yes, therapy helps!
Walter Dill Scott: biography of this psychologist of the business world

Walter Dill Scott: biography of this psychologist of the business world

June 25, 2022

Walter Dill Scott was an American psychologist who made many contributions to applied psychology, especially in the industrial area. As his biography shows us, Dill Scott laid many of the psychological foundations of advertising and the current principles of human resources.

Below you will find the biography of Walter Dill Scott, one of the first to recognize and apply principles of psychology in the business area. The latter in relation to advertising, because it considered that the latter is the "nervous system" of the business world.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Who was Walter Dill Scott? Biography of a pioneer in applied psychology

Walter Dill Scott (1869-1995) was born in Cooksville, Illinois. His training at Northwestern University was in the artistic and educational area. Later he moved to Germany to study psychology under the tutelage of Wilhelm Wundt at the University of Leipzig, where He received a doctorate degree in philosophy in psychology and education in the year of 1900.


With this degree he returned to the faculty of psychology at Northwestern University as professor, laboratory director and later head of the department. He was also a professor of advertising and applied psychology at the School of Commerce.

Along with several of his colleagues, Walter Dill Scott believed that the advertising field had a great future. Thus, in 1903, he published together with other authors the first book that had the theme of advertising in relation to psychology : The theory and Practice of Advertising (Theory and practice of advertising).

From psychology to advertising

Walter Dill Scott was not only interested in psychology, but in world affairs and had a broad understanding of history. This, together with his general orientation in the culture, allowed him to see the possibilities of publicity as a popular educational force, which little by little led him to define some standards of truthfulness and effectiveness.


Very soon he realized that advertising could exercise changes in the mind, with which, the laws that govern the mind should be taken into account to determine if an ad will be effective or not. In other words, he suggested that advertising has psychological components that can be exploited.

In addition, while Dill Scott analyzed advertisements, he realized that many of them were badly made. From there he began to wonder how he could improve them, and one of the conclusions he reached was that the first thing was to select duly qualified people to prepare the announcements.

That is to say that, beyond the essential qualities of effective advertising, Dill Scott began to consider the qualities necessary for a seller to succeed . Thus, it quickly became the number one authority in the field of advertising psychology and in the selection and management of human resources.


In turn, advertising and personnel management were positioned as two key elements for the business field, which opened a very important door for applied psychology.

  • Related article: "7 keys of Psychology applied to Marketing and Advertising"

Contributions for the management and selection of personnel

Between the years of 1908 and 1915 Walter Dill Scott led a sellers selection study for the American Tobacco Company (American Tobacco Company). His intention was to elaborate and test criteria for a systematic selection of sellers.

For this, he started by observe closely how the interviewees who were in charge of hiring the staff operated . Very soon he realized that they used a simple method that he described as "give or receive", with which, they do not give him the information he needed.

Thus, Scott began to examine and analyze directly the qualities that had the most successful sellers of the company. Afterwards, he discussed these qualities with his research team and with the company's interviewers. This allowed him to train the interviewers on how to determine if the applicants met the desired qualities.

Finally, Scott and his team oversaw the application of their approach until it was fully demonstrated that the interviewers were effectively selecting the vendors. The result was very important for the company, which made Scott acquire more tasks in personnel evaluation and management within the same company, and later in others.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Psychology of work and organizations: a profession with a future"

Important works

Some of Walter Dill Scott's classics, which were published between 1903 and 1917, are: Increasing Human Efficiency In Business: A Contribution to the Psychology of Business (Increasing human efficiency in business: a contribution to the psychology of business), Influencing Men in Business (Influencing men in business), Aids in Selecting Salesmen (Aid for the selection of sellers), and the article Psychology of Advertising (Psychology of advertising).

Other books that were published later and that have had a great impact in the field of business and advertising are Personnel Management (Personnel management) and Science and Common Sense in Working with Men (Science and common sense in working with men).

Bibliographic references:

  • Northwestern University Archives (2009). Walter Dill Scott. Retrieved May 14, 2018. Available at //exhibits.library.northwestern.edu/archives/exhibits/presidents/scott.html
  • Jacobson, J.Z. (1951). Scott of Northwestern. The life of a pioneer in psychology and education. Retrieved May 14, 2018. Available at //www.angelfire.com/biz/pottershouse/bio-w-d-scott-book001index.html

Frank Abagnale: "Catch Me If You Can" | Talks at Google (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Walter Dill Scott: biographie de ce psychologue du monde des affaires

Walter Dill Scott: biographie de ce psychologue du monde des affaires

Juin 13, 2024

Walter Dill Scott était un psychologue américain qui a apporté de nombreuses contributions à la psychologie appliquée, en particulier dans le domaine industriel. Comme le montre sa biographie, Dill Scott a posé bon nombre des fondements psychologiques de la publicité et des principes actuels des ressources humaines.

Ci-dessous, vous trouverez la biographie de Walter Dill Scott, l’un des premiers à reconnaître et appliquer les principes de la psychologie dans le domaine des affaires. Ce dernier par rapport à la publicité, car il considérait que ce dernier était le "système nerveux" du monde des affaires.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Qui était Walter Dill Scott? Biographie d'un pionnier en psychologie appliquée

Walter Dill Scott (1869-1995) est né à Cooksville, dans l'Illinois. Sa formation à la Northwestern University était dans le domaine artistique et éducatif. Plus tard, il partit en Allemagne pour étudier la psychologie sous la tutelle de Wilhelm Wundt à l'Université de Leipzig, où Il a obtenu un doctorat en philosophie en psychologie et en éducation. en l'an 1900.


Avec ce diplôme, il est retourné à la faculté de psychologie de la Northwestern University en tant que professeur, directeur de laboratoire puis chef de département. Il a également été professeur de publicité et de psychologie appliquée à la School of Commerce.

Avec plusieurs de ses collègues, Walter Dill Scott estimait que le secteur de la publicité avait un grand avenir. Ainsi, en 1903, il a publié avec d'autres auteurs le premier livre qui avait pour thème la publicité en relation avec la psychologie : La théorie et la pratique de la publicité (Théorie et pratique de la publicité).

De la psychologie à la publicité

Walter Dill Scott s'intéressait non seulement à la psychologie, mais aussi aux affaires du monde et avait une compréhension globale de l'histoire. Ceci, combiné à son orientation générale dans la culture, lui a permis de voir les possibilités de publicité comme une force éducative populaire, ce qui l'a amené peu à peu à définir des normes de vérité et d'efficacité.


Très vite, il réalisa que la publicité pouvait entraîner des changements d’esprit, avec lesquels, les lois qui régissent l'esprit doivent être prises en compte pour déterminer si une annonce sera efficace ou non. En d'autres termes, il a suggéré que la publicité comporte des composants psychologiques pouvant être exploités.

En outre, alors que Dill Scott analysait les publicités, il s’aperçut que beaucoup d’entre elles étaient mal faites. À partir de là, il a commencé à se demander comment il pourrait les améliorer, et l'une des conclusions qu'il a tirées est que la première chose à faire était de sélectionner des personnes dûment qualifiées pour préparer les annonces.

C’est-à-dire que, au-delà des qualités essentielles d’une publicité efficace, Dill Scott a commencé à considérer les qualités nécessaires pour qu'un vendeur réussisse . Ainsi, il devint rapidement l'autorité numéro un dans le domaine de la psychologie de la publicité ainsi que dans la sélection et la gestion des ressources humaines.


À leur tour, la publicité et la gestion du personnel ont été positionnées comme deux éléments clés du secteur des affaires, ce qui a ouvert une porte très importante pour la psychologie appliquée.

  • Article connexe: "7 clés de la psychologie appliquée au marketing et à la publicité"

Contributions pour la gestion et la sélection du personnel

Entre 1908 et 1915, Walter Dill Scott dirigea une étude de sélection de vendeurs pour American Tobacco Company (American Tobacco Company). Son intention était d'élaborer et de tester des critères pour une sélection systématique des vendeurs.

Pour cela, il a commencé par observez de près le fonctionnement des enquêtés chargés de l’embauche du personnel . Très vite, il s'est rendu compte qu'ils utilisaient une méthode simple qu'il a décrite comme "donner ou recevoir", avec laquelle ils ne lui donnaient pas les informations dont il avait besoin.

Ainsi, Scott a commencé à examiner et à analyser directement les qualités qui ont eu les vendeurs les plus réussis de la société. Il a ensuite discuté de ces qualités avec son équipe de recherche et les intervieweurs de la société. Cela lui a permis de former les enquêteurs sur la manière de déterminer si les candidats possédaient les qualités souhaitées.

Enfin, Scott et son équipe ont supervisé l'application de leur approche jusqu'à ce qu'il soit pleinement démontré que les intervieweurs sélectionnaient efficacement les fournisseurs. Le résultat était très important pour la société, ce qui a amené Scott à acquérir plus de tâches dans l'évaluation et la gestion du personnel au sein de la même entreprise, et plus tard dans d’autres.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Psychologie du travail et des organisations: un métier d'avenir"

Travaux importants

Certains des classiques de Walter Dill Scott, publiés entre 1903 et 1917, sont: Augmenter l'efficacité humaine dans les affaires: une contribution à la psychologie des affaires (Augmenter l'efficacité humaine dans les affaires: une contribution à la psychologie des affaires), Influencer les hommes dans les affaires (Influencer les hommes dans les affaires), Aides à la sélection des vendeurs (Aide à la sélection des vendeurs), et l'article Psychologie de la publicité (Psychologie de la publicité).

Autres livres qui ont été publiés plus tard et qui ont eu un grand impact dans le domaine des affaires et de la publicité sont Gestion du personnel (Gestion du personnel) et Science et bon sens dans le travail avec les hommes (Science et bon sens dans le travail avec les hommes).

Références bibliographiques:

  • Archives de l'Université Northwestern (2009). Walter Dill Scott. Récupéré le 14 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //exhibits.library.northwestern.edu/archives/exhibits/presidents/scott.html.
  • Jacobson, J.Z. (1951). Scott du nord-ouest. La vie d'un pionnier en psychologie et en éducation. Récupéré le 14 mai 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //www.angelfire.com/biz/pottershouse/bio-w-d-scott-book001index.html

Plaquettes de frein : Les conseils de nos garagistes / Top Entretien #1 (avec Denis Brogniart) (Juin 2024).


Articles Connexes