yes, therapy helps!
Viloxazine: uses and side effects of this drug

Viloxazine: uses and side effects of this drug

April 30, 2024

The creation of new drugs to combat all kinds of diseases and disorders, both psychological and physical, is a dynamic process in which any medication can be withdrawn from the market almost as quickly as it was put into it. Either for economic reasons or in relation to the benefits of the company, as for security reasons.

This is the case of viloxazine, an antidepressant marketed over a little over twenty years and of which we will talk throughout this article. In the same way, we will analyze its uses and its form of administration, as well as its possible side effects and the precautions that should be taken by those who consumed it.


  • Related article: "Psychotropic drugs: drugs that act on the brain"

What is viloxazine?

Viloxacin, commercially known under the names of Vivalan, Emovit, Vivarint and Vicilan, it was an antidepressant drug whose main asset was a morpholine derivative and that it was categorized within the group of selective norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (ISRN).

This drug was discovered and launched on the market in the year 1976. During its marketing season, it was used as an antidepressant in a large number of European countries, and it has reached quite a fame due to its stimulant effects similar to those of amphetamines , but without the effects so addictive or without the signs of dependence of these.


Although she was never granted the approval of the American Food and Drug Administration (FDA), she was granted a designation for the treatment of narcolepsy and cataplexy. However, it was removed from markets around the world in 2002, citing commercial reasons.

Regarding its action as an antidepressant, it was observed that, in animal models, viloxazine inhibits the reuptake of norepinephrine in the hearts of rats and mice. As regards the inhibition of serotonin reuptake, this drug potentiated brain functions mediated by this neurotransmitter in the same way as other more potent antidepressants such as amitriptyline or imipramine; also showing no anticholinergic effect.

Finally, it was also discovered that, in rats, it regulated in a very effective way the gabaergic receptors of the frontal cortex of these animals.


  • You may be interested: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

In what cases was this antidepressant used?

Viloxazine was administered, in some European countries, as the drug of choice for the treatment of depression or major depression disorder. Depression or major depressive disorder is a mental or psychological condition characterized because the person suffering from it experiences a constant and acute feeling of negative emotions like sadness and anguish.

Often, depression is accompanied by low self-esteem, loss of interest in activities that are usually pleasant or attractive, decreased energy and pain without apparent cause.

While in milder cases, depression may appear intermittently, alternating periods of depression and periods of emotional stability. While in the most serious the person presents the symptoms permanently; including faulty beliefs or even visual or auditory hallucinations.

Major depressive disorder can interfere significantly and negatively in the day to day of the patient; modifying their routines, their eating habits, the sleep cycles and your general health status. The decline of the person can lead to be so serious that between 2 and 7% of people with depression come to resort to suicide as a way to eliminate the suffering suffered.

How was it administered?

Viloxazine was marketed in the form of tablets for oral administration. Usually, it recommended taking daily doses of between 50 and 100 milligrams , once every 8 or 12 hours and, if possible, accompanied by a meal. In addition, the last dose should be ingested, recommended, before 6 o'clock in the afternoon.

However, in the most severe cases, the dose could be increased up to 400 milligrams of viloxazine per day.

It is necessary to specify that, neither in this case nor in the case of any other medication, the patient must alter at his own expense the doses indicated by the medical professional, since these are adjusted to the needs or condition of the patient. Otherwise, there is a possibility that the patient will experience serious side effects such as abrupt changes in mood, among many other symptoms.

Due to the way viloxazine works, In most cases the pharmacological treatment started gradually , starting with lower doses which increase as the first weeks of treatment pass.

In addition, viloxazine should never be withdrawn abruptly, since the side effects of this interruption in the consumption of the medication could cause symptoms typical of the withdrawal syndrome such as severe headaches, increased muscle stiffness, mood disorders, dizziness or dizziness

What were the side effects?

As with the vast majority of psychiatric medication, viloxazine also had a series of side effects that, although not always important or serious, appeared quite frequently.

In most cases, the appearance of side effects was due to a dilation of the pharmacological action of the medication and they affected mainly the central and autonomous nervous system .

These adverse reactions could be divided into: frequent side effects appear between 10 and 25% of cases), occasional (between 1 and 9% of cases) and rare side effects (less than 1% of cases).

1. Frequent side effects

Sickness. Vomiting . Headache.

2. Occasional side effects

These are side effects of viloxacin that are somewhat rarer.

  • Constipation .
  • Dry mouth.
  • Urinary withholdings
  • Tachycardia .
  • Disorders of accommodation.

3. Rare side effects

In these rare but serious cases, treatment with viloxazine should be stopped immediately and always under the supervision and supervision of a doctor.

  • Cardiac arrhythmias.
  • Orthostatic hypotension.
  • Worsening anxiety .
  • Agitation.
  • Drowsiness or insomnia.
  • Ataxia.
  • Confusion.
  • Tremors .
  • Paresthesias
  • Sweating
  • Myalgia.
  • Mild hypertension .
  • Rashes.
  • Convulsions
  • Jaundice.

What precautions should be taken during its consumption?

Before the start of treatment, the patient had to inform his doctor of any special health condition in which it was found, especially if it included cardiovascular alterations, epilepsies, liver insufficiencies or renal insufficiencies.

In the same way, there are a number of medications that could interfere with the action of viloxazine. These included antiepileptic drugs, levodopa, theophylline or St. John's wort.

Although no adverse effects of consumption of viloxazine were found during pregnancy, it could be excreted in breast milk, so it was usual to recommend not administering this drug during the last weeks of pregnancy and during lactation.

Finally, like other antidepressant drugs, viloxazine Could cause states of drowsiness and confusion , so the driving of vehicles and the handling of heavy machinery during the treatment were not recommended.


Users' Comments about Antidepressant Withdrawal (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Viloxazine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Viloxazine: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Mai 11, 2021

La création de nouveaux médicaments pour lutter contre toutes sortes de maladies et de troubles, tant psychologiques que physiques, est un processus dynamique dans le cadre duquel tout médicament peut être retiré du marché presque aussi rapidement qu'il y a été mis. Soit pour des raisons économiques ou par rapport aux avantages de l'entreprise, comme pour des raisons de sécurité.

C'est le cas de la viloxazine, un antidépresseur commercialisé depuis un peu plus de vingt ans et dont nous parlerons tout au long de cet article. De la même manière, nous analyserons ses utilisations et sa forme d'administration, ainsi que ses éventuels effets secondaires et les précautions qui devraient être prises par ceux qui l'ont consommé.


  • Article connexe: "Drogues psychotropes: des drogues qui agissent sur le cerveau"

Qu'est-ce que la viloxazine?

Viloxacin, connu dans le commerce sous les noms de Vivalan, Emovit, Vivarint et Vicilan, c'était un antidépresseur dont l'actif principal était un dérivé de la morpholine et qu'il a été classé dans le groupe des inhibiteurs sélectifs du recaptage de la noradrénaline (RNIS).

Ce médicament a été découvert et mis sur le marché en 1976. Pendant la saison de commercialisation, il était utilisé comme antidépresseur dans un grand nombre de pays européens. Il est devenu assez célèbre pour son effets stimulants similaires à ceux des amphétamines , mais sans les effets si addictifs ou sans signes de dépendance de ceux-ci.


Bien qu'elle n'ait jamais obtenu l'approbation de la Food and Drug Administration (FDA), elle s'est vue décerner le titre de traitement de la narcolepsie et de la cataplexie. Cependant, il a été retiré des marchés mondiaux en 2002, pour des raisons commerciales.

En ce qui concerne son action en tant qu'antidépresseur, il a été observé que, dans des modèles animaux, la viloxazine inhibe la recapture de noradrénaline dans le cœur de rats et de souris. En ce qui concerne l'inhibition de la recapture de la sérotonine, ce médicament fonctions cérébrales potentialisées médiées par ce neurotransmetteur de la même manière que d'autres antidépresseurs plus puissants tels que l'amitriptyline ou l'imipramine; ne montrant également aucun effet anticholinergique.

Enfin, il a également été découvert que, chez le rat, il régulait de manière très efficace les récepteurs gabaergiques du cortex frontal de ces animaux.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Dans quels cas cet antidépresseur a-t-il été utilisé?

La viloxazine a été administrée, dans certains pays européens, comme médicament de choix pour le traitement de la dépression ou du trouble de la dépression majeure. La dépression ou trouble dépressif majeur est un état mental ou psychologique caractérisé par le fait que la personne qui en souffre un sentiment constant et aigu d'émotions négatives comme la tristesse et l'angoisse.

Souvent, la dépression est accompagnée d'une faible estime de soi, d'une perte d'intérêt pour des activités généralement agréables ou attrayantes, d'une perte d'énergie et d'une douleur sans cause apparente.

Dans les cas moins graves, la dépression peut apparaître de manière intermittente, alternant périodes de dépression et périodes de stabilité émotionnelle. Dans les cas les plus graves, la personne présente les symptômes de façon permanente; y compris des croyances erronées ou même des hallucinations visuelles ou auditives.

Le trouble dépressif majeur peut interférer de manière significative et négative dans le quotidien du patient; modifier leurs routines, leurs habitudes alimentaires, les cycles du sommeil et votre état de santé général. Le déclin de la personne peut être si grave que 2 à 7% des personnes déprimées en viennent au suicide pour éliminer les souffrances endurées.

Comment a-t-il été administré?

La viloxazine a été commercialisée sous forme de comprimés pour administration orale. Généralement recommandé de prendre des doses quotidiennes comprises entre 50 et 100 milligrammes , une fois toutes les 8 ou 12 heures et, si possible, accompagné d'un repas. De plus, la dernière dose doit être ingérée, recommandée, avant 6 heures de l'après-midi.

Cependant, dans les cas les plus graves, la dose pourrait être augmentée jusqu’à 400 milligrammes de viloxazine par jour.

Il est nécessaire de préciser que, ni dans ce cas, ni dans le cas de tout autre médicament, le patient doit modifier à ses frais les doses indiquées par le professionnel de la santé, celles-ci étant adaptées aux besoins ou à l'état du patient. Sinon, le patient risque de subir des effets indésirables graves tels que des changements brusques d'humeur, parmi de nombreux autres symptômes.

En raison de la façon dont viloxazine fonctionne, Dans la plupart des cas, le traitement pharmacologique a commencé progressivement en commençant par des doses plus faibles qui augmentent au fil des premières semaines de traitement.

De plus, la viloxazine ne doit jamais être interrompue brusquement, car les effets secondaires de cette interruption de la consommation du médicament pourraient provoquer des symptômes typiques du syndrome de sevrage tels que maux de tête sévères, augmentation de la raideur musculaire, troubles de l'humeur, vertiges vertige

Quels ont été les effets secondaires?

Comme avec la grande majorité des médicaments psychiatriques, la viloxazine a également eu une série d'effets secondaires qui, bien que pas toujours importants ou graves, sont apparus assez fréquemment.

Dans la plupart des cas, l’apparition d’effets secondaires était due à une dilatation de l’action pharmacologique du médicament et ils ont affecté principalement le système nerveux central et autonome .

Ces effets indésirables peuvent être divisés en: les effets indésirables fréquents apparaissent entre 10 et 25% des cas), les effets indésirables occasionnels (entre 1 et 9% des cas) et les effets indésirables rares (moins de 1% des cas).

1. Effets secondaires fréquents

La nausée Vomissements . Mal de tête.

2. Effets secondaires occasionnels

Ce sont des effets secondaires de la viloxacine qui sont un peu plus rares.

  • Constipation .
  • Bouche sèche.
  • Retenues urinaires
  • Tachycardie .
  • Troubles de l'hébergement.

3. Effets secondaires rares

Dans ces cas rares mais graves, le traitement par viloxazine doit être arrêté immédiatement et toujours sous la surveillance d'un médecin.

  • Arythmies cardiaques
  • Hypotension orthostatique.
  • Aggravation de l'anxiété .
  • Agitation
  • Somnolence ou insomnie.
  • Ataxie
  • Confusion
  • Tremblements .
  • Paresthésies
  • Transpiration
  • Myalgie
  • Hypertension légère .
  • Éruptions cutanées.
  • Convulsions
  • Jaunisse

Quelles précautions faut-il prendre lors de sa consommation?

Avant le début du traitement, le patient devait informer son médecin de tout problème de santé particulier dans lequel il a été trouvé, surtout s’il comprenait des altérations cardiovasculaires, des épilepsies, des insuffisances hépatiques ou des insuffisances rénales.

De la même manière, un certain nombre de médicaments peuvent interférer avec l'action de la viloxazine. Ceux-ci incluaient des antiépileptiques, de la lévodopa, de la théophylline ou du millepertuis.

Bien que la consommation de viloxazine n'ait entraîné aucun effet indésirable pendant la grossesse, celle-ci pouvant être excrétée dans le lait maternel, il était donc recommandé de ne pas administrer ce médicament au cours des dernières semaines de la grossesse et de l'allaitement.

Enfin, comme d’autres antidépresseurs, la viloxazine Pourrait causer de la somnolence et de la confusion , de sorte que la conduite de véhicules et la manipulation de machinerie lourde pendant le traitement n'étaient pas recommandées.


[GMS Reboot] Buccaneer POV - Viloxazine - LUCID (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes