yes, therapy helps!
Venlafaxine: uses, side effects and precautions

Venlafaxine: uses, side effects and precautions

August 16, 2022

There are almost as many types and subtypes of antidepressant drugs as there are disorders and conditions with depressive or anxious symptoms. This is because each one of them presents singularities that can be effective for each of the disorders.

One of these drugs is venlafaxine, an antidepressant It was first introduced in 1993 and since then it has become one of the most prescribed medications for depression.

  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What is venlafaxine?

Venlafaxine is an antidepressant that is included within the category of Selective Serotonin and Noradrenaline Reuptake Inhibitors (SSRIs) , being the most common and administered of the whole range. It is prescribed, mainly, in cases of major depressive disorder, generalized anxiety disorder and in specific cases of anxiety disorders with depression.


Selective Inhibitors of Reuptake of Serotonin and Noradrenaline exert an effect on these two neurotransmitters, which have an important role in the mood of people.

At the functional level, the action of venlafaxine is related to that of tricyclic antidepressants. However, by not interfering with the muscarinic, histaminergic or alphaadrenergic receptors, they do not exert such undesirable side effects with such intensity, among which are sedative, hypnotic reactions or side effects that affect the cardiovascular system.

Finally, administered in very high doses, venlafaxine also exerts a subtle inhibitory effect of dopamine reuptake ; since recent studies have shown that the driver of noradrenaline also transports dopamine in small amounts.


If, in addition, we take into account that the reuptake of serotonin in the frontal cortex will also activate dopamine and that this brain region has only dopamine receptors; venlafaxine will favor the neurotransmission of dopamine also in the frontal cortex.

  • You may be interested: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

In what disorders is it used?

As discussed above, venlafaxine is an antidepressant. Therefore, this is a psychotropic drug administered both in cases of depressive disorders, and in some disorders with anxious symptoms.

Venlafaxine It is mainly used in patients with major depressive disorder . This condition is characterized because the person experiences a low state of mind in an invasive and persistent way. In addition, it is often linked to low self-esteem and lack of interest or enjoyment in those activities that were previously considered pleasurable.


However, it is sometimes administered by prolonged-release capsules for certain disorders related to anxiety. Among them:

  • Generalized anxiety disorder : the person experiences an exaggerated and uncontrollable worry.
  • Social anxiety disorder: exacerbated fear of interaction with other people.
  • Panic disorder : Sudden and unexpected crises of intense fear and feelings of worry associated with these crises.

Finally, venlafaxine is also administered in some cases of narcolepsy sleep disorder. The reason is that, thanks to its effects on the serotonergic and adrenergic systems, it can help to moderate the episodes of muscle fragility or cataplexy associated with this condition.

  • Related article: "ISRN: effects and functioning of this type of antidepressant drug"

How is it administered?

Venlafaxine is sold in two different formats depending on the type of action: the usual tablets or prolonged-release capsules. In any case, being a drug, its use must always be indicated by a doctor.

In general, the tablets should be ingested between two and three times a day whereas in the prolonged-release capsules it is sufficient with one dose per day, being able to be administered in the morning or at night. Due to the effects of this antidepressant, a gradual start of treatment is recommended , starting at a small daily dose of venlafaxine that will progressively increase once every 4 or 7 days.

However, regardless of the case or state in which the patient is, he should always follow the instructions offered by his doctor, which will adjust the dose to the conditions in which he is.

In no way can the patient modify the doses of venlafaxine, nor stop taking it or taking it in more quantity than recommended; since this can lead serious consequences on the health of the person, such as withdrawal syndrome .

If you think the medication has no effect on you or is harming you, you should contact your doctor to adjust it before changing anything on your own.

Side effects of this drug

Like all antidepressant drugs, venlafaxine can exert a series of side effects about the person. These can be distinguished between serious or non-serious side effects.

If the patient experiences some of the non-serious side effects in a severe or recurrent manner, it is recommended that you inform your doctor so that you adjust the dose. In the case of serious side effects, the patient should contact the doctor immediately.

Less serious side effects

These are the mild side effects of venlafaxine.

  • Drowsiness .
  • Feeling tired.
  • Vertigos
  • Headaches
  • Nightmares.
  • Nausea and / or vomiting
  • Gastrointestinal disorders .
  • Loss of appetite and / or weight.
  • Tremors .
  • Tension and / or muscle spasms.
  • Sweating .
  • Problems in urination.
  • Throat infections
  • Alterations in sexual desire.

Serious side effects

Among the side effects of venlafaxine that are more serious, the following stand out.

  • Skin problems such as rash, hives or itching.
  • Problems in breathing and swallowing.
  • Pectoral pain
  • Arrhythmias
  • Convulsions
  • Cardinals without apparent cause.
  • Vision problems.
  • Fevers .
  • Alteration in coordination.
  • Hallucinations .
  • Eat temporary.

Finally, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), after a recent study that linked the consumption of antidepressants (specifically venlafaxine) with an increased risk of suicides, requires that all antidepressants include a warning about this possible contingency.

What precautions should be taken?

Like the side effects, venlafaxine also has a series of contraindications or conditions to take into account before starting the treatment. It will be necessary for the patient to inform his / her doctor of any special health condition that he / she has, regardless of the nature of the condition.

It should be reported both allergies, as all drugs, vitamin supplements and natural complexes that the patient is consuming, to avoid possible interference with treatment. Likewise, you should also report your habits regarding alcohol intake and diet, among other things because venlafaxine often causes significant weight loss.

The patient should also bear in mind that due to the effects of drowsiness caused by the medication, your ability to drive or operate heavy machinery it can be altered.

Finally, in cases of pregnancy, although there are no controlled investigations; Some studies suggest that venlafaxine may double the risk of spontaneous abortion, as well as significant malformations in the fetus. Therefore, it should only be administered in rigorously justified and necessary cases.


Effexor XR (Venlafaxine) - Anti-Depressant/Anti-Anxiety (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Venlafaxine: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Venlafaxine: utilisations, effets secondaires et précautions

Septembre 28, 2022

Il existe presque autant de types et de sous-types d'antidépresseurs qu'il y a de troubles et d'états accompagnés de symptômes dépressifs ou anxieux. En effet, chacun d’entre eux présente des singularités pouvant être efficaces pour chacun des troubles.

La venlafaxine, un antidépresseur, est l’un de ces médicaments. Il a été introduit pour la première fois en 1993 et ​​depuis lors, il est devenu l'un des médicaments les plus prescrits pour la dépression.

  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Qu'est-ce que la venlafaxine?

La venlafaxine est un antidépresseur inclus dans la catégorie des inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline (ISRS) , étant le plus commun et administré de toute la gamme. Il est prescrit principalement dans les cas de trouble dépressif majeur, de trouble anxieux généralisé et dans certains cas de troubles anxieux avec dépression.


Les inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline exercent un effet sur ces deux neurotransmetteurs, qui jouent un rôle important dans l'humeur des individus.

Au niveau fonctionnel, l'action de la venlafaxine est liée à celle des antidépresseurs tricycliques. Cependant, en n'interférant pas avec les récepteurs muscariniques, histaminergiques ou alpha-adrénergiques, ils n'exercent pas de tels effets secondaires indésirables avec une telle intensité, parmi lesquels des sédatifs, des réactions hypnotiques ou des effets secondaires affectant le système cardiovasculaire.

Enfin, administrée à très fortes doses, la venlafaxine exerce également un effet inhibiteur subtil de la recapture de la dopamine ; Depuis des études récentes, le conducteur de la noradrénaline transporte également de la dopamine en petites quantités.


Si, en outre, nous prenons en compte le fait que la recapture de la sérotonine dans le cortex frontal activera également la dopamine et que cette région du cerveau ne comporte que des récepteurs de la dopamine; la venlafaxine va favoriser la neurotransmission de la dopamine également dans le cortex frontal.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Dans quels troubles est-il utilisé?

Comme discuté ci-dessus, la venlafaxine est un antidépresseur. Par conséquent, il s’agit d’un médicament psychotrope administré à la fois dans les cas de troubles dépressifs et dans certains troubles accompagnés de symptômes anxieux.

Venlafaxine Il est principalement utilisé chez les patients présentant un trouble dépressif majeur . Cette condition est caractérisée par le fait que la personne éprouve un état d'esprit bas de manière envahissante et persistante. En outre, cela est souvent lié à une faible estime de soi et à un manque d'intérêt ou de plaisir pour les activités auparavant considérées comme agréables.


Cependant, il est parfois administré par des capsules à libération prolongée pour certains troubles liés à l’anxiété. Entre eux:

  • Trouble d'anxiété généralisée : la personne éprouve une inquiétude exagérée et incontrôlable.
  • Trouble d'anxiété sociale: peur exacerbée des interactions avec les autres.
  • Trouble panique : Crises soudaines et inattendues de peur intense et sentiments d’inquiétude associés à ces crises.

Enfin, la venlafaxine est également administrée dans certains cas de trouble du sommeil narcolepsie. La raison en est que, grâce à ses effets sur les systèmes sérotoninergiques et adrénergiques, il peut aider à modérer les épisodes de fragilité musculaire ou de cataplexie associés à cette affection.

  • Article connexe: "ISRN: effets et fonctionnement de ce type d'antidépresseur"

Comment est-il administré?

La venlafaxine est vendue sous deux formats différents selon le type d'action: les comprimés habituels ou les gélules à libération prolongée. Dans tous les cas, en tant que médicament, son utilisation doit toujours être indiquée par un médecin.

En général, les comprimés doivent être ingérés entre deux et trois fois par jour, alors que dans les gélules à libération prolongée, il suffit d'une dose par jour, pouvant être administré le matin ou le soir. En raison des effets de cet antidépresseur, un début de traitement progressif est recommandé en commençant par une petite dose quotidienne de venlafaxine, qui augmentera progressivement tous les 4 ou 7 jours.

Toutefois, quel que soit le cas ou l'état dans lequel se trouve le patient, il doit toujours suivre les instructions données par son médecin, qui ajusteront la dose en fonction des conditions dans lesquelles il se trouve.

Le patient ne peut en aucun cas modifier les doses de venlafaxine, ni arrêter de le prendre ou de le prendre en quantité supérieure à celle recommandée; puisque cela peut conduire conséquences graves sur la santé de la personne, telles que le syndrome de sevrage .

Si vous pensez que le médicament n'a aucun effet sur vous ou qu'il vous nuit, vous devez contacter votre médecin pour l'ajuster avant de modifier quoi que ce soit par vous-même.

Effets secondaires de ce médicament

Comme tous les antidépresseurs, la venlafaxine peut exercer une série d'effets secondaires à propos de la personne. Ceux-ci peuvent être distingués entre les effets secondaires graves et non graves.

Si le patient présente certains des effets indésirables peu graves de manière sévère ou récurrente, il est recommandé d’informer votre médecin afin d’ajuster la dose. En cas d'effets secondaires graves, le patient doit contacter le médecin immédiatement.

Effets secondaires moins graves

Ce sont les effets secondaires bénins de la venlafaxine.

  • Somnolence .
  • Sensation de fatigue.
  • Vertigos
  • Maux de tête
  • Cauchemars
  • Nausées et / ou vomissements
  • Problèmes gastro-intestinaux .
  • Perte d'appétit et / ou de poids.
  • Tremblements .
  • Tensions et / ou spasmes musculaires.
  • Transpiration .
  • Problèmes de miction.
  • Infections de la gorge
  • Altérations du désir sexuel.

Effets secondaires graves

Parmi les effets secondaires de la venlafaxine les plus graves, on distingue les suivants.

  • Problèmes de peau tels qu'éruption cutanée, urticaire ou démangeaisons.
  • Problèmes de respiration et de déglutition.
  • Douleur pectorale
  • Arythmies
  • Convulsions
  • Cardinaux sans cause apparente.
  • Problèmes de vision
  • Les fièvres .
  • Modification en coordination.
  • Hallucinations .
  • Mangez temporaire.

Enfin, la Food and Drug Administration (FDA), après une étude récente associant la consommation d'antidépresseurs (en particulier la venlafaxine) à un risque accru de suicides, exige que tous les antidépresseurs incluent un avertissement concernant cette éventualité.

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre?

Comme les effets secondaires, la venlafaxine a une série de contre-indications ou de conditions à prendre en compte avant de commencer le traitement. Le patient devra informer son médecin de tout problème de santé particulier qu’il a, quelle que soit sa nature.

Il convient de signaler les deux allergies, comme tous les médicaments, les suppléments de vitamines et les complexes naturels consommés par le patient, afin d'éviter toute interférence avec le traitement. De même, vous devez également signaler vos habitudes en matière de consommation d'alcool et de régime alimentaire, notamment parce que la venlafaxine entraîne souvent une perte de poids importante.

Le patient doit également se rappeler que, en raison des effets de somnolence provoqués par le médicament, votre capacité à conduire ou à utiliser des machines lourdes il peut être modifié.

Enfin, en cas de grossesse, bien qu’il n’y ait pas d’enquêtes contrôlées; Certaines études suggèrent que la venlafaxine pourrait doubler le risque d'avortement spontané, ainsi que de malformations importantes chez le fœtus. Par conséquent, il ne devrait être administré que dans des cas rigoureusement justifiés et nécessaires.


JE PRENDS DES ANTIDÉPRESSEURS (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes