yes, therapy helps!
Waardenburg syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Waardenburg syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

May 5, 2024

There are a lot of different alterations and conditions that can damage and harm our health. Many of them are highly known by most of the population, especially when they are relatively prevalent or dangerous. The flu, cancer, AIDS, diabetes or Alzheimer's are just some examples of this. Occasionally also some that are not taken into account by the majority of the population also jump to the forefront in the face of epidemics or awareness campaigns, such as Ebola, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

But there are many diseases that we have almost never heard of, such as those considered rare or a large number of genetic disorders. One of them is Waardenburg syndrome, which we will discuss along these lines .


  • Related article: "The differences between syndrome, disorder and disease"

Waardenburg syndrome: main symptoms

Waardenburg syndrome is a strange disease of genetic origin , which is estimated to suffer one in forty thousand people and which is classified as within the neurocristopathies, disorders generated as a result of alterations in the development of the neural crest.

This disease is characterized by the presence of alterations in facial morphology , highlighting the presence of dystopia cantorum or displacement of the side of the inner canthus of the eye, pigmentation problems both at the level of skin and eyes that makes them have a clear coloration (it is not uncommon for eyes to have a characteristic intense blue or that heterochromia appears, and that part of the hair is white) and a certain level of hearing loss or even congenital deafness. It is not uncommon for vision problems to appear, although it is not one of the critical symptoms for diagnosis.


They can also appear other affectations linked to the digestive system, movement or even intellectual capacity . Also the hair can appear with gray hair or even with white strands, as well as light spots on the skin. Despite this, this syndrome is characterized by being highly heterogeneous, possessing different types of symptomatological presentation.

Types of Waardenburg syndrome

The Waardenburg syndrome, as we have said, does not have a unique way of presenting itself, but different subtypes of this syndrome can be distinguished. Among them the most prominent are four, being the first two most common (within rare diseases) and the second least frequent.

Waardenburg syndrome type 1

Waardenburg syndrome type 1 is one of the most common. In this type of presentation of the syndrome, all of the aforementioned symptoms are given: morphofacial alterations and pigmentation problems , together with a possible congenital deafness (although only occurs in about 1 in 4 cases) ..


The presence of one eye of each color or heterochromia is observed with great frequency , the clear tone of eyes (generally with tendency to blue) and skin and, one of the characteristic symptoms of this type, the presence of dystopia cantorum or displacement of the inner canthus of the eye. This type of symptom reminds hypertelorism, with the difference that in reality the distance between the eyes is not greater than the average (although in some cases hypertelorism may also appear).

Waardenburg syndrome type 2

Types 1 and 2 of Waardenburg syndrome share the diagnostic criteria almost entirely, with the symptoms practically identical. The main difference is in the fact that in type 2 no dystopia cantorum (If we do, we would have a type 1 Waardenburg syndrome).

In addition, in this presentation of the syndrome the facial morphological alterations are usually somewhat less marked than in comparison to type 1, while the deafness presented is usually more evident and frequent, being the majority (it appears in 70% of cases) . They may also get spina bifida or lack of genital development.

Klein-Waardenburg syndrome or type 3

This type of disorder is characterized by the fact that in addition to the above symptoms (it is generally closer to type 1), there are usually malformations in the upper extremities and alteration at the neurological level. Also, it is usually more correlated with problems of movement, muscular tension, cerebrospinal alterations or functional diversity at an intellectual level . It is also common for the eyelid to fall in at least one of the eyes, a symptom called ptosis, despite the absence of the dystopia cantorum.

Waardenburg-Shah syndrome or type 4

Very similar in symptomatology to Waardenburg syndrome type 2, but adding alterations in the enteric and gastrointestinal system that cause fewer neurons to manage the intestines and usually correlate with constipation and other digestive problems such as Hirschsprung's disease or congenital megacolon, in which feces are not expelled normally due to problems with the neuronal ganglia of the enteric system and there is an enlargement of the intestine and colon product of its obstruction.

Causes of this alteration

Waardenburg syndrome is a disease of genetic origin, which can be inherited or appear due to a de novo mutation . The heritability of this disorder depends on the type that we are analyzing.

Types 1 and 2 are transmitted by an autosomal dominant pattern. The problems seem to arise from a neuronal migration altered during the development, which generates the symptomatology and a lack of melanocytes (causing changes in pigmentation).

One of the genes that is most associated with the disorder in its most common types in types 1 and 3 is PAX3 (it is considered that 90% of type 1 have mutations in this gene). But he's not the only one. Type 2 is more associated with the MITF gene, and 4 is associated to an association of genes, including EDN3, EDNRB and SOX10.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of intellectual disability (and characteristics)"

Treatment

Waardenburg syndrome is a genetic disorder, which does not at least at this time have any kind of curative treatment. However, many of the difficulties that the syndrome generates are treatable, taking place an approach that is more focused on symptoms and specific complications depending on the dysfunctionality or risk that may pose to the patient.

The most common type of intervention is the one that has to do with possible deafness or hearing loss, in which techniques such as the cochlear implant could be used . The monitoring and prevention of the appearance of tumors (for example melanomas) is also something to take into account and should they appear, they should also be conveniently treated. Some alterations of the skin and facial morphology may also require surgery, although it is not as frequent. Finally, if eye problems appear, they should also be treated.

In its majority the syndrome of Waardenburg does not generate nor usually it presents / displays great complications in its more common modalities, the type 1 and the type 2, so that those who suffer it can usually lead a typical life. This does not mean that they do not have difficulties, but in general the prognosis is positive in order to have a good quality of life.

In the case of subtypes 3 and 4, complications the number of complications may be higher. In the case of 4, the condition of megacolon can generate alterations that endanger the life of those who suffer from it . The latter is the case of megacolon, if it is not properly treated.

The treatment of these complications may require surgery to correct the megacolon or improve the functionality of the upper limbs (for example, reconstructing the extremities and separating the fingers). In case of intellectual disability, it may also be necessary to apply educational guidelines that take into account the possible problems derived from it, such as an individualized plan in the educational field (although usually the intellectual disability is usually mild).

Likewise, it is also necessary to assess the possible psychological affectation: the presence of morphological anomalies can trigger anxiety, self-esteem and depression problems derived from self-image. If necessary, psychological therapy can be very helpful.

Bibliographic references:

  • Duque, G.A., Ramírez-Cheyne, J. & Saldarriaga-Gil, W. (2016). Waardenburg syndrome type 1 in monozygotic twins and their family. Journal of the Faculty of Medicine, 64 (2): 365-371.
  • Santana, E.E. and Tamayo, V.J. (2015). Waardenburg syndrome, Presentation of an affected family. Medical Gazette of Espirituana, 17 (3). Cuba.
  • Waardenburg, P.J. (1951). A new syndrome combining developmental anomalies of the eyelids, eyebrows and nose root with pigmentary of the iris and head hair and with congenital deafness. Amer. Jour. Hum. Genet., 3 (3): 195-201.

5 Stunning People With Waardenburg Syndrome (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Waardenburg: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Waardenburg: causes, symptômes et traitement

Mai 16, 2022

Il existe de nombreuses altérations et conditions pouvant nuire à notre santé. Un grand nombre d'entre eux sont très connus de la majorité de la population, surtout lorsqu'ils sont relativement répandus ou dangereux. La grippe, le cancer, le sida, le diabète ou la maladie d'Alzheimer n'en sont que quelques exemples. Il arrive aussi que certaines épidémies ou campagnes de sensibilisation, telles que Ebola, la maladie pulmonaire obstructive chronique (MPOC) ou la sclérose latérale amyotrophique (SLA) ne soient pas prises en compte par la majorité de la population.

Mais il existe de nombreuses maladies dont nous n'avons presque jamais entendu parler, telles que celles considérées rares ou un grand nombre de troubles génétiques. L'un d'eux est Syndrome de Waardenburg, que nous allons discuter dans ce sens .


  • Article connexe: "Les différences entre syndrome, trouble et maladie"

Syndrome de Waardenburg: principaux symptômes

Syndrome de Waardenburg est une étrange maladie d'origine génétique , qui, selon les estimations, souffre d'une personne sur quarante mille et qui est classée dans les neurocristopathies, sont des troubles résultant d'altérations du développement de la crête neurale.

Cette maladie est caractérisée par la présence de altérations de la morphologie du visage , soulignant la présence de dystopia cantorum ou un déplacement du côté du canthus interne de l'œil, des problèmes de pigmentation tant au niveau de la peau que des yeux qui leur confère une coloration claire (il n'est pas rare que les yeux présentent un bleu intense caractéristique ou l'hétérochromie apparaît et cette partie du cheveu est blanche) et un certain niveau de perte auditive ou même de surdité congénitale. Il n’est pas rare que des problèmes de vision apparaissent, bien que ce ne soit pas l’un des symptômes critiques du diagnostic.


Ils peuvent aussi apparaître autres affectations liées au système digestif, au mouvement ou même à la capacité intellectuelle . Les cheveux peuvent également apparaître avec des cheveux gris ou même avec des mèches blanches, ainsi que des taches claires sur la peau. Malgré cela, ce syndrome se caractérise par sa grande hétérogénéité et ses différents types de présentation symptomatologique.

Types de syndrome de Waardenburg

Comme nous l'avons dit, le syndrome de Waardenburg n'a pas une manière unique de se présenter, mais différents sous-types de ce syndrome peuvent être distingués. Parmi eux, les plus importants sont quatre, les deux premiers étant les plus fréquents (parmi les maladies rares) et les moins fréquents.

Syndrome de Waardenburg type 1

Le syndrome de Waardenburg de type 1 est l’un des plus courants. Dans ce type de présentation du syndrome, tous les symptômes susmentionnés sont donnés: altérations morphofaciales et problèmes de pigmentation , accompagnée d’une éventuelle surdité congénitale (même si elle ne survient que dans environ 1 cas sur 4).


La présence d’un œil de chaque couleur ou hétérochromie est observée avec une grande fréquence , le ton clair des yeux (généralement avec tendance au bleu) et de la peau et, l’un des symptômes caractéristiques de ce type, la présence de dystopie cantorum ou un déplacement du canthus interne de l’œil. Ce type de symptôme rappelle l'hypertélorisme, à la différence qu'en réalité la distance entre les yeux n'est pas supérieure à la moyenne (bien que dans certains cas, un hypertélorisme puisse également apparaître).

Syndrome de Waardenburg type 2

Les types 1 et 2 du syndrome de Waardenburg partagent presque entièrement les critères de diagnostic, les symptômes étant pratiquement identiques. La principale différence réside dans le fait que dans le type 2 pas de dystopie cantorum (Si nous le faisons, nous aurions un syndrome de Waardenburg de type 1).

De plus, dans cette présentation du syndrome, les altérations morphologiques faciales sont généralement un peu moins marquées que par rapport au type 1, tandis que la surdité présentée est généralement plus évidente et fréquente, étant la majorité (il apparaît dans 70% des cas). . Ils peuvent également contracter le spina bifida ou un manque de développement génital.

Syndrome de Klein-Waardenburg ou type 3

Ce type de trouble est caractérisé par le fait qu’outre les symptômes ci-dessus (il est généralement plus proche du type 1), il existe généralement des malformations des membres supérieurs et une altération au niveau neurologique. En outre, il est généralement plus corrélé avec problèmes de mouvement, de tension musculaire, d'altérations cérébrospinales ou de diversité fonctionnelle au niveau intellectuel . Il est également courant que la paupière tombe dans au moins un des yeux, symptôme appelé ptose, malgré l’absence de dystopie cantorum.

Syndrome de Waardenburg-Shah ou type 4

Symptomatologie très similaire au syndrome de Waardenburg de type 2, mais en ajoutant altérations du système entérique et gastro-intestinal qui causent moins de neurones à gérer les intestins et sont généralement en corrélation avec la constipation et d'autres problèmes digestifs tels que la maladie de Hirschsprung ou le mégacôlon congénital, dans lesquels les matières fécales ne sont pas expulsées normalement en raison de problèmes liés aux ganglions neuronaux du système entérique et il y a un élargissement de l'intestin et du côlon résultant de son obstruction.

Causes de cette altération

Le syndrome de Waardenburg est une maladie d'origine génétique qui peut être hérité ou apparaître en raison d'une mutation de novo . L'héritabilité de ce trouble dépend du type que nous analysons.

Les types 1 et 2 sont transmis selon un schéma autosomique dominant. Les problèmes semblent provenir d’une migration neuronale modifiée au cours du développement, ce qui génère la symptomatologie et une manque de mélanocytes (provoquant des changements de pigmentation).

Le gène PAX3 est l’un des gènes les plus associés au trouble dans ses types les plus courants (types 1 et 3) (on considère que 90% des types 1 présentent des mutations dans ce gène). Mais il n'est pas le seul. Le type 2 est davantage associé au gène MITF et 4 à une association de gènes, notamment EDN3, EDNRB et SOX10.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de déficience intellectuelle (et caractéristiques)"

Traitement

Le syndrome de Waardenburg est une maladie génétique qui, pour le moment, n’a pas de traitement curatif. Cependant, bon nombre des difficultés générées par le syndrome sont traitables, prenant une approche davantage axée sur les symptômes et les complications spécifiques en fonction du dysfonctionnement ou le risque que cela peut poser au patient.

Le type d’intervention le plus courant est celui qui concerne une possible surdité ou une perte auditive, dans lequel des techniques telles que l'implant cochléaire pourraient être utilisées . La surveillance et la prévention de l'apparition de tumeurs (par exemple, les mélanomes) doivent également être prises en compte et, si elles apparaissent, elles doivent également être traitées de manière appropriée. Certaines altérations de la morphologie de la peau et du visage peuvent également nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale, bien que ce soit moins fréquent. Enfin, si des problèmes oculaires apparaissent, ils doivent également être traités.

Dans sa majorité le syndrome de Waardenburg ne génère pas ni habituellement il présente de grandes complications dans ses modalités plus communes, le type 1 et le type 2, de sorte que ceux qui le souffrent puissent habituellement mener une vie typique. Cela ne veut pas dire qu'ils n'ont pas de difficultés, mais en général, le pronostic est positif pour avoir une bonne qualité de vie.

Dans le cas des sous-types 3 et 4, complications, le nombre de complications peut être plus élevé. Dans le cas de 4, la condition de mégacôlon peut générer des modifications qui mettent en danger la vie de ceux qui en souffrent . Ce dernier cas est le cas du mégacôlon, s’il n’est pas correctement traité.

Le traitement de ces complications peut nécessiter une intervention chirurgicale pour corriger le mégacôlon ou améliorer la fonctionnalité des membres supérieurs (par exemple, reconstruction des extrémités et séparation des doigts). En cas de handicap intellectuel, il peut également être nécessaire d’appliquer des directives pédagogiques qui prennent en compte les problèmes éventuels qui en découlent, tels qu'un plan individualisé dans le domaine de l'éducation (bien que la déficience intellectuelle soit généralement légère).

De même, il est également nécessaire d'évaluer l'éventuelle affectation psychologique: la présence d'anomalies morphologiques peut entraîner des problèmes d'anxiété, d'estime de soi et de dépression dérivés de l'image de soi. Si nécessaire, une thérapie psychologique peut être très utile.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Duque, G.A., Ramírez-Cheyne, J. et Saldarriaga-Gil, W. (2016). Syndrome de Waardenburg de type 1 chez les jumeaux monozygotes et leur famille. Journal de la Faculté de médecine, 64 (2): 365-371.
  • Santana, E.E. et Tamayo, V.J. (2015). Syndrome de Waardenburg, Présentation d'une famille touchée. Gazette médicale de Espirituana, 17 (3). Cuba
  • Waardenburg, P.J. (1951). Un nouveau syndrome combinant des anomalies du développement des paupières, des sourcils et de la racine du nez avec une pigmentation de l'iris et des cheveux et une surdité congénitale. Amer. Jour. Hum. Genet., 3 (3): 195-201.

What is Turner Syndrome? Animated Explanation Video (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes