yes, therapy helps!
Ventral tegmental area: anatomy, functions and disorders

Ventral tegmental area: anatomy, functions and disorders

November 10, 2022

The ventral tegmental area is a region of the mesencephalon , also known as the middle brain, which is very important because of its involvement in the reinforcement circuit, responsible for the sensations of pleasure and motivated behavior. In addition, it is involved in other diverse functions when sending projections to cortical and subcortical areas.

In this article we will describe the anatomical characteristics, the main functions and the disorders that associate to the ventral tegmental area . We will focus mainly on the role played by this structure in the brain reward system.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Anatomy of the ventral tegmental area

The concept "ventral tegmental area" refers to a set of neurons that are located at the base of the mesencephalon, the intermediate region of the brainstem. In Latin the word "tegmentum" means "covering" or "covering"; therefore, the name highlights the fact that this area constitutes a layer of neurons that covers the mesencephalon.


Four nuclei of main cells have been identified in the ventral tegmental area: the paranigral nucleus, the parabrachial pigmentosa area, the retroflexa parafascicular area and the rostromedial tegmental nucleus. The dopaminergic neurons characteristic of this region of the brain are located mainly in the first two.

Together with the substantia nigra and the retrorubral field, also located in the mesencephalon, the tegmental area contains most dopaminergic neurons of the brain. Dopamine is a neurotransmitter of the class of catecholamines that is involved in the increase of heart rate and learning by operant conditioning, among other aspects.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Mesencephalon: characteristics, parts and functions"

Functions of this structure

The dopaminergic neurons of the ventral tegmental area are part of the mesocortical and mesolimbic systems . While the mesocortical system connects this region with the frontal lobes, the mesolimbic sends projections to the nucleus accumbens, a fundamental structure of the cerebral reward system, just like the ventral tegmental area.

The mesocortical path plays a fundamental role in cognition ; in particular it allows the arrival in the frontal lobes of information about emotion and motivation. After receiving these inputs, the superior brain structures generate the responses that will be executed as a consequence.

However, the main functions of the ventral tegmental area are associated with its involvement in the cerebral reward system, also known as reinforcement circuit, which starts with the dopaminergic projections of the neurons of this region. This path is intimately related to the mesolimbic system.


The brain reward system

The ventral tegmental area is a key structure of the cerebral reward system, the biological basis of pleasure and behavioral motivation, since the appetitive stimuli activate this region . In this way, the reward circuit is involved in multiple behaviors, such as those related to food, sex or addictions.

When the organism detects pleasurable stimulation, the ventral tegmental area sends dopaminergic projections to the nucleus accumbens. The increase in the concentration of the neurotransmitter in this area has a reinforcing effect on the behavior associated with obtaining pleasure or satisfaction.

When these inputs reach the cerebral cortex, the information obtained through the reinforcement circuit can be integrated and managed by the higher cognitive functions. It is important highlight the reciprocity of connections in the ventral tegmental area , which allows continuous feedback between this structure and those to which it sends eferences.

Associated disorders

Scientific research has identified several disorders that occur with alterations in the dopaminergic pathways of which the ventral tegmental area is part. In general, these types of disorders involve both mesolimbic and mesocortical pathways, which are closely linked.

The neuropsychological disorders most frequently attributed to structural and / or functional problems in the transmission of dopamine they are Parkinson's disease, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder and schizophrenia.

In the latter case, positive symptoms, such as hallucinations and delusions, are associated with alterations in the mesolimbic pathway. Failures in the mesocortical system produce negative symptoms, consisting of cognitive, emotional and motivational deficits.

On the other hand, the ventral tegmental area and the nucleus accumbens are the two regions of the nervous system in which the drugs and other potentially addictive substances they have a more significant effect.

Alcohol, nicotine, cocaine, amphetamine and heroin, among others, have agonist effects on dopamine; this explains the physiological, motor and psychological consequences of the use of these substances, both in the short and long term, including addiction.

Bibliographic references:

  • Halliday, G .; Reyes, S. & Double, K. (2012). Substantia nigra, ventral tegmental area, and retrorubral fields. In Mai, J. K. & Paxinos, G. (Eds.), "The human nervous system", 439-55. New York: Academic Press.
  • Holstege, G .; Georgiadis, J. R .; Paans, A. M .; Meiners, L. C .; Van Der Graaf, F. H. & Reinders, A.A. (2003). Brain activation during human male ejaculation. The Journal of Neuroscience: The official journal of the Society for Neuroscience, 23 (27): 9185-93.
  • Ranaldi, R. (2014). Dopamine and reward seeking: the role of ventral tegmental area. Reviews in the Neurosciences, 25 (5): 621-30.

2-Minute Neuroscience: Ventral Tegmental Area (VTA) (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Zone tegmentale ventrale: anatomie, fonctions et troubles

Zone tegmentale ventrale: anatomie, fonctions et troubles

Juillet 9, 2020

La région tegmentale ventrale est une région du mésencéphale , également appelé cerveau moyen, ce qui est très important en raison de son implication dans le circuit de renforcement, responsable des sensations de plaisir et de comportement motivé. En outre, il est impliqué dans d'autres fonctions diverses lors de l'envoi de projections dans les zones corticales et sous-corticales.

Dans cet article, nous allons décrire les caractéristiques anatomiques, les principales fonctions et les troubles associés à la région tegmentale ventrale . Nous nous concentrerons principalement sur le rôle joué par cette structure dans le système de récompense du cerveau.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Anatomie de la région du tegmental ventral

Le concept "zone tegmentale ventrale" fait référence à un ensemble de neurones situés à la base du mésencéphale, la région intermédiaire du tronc cérébral. En latin, le mot "tegmentum" signifie "couvrant" ou "couvrant"; par conséquent, le nom souligne le fait que cette zone constitue une couche de neurones qui recouvre le mésencéphale.


Quatre noyaux de cellules principales ont été identifiés dans la région tégmentale ventrale: le noyau paranigral, la région parabrachiale pigmentaire, la région rétroflexa parafasciculaire et le noyau tégmentaire rostromédial. Les neurones dopaminergiques caractéristiques de cette région du cerveau se situent principalement dans les deux premiers.

Avec la substance noire et le champ rétrorubral, également situés dans le mésencéphale, la région tegmentale contient la plupart des neurones dopaminergiques du cerveau. La dopamine est un neurotransmetteur de la classe des catécholamines qui intervient notamment dans l'augmentation de la fréquence cardiaque et dans l'apprentissage par le conditionnement opérant.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le mésencéphale: caractéristiques, pièces et fonctions"

Fonctions de cette structure

Les neurones dopaminergiques de la région tegmentale ventrale font partie des systèmes mésocorticaux et mésolimbiques . Alors que le système mésocortical relie cette région aux lobes frontaux, le mésolimbique envoie des projections au noyau accumbens, une structure fondamentale du système de récompense cérébrale, tout comme la région du tegmental ventral.

La voie mésocorticale joue un rôle fondamental dans la cognition ; en particulier, il permet l'arrivée dans les lobes frontaux d'informations sur les émotions et la motivation. Après réception de ces entrées, les structures cérébrales supérieures génèrent les réponses qui seront exécutées en conséquence.

Cependant, les fonctions principales de la région tégmentale ventrale sont associées à son implication dans le système de récompense cérébrale, également appelé circuit de renforcement, qui commence par les projections dopaminergiques des neurones de cette région. Ce chemin est intimement lié au système mésolimbique.


Le système de récompense du cerveau

La zone tegmentale ventrale est une structure clé du système de récompense cérébrale, base biologique du plaisir et de la motivation comportementale, puisque les stimuli appétissants activent cette région . De cette manière, le circuit de récompense est impliqué dans de multiples comportements, tels que ceux liés à la nourriture, au sexe ou aux dépendances.

Lorsque l'organisme détecte une stimulation agréable, la région tegmentale ventrale envoie des projections dopaminergiques au noyau accumbens. L'augmentation de la concentration du neurotransmetteur dans cette zone renforce le comportement associé à l'obtention du plaisir ou de la satisfaction.

Lorsque ces entrées atteignent le cortex cérébral, les informations obtenues via le circuit de renforcement peuvent être intégrées et gérées par les fonctions cognitives supérieures. C'est important mettre en évidence la réciprocité des connexions dans la région tegmentale ventrale , ce qui permet un retour continu entre cette structure et celles auxquelles elle envoie des références.

Troubles associés

La recherche scientifique a identifié plusieurs troubles qui se produisent lors de modifications des voies dopaminergiques, dont fait partie la région tegmentale ventrale. En général, ces types de troubles impliquent des voies à la fois mésolimbiques et mésocorticales, qui sont étroitement liées.

Les troubles neuropsychologiques les plus fréquemment attribués à problèmes structurels et / ou fonctionnels dans la transmission de la dopamine ce sont la maladie de Parkinson, le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention et la schizophrénie.

Dans ce dernier cas, des symptômes positifs, tels que des hallucinations et des idées délirantes, sont associés à des altérations de la voie mésolimbique. Les défaillances du système mésocortical produisent des symptômes négatifs, consistant en des déficits cognitifs, émotionnels et motivationnels.

D'autre part, la région tegmentale ventrale et le noyau accumbens sont les deux régions du système nerveux dans lesquelles la drogues et autres substances potentiellement addictives ils ont un effet plus significatif.

L'alcool, la nicotine, la cocaïne, l'amphétamine et l'héroïne, entre autres, ont des effets agonistes sur la dopamine; cela explique les conséquences physiologiques, motrices et psychologiques de l'utilisation de ces substances, à court et à long terme, y compris la dépendance.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Halliday, G .; Reyes, S. & Double, K. (2012). Substantia nigra, zone tegmentale ventrale et champs rétrorubral. Dans Mai, J. K. et Paxinos, G. (Eds.), "Le système nerveux humain", 439-55. New York: Presse académique.
  • Holstege, G .; Georgiadis, J.R.; Paans, A. M; Meiners, L. C; Van Der Graaf, F.H. & Reinders, A.A. (2003). Activation du cerveau lors de l'éjaculation masculine. The Journal of Neuroscience: Le journal officiel de la Society for Neuroscience, 23 (27): 9185-93.
  • Ranaldi, R. (2014). Dopamine et recherche de récompenses: le rôle de la région tegmentale ventrale. Critiques dans les Neurosciences, 25 (5): 621-30.

Neuroanatomie - Le tronc cérébral (Juillet 2020).


Articles Connexes