yes, therapy helps!
Violence in teen relationships

Violence in teen relationships

December 5, 2021

Many young people and adolescents do not pay much attention to violence in their relationships, tend to believe that it is a problem that affects adults exclusively. However, during the engagement may appear important etiological factors of gender violence that occurs in adult couples.

Violence in young couples: why does it happen?

Violence in relationships is a problem that affects all ages, races, social classes and religions. It is a social and health problem that due to its high incidence has produced an important social alarm at the moment due to both the gravity of the facts and the negativity of its consequences.


The concept of violence in adolescent couple relationships has been defined by different authors. International research employs the term "dating aggression and / or dating violence", in Spain, the term most used is that of violence in adolescent couple relationships or violence in dating relationships.

Defining this type of violence

Ryan Shorey, Gregory Stuart and Tara Cornelius define violence in dating relationships as those behaviors that involve physical, psychological or sexual aggression between the members of a couple in the courtship . Other authors, highlight that it is about that violence that implies any attempt to dominate or control a person physically, psychologically and / or sexually, causing some kind of damage.


Compulsory reading: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

From psychology, various authors try to explain the causes of this violence in relationships between adolescents. Although there are currently few studies that have addressed theoretically the origin and maintenance of violence in these couples, There is a tendency to explain it from classic theories about aggressiveness or linked to ideas about gender violence in adult couples.

Below are some of the theories and theoretical models most relevant, but not all, to shed some light on this problem.

Attachment Theory

John Bowlby (1969) proposes that people shape their relationship style from the interactions and relationships they established during childhood with the main attachment figures (mother and father). These interactions they influence both the onset and the development of aggressive behavior .


According to this theory, adolescents from homes in which they observed and / or suffered mistreatment, which show problems in regulating their emotions, low abilities to solve problems and / or lower self-confidence, aspects that may also be due to previous, would show greater probabilities of establishing conflicting couple relationships.

From this perspective, the aggressions in adolescence would be originated by the negative experiences in childhood , such as aggressive behaviors in parents, child abuse, insecure attachment, etc., and at the same time influence the occurrence of dysfunctional patterns in adulthood. However, we can not ignore that personal experiences involve a process of individual elaboration that would allow to modify these patterns.

Deepening: "The Theory of Attachment and the bond between parents and children"

Theory of Social Learning

Proposed by Albert Bandura in 1973 focused on the concepts of modeling and social learning, explains how childhood learning occurs through imitation of what we observe .

The aggressive behaviors in the adolescent couple relationship, would be produced by learning them either from personal experience or by witnessing relationships in which there is violence. So, People who experience or are exposed to violence will show a greater likelihood of manifesting violent behavior in comparison to those who have not experienced or been exposed to it.

However, we must consider that each person carries out a process of building their own about their experience and is not limited to copying the conflict resolution strategies of the parents. Further, Some studies have found that not all adolescents who have perpetrated or have been victims of aggression in their partners, in their childhood they experienced or witnessed aggressive behaviors in their homes, among their friends or with previous partners.

Feminist Perspective

Authors such as Lenore Walker (1989) explains that violence in couples has its origin in unequal social distribution based on gender , which produces greater power for men with respect to women.According to this perspective, women are seen as an object of control and domination by the patriarchal system through the principles of social learning theory, the sociocultural values ​​of patriarchy and gender inequality, transmitted and learned at the individual level. Gender violence is violence whose purpose is to maintain control and / or control in an unequal relationship, in which both members have received different socialization.

This theoretical perspective has been adapted to violence in adolescent relationships, considering the multiple evidences of the influence exerted by traditional belief systems on gender roles, both in the appearance and in the maintenance of violence. This adaptation explains and analyzes why the aggressions that the boys discuss, tend to be more serious, and analyze the possible differences between both genders, for example with regard to the consequences.

Theory of Social Exchange

Proposed by George C. Homans (1961), indicates that people's motivation lies in obtaining rewards and in reducing or eliminating costs in their relationships . Thus, a person's behavior will vary depending on the amount and type of reward that he or she will receive.

So, violence in relationships is used as a way to reduce costs , gaining through greater aggression control and power. The search for control by the aggressor would be related to the reduction of another of the possible costs of relationships, uncertainty, not knowing what the other thinks, what he does, where he is, etc. In this line, the smaller the reciprocity in a given interaction, the greater the probability of emotional behavior based on anger or violence.

In turn, such behaviors will produce that the individual feels disadvantaged and will increase the possibility that the interaction becomes more dangerous and violent. Thus the main benefit of violence is the acquisition of dominion over another individual and the likelihood of a violent exchange ending, increase when the costs of violent behavior are greater than the benefits it produces.

Cognitive-Behavioral Approach

Centers the explanation of violence in relationships of couple in cognitions and cognitive processes, highlighting that people seek consistency between their thoughts and between these and their behaviors . The presence of cognitive distortions or inconsistencies between them, will produce negative emotions that can lead to the appearance of violence.

However, the cognitive-behavioral approach has focused more on the explanation of the cognitive distortions that occur in the aggressors for example, in the same situation in which the couple is not present, the aggressor will be more likely to think that their couple has not waited at home in order to annoy you or as a way to disrespect him, which will produce negative emotions, on the other hand a person who is not an aggressor, will think that this is because his partner will be busy or having fun and it will produce positive emotions and you will be happy about it.

Ecological model

It was raised by Urie Bronfenbrenner (1987) and adapted by White (2009) to explain the violence in the couple relationships, changing its name to socio-ecological model. Explain the violence in couple relationships through four levels ranging from the most general to the most concrete: social, community, interpersonal and individual. In each of the levels there are factors that increase or decrease the risk of perpetration of violence or victimization .

Thus violent behavior in a relationship would be placed in this model at the individual level and would develop due to the previous influence of the other levels. This influence of the different levels, comes from the traditional vision of division of power in society in favor of men, as in the Feminist Theory.

Submits that violent behaviors against the couple are influenced by beliefs at a social level (for example, the distribution of work for men and women, sexual division of power), at the community level (such as the integration of gender-differentiated social relations integrated into schools, workplaces, social institutions, etc.), at the interpersonal (like the beliefs of both members of the couple about how the relationship should be), and at the individual level (for example, what the individual thinks about what is "appropriate" or not in a relationship). Those behaviors that fail to meet these expectations assumed by gender will increase the likelihood of violent behavior and will use these beliefs to justify the use of violence.

Conclusions

Currently there are various theories or perspectives, there has been some scientific progress in this field and new research has been interested in explaining the violence in sentimental relationships of adolescents, reviewing traditional theories and those theories that focus on any type of violence interpersonal

However, despite the recent scientific progress in this area, there are still many unknowns to be solved that allow us to get to know the individual factors as relational about the origin, causes and maintenance of dating violence. This advance would help adolescents both identify if they suffer violence from their partner and prevent its appearance, as well as identify those factors that can cause gender violence in adult couples and start their prevention from adolescence.

Bibliographic references:

  • Fernández-Fuertes, A. A. (2011). The prevention of aggressive behaviors in young adolescent couples. In R. J. Carcedo, & V. Guijo, Violence in adolescent and young couples: How to understand and prevent it. (pp. 87-99). Salamanca: Amarú Editions.
  • Gelles, R. J. (2004). Social factors. In J. Sanmartín, (Eds.), The Labyrinth of Violence. Causes, types and effects. (pp. 47-56.). Barcelona: Ariel.
  • R.C. Shorey, G.L. Stuart, T.L. Cornelius (2011) Dating Violence and Substance Use in College Students: A review of the Literature. Aggressive and Violent Behavior, 16 (2011), pp. 541-550 //dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.avb.2011.08.003
  • Smith, P.H., White, J.W., & Moracco, K.E. (2009). Becoming who we are: A theoretical explanation of gendered social structures and social networks that shape adolescent interpersonal aggression. Psychology of Women Quarterly, 33 (1), 25-29.
  • Walker, L. (1989). Psychology and Violence against women. American Journal of Psychological Association, 44 (4), 695-702.
  • Wekerle, C., & Wolfe, D. A. (1998). The role of child maltreatment and attachment style in adolescent relationship violence. Development and Psychopathology, 10, 571-586.

Teen Dating Violence (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Violence dans les relations entre adolescents

Violence dans les relations entre adolescents

Mai 22, 2019

Beaucoup de jeunes et d'adolescents ne prêtent pas beaucoup d'attention à la violence dans leurs relations, ils ont tendance à croire qu'il s'agit d'un problème qui concerne exclusivement les adultes. Cependant, au cours de l'engagement, d'importants facteurs étiologiques de la violence de genre pouvant survenir chez les couples adultes peuvent apparaître.

Violence chez les jeunes couples: pourquoi cela se produit-il?

La violence dans les relations est un problème qui concerne tous les âges, les races, les classes sociales et les religions. C’est un problème social et de santé qui, en raison de sa forte incidence, a suscité à l’heure actuelle une alarme sociale importante en raison de la gravité des faits et de la négativité de ses conséquences.


Le concept de violence dans les relations de couple adolescent a été défini par différents auteurs. La recherche internationale utilise le terme "agression dans les fréquentations et / ou violence dans les fréquentations", en Espagne, le terme le plus utilisé est celui de violence dans les relations de couple adolescent o violence dans les relations amoureuses.

Définir ce type de violence

Ryan Shorey, Gregory Stuart et Tara Cornelius définissent la violence dans les relations amoureuses comme les comportements qui impliquent une agression physique, psychologique ou sexuelle entre les membres d'un couple pendant la cour . D'autres auteurs soulignent qu'il s'agit d'une violence qui implique toute tentative de dominer ou de contrôler une personne physiquement, psychologiquement et / ou sexuellement, causant une sorte de dommage.


Lecture obligatoire: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

En psychologie, divers auteurs tentent d’expliquer les causes de cette violence dans les relations entre adolescents. Bien que peu d’études aient porté théoriquement sur l’origine et le maintien de la violence chez ces couples, Il y a une tendance à l'expliquer à partir de théories classiques sur l'agressivité ou lié aux idées sur la violence de genre dans les couples adultes.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques-unes des théories et des modèles théoriques les plus pertinents, mais pas tous, pour éclaircir ce problème.

Théorie de l'attachement

John Bowlby (1969) propose que les gens façonnent leur style de relation à partir des interactions et des relations qu'ils ont établies pendant leur enfance avec les principales figures d'attachement (mère et père). Ces interactions ils influencent à la fois l'apparition et le développement d'un comportement agressif .


Selon cette théorie, les adolescents des foyers dans lesquels ils ont observé et / ou subi des mauvais traitements, qui présentent des problèmes de régulation de leurs émotions, une faible capacité à résoudre des problèmes et / ou une confiance en soi moins forte, aspects qui peuvent aussi être dus à: précédente, montrerait de plus grandes probabilités d'établir des relations de couple conflictuelles.

Dans cette perspective, les agressions à l'adolescence seraient dues aux expériences négatives de l'enfance , tels que les comportements agressifs des parents, la maltraitance d’enfants, l’attachement insécurisé, etc., tout en influençant l’apparition de modèles dysfonctionnels à l’âge adulte. Cependant, nous ne pouvons pas ignorer que les expériences personnelles impliquent un processus d’élaboration individuelle qui permettrait de modifier ces modèles.

Approfondissement: "La théorie de l'attachement et le lien entre parents et enfants"

Théorie de l'apprentissage social

Proposée par Albert Bandura en 1973 et centrée sur les concepts de modélisation et d’apprentissage social, explique comment l'apprentissage des enfants se fait par imitation de ce que nous observons .

Les comportements agressifs dans la relation de couple adolescent seraient produits en les apprenant soit par expérience personnelle, soit en assistant à des relations violentes. Pourtant, Les personnes qui subissent ou sont exposées à la violence montreront une plus grande probabilité de manifester un comportement violent par rapport à ceux qui ne l'ont pas expérimenté ou qui n'y ont pas été exposés.

Cependant, nous devons considérer que chaque personne entreprend un processus de construction de sa propre expérience et ne se limite pas à copier les stratégies de résolution de conflit des parents. En outre, Certaines études ont montré que ce ne sont pas tous les adolescents qui ont perpétré ou ont été victimes d'agression chez leurs partenaires, dans leur enfance, ils ont vécu ou ont été témoins de comportements agressifs à la maison, chez leurs amis ou avec des partenaires antérieurs.

Perspective féministe

Des auteurs tels que Lenore Walker (1989) explique que la violence dans les couples a pour origine une répartition sociale inégale fondée sur le sexe , qui produit un plus grand pouvoir pour les hommes vis-à-vis des femmes.Selon cette perspective, le système patriarcal considère les femmes comme un objet de contrôle et de domination au travers des principes de la théorie de l'apprentissage social, des valeurs socioculturelles du patriarcat et de l'inégalité des sexes, transmises et apprises au niveau individuel. La violence de genre est une violence visant à maintenir le contrôle et / ou le contrôle dans une relation inégale, dans laquelle les deux membres ont reçu une socialisation différente.

Cette perspective théorique a été adaptée à la violence dans les relations entre adolescents, en tenant compte des multiples preuves de l’influence exercée par les systèmes de croyances traditionnels sur les rôles de genre, à la fois dans l’apparition et dans le maintien de la violence. Cette adaptation explique et analyse pourquoi les agressions dont parlent les garçons ont tendance à être plus graves et analyse les différences possibles entre les deux sexes, par exemple en ce qui concerne les conséquences.

Théorie de l'échange social

Proposé par George C. Homans (1961), indique que la motivation des personnes réside dans l'obtention de récompenses et dans la réduction ou la suppression des coûts dans leurs relations . Ainsi, le comportement d'une personne variera en fonction du montant et du type de récompense qu'il recevra.

Pourtant, la violence dans les relations est utilisée comme un moyen de réduire les coûts , gagnant par un plus grand contrôle de l’agression et du pouvoir. La recherche du contrôle par l'agresseur serait liée à la réduction d'un autre des coûts possibles des relations, de l'incertitude, du fait de ne pas savoir ce que l'autre pense, ce qu'il fait, où il se trouve, etc. Dans cette ligne, plus la réciprocité est faible dans une interaction donnée, plus la probabilité d'un comportement émotionnel basé sur la colère ou la violence est grande.

À leur tour, de tels comportements produiront un sentiment de défavorisation chez l'individu et augmenteront la possibilité que l'interaction devienne plus dangereuse et violente. Ainsi, le principal avantage de la violence est l’acquisition de la domination sur un autre individu et la probabilité d’une fin d’échange violent, qui augmente lorsque les coûts d’un comportement violent sont supérieurs à ses avantages.

Approche cognitivo-comportementale

Centre l'explication de la violence dans les relations de couple en cognitions et processus cognitifs, soulignant que les personnes recherchent une cohérence entre leurs pensées et entre celles-ci et leurs comportements . La présence de distorsions cognitives ou d’incohérences entre elles produira des émotions négatives pouvant conduire à l’apparition de la violence.

Cependant, l'approche cognitivo-comportementale s'est davantage concentrée sur l'explication des distorsions cognitives qui se produisent chez les agresseurs, par exemple, dans la même situation où le couple n'est pas présent, l'agresseur sera plus susceptible de penser que ses le couple n'a pas attendu à la maison pour vous importuner ou pour lui manquer de respect, ce qui produira des émotions négatives; par contre, une personne qui n'est pas un agresseur pensera que c'est parce que son partenaire sera occupé ou s'amusera et cela produira des émotions positives et vous en serez heureux.

Modèle écologique

Il a été soulevé par Urie Bronfenbrenner (1987) et adapté par White (2009) pour expliquer la violence dans les relations de couple, changeant ainsi de nom. modèle socio-écologique. Expliquez la violence dans les relations de couple à travers quatre niveaux allant du plus général au plus concret: social, communautaire, interpersonnel et individuel. Dans chacun des niveaux il y a des facteurs qui augmentent ou diminuent le risque de violence ou de victimisation .

Ainsi, le comportement violent dans une relation serait placé dans ce modèle au niveau individuel et se développerait en raison de l'influence antérieure des autres niveaux. Cette influence des différents niveaux provient de la vision traditionnelle de la division du pouvoir dans la société en faveur des hommes, comme dans la théorie féministe.

Pose que les comportements violents contre le couple sont influencés par des croyances sociales (par exemple, répartition du travail entre hommes et femmes, division sexuelle du pouvoir), au niveau communautaire (intégration des relations sociales différenciées selon le sexe intégrées dans les écoles, les lieux de travail, les institutions sociales, etc.), interpersonnel (comme les convictions des deux membres du couple sur la manière dont la relation devrait être établie) et au niveau individuel (par exemple, ce que la personne pense de ce qui est "approprié" ou non dans une relation). Les comportements qui ne répondent pas aux attentes assumées par le sexe augmenteront les risques de comportement violent et utiliseront ces croyances pour justifier le recours à la violence.

Conclusions

Il existe actuellement diverses théories ou perspectives, certains progrès scientifiques ont été réalisés dans ce domaine et de nouvelles recherches ont été lancées pour expliquer la violence dans les relations sentimentales des adolescents, en passant en revue les théories traditionnelles et celles qui traitent de tout type de violence interpersonnel

Cependant, malgré les progrès scientifiques récents dans ce domaine, il reste encore de nombreuses inconnues à résoudre qui nous permettent de connaître les facteurs individuels comme relationnel sur l'origine, les causes et le maintien de la violence dans les fréquentations. Cette avancée aiderait les adolescents à identifier si ils subissaient des violences de la part de leur partenaire et à prévenir leur apparition, ainsi qu'à identifier les facteurs susceptibles de provoquer la violence de genre chez les couples adultes et à commencer leur prévention dès l'adolescence.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Fernández-Fuertes, A. A. (2011). La prévention des comportements agressifs chez les jeunes couples adolescents. Dans R. J. Carcedo et V. Guijo, La violence chez les adolescents et les jeunes couples: comment la comprendre et la prévenir. (pp. 87-99). Salamanque: Editions Amarú.
  • Gelles, R. J. (2004). Facteurs sociaux Dans J. Sanmartín, (Eds.), Le labyrinthe de la violence. Causes, types et effets. (pp. 47-56.). Barcelone: ​​Ariel.
  • R.C. Shorey, G.L. Stuart, T.L. Cornelius (2011) La violence dans les fréquentations et la consommation de substances psychoactives chez les étudiants: une revue de la littérature. Comportement agressif et violent, 16 (2011), pp. 541-550 //dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.avb.2011.08.003
  • Smith, P.H., White, J.W., & Moracco, K.E. (2009). Devenir qui nous sommes: Explication théorique des structures sociales et des réseaux sociaux genrés qui façonnent l’agression interpersonnelle des adolescents. Psychology of Women Quarterly, 33 (1), 25-29.
  • Walker, L. (1989). Psychologie et violence à l'égard des femmes. American Journal of Psychological Association, 44 (4), 695-702.
  • Wekerle, C. et Wolfe, D. A. (1998). Le rôle de la maltraitance et du style d'attachement envers les enfants dans la violence dans les relations entre adolescents. Développement et psychopathologie, 10, 571-586.

Parents, ados : la crise de nerfs - TF1 Reportage (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes