yes, therapy helps!
Video games

Video games "sandbox" and its potential educational use

May 7, 2021

The videogames sandbox as the well-known Minecraft not only have they been a true phenomenon in the world of youtubersThey also hold important educational potential.

In this article we will explore the wide range of pedagogical possibilities that they present.

The precedents: games in real environments

There is evidence that the game has been part of human civilization from its most remote origins and in all cultures and societies (Gértrudix Barrio and Gértrudix Barrio, 2013), forming an element of interactivity between young people and adults, through which They have been educated and they have learned.

Along the centuries, the game has been changing at the same time as all the different cultures and societies have been doing it , adapting to the material and cultural characteristics of these and adopting very heterogeneous types and types among them.


To give an illustrative example, a few decades ago, many of the elderly people were raised in a rural environment in which the games involved grass animals, such as cows or sheep, since in many cases they had practically no of any object with which to play part of common objects, animals and imagination. Over the years and the arrival of industrialization and mass production, young people went from playing with common objects to playing with dolls and toys, which later introduced small electronic elements that produced sounds or small movements.

At present, thanks to the strong development of new information and communication technologies (hereinafter called ICT), the methods and tools of the game have evolved adapting to this new era, just as they have done during the passage of the previous centuries. This means that the human being evolves and all the elements that surround it also do ; Therefore, we must understand that the young people of this new era are used to living together and growing using ICTs.


The arrival of the pedagogical video game

A basic game element for young people today is video games. As it happened in traditional game modes, we can also educate them through this new tool (which is increasingly followed and used), besides promoting the autonomous teaching of very varied contents and sometimes , of considerable complexity.

The sandbox type video game

Within the wide range of genres of videogames, which can all offer different ways of learning and enhance cognitive skills, there is a genre that stands out among all due to the innumerable possibilities that can be offered: videogames sandbox type.

This genre of videogames is known for offering its players an open world with great possibilities for modification and creation of the environment, as well as following a non-linear argument, where many times the objectives are put by the player himself, thus enabling him to enhance his creativity, encouraging self-narration and the construction of stories and experiences. If you add to this cocktail the social part that they usually include, this type of videogames become a great tool to encourage learning , creativity and, of course, fun.


The limits are put by oneself

Under this new perspective that gives us this genre of video game where the limits are set by the user's imagination, new possible applications of these arise in education and teaching both outside and within the classrooms, thus giving rise to experiments carried out by communities of educators who use a video game of the sandbox genre, called Minecraft, in schools, to perform and demonstrate the benefits generated by the use of these applications.

A good example of the use of Minecraft in the classroom is that carried out by Sarah Kaviar, who in 2013 held a conference at the Progressive Education Network where she showed a project she does with her students in the humanities subject. In it, this game was used to recreate places of worship in the world and then make several games in which they demonstrate their knowledge of those places; giving very satisfactory results in terms of student learning.

The impact of this sandbox video game is of such magnitude that there is an extensive community, both in Spain and abroad, that is dedicated to studying and implementing Minecraft in the classroom to promote the involvement of students in the learning of certain content and in the promotion of creativity and autonomous learning.

Education and entertainment go hand in hand

Following the study of the use of video games for these purposes, the term is born edutainment (Gértrudix Barrio and Gértrudix Barrio, 2013), fruit of the union of the word "education" (education) and "entertainment" (entertainment), on which several investigations have arisen that have demonstrated the great results obtained with the educational use of digital immersive environments, that is, sandbox type video games, which in the words of Sorathia and Servidio (2012): "offer a place for the empirical application of constructivist theory".

The results of these investigations include the quality of the learning process , since it allows students to acquire different perspectives of the phenomena and experience multiple situations in which they acquire knowledge easily transferable to real life (Aldrich, 2009), (Dede, 2009), (Kapp and O'Driscoll, 2010). These teaching applications are possible thanks to the non-linearity of this genre of video games, which makes it easier for the teacher or trainer to personalize and shape the objectives of the game in order to produce a learning and fun experience to the students

Beyond the classrooms

Despite the possible uses that can and are being made by teachers in many areas of the world, the educational applications of sandbox-type video games such as Minecraft are not limited exclusively to the classroom environment under the supervision of an adult. In fact, the simple and apparent playful use of these video games has a strong educational potential in young people , because in most cases, the content of these games and the possibilities offered, are usually very applicable to real life, so that what at first glance may seem like a simple game, can become a surprising experience educational

In addition, both directly and indirectly, The player will be forced to make use of the imagination and therefore to train their creativity , which should be a top priority element in compulsory education.

Another great advantage of the use of sandbox videogames is that the vast majority of them are usually accompanied by an extensive community of online players who promote, through complex codes of conduct, prosocial activity and the feeling of inclusion whatever they may be. the socio-economic differences of the players; so that they end up being, worth the expression: "simulators of the good citizen", adding extra value to the educational experience resulting from its use.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aldrich, C. (2009). Learning online with games, simulations and virtual worlds: Strategies for online instruction. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2009.
  • Dede, Ch. (2009). "Inmersive Interfaces for Engagement and Learning". Science, Vol. 323, pp. 66-69.
  • Gértrudix Barrio, M. and Gértrudix Barrio, F. (2013). Learn playing. Open immersive worlds as learning spaces for young people. Journal of youth studies, 101, pp. 123-137.
  • Kapp, K. M & O'Driscoll, T. (2010). Learning in 3D: Adding a new dimension to enterprise learning and collaboration. s.l. : Pfeiffer.
  • Kaviar, S. (2013). Using Minecraft in the Classroom. Progressive Education Network National Conference: Los Angeles.
  • Sorathia, K. & Servidio, R. (2012). "Learning and Experience: Teaching Tangible Interaction & Edutainment". Proceia - Social and Behavioral Sciences, vol. 64, pp. 265-274.

Educational Kids Video Game Design Class in VA using Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les jeux vidéo

Les jeux vidéo "bac à sable" et son utilisation pédagogique potentielle

Juillet 18, 2022

Les jeux vidéo bac à sable comme le bien connu Minecraft non seulement ils ont été un véritable phénomène dans le monde de les youtubersIls possèdent également un potentiel éducatif important.

Dans cet article, nous explorerons le large éventail de possibilités pédagogiques qu’ils présentent.

Les précédents: des jeux dans des environnements réels

Il est prouvé que le jeu fait partie de la civilisation humaine depuis ses origines les plus lointaines et dans toutes les cultures et sociétés (Gértrudix Barrio et Gértrudix Barrio, 2013), formant ainsi un élément d'interactivité entre jeunes et adultes, à travers lequel Ils ont été éduqués et ils ont appris.

À travers les siècles, le jeu a changé en même temps que toutes les différentes cultures et sociétés le font , s’adaptant aux caractéristiques matérielles et culturelles de ceux-ci et adoptant des types très hétérogènes et des types parmi eux.


Pour donner un exemple illustratif, il y a quelques décennies, beaucoup de personnes âgées étaient élevées dans un environnement rural où les jeux impliquaient des animaux de pâturage, tels que des vaches ou des moutons, car dans de nombreux cas, ils n'avaient pratiquement de tout objet avec lequel faire partie des objets communs, des animaux et de l'imagination. Au fil des années et de l’industrialisation et de la production de masse, les jeunes sont passés de jeux d’objets courants à des jeux de poupées et de jouets, qui ont ensuite introduit de petits éléments électroniques produisant des sons ou de petits mouvements.

Actuellement, grâce au fort développement des nouvelles technologies de l’information et de la communication (ci-après dénommées TIC), les méthodes et les outils du jeu ont évolué pour s’adapter à cette nouvelle ère, tout comme lors du passage de les siècles précédents. Ceci signifie que l'être humain évolue et tous les éléments qui l'entourent le font aussi ; Par conséquent, nous devons comprendre que les jeunes de cette nouvelle ère sont habitués à vivre ensemble et à grandir en utilisant les TIC.


L'arrivée du jeu vidéo pédagogique

Les jeux vidéo sont un élément de base du jeu pour les jeunes d'aujourd'hui. Comme dans les modes de jeu traditionnels, nous pouvons également les éduquer grâce à ce nouvel outil (qui est de plus en plus suivi et utilisé), en plus de promouvoir l’enseignement autonome de contenus très variés et parfois , d'une complexité considérable.

Le jeu vidéo de type bac à sable

Parmi le large éventail de genres de jeux vidéo, qui peuvent tous offrir différents modes d’apprentissage et améliorer les compétences cognitives, il existe un genre qui se démarque parmi tous en raison des innombrables possibilités qui peuvent être offertes: les jeux vidéo. type de bac à sable.

Ce genre de jeux vidéo est connu pour offrir à ses joueurs un monde ouvert avec de grandes possibilités de modification et de création de l’environnement, ainsi que pour suivre un argument non linéaire, où les objectifs sont souvent fixés par le joueur lui-même, lui permettant ainsi la créativité, en encourageant la narration de soi et la construction d'histoires et d'expériences. Si vous ajoutez à ce cocktail la partie sociale qu’ils contiennent habituellement, ce type de jeux vidéo devient un excellent outil pour encourager l'apprentissage , créativité et, bien sûr, amusant.


Les limites sont posées par soi-même

Dans cette nouvelle perspective qui nous donne ce genre de jeu vidéo où les limites sont fixées par l'imagination de l'utilisateur, de nouvelles applications possibles de celles-ci apparaissent dans l'éducation et l'enseignement à la fois à l’extérieur et à l’intérieur des salles de classe, donnant ainsi lieu à des expériences menées par des communautés d’éducateurs qui utilisent un jeu vidéo du genre bac à sable, appelé Minecraft, dans les écoles, pour interpréter et démontrer les avantages générés par l’utilisation de ces applications.

Sarah Kaviar, qui a organisé en 2013 une conférence au sein du réseau Progressive Education Network, a présenté un projet qu'elle a mené avec ses élèves dans le domaine des sciences humaines. Dans ce jeu, ce jeu a été utilisé pour recréer des lieux de culte dans le monde, puis pour créer plusieurs jeux dans lesquels ils démontrent leur connaissance de ces lieux; donnant des résultats très satisfaisants en termes d'apprentissage des élèves.

L’impact de ce jeu vidéo de type bac à sable est d’une telle ampleur qu’il existe une vaste communauté, en Espagne et à l’étranger, qui est dédié à l'étude et à la mise en œuvre de Minecraft en classe promouvoir la participation des étudiants à l’apprentissage de certains contenus et à la promotion de la créativité et de l’apprentissage autonome.

L'éducation et le divertissement vont de pair

Suite à l’étude de l’utilisation des jeux vidéo à ces fins, le terme est né ludo-éducatif (Gértrudix Barrio et Gértrudix Barrio, 2013), fruit de l'union du mot "éducation" et "divertissement" (divertissement), sur lesquels plusieurs enquêtes ont été menées qui ont démontré les excellents résultats obtenus avec l'utilisation pédagogique de les environnements numériques immersifs, c’est-à-dire les jeux vidéo de type bac à sable, qui, selon Sorathia et Servidio (2012): "offrent un lieu pour l’application empirique de la théorie constructiviste".

Les résultats de ces enquêtes incluent la qualité du processus d'apprentissage , car cela permet aux étudiants d’acquérir différentes perspectives sur les phénomènes et de faire face à de multiples situations dans lesquelles ils acquièrent des connaissances facilement transférables à la vie réelle (Aldrich, 2009), (Dede, 2009), (Kapp et O'Driscoll, 2010). Ces applications pédagogiques sont possibles grâce à la non-linéarité de ce type de jeux vidéo, ce qui permet à l'enseignant ou à l'entraîneur de personnaliser et de définir plus facilement les objectifs du jeu afin de créer une expérience d'apprentissage amusante. aux étudiants

Au-delà des salles de classe

Malgré les utilisations possibles des enseignants dans de nombreuses régions du monde, les applications éducatives de jeux vidéo de type bac à sable tels que Minecraft ne se limitent pas exclusivement à l'environnement de la classe sous la supervision d'un adulte. En fait l'utilisation simple et apparente de ces jeux vidéo présente un fort potentiel éducatif chez les jeunes , car dans la plupart des cas, le contenu de ces jeux et les possibilités offertes s’appliquent généralement très bien à la vie réelle, de sorte que ce qui à première vue peut sembler un simple jeu peut devenir une expérience surprenante pédagogique

De plus, directement et indirectement, Le joueur sera obligé de faire appel à son imagination et donc de former sa créativité , qui devrait être une priorité absolue dans l’enseignement obligatoire.

Un autre grand avantage de l’utilisation des jeux vidéo Sandbox est que la grande majorité d’entre eux s’accompagne généralement d’une vaste communauté de joueurs en ligne qui promeuvent, par le biais de codes de conduite complexes, l’activité prosociale et le sentiment d’inclusion quel qu’il soit. les différences socio-économiques des acteurs; de sorte qu'ils valent bien l'expression: "simulateurs du bon citoyen", ajoutant une valeur supplémentaire à l'expérience éducative résultant de son utilisation.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Aldrich, C. (2009). Apprendre en ligne avec des jeux, des simulations et des mondes virtuels: stratégies pour l’enseignement en ligne. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2009.
  • Dede, Ch. (2009). "Interfaces immersives pour l'engagement et l'apprentissage". Science, volume 323, p. 66-69.
  • Gértrudix Barrio, M. et Gértrudix Barrio, F. (2013). Apprenez en jouant. Des mondes immersifs ouverts comme espaces d'apprentissage pour les jeunes. Journal of Youth Studies, 101, pp. 123-137.
  • Kapp, K. M & O'Driscoll, T. (2010). Apprentissage en 3D: ajout d'une nouvelle dimension à l'apprentissage et à la collaboration en entreprise. s.l. : Pfeiffer.
  • Kaviar, S. (2013). Utilisation de Minecraft en classe. Conférence nationale du Progressive Education Network: Los Angeles.
  • Sorathia, K. & Servidio, R. (2012). "Apprentissage et expérience: Enseigner des interactions et un divertissement éducatif tangibles". Proceia - Sciences sociales et comportementales, vol. 64, pp. 265-274.

Conférence: La Géostratégie Internationale de l'Eau - V. Questions (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes