yes, therapy helps!
Video game addiction: symptoms, causes and treatment

Video game addiction: symptoms, causes and treatment

October 28, 2020

The addiction to video games has become one of the issues that most worries many parents and mothers alarmed by the time their children spend playing this way of leisure. Although it is clear that the degree of dependence that can be generated with this type of entertainment is not comparable to the one that appears with the consumption of drugs, it is certain that the obsession with this activity can have serious consequences in the quality of life of young people .

In this article we will review the characteristics of addiction to video games, which makes it go from habit to a trap that is difficult to escape, and the methods used to intervene in this problem and break that vicious circle.


  • Maybe you're interested: "Video games stimulate learning and creativity"

What is addiction to video games?

Throughout the world, many young people have turned videogames into one of their main hobbies, in the same way that other cases are football or skating that occupy much of the time dedicated to leisure.

In fact, what was once a pastime with bad press and that was not well accepted socially, today has become normalized so much that there is a subculture that openly claims this kind of entertainment , and there are even tournaments and world championships focused on specific videogames; this is what is known as eSports).


However, the fact that many people value very positively the daily use of this form of entertainment does not make addiction to video games cease to exist.

The addiction to video games is what happens when the dependence on videogame games becomes so intense that they spend at least four hours a day on this activity, assuming this is the neglect of all kinds of obligations and responsibilities.

  • Related article: "Psychotherapy through videogames: is it effective?"

symptom

Among the symptoms of addiction to video games include the following.

1. Social isolation

The addiction to video games enhances social isolation, which results in the loss of contact with friends and family. In turn, social isolation can be one of the causes that leads to addiction to video games, since these can be both solitary entertainment with which to spend time getting pleasure in return, and a means with which to interact indirectly with other people (in the case of online games).


2. Impairment of academic performance

The time spent playing does not invest time and effort in studying, which affects academic performance and delays learning of the skills and abilities that are promoted through education.

3. One of the games of video games as compensatory behavior

The use of games can be a resource for channeling stress and anxiety derived from other day-to-day problems, such as living in a broken family or the suffering of abuse at home or bullying at school .

  • Related article: "The 5 types of bullying or bullying"

4. Loss of the notion of time

The addiction to videogames causes the control of time management to be lost, so that The ability to know the hours that have passed during games worsens and the fact that this delays other activities is lost sight of.

5. Pain and postural diseases

The fact of spending many hours in a row playing video games in front of the television or computer can lead to develop bone, joint or circulation problems , especially on the back, thighs and hands.

6. Bursts of anger at limitations to play

When certain situations cause the game to end or be hindered, this generates a level of frustration that can lead to outbursts of anger or even in physical aggressions against other people, as well as in blows against parts of the property or objects.

What makes us be hooked to the screen?

It is true that most video games are designed to be used during relatively long games, or to offer the possibility of playing several games in a row with very little delay. For example, those that offer immersive experiences , as The elder Scrolls V: Skyrim, it is possible that the game lasts all afternoon, while in others, as Hotline MiamiEach game lasts from several seconds to a few minutes, although between one and the other you have to wait less than a couple of seconds of charging.

On the other hand, the mechanics of most video games are focused on giving rewards to progress and overcome tests.For example, beat certain brands or overcome certain enemies allows us to access new areas to explore or game modes that we had not unlocked. This, added to a curve of ascending difficulty (it is getting more and more complicated to advance, but at the same time we learn more and more about how to overcome the challenges of the game) causes that everything revolves around the operative conditioning.

Normally we can disconnect from this habit, but in other cases the desire to receive more rewards leads us to want to play more and more to the options offered by these games, without spending time thinking about other things.

On the other hand, addiction to video games, like many other forms of habit dependency , it leads us to fall into a dynamic that traps us and that, over time, makes the prospects of getting out of that trap worse. This is so because as we internalize the importance of playing games, the recurrent thoughts linked to that activity are becoming more frequent, and everything makes us remember those games or imagine how good we could be if we were facing to the screen.

Treatment of video game addiction

Beyond the psychological intervention conducted by professionals, which is the recommended option when addiction to video games is very intense, there are other measures that can help combat this tendency towards the abuse of games to computer games or video game consoles . The main ones are the following.

1. Prevent the purchase of more games

The fact of unable to access more games for an indefinite period makes the amount of rewards and new stimuli that are chosen is limited, so that playing all the time to the same is a tedious experience.

2. Invite to perform other hobbies

Occupying time in other activities helps to break the cycle of the game, since presents other routines and stimulating thoughts .

3. Limit the time

It is preferable to let play for a limited time to cut short the possibility of continuing to play, since the second produces such hostility that the situation is seen as a direct confrontation in which everything is worth to skip the norm.


Video games as mental-health hazards (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Dépendance au jeu vidéo: symptômes, causes et traitement

Dépendance au jeu vidéo: symptômes, causes et traitement

Septembre 18, 2022

La dépendance aux jeux vidéo est devenue l’un des problèmes qui inquiète le plus de parents et de mères alarmés par le temps que leurs enfants passent à jouer à ce loisir. Bien qu'il soit clair que le degré de dépendance pouvant être généré par ce type de divertissement ne soit pas comparable à celui qui apparaît avec la consommation de drogues, il est certain que l'obsession de cette activité peut avoir des conséquences graves sur la qualité de vie des jeunes. .

Dans cet article, nous passerons en revue les caractéristiques de la dépendance aux jeux vidéo, qui laissent passer d'habitude à un piège difficile à échapper, et les méthodes utilisées pour intervenir dans ce problème et briser ce cercle vicieux.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les jeux vidéo stimulent l'apprentissage et la créativité"

Qu'est-ce que la dépendance aux jeux vidéo?

Dans le monde entier, de nombreux jeunes ont transformé les jeux vidéo en un de leurs passe-temps principaux, de la même manière que d’autres cas sont le football ou le patinage, qui occupent la majeure partie du temps consacré aux loisirs.

En fait, ce qui était autrefois un passe-temps avec une mauvaise presse et qui n’était pas bien accepté socialement, est devenu tellement normalisé aujourd’hui qu’il ya une sous-culture qui revendique ouvertement ce genre de divertissement et il existe même des tournois et des championnats du monde axés sur des jeux vidéo spécifiques; c'est ce qu'on appelle eSports).


Cependant, le fait que beaucoup de gens apprécient de manière très positive l'utilisation quotidienne de cette forme de divertissement ne fait pas disparaître la dépendance aux jeux vidéo.

La dépendance aux jeux vidéo est ce qui se produit lorsque la dépendance aux jeux vidéo devient si intense qu’ils consacrent au moins quatre heures par jour à cette activité, en supposant qu’il s’agisse d’un manquement à toutes sortes d’obligations et de responsabilités.

  • Article connexe: "La psychothérapie par jeux vidéo: est-ce efficace?"

Les symptômes

Parmi les symptômes de la dépendance aux jeux vidéo figurent les suivants.

1. Isolement social

La dépendance aux jeux vidéo renforce l'isolement social, ce qui entraîne une perte de contact avec les amis et la famille. À son tour, l'isolement social peut être l'une des causes de la dépendance aux jeux vidéo, dans la mesure où ils peuvent constituer à la fois un divertissement solitaire avec lequel passer du temps en s'amusant, et un moyen d'interagir indirectement avec d'autres personnes (dans le cas des jeux en ligne).


2. Dépréciation du rendement scolaire

Le temps passé à jouer n’investit pas du temps et des efforts dans les études, qui affecte les performances scolaires et retarde l'apprentissage des compétences et des aptitudes promues par l’éducation.

3. Un des jeux de jeux vidéo en tant que comportement compensatoire

L'utilisation de jeux peut être une ressource pour canaliser le stress et l'anxiété provenant d'autres problèmes quotidiens, tels que vivre dans une famille brisée ou souffrir de la souffrance. abus à la maison ou intimidation à l'école .

  • Article connexe: "Les 5 types d'intimidation ou d'intimidation"

4. Perte de la notion de temps

La dépendance aux jeux vidéo entraîne la perte du contrôle de la gestion du temps, de sorte que La capacité de connaître les heures écoulées pendant les matchs s’aggrave et le fait que cela retarde d'autres activités est perdu de vue.

5. Douleur et maladies posturales

Le fait de passer de nombreuses heures consécutives à jouer à des jeux vidéo devant la télévision ou un ordinateur peut conduire à développer des problèmes osseux, articulaires ou circulatoires , en particulier sur le dos, les cuisses et les mains.

6. Crises de colère face aux limites du jeu

Lorsque certaines situations entraînent la fin ou la gêne du jeu, cela génère un niveau de frustration pouvant entraîner des accès de colère ou même dans des agressions physiques contre d'autres personnes, ainsi que dans des coups portés contre des parties de la propriété ou des objets.

Qu'est-ce qui nous rend accro à l'écran?

Il est vrai que la plupart des jeux vidéo sont conçus pour être utilisés lors de jeux relativement longs, ou pour offrir la possibilité de jouer à plusieurs jeux à la suite avec très peu de retard. Par exemple, ceux qui offrent des expériences immersives comme L'ancien Scrolls V: Skyrim, il est possible que le jeu dure tout l'après-midi, alors que dans d'autres, comme Hotline MiamiChaque partie dure de quelques secondes à quelques minutes, mais vous devez attendre moins de deux secondes avant de charger.

D'un autre côté, les mécanismes de la plupart des jeux vidéo sont axés sur l'attribution de récompenses progresser et surmonter les tests.Par exemple, battre certaines marques ou vaincre certains ennemis nous permet d'accéder à de nouvelles zones à explorer ou à des modes de jeu que nous n'avions pas débloqués. Ceci, ajouté à une courbe de difficulté ascendante (il est de plus en plus compliqué d'avancer, mais en même temps, nous en apprenons de plus en plus sur la façon de surmonter les défis du jeu) fait que tout tourne autour du conditionnement opérationnel.

Normalement, nous pouvons nous déconnecter de cette habitude, mais dans d'autres cas, le désir de recevoir plus de récompenses nous incite à vouloir jouer de plus en plus aux options offertes par ces jeux, sans perdre de temps à penser à autre chose.

D'autre part, la dépendance aux jeux vidéo, comme beaucoup d'autres formes de dépendance à l'habitude , cela nous conduit à tomber dans une dynamique qui nous piège et qui, avec le temps, aggrave les chances de sortir de ce piège. En effet, au fur et à mesure que nous assimilons l’importance des jeux, les pensées récurrentes liées à cette activité deviennent de plus en plus fréquentes et que tout nous fait penser à ces jeux ou imaginer à quel point nous pourrions être bons si nous faisions face à nous. à l'écran.

Traitement de la dépendance au jeu vidéo

Au-delà de l'intervention psychologique menée par des professionnels, qui est l'option recommandée lorsque la dépendance aux jeux vidéo est très intense, d'autres mesures peuvent aider à combattre cette tendance à l'abus de jeux à des jeux informatiques ou des consoles de jeux vidéo . Les principaux sont les suivants.

1. Empêcher l'achat de plus de jeux

Le fait que incapable d'accéder à plus de jeux pour une durée indéterminée fait que le nombre de récompenses et de nouveaux stimuli choisis est limité, de sorte que jouer tout le temps à la même chose est une expérience fastidieuse.

2. Inviter à pratiquer d'autres loisirs

Occuper du temps dans d’autres activités aide à rompre le cycle du jeu, car présente d'autres routines et pensées stimulantes .

3. Limiter le temps

Il est préférable de laisser jouer pendant un temps limité pour écourter la possibilité de continuer à jouer, car le second produit une telle hostilité que la situation est considéré comme une confrontation directe dans lequel tout vaut la peine de passer la norme.


Addiction et dépendance, Toxicomanie (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes