yes, therapy helps!
Virginia Satir family therapy: its objectives and uses

Virginia Satir family therapy: its objectives and uses

August 8, 2022

Family therapy by Virginia Satir, co-founder of Palo Alto MRI and in charge of the training of students in this institution for many years, had a great influence on the interventions of systemic orientation that appeared in the second half of the 20th century.

In this article we will analyze the main characteristics of the therapy proposed by Satir, we will describe its Growth Model and we will make a brief review of its biography and its work.

  • Related article: "Types of psychological therapies"

Biography of Virginia Satir

Virginia Satir was born in Neillsville, Wisconsin in 1916. During the Great Depression her family moved to Milwaukee leaving the farm where they lived so that Virginia, the eldest daughter, could study at the institute. She later graduated in Education at the Milwaukee State Teachers College and worked as a teacher for a few years.


Later Satir was trained as a social worker; in 1951 he began to dedicate himself to this work, which would be the core of his professional activity. Soon after, he started working at the Illinois Psychiatric Institute. During this period Satir's preference for family intervention (as opposed to individual treatment) was already well established.

At the end of the 50s Satir co-founded the Mental Research Institute, commonly abbreviated as "MRI" , in the city of Palo Alto, California. Other therapists who had a prominent role in the creation of this institution were Don Jackson, Paul Watzlawick, Chloe Madanes, Salvador Minuchin, R. D. Laing and Irvin Yalom.


The MRI was for several decades the fundamental nucleus of American family therapy, especially when we refer to the systemic orientation. Satir directed the training of students, so the influence of their ideas in this therapeutic model was very significant.

Virginia Satir died in 1988. In addition to her contributions as a family therapist and as a social worker , which is summarized in the book "Conjoint Family Therapy" (1964), Satir left a series of inspiring publications with a poetic tone through which he tried to help other people to develop more as human beings.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 8 types of families and their characteristics"

Objectives of the Satir Growth Model

Satir's work was derived from his personal values ​​and beliefs, which had a spiritual and self-transcendent character with remarkable similarities to the approaches of the humanistic psychological current. This author defined five general objectives in its Growth Model , name that he gave to his theory on psychotherapy.


1. Increase self-esteem

To Satir the concept "self-esteem" refers to our deep perception of ourselves and includes consciousness. According to their approaches a high self-esteem is related to the identification of the self with the spiritual energy.

  • Related article: "Low self-esteem? When you become your worst enemy"

2. Encourage decision-making

In this sense, one of the objectives of Satir family therapy is the empowerment of patients so that they can take their own decisions in pursuit of achieving a state of psychological and physical health . Personal transcendence would be related to the experience of freedom of action.

3. Adopt personality responsibility

Satir argued that the fact of experiencing our self completely allows us to take responsibility for it and truly know ourselves. Such facts would contribute centrally to the human development of individuals.

4. Achieve self-consistency

Personal congruence is defined as the harmony between the experience of an individual and his "vital energy" , related to the transcendence of the self. In this sense, important aspects such as authenticity and sincerity, both by the client and the therapist, who should serve as a model.

Principles of your family therapy

Five fundamental therapeutic principles have been identified in Satir's intervention methods; in them we will focus on this last section. These keys must be present throughout the treatment, since they are necessary elements for the therapeutic change.

1. Experiential methodology

This characteristic involves mainly two aspects: the full perception of the personal experience and the reexperimentation of significant events of the past as part of the therapy. Satir highlighted the importance of a hypothetical body memory as a useful tool for therapeutic change.

2. Systemic nature

Although systemic therapies usually understood as basically focused on the family relationship In fact, the "systemic" concept also refers to other interpersonal contexts, to the interaction between the past and the present and even to the organism as a whole.

3. Positive directionality

Satir said that the therapist should help clients to perceive the world in a positive way, to achieve physical and psychological health and to develop their maximum human potential. For this it is necessary to generate a new interpretive framework for the experiences and to promote the use of personal resources instead of psychopathological aspects.

4. Focus on the change

Satir family therapy focuses on personal and interpersonal transformation . With this objective, this author highlighted the usefulness of questions of deep self-reflection at the individual level.

5. Self-congruence of the therapist

The congruence between the behavior and the self of the therapist is a necessary condition so that the therapist can help other people reach their own. The client perceives this congruence through tools such as humor, metaphors, self-revelations and creative behaviors in general.


Clinical Use of Family Therapy Clips (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
La thérapie familiale Virginia Satir: ses objectifs et ses utilisations

La thérapie familiale Virginia Satir: ses objectifs et ses utilisations

Septembre 23, 2019

Thérapie familiale de Virginia Satir, cofondatrice de Palo Alto MRI et responsable de la formation des étudiants dans cette institution pendant de nombreuses années, a eu une grande influence sur les interventions d’orientation systémique apparues dans la seconde moitié du XXe siècle.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les principales caractéristiques de la thérapie proposée par Satir, nous décrirons son modèle de croissance et nous ferons une brève revue de sa biographie et de son travail.

  • Article connexe: "Types de thérapies psychologiques"

Biographie de Virginia Satir

Virginia Satir est née à Neillsville, dans le Wisconsin en 1916. Pendant la Grande Dépression, sa famille s'installa à Milwaukee, quittant la ferme où elle habitait pour que Virginia, sa fille aînée, puisse étudier à l'institut. Elle a ensuite obtenu son diplôme en éducation au Milwaukee State Teachers College et a travaillé comme enseignante pendant quelques années.


Plus tard, Satir a été formé en tant que travailleur social. en 1951, il commence à se consacrer à ce travail, qui sera au cœur de son activité professionnelle. Peu de temps après, il a commencé à travailler à l'Institut psychiatrique de l'Illinois. Durant cette période, la préférence de Satir pour une intervention familiale (par opposition à un traitement individuel) était déjà bien établie.

À la fin des années 50 Satir a co-fondé le Mental Research Institute, couramment appelé "IRM" , dans la ville de Palo Alto, Californie. Don Jackson, Paul Watzlawick, Chloé Madanes, Salvador Minuchin, R. D. Laing et Irvin Yalom ont également joué un rôle de premier plan dans la création de cette institution.


L'IRM a été pendant plusieurs décennies le noyau fondamental de la thérapie familiale américaine, en particulier lorsque nous nous référons à l'orientation systémique. Satir a dirigé la formation des étudiants, l'influence de leurs idées dans ce modèle thérapeutique a donc été très significative.

Virginia Satir est décédée en 1988. En plus contributions en tant que thérapeute familiale et en tant que travailleur social , résumé dans le livre "Conjoint Family Therapy" (1964), Satir a laissé une série de publications inspirantes au ton poétique à travers lequel il a essayé d'aider d'autres personnes à se développer davantage en tant qu'êtres humains.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 8 types de familles et leurs caractéristiques"

Objectifs du modèle de croissance Satir

Le travail de Satir est dérivé de ses valeurs et croyances personnelles, qui avaient un caractère spirituel et transcendant avec des similitudes remarquables avec les approches du courant psychologique humaniste. Cet auteur défini cinq objectifs généraux dans son modèle de croissance , nom qu'il a donné à sa théorie sur la psychothérapie.


1. Augmenter l'estime de soi

Pour Satir, le concept "estime de soi" désigne notre perception profonde de nous-mêmes et inclut la conscience. Selon leurs approches, une haute estime de soi est liée à l'identification de soi avec l'énergie spirituelle.

  • Article connexe: "Faible estime de soi? Quand vous devenez votre pire ennemi"

2. Encourager la prise de décision

En ce sens, l’un des objectifs de la thérapie familiale Satir est de donner aux patients les moyens de prendre leurs propres décisions. décisions visant à atteindre un état de santé psychologique et physique . La transcendance personnelle serait liée à l’expérience de la liberté d’action.

3. Adopter la responsabilité de la personnalité

Satir a fait valoir que le fait de faire l'expérience de notre soi nous permettait complètement d'en assumer la responsabilité et de vraiment nous connaître. De tels faits contribueraient de manière centrale au développement humain des individus.

4. Atteindre la cohérence de soi

La congruence personnelle est définie comme l'harmonie entre l'expérience d'un individu et son "énergie vitale" , liée à la transcendance du moi. En ce sens, des aspects importants tels que l’authenticité et la sincérité, à la fois du client et du thérapeute, devraient servir de modèle.

Principes de votre thérapie familiale

Cinq principes thérapeutiques fondamentaux ont été identifiés dans les méthodes d'intervention de Satir; en eux, nous allons nous concentrer sur cette dernière section. Ces clés doivent être présentes tout au long du traitement, car elles sont des éléments nécessaires au changement thérapeutique.

1. Méthodologie expérientielle

Cette caractéristique implique principalement deux aspects: la perception complète de l'expérience personnelle et la ré-expérience des événements significatifs du passé dans le cadre de la thérapie. Satir a souligné l'importance d'une mémoire corporelle hypothétique en tant qu'outil utile pour un changement thérapeutique.

2. Nature systémique

Bien que les thérapies systémiques généralement compris comme essentiellement axé sur la relation familiale En fait, le concept "systémique" fait également référence à d'autres contextes interpersonnels, à l'interaction entre le passé et le présent et même à l'organisme dans son ensemble.

3. directionnalité positive

Satir a déclaré que le thérapeute devrait aider les clients à percevoir le monde de manière positive, à atteindre la santé physique et psychologique et à développer leur potentiel humain au maximum. Pour cela, il est nécessaire de générer un nouveau cadre interprétatif pour les expériences et de promouvoir l'utilisation de ressources personnelles au lieu d'aspects psychopathologiques.

4. Focus sur le changement

La thérapie familiale Satir met l'accent sur la transformation personnelle et interpersonnelle . Avec cet objectif, cet auteur a souligné l'utilité des questions d'auto-réflexion profonde au niveau individuel.

5. Auto-congruence du thérapeute

La congruence entre le comportement et le moi du thérapeute est une condition nécessaire pour que le thérapeute puisse aider les autres à atteindre le leur. Le client perçoit cette congruence à travers des outils tels que l'humour, les métaphores, l'auto-révélation et les comportements créatifs en général.


Dr.Jost-Dalifard "Déroulement d’une thérapie de couple/familiale" (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes