yes, therapy helps!
Viktor Frankl: biography of an existential psychologist

Viktor Frankl: biography of an existential psychologist

May 6, 2021

Viktor Frankl is one of the most untouched figures in the history of psychology. As creator of the logotherapy , Frankl approached the treatment of mental alterations from an existentialist perspective that decades later served to reinforce a current known as Humanistic Psychology, to which Carl Rogers and Abraham Maslow belonged among others.

Very focused on phenomenology and the subjective, Viktor Frankl's speech therapy is hardly comparable to forms of psychotherapeutic intervention whose efficacy has been demonstrated in independent studies, and currently his scientific status is seriously questioned . But, to understand the origins of Viktor Frankl's work well, one must take into account the historical context in which they occurred.


Viktor Frankl and the existential struggle

Pain and sadness are two of the phenomena most studied by psychology, for good reason. There are many paths of life that seem to lead to them, and when we experience them all that we feel and do tends to revolve around the fact that we feel bad. In some cases, even, restlessness can have so much power over us that it prevents us from enjoying life and can play an important role in suicide. That is why one aspect of psychology has turned to the treatment of these problems, and numerous therapeutic proposals have been developed to alleviate suffering.


But not all these therapies are based on some philosophical assumptions that seek to cover all aspects of how we live our lives: some are intended to be useful in very specific contexts and not others and use criteria for measuring results that may be too rigid . That is why among supporters of using a psychology more based on philosophy than in the natural sciences, great respect is felt for Viktor Frankl , a Viennese psychiatrist born at the beginning of the 20th century, built a therapeutic approach based on his experiences as a survivor in the concentration camps of the Nazi regime.

The beginnings of the young Viktor Frankl

Viktor Frankl was born in a Viennese Jewish family in 1905, when Sigmund Freud's psychoanalysis was gaining popularity among European psychiatrists. That is why during his youth, when he became interested in psychology and mental health, his self-taught training on the subject included many texts on psychoanalysis.


But nevertheless, also from a very young age he began to develop a remarkable interest in philosophy , a characteristic that would define his personality and his way of asking existential questions about the meaning of life. In fact, being a minor he began to give his first talks in which he shared some of his reflections.

The university and its specialization in psychiatry

When Viktor Frankl entered the University of Vienna to finish specializing in psychiatry in the mid-20s, Freud's work on mental health and the functioning of the psyche had gained so much notoriety that the young student had no problem moving around like a fish in the water in a discipline that combined the study of the organic (the nervous system) with the use of a meta-psychology very close to the philosophy that so much interested Frankl.

However, He ended up distancing himself from orthodox psychoanalysis, considering it too reductionist and began to train in the psychodynamic current of Alfred Adler . This perspective was not marked by the pessimistic view that each person is tied to the unconscious forces that emerge from their mental structure, and that is why it fit better with the way Viktor Frankl understood life.

The importance of philosophy in the pursuit of happiness

Because the young Frankl knew that suffering and conflict exists, but he believed that through a combination of philosophy and knowledge in psychology it is possible to achieve an adjustment between what is experienced and the way in which you think about it so as not to fall into unhappiness. During his years of training among the followers of Adler, Viktor Frankl came into contact with Rudolf Allers, which would lead him to develop a type of existential psychology that we know today as logotherapy.

Thus, although Viktor Frankl ended his academic relationship with Adler years later, the idea that well-being and mental health have much to do with the way in which life is given meaning was deeply rooted in the philosophy of this psychiatrist. But what would lead him to reaffirm his convictions was a terrible and potentially traumatic experience: his passage through the Nazi concentration camps.

Viktor Frankl as a holocaust survivor

During his years as a student, Viktor Frankl had many opportunities to get acquainted with the pain. In fact, we wanted to specialize in the study and treatment of depression and the prevention of suicide, which led him to offer support services to students with excessive stress and, during the 1930s, he treated many patients at risk of committing suicide. From 1938, however, began to be increasingly cornered by the rise of Nazism.

In 1942, after being forced to work in the only hospital in the area where Jews could work, Viktor was deported to a ghetto, and from there to a series of concentration camps, including Auschwitz . Most of his family, including his wife, died in the network of extermination camps, and Viktor Frankl had to work in conditions of slavery until the camp he was in was released in 1945.

Man's Search for Meaning

After the end of the war, Viktor Frankl he discovered that many of the people he loved had died, but he found a way to fit these losses . According to him, the simple fact of discovering the meaning of suffering makes it experience in a much more bearable way, causing it to become incorporated into the narrative of one's life story as another element, something that does not stop it from happening page and can be pulled forward.

This idea, which in fact coincides in large part with the principles of the existentialist philosophy of Jean-Paul Sartre and other thinkers, was shaped by Viktor Frankl in his best-known work: The Man in Search of Meaning, published in 1946, which also is a book that serves as an introduction to speech therapy.

The theories of Viktor Frankl, today

Viktor Frankl's work draws on influences that can be traced back to hundreds of years ago, when Eastern religious leaders talked about how to deal with suffering by changing the way people think about him and when the ascetics of ancient Greece taught to give up Preconceived ideas about what generates desire and what does not. In fact, his contributions to psychology are less important the more we stick to the idea that psychology must be a science based on measurement and experimentation.

However, the intellectual filter that Viktor Frankl supposed has not had logotherapy as his only product: it can also be considered that his first works on existential analysis have laid the foundations of humanistic psychology popularized by people like Carl Rogers or Abraham Maslow and that more recently has illuminated the positive psychology , oriented to investigate topics such as self-realization, the attainment of vital goals and happiness.

You can consult the books that Viktor Frankl wrote through this link.


Viktor Frankl: Logotherapy and Man's Search for Meaning (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Viktor Frankl: biographie d'un psychologue existentiel

Viktor Frankl: biographie d'un psychologue existentiel

Novembre 22, 2019

Viktor Frankl est l'une des figures les plus intactes de l'histoire de la psychologie. En tant que créateur du logothérapie , Frankl a abordé le traitement des altérations mentales dans une perspective existentialiste qui a servi, des décennies plus tard, à renforcer un courant connu sous le nom de psychologie humaniste, auquel appartenaient notamment Carl Rogers et Abraham Maslow.

Très axée sur la phénoménologie et le subjectif, l’orthophonie de Viktor Frankl n’est guère comparable aux formes d’interventions psychothérapeutiques dont l’efficacité a été démontrée par des études indépendantes, et actuellement son statut scientifique est sérieusement remis en question . Mais pour bien comprendre les travaux de Viktor Frankl, il faut tenir compte du contexte historique dans lequel ils se sont déroulés.


Viktor Frankl et la lutte existentielle

La douleur et la tristesse sont deux des phénomènes les plus étudiés par la psychologie, pour de bonnes raisons. Beaucoup de chemins de la vie semblent y mener, et lorsque nous les éprouvons, tout ce que nous ressentons et faisons a tendance à tourner autour du fait que nous nous sentons mal. Dans certains cas, même l'inquiétude peut avoir tellement de pouvoir sur nous qu'elle nous empêche de profiter de la vie et peut jouer un rôle important dans le suicide. C'est pourquoi un aspect de la psychologie s'est tourné vers le traitement de ces problèmes et de nombreuses propositions thérapeutiques ont été développées pour soulager la souffrance.


Mais toutes ces thérapies ne reposent pas sur des postulats philosophiques qui cherchent à couvrir tous les aspects de notre vie: certaines sont censées être utiles dans des contextes très spécifiques et pas d'autres et utilisent des critères de mesure des résultats trop rigides . C’est pourquoi, parmi les partisans d’une psychologie plus fondée sur la philosophie que sur les sciences naturelles, un grand respect est ressenti pour Viktor Frankl Un psychiatre viennois né au début du XXe siècle a mis au point une approche thérapeutique basée sur son expérience de survivant dans les camps de concentration du régime nazi.

Les débuts du jeune Viktor Frankl

Viktor Frankl est né dans une famille juive viennoise en 1905, La psychanalyse de Sigmund Freud gagnait en popularité parmi les psychiatres européens. C'est pourquoi durant sa jeunesse, lorsqu'il s'est intéressé à la psychologie et à la santé mentale, sa formation autodidacte sur le sujet comprenait de nombreux textes sur la psychanalyse.


Cependant, aussi dès son plus jeune âge, il commença à développer un intérêt remarquable pour la philosophie , caractéristique qui définirait sa personnalité et sa manière de poser des questions existentielles sur le sens de la vie. En fait, étant mineur, il a commencé à donner son premier exposé dans lequel il a partagé certaines de ses réflexions.

L'université et sa spécialisation en psychiatrie

Lorsque Viktor Frankl entra à l'Université de Vienne pour se spécialiser en psychiatrie au milieu de la vingtaine, les travaux de Freud sur la santé mentale et le fonctionnement de la psyché avaient acquis une telle notoriété que la jeune étudiante n'avait aucun problème à se déplacer comme un poisson. dans l'eau dans une discipline qui combinait l'étude de l'organique (le système nerveux) avec l'utilisation d'une méta-psychologie très proche de la philosophie qui intéressait tant Frank.

Cependant, Il a fini par prendre ses distances par rapport à la psychanalyse orthodoxe, la considérant trop réductionniste et a commencé à former dans le courant psychodynamique de Alfred Adler . Cette perspective n’était pas marquée par la vision pessimiste selon laquelle chaque personne est liée aux forces inconscientes qui émergent de sa structure mentale, raison pour laquelle elle correspond mieux à la façon dont Viktor Frankl a compris la vie.

L'importance de la philosophie dans la recherche du bonheur

Parce que le jeune Frank savait que souffrance et conflit existait, il croyait que grâce à une combinaison de philosophie et de connaissances en psychologie, il était possible de faire un ajustement entre ce qui est expérimenté et la façon dont on y pense pour ne pas tomber dans malheur Au cours de ses années de formation parmi les adeptes d'Adler, Viktor Frankl est entré en contact avec Rudolf Allers, ce qui l'a amené à développer un type de psychologie existentielle que nous connaissons aujourd'hui comme logothérapie.

Ainsi, bien que Viktor Frankl ait mis fin à sa relation académique avec Adler des années plus tard, l'idée que le bien-être et la santé mentale ont beaucoup à voir avec le sens donné à la vie était profondément enracinée dans la philosophie de cette société. psychiatre Mais ce qui le pousserait à réaffirmer ses convictions fut une expérience terrible et potentiellement traumatisante: son passage dans les camps de concentration nazis.

Viktor Frankl, survivant de l'holocauste

Au cours de ses années d’études, Viktor Frankl a eu de nombreuses occasions de se familiariser avec la douleur. En fait, nous voulions nous spécialiser dans l’étude et le traitement de la dépression et dans la prévention du suicide, ce qui l'a amené à offrir des services de soutien aux étudiants souffrant de stress excessif et, dans les années 1930, il a traité de nombreux patients sur le point de se suicider. À partir de 1938, toutefois, la montée du nazisme commença à devenir de plus en plus difficile.

En 1942, après avoir été forcé de travailler dans le seul hôpital de la région où les juifs pouvaient travailler, Viktor fut déporté dans un ghetto et, de là, dans une série de camps de concentration, notamment Auschwitz . La plupart des membres de sa famille, y compris sa femme, sont morts dans le réseau de camps d'extermination et Viktor Frankl a dû travailler dans des conditions d'esclavage jusqu'à la libération du camp dans lequel il se trouvait en 1945.

Homme en quête de sens

Après la fin de la guerre, Viktor Frankl il a découvert que beaucoup de personnes qu'il aimait étaient mortes, mais il a trouvé un moyen de faire face à ces pertes . Selon lui, le simple fait de découvrir le sens de la souffrance rend l'expérience plus supportable, l'incorporant au récit de l'histoire de la vie en tant qu'élément supplémentaire, quelque chose qui ne l'empêche pas de se produire page et peut être tiré en avant.

Cette idée, qui coïncide en grande partie avec les principes de la philosophie existentialiste de Jean-Paul Sartre et d’autres penseurs, a été façonnée par Viktor Frankl dans son ouvrage le plus connu: L’homme à la recherche de sens, publié en 1946, est un livre qui sert d’introduction à l’orthophonie.

Les théories de Viktor Frankl, aujourd'hui

Le travail de Viktor Frankl s'inspire d'influences qui remontent à des siècles, lorsque des chefs religieux orientaux ont expliqué comment faire face à la souffrance en changeant la façon dont les gens pensent de lui et que les ascètes de la Grèce antique ont appris à abandonner Idées préconçues sur ce qui génère le désir et ce qui ne le fait pas. En fait, ses contributions à la psychologie sont moins importantes, plus on s'en tient à l'idée que la psychologie doit être une science basée sur la mesure et l'expérimentation.

Cependant, le filtre intellectuel supposé par Viktor Frankl n’a pas eu la logothérapie comme seul produit: on peut aussi considérer que ses premiers travaux sur l’analyse existentielle ont jeté les bases de la psychologie humaniste popularisée par des personnes comme Carl Rogers ou Abraham Maslow et que plus récemment a illuminé la psychologie positive , orientés pour étudier des sujets tels que la réalisation de soi, la réalisation d'objectifs vitaux et le bonheur.

Vous pouvez consulter les livres que Viktor Frankl a écrits via ce lien.


Découvrir un sens à sa vie : Man's Search for Meaning -Dr Viktor E. Frankl (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes