the gastrointestinal tract .

4. Special sensory fiber

The vagus nerve transmits information necessary for taste of the palate and the epiglottis (the fibrous cartilage that closes the entrance of the larynx during swallowing)

5. General sensory fiber

This component allows the passage of information from parts of the ear and the dura within the posterior cranial fossa.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barral, J-P. (2009). Vagus nerve Manual Therapy for the Cranial Nerves. Elsevier: USA.
  • Rea, P. (2014). Vagus Nerve Clinical Anatomy of the Cranial Nerves. Elsevier Academic Press: UK.
  • Czura, C. (2007). Cholinergic Regulation of Inflammation. Psychoneuroimmunology (Fourth Edition). Elsevier Academic Press: USA.
  • Waldman, S. (2007). Pain Management. Saunders: USA.

Vagus Nerve Stimulation (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Le nerf vague: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles fonctions il a dans le système nerveux

Le nerf vague: qu'est-ce que c'est et quelles fonctions il a dans le système nerveux

Août 8, 2022

Le nerf vague est le numéro 10 des nerfs crâniens . Il est notamment responsable de la transmission d'informations relatives à l'activité sensorielle et musculaire, ainsi que des fonctions anatomiques.

Ensuite, nous verrons brièvement ce que sont les nerfs crâniens et, plus tard, nous définirons le nerf vague.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du système nerveux: fonctions et structures anatomiques"

Les nerfs crâniens

La partie inférieure de notre cerveau est composée d'un réseau complexe de nerfs que nous appelons "nerfs crâniens" ou "nerfs crâniens". Au total, il y en a 12, ils proviennent directement de notre cerveau et ils sont répartis le long de différentes fibres au moyen de trous situés dans la base du crâne, en direction du cou, du thorax et de l'abdomen.


Chacun de ces nerfs est composé de fibres qui remplissent des fonctions différentes et qui proviennent d'une partie spécifique du cerveau (pouvant être à la base ou sur la tige). En fonction de leur emplacement et du lieu précis d'où ils partent, les nerfs crâniens sont divisés en sous-groupes :

  • Sur la tige sont les paires I et II.
  • Dans le mésencéphale, on trouve les paires III et IV.
  • Sur le pont de Varolio se trouvent les V, VI, VII et VIII.
  • Enfin, dans le bulbe spinal se trouvent les IX, X, XI et XII.

À son tour, chacun d'entre eux a des noms différents selon leur origine, leur activité ou la fonction spécifique qu'ils se conforment Dans les sections suivantes, nous verrons comment il est défini et quelles sont les fonctions du nerf vague.


Quel est le nerf vague?

Le nerf vague est l’un des nerfs crâniens qui se distingue par ses quatre noyaux et ses cinq types de fibres. Plus précisément, il s’agit du numéro de paire crânienne X et c’est L’effecteur neural prédominant du système nerveux parasympathique , puisqu'elle comprend 75% de toutes ses fibres nerveuses (Czura & Tracey, 2007).

Il est connu sous le nom de "vague" nerf pour parler des ramblings et des rodéos. C'est le nerf dont le parcours est le plus long des nerfs crâniens, ils s'étendent et se distribuent largement en dessous du niveau de la tête.

Il se pose dans la médulla oblongata ou médulla oblongata et avance vers le foramen jugulaire. , passant entre les nerfs glosso pharyngien et spinal accessoires, et consiste en deux ganglions: un supérieur et un inférieur.

Partant de la moelle oblongate et passant par le foramen jugulaire, le nerf vague descend vers le thorax en traversant différents nerfs, veines et artères. Les parties gauche et droite s'étendent du cou au thorax; pour cette raison, il est responsable de prendre une partie des fibres parasympathiques aux viscères thoraciques.


Le nerf vague interagit en particulier avec le système immunitaire et le système nerveux central et exerce des fonctions motrices dans le larynx, le diaphragme, l'estomac, le cœur . Il a également des fonctions sensorielles dans les oreilles, la langue et les organes viscéraux tels que le foie.

Les lésions de ce nerf peuvent provoquer une dysphagie (problèmes de déglutition) ou une fermeture incomplète de l'oropharynx et du nasopharynx. D'un autre côté, les interventions pharmacologiques sur le nerf vague peuvent aider à contrôler diverses douleurs , par exemple ceux qui sont causés par un cancer et par des tumeurs du larynx ou des maladies intrathoraciques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Système nerveux parasympathique: fonctions et voyages"

Connexion avec d'autres nerfs

Comme nous l'avons vu précédemment, le nerf vague se connecte avec différents nerfs, c'est-à-dire qu'il échange plusieurs de ses fibres et fonctions. Selon Barral, J-P. & Croibier, A. (2009), les nerfs avec lesquels il se connecte sont les suivants :

  • Nerf accessoire.
  • Nerf glossopharyngé.
  • Nerf facial
  • Nerf hypoglossal.
  • Nerf sympathique
  • Les deux premiers nerfs spinaux.
  • Nerf phrénique.

Ses 5 types de fibres et leurs fonctions

Les fibres nerveuses, ou nerfs, sont les extensions qui relient le centre de chaque cellule nerveuse à la suivante. Ils transmettent des signaux appelés potentiels d'action et ils nous permettent de traiter les stimuli.

Ces derniers ne sont pas les seuls types de fibres, il faut également connecter et activer les organes effecteurs, les fibres musculaires ou les glandes. Selon Rea (2014), le nerf vague présente les types de fibres suivants.

1. Fibre moteur brachiale

Actif et réguler les muscles du pharynx et du larynx .

2. Fibre viscérale sensorielle

Responsable de la transmission des informations de une grande variété d'organes , tels que le coeur et les poumons, le pharynx et le larynx et la partie supérieure du tractus gastro-intestinal.

3. Fibre motrice viscérale

Il est responsable du transport des fibres parasympathiques des muscles lisses aux voies respiratoires, au cœur et au tractus gastro-intestinal .

4. Fibre sensorielle spéciale

Le nerf vague transmet les informations nécessaires au goût du palais et de l'épiglotte (le cartilage fibreux qui ferme l'entrée du larynx lors de la déglutition)

5. Fibre sensorielle générale

Cette composante permet le passage d'informations de parties de l'oreille et de la dure-mère dans la fosse crânienne postérieure.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barral, J-P. (2009). Nerf vague Thérapie manuelle pour les nerfs crâniens. Elsevier: USA.
  • Rea, P. (2014). Nerf de vagus Anatomie clinique des nerfs crâniens. Elsevier Academic Press: Royaume-Uni.
  • Czura, C. (2007). Régulation cholinergique de l'inflammation. Psychoneuroimmunologie (quatrième édition). Elsevier Academic Press: États-Unis.
  • Waldman, S. (2007). Gestion de la douleur. Saunders: États-Unis.

La stimulation du nerf vagal (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes