yes, therapy helps!
Verbal aggressors: how to deactivate them without leaving bad

Verbal aggressors: how to deactivate them without leaving bad

May 16, 2024

Our conception of violence has long since abandoned the rigidity of yesteryear to include many behaviors that are not based on physical aggression. Insults and verbal aggressions in general, for example, are also considered types of violence. In fact, they are the most common.

That is why it is very important to ask ourselves if we know how to deal with interactions with verbal aggressors , those people who systematically and sometimes almost unconsciously use words in order to damage the sense of dignity of others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Verbal aggression: keys to understanding this violent attitude"

How are the verbal aggressors?

There is no demographic or socio-economic profile of verbal abusers, but certain styles of behavior that define them. For example, a low resistance to frustration and impulsivity , which makes, among other things, that they are bad following a line of reasoning in a debate or discussion.


Emotions linked to anger or contempt take the reins of the type of discourse they use to explain their point of view, so the only aspect of the content of their message they care for is that which expresses how little the person they are directing is worth. his verbal aggressions.

As well they are relatively incompetent when it comes to understanding the arguments of others; if they make you feel bad, act as if they had not heard. Not because they are unintelligent, but because of their high emotional involvement in the discussions, however minimal they may be. In addition, they try to make others be complicit in the disqualifications, mixing them with humor to ridicule the other.


The verbal aggressors are very numerous, since the use of insults and pejorative labels is relatively allowed in many contexts.

  • Related article: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

The symbolic and emotional disqualifications

Another aspect of verbal aggression is that it has even more indirect and subtle allies. They correspond to the symbolic and emotional aggressions, which despite being non-verbal they work through a code that transmits ideas and that, consequently, can cause harm or discomfort.

Getting to recognize the cases of symbolic non-verbal disqualifications can be somewhat complicated in some cases, since the scope for interpretation is broader, but in any case we must be clear that it is not something that can be admitted.

Any attack towards us that does not occur physically, but through symbols and words, It has an effect on us ; even if we do not appreciate matter or energy flowing in our direction as it would happen if we were kicked, that does not mean that insults and bad words are less real. Part of the assertiveness consists in watching over one's own dignity, and if the verbal aggressors commit it, one must confront them ... but not in any way.


How to deactivate a verbal aggressor

When someone uses a term used to disqualify (be it an insult or a word used to minimize our opinion, such as "small" or "toddler") and we understand that it has been an unusual departure from tone, it is important to give the message that That concrete behavior has clear consequences from that moment.

That is why, instead of worrying about refuting the content and arguments that the other has used, we should call attention to verbal aggression and not allow the dialogue to continue flowing until the other person does not acknowledge his mistake and apologizes. No matter how important the argument of the other appears to be, one must ignore it until an apology is obtained.

This blockade of the conversation is posed as an incident whose responsibility lies with the other for breaking with the rules of good communication. In this way, you are forced to choose between an option that he will renounce a good part of his position of fictitious superiority or another in which he shows his inability to maintain a dialogue without incurring a very basic fault against which younger children are educated.

In case of reoffending

When verbal abusers fall again and again into disqualification, we must make our reaction follow the same rhythm; the dialogue stops as many times as it takes to focus all attention on verbal aggression.

When the apologies do not appear

In the event that the verbal aggressor refuses to acknowledge his mistake and does not apologize, the most effective thing is to make him pay for it as well. How? Carrying to the end the logic of blocking the communication that we had followed until then: physically leaving that place . This action will be an explicit and visible manifestation by all of the failure of the verbal aggressor's attempts to communicate.

If we remain in the site but we refuse to speak with that person, the impact of that measure is less, because it goes unnoticed until the moments in which we are asked to say something.

Bibliographic references:

  • Evans, P. (2009). The Verbally Abusive Relationship. Adams Media

What To Say To Him To Make Him Chase You | 15 Things To Say To Him! (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Agresseurs verbaux: comment les désactiver sans laisser de mauvais

Agresseurs verbaux: comment les désactiver sans laisser de mauvais

Septembre 29, 2022

Notre conception de la violence a depuis longtemps abandonné la rigidité d’antan pour inclure de nombreux comportements qui ne sont pas basés sur l’agression physique. Les insultes et les agressions verbales en général, par exemple, sont également considérées comme des types de violence. En fait, ils sont les plus courants.

C’est pourquoi il est très important de se demander si nous savons comment gérer les interactions avec les agresseurs verbaux , les personnes qui utilisent systématiquement et parfois presque inconsciemment les mots afin de nuire à la dignité des autres.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Agression verbale: les clés pour comprendre cette attitude violente"

Comment sont les agresseurs verbaux?

Il n’existe pas de profil démographique ou socio-économique des agresseurs verbaux, mais certains styles de comportement qui les définissent. Par exemple, un faible résistance à la frustration et à l'impulsivité , ce qui fait, entre autres choses, qu’elles sont mauvaises en suivant un raisonnement dans un débat ou une discussion.


Les émotions liées à la colère ou au mépris tiennent compte du type de discours qu’elles utilisent pour expliquer leur point de vue. Le seul aspect du contenu de leur message qui leur est cher est donc celui qui exprime à quel point la personne qu’ils dirigent vaut peu. ses agressions verbales.

Aussi ils sont relativement incompétents pour comprendre les arguments des autres; s'ils vous font sentir mal, agissez comme s'ils n'avaient pas entendu parler. Non pas parce qu'ils ne sont pas intelligents, mais à cause de leur grande implication émotionnelle dans les discussions, aussi minimes soient-ils. En outre, ils essaient de rendre les autres complices des disqualifications, en les mélangeant avec humour pour ridiculiser l’autre.


Les agresseurs verbaux sont très nombreux, car l'utilisation d'insultes et d'étiquettes péjoratives est relativement autorisée dans de nombreux contextes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Les disqualifications symboliques et émotionnelles

Un autre aspect de l’agression verbale est qu’elle a des alliés encore plus indirects et subtils. Ils correspondent aux agressions symboliques et émotionnelles qui bien qu’ils soient non verbaux, ils utilisent un code qui transmet des idées et qui, par conséquent, peut causer un préjudice ou un inconfort.

Reconnaître les cas de déchéances symboliques non verbales peut être quelque peu compliqué dans la mesure où le champ de l'interprétation est plus large, mais dans tous les cas, nous devons être clairs: ce n'est pas quelque chose qui peut être admis.

Toute attaque envers nous qui ne se produit pas physiquement, mais à travers des symboles et des mots, Cela a un effet sur nous ; Même si nous n'apprécions pas la matière ou l'énergie qui coule dans notre direction comme cela se produirait si nous recevions un coup de pied, cela ne veut pas dire que les insultes et les gros mots sont moins réels. Une partie de l’affirmation de soi consiste à veiller à sa propre dignité, et si les agresseurs verbaux la commettent, il faut leur faire face… mais pas de quelque façon que ce soit.


Comment désactiver un agresseur verbal

Lorsqu'une personne utilise un terme utilisé pour disqualifier (qu'il s'agisse d'une insulte ou d'un mot utilisé pour minimiser notre opinion, par exemple "petit" ou "enfant en bas âge") et que nous comprenons qu'il s'agit d'une déviation inhabituelle par rapport au ton, il est important de transmettre le message suivant: Ce comportement concret a des conséquences claires à partir de ce moment.

C’est pourquoi, au lieu de craindre de réfuter le contenu et les arguments que l’autre a utilisés, nous devrions attirer l’attention sur l’agression verbale et pas permettre au dialogue de continuer à couler jusqu'à ce que l'autre personne ne reconnaisse pas son erreur et s'excuse. Peu importe l’importance que semble prendre l’argument de l’autre, il faut l’ignorer jusqu’à ce que des excuses soient obtenues.

Ce blocus de la conversation se pose comme un incident dont la responsabilité incombe à l’autre pour avoir enfreint les règles de la bonne communication. De cette façon, vous êtes obligé de choisir entre une option qui il renoncera à une bonne partie de sa position de supériorité fictive ou un autre dans lequel il montre son incapacité à maintenir un dialogue sans encourir une faute très fondamentale contre laquelle les enfants plus jeunes sont éduqués.

En cas de récidive

Lorsque les abuseurs verbaux tombent encore et encore dans la disqualification, nous devons faire en sorte que notre réaction suive le même rythme; le dialogue s'arrête autant de fois qu'il le faut concentrer toute l'attention sur l'agression verbale.

Quand les excuses n'apparaissent pas

Dans le cas où l'agresseur verbal refuse de reconnaître son erreur et ne s'excuse pas, le plus efficace est de le faire payer également. Comment Pour terminer la logique de blocage de la communication que nous avions suivie jusque-là: quitter physiquement cet endroit . Cette action sera une manifestation explicite et visible de tous les échecs des tentatives de communication de l'agresseur verbal.

Si nous restons sur le site mais que nous refusons de parler à cette personne, l'impact de cette mesure est moindre, car elle passe inaperçue jusqu'au moment où on nous demande de dire quelque chose.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Evans, P. (2009). La relation verbalement abusive. Adams Media

Esoteric Agenda - Best Quality with Subtitles in 13 Languages (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes