yes, therapy helps!
Vascular dementia: causes, symptoms and treatment

Vascular dementia: causes, symptoms and treatment

January 17, 2022

Among the neurological diseases associated with aging, dementias are among the most common. They are a group of relatively varied disorders, but in general they are related to the appearance of memory and language problems.

In this article we will focus on vascular dementia or multi-infarct dementia, a disease with serious effects on the brain.

  • Related article: "Types of dementia: forms of cognition loss"

What is vascular dementia?

We understand as vascular dementia a form of neurological disorder whose most important symptom is the loss of memory and memory skills and that, in addition, has been caused by ischemic problems in the brain .


In short, in vascular dementia the impairment of cognitive, motor and emotion regulation skills they are produced by the death of large numbers of neurons and glial cells that, because of small cerebral infarcts, are without oxygen.

Thus, the main cause of this disease are strokes, although these are also associated with risk factors to be taken into account.

  • Related article: "The 15 most frequent neurological disorders"

Risk factor's

The presence of diabetes or hypertension It is one of the main risk factors, since people who have these conditions have a greater chance of developing vascular dementia.


On the other hand, smoking, alcoholism, high cholesterol levels in blood, autoimmune diseases and in general belonging to the low socioeconomic class also make the chances of developing this disease grow significantly. The passage through complex surgeries in which general anesthesia is used, on the other hand, is also a risk factor.

With regard to age, the group that is most threatened is the one between 50 and 60 years old , followed by the one that goes from 60 to 70. In the case of men, the risk is greater, since this is a disease that affects men more.

Symptoms and signs

The symptoms of vascular dementia can vary a lot , since the areas of the brain affected by ischemic accidents are also very varied. However, it is possible to recognize certain patterns of deterioration that are met in a large number of cases in which the patient has this disease. These symptoms are the following.


1. Abulia

People with this type of dementia tend to be self-absorbed and lack willpower or motivation, a phenomenon known as abulia. This means that certain cases may end up looking like patients with disorders associated with depression.

2. Confusion and disorientation

The problems when it comes to knowing where and at what time it is also common. The appearance of these moments is usually abrupt, and they get worse with the passage of time. These episodes may appear in the form of outbreaks they disappear in a matter of minutes, although with the increase in age they become longer and more common until they become the normal psychological condition of the person.

3. Personality change

This is the symptom most complained by family members of patients. In a short time, people with vascular dementia can go on to show a personality significantly different from the one that has defined them throughout their lives.

4. Frequent falls and alterations in walking

Alterations in posture and lack of coordination of movements they are also two typical symptoms that appear when the course of the disease has already advanced after the first stages of deterioration. This causes these people to fall more frequently.

Types of vascular dementia

Vascular dementia is a clinical concept that is not composed of identical diseases. That is why a series of categories, or types of vascular dementia, has been established in order to distinguish the characteristics of the health problem suffered by each patient. These diagnostic categories are the following .

Binswanger's disease

Also known as subcortical vascular dementia, in this disease the cellular tissue that has been affected by the lack of oxygen is the connective, that is, the one that makes up the white matter located below the cerebral cortex .

This disorder is usually associated with problems of mental agility and language, as well as memory, although the exact symptoms vary depending on the lobe and hemisphere of the brain that has been affected. Problems in the regulation of emotions is also relatively common.

Cortical vascular dementia

In this disease dead cells are located in the cerebral cortex.In many cases, the lack of blood supply has been generated by thrombosis or stroke which affects relatively small areas.

  • Related article: "Cerebral embolism: types, symptoms, sequelae and causes"

Mixed dementia

This category is used to include in it cases in which the disease may have been caused by degenerative processes that have occurred in parallel, such as different types of dementias and / or Alzheimer's disease.


Diagnosis and Management of Vascular Dementia | UCLAMDCHAT Webinars (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Démence vasculaire: causes, symptômes et traitement

Démence vasculaire: causes, symptômes et traitement

Janvier 21, 2023

Parmi les maladies neurologiques associées au vieillissement, les démences sont parmi les plus courantes. Ils constituent un groupe de troubles relativement variés, mais ils sont généralement liés à l’apparition de problèmes de mémoire et de langage.

Dans cet article nous allons nous concentrer sur la démence vasculaire ou la démence multi-infarctus, une maladie avec des effets graves sur le cerveau.

  • Article connexe: "Types de démence: formes de perte cognitive"

Qu'est-ce que la démence vasculaire?

Nous entendons par démence vasculaire une forme de désordre neurologique dont le symptôme le plus important est la perte de mémoire et les capacités de mémoire et qui, en outre, a été causée par des problèmes ischémiques dans le cerveau .


En bref, dans la démence vasculaire, le altération des capacités de régulation cognitive, motrice et des émotions ils sont produits par la mort d'un grand nombre de neurones et de cellules gliales qui, en raison de petits infarctus cérébraux, sont sans oxygène.

Ainsi, la cause principale de cette maladie sont les accidents vasculaires cérébraux, bien que ceux-ci soient également associés à des facteurs de risque à prendre en compte.

  • Article connexe: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus fréquents"

Facteurs de risque

La présence de diabète ou d'hypertension C'est l'un des principaux facteurs de risque, car les personnes atteintes de ces maladies ont plus de risques de développer une démence vasculaire.


D'un autre côté, tabagisme, alcoolisme, taux de cholestérol élevé dans le sang, les maladies auto-immunes et, en général, appartenant à la classe socioéconomique inférieure augmentent également les chances de développer cette maladie. Le passage à des chirurgies complexes dans lesquelles une anesthésie générale est utilisée est également un facteur de risque.

En ce qui concerne l'âge, le groupe le plus menacé est celui des 50 à 60 ans , suivi de celui qui passe de 60 à 70 ans. Dans le cas des hommes, le risque est plus grand, car il s’agit d’une maladie qui touche davantage les hommes.

Symptômes et signes

Les symptômes de la démence vasculaire peuvent varier beaucoup , puisque les régions du cerveau touchées par des accidents ischémiques sont également très variées. Cependant, il est possible de reconnaître certains modèles de détérioration rencontrés dans un grand nombre de cas dans lesquels le patient est atteint de cette maladie. Ces symptômes sont les suivants.


1. Abulia

Les personnes atteintes de ce type de démence ont tendance à être absorbées par elles-mêmes et manquent de volonté ou de motivation, un phénomène appelé abulia. Cela signifie que certains cas peuvent ressembler à des patients atteints de troubles associés à la dépression.

2. Confusion et désorientation

Les problèmes rencontrés pour savoir où et à quelle heure sont également fréquents. L'apparition de ces moments est généralement brusque et ils s'aggravent avec le temps. Ces épisodes peuvent apparaître sous la forme d'épidémies elles disparaissent en quelques minutes, bien qu'avec l’âge, elles deviennent plus longues et plus communes jusqu’à devenir l’état psychologique normal de la personne.

3. Changement de personnalité

C'est le symptôme le plus déploré par les membres de la famille des patients. En peu de temps, les personnes atteintes de démence vasculaire peuvent avoir une personnalité très différente de celle qui les a définies tout au long de leur vie.

4. Chutes fréquentes et modifications de la marche

Altérations dans la posture et manque de coordination des mouvements Ce sont également deux symptômes typiques qui apparaissent lorsque l'évolution de la maladie a déjà progressé après les premiers stades de la détérioration. Cela provoque la chute plus fréquente de ces personnes.

Types de démence vasculaire

La démence vasculaire est un concept clinique qui ne se compose pas de maladies identiques. C'est pourquoi une série de catégories ou de types de démence vasculaire a été établie afin de distinguer les caractéristiques du problème de santé rencontré par chaque patient. Ces catégories de diagnostics sont les suivantes .

Maladie de Binswanger

Aussi appelée démence vasculaire sous-corticale, dans cette maladie, le tissu cellulaire affecté par le manque d'oxygène est le connectif, c'est-à-dire celui qui constitue la substance blanche. situé sous le cortex cérébral .

Ce trouble est généralement associé à des problèmes d’agilité mentale et de langage, ainsi qu’à la mémoire, bien que les symptômes exacts varient en fonction du lobe et de l’hémisphère du cerveau affectés. Les problèmes de régulation des émotions sont également relativement courants.

Démence vasculaire corticale

Dans cette maladie, les cellules mortes sont situées dans le cortex cérébral.Dans de nombreux cas, le manque d’approvisionnement en sang a été générée par une thrombose ou un accident vasculaire cérébral qui affecte des zones relativement petites.

  • Article connexe: "Embolie cérébrale: types, symptômes, séquelles et causes"

Démence mixte

Cette catégorie est utilisée pour inclure les cas dans lesquels la maladie pourrait avoir été causée par des processus dégénératifs survenus en parallèle, tels que différents types de démences et / ou la maladie d'Alzheimer.


Démence : Les symptômes - Conseils Retraite Plus (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes