yes, therapy helps!
Watermelon: 10 properties and benefits of this summer fruit

Watermelon: 10 properties and benefits of this summer fruit

January 25, 2022

Watermelon is one of the best fruits to eat in summer , which besides being very refreshing, contains many health properties. Together with the melon, it belongs to the botanical family Cucurbitaceae and both are very beneficial for the organism.

Although some individuals think that this delicious fruit only contains water and sugar, Watermelon has a lot of nutrients and provides many vitamins, minerals and antioxidants . This fruit is a very healthy food and has a low amount of calories.

Watermelons and the summer period go hand in hand. Its refreshing quality and its sweet taste help to fight the heat, and for those who want to lose weight, this fruit is a very tasty dessert that does not make you feel guilty when you eat it.


  • Related article: "24 fat-burning (and highly healthy) foods"

Properties and benefits of watermelon

There are different types of watermelon, some larger, others less rounded and others without the stripes that characterize them. Regardless of the type of watermelon consumed, all are highly healthy.

But… What are the properties of watermelon? In the following lines we present the health benefits of watermelon.

1. Hydrate

Watermelon is associated with summer and it is not surprising, since is a food with a high water content, 92% of its composition , and contains important electrolytes. It can be eaten at any time and is an ideal "snack" to drink at any time. If we also leave it in the fridge, it will be not only delicious, but it will be very refreshing. When the summer season approaches, watermelon becomes a very appetizing food.


2. Improves the immune system and prevents cell damage

This fruit is rich in vitamin C, which is essential for our immune system and, therefore, protects our body and helps us fight, for example, colds. It also maintains the redox balance of the cells and protects them from reactive oxygen species, which damage our cells and DNA.

3. Healing wounds wound healing

The role of vitamin C in wound healing has also been observed in numerous studies, since It is essential for the formation of new connective tissue . Enzymes that participate in the formation of collagen, that is, the main component of wound healing, are inefficient without vitamin C. In short, watermelon participates in the healing of wounds.

4. Improves bone health

Watermelon contains lycopene, which is especially important for our bone health . Dietary lycopene, which is present in some foods such as watermelon or tomatoes, reduces the oxidative stress that normally reduces the activity of osteoblasts and osteoclasts, two bone cells involved in the pathogenesis of osteoporosis.


The consumption of lycopene is associated with healthier bones. Watermelon is also rich in potassium, which helps retain calcium in the body, resulting in healthier bones and joints.

5. Improves cardiovascular health.

Consume watermelon in large quantities, according to many investigations, correlates positively with the improvement of cardiovascular function , since it increases blood flow through vasodilation.

A study conducted by the American Journal of Hypertension found that supplementation of watermelon extract reduces ankle blood pressure, brachial blood pressure and carotid pressure in obese adults of middle age with mild hypertension.

6. Help to lose body fat

Watermelon contains citrulline, which helps reduce the accumulation of fat in our fat cells . Citrulline is an amino acid that is converted to arginine with the help of the kidneys. When our bodies absorb citrulline, it has the ability to block the activity of TNAP (non-tissue-specific alkaline phosphatase), which causes our fat cells to produce less fat tissue, and therefore helps prevent excessive accumulation of body fat .

7. Improve the health of the eyes

This fruit is a great source of beta-carotene (that's why that reddish color inside) that becomes vitamin A. It helps produce pigments in the retina of the eye and protects against age-related macular degeneration. It also prevents night blindness, keeps the skin, teeth, skeletal and soft tissues and the membranes of healthy mucous membranes.

8. Diuretic effect

Watermelon is a natural diuretic that helps increase the flow of urine and protects the kidneys . It also intervenes in the process of removing ammonia from the liver.Watermelon is a diuretic and natural slimming, which will help you stay fit and healthy.

9. Anti-inflammatory and antioxidant

Watermelon It is rich in phenolic compounds such as flavonoids, carotenoids and triterpenoids . The carotenoid lycopene of this fruit is beneficial in reducing inflammation and neutralizing free radicals.

The triterpenoid cucurbitacin E is also present in watermelon, and provides anti-inflammatory support by blocking the activity of cyclooxygenase enzymes that normally produce an inflammatory increase. Mature watermelons contain higher amounts of these beneficial phenolic compounds.

10. Prevents cancer

This fruit, as I have commented previously, is an excellent source of vitamin C, as well as other antioxidants. That's why you can help fight the formation of free radicals associated with the development of cancer . Lycopene intake has been positively linked to a decreased risk of prostate cancer, according to several studies.


What Happens to Your Body when You Eat Watermelon Everyday – Benefits of Watermelon (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pastèque: 10 propriétés et avantages de ce fruit d'été

Pastèque: 10 propriétés et avantages de ce fruit d'été

Mai 11, 2021

La pastèque est l'un des meilleurs fruits à manger en été , qui, en plus d’être très rafraîchissant, contient de nombreuses propriétés santé. Avec le melon, il appartient à la famille botanique des Cucurbitacées et est très bénéfique pour l’organisme.

Bien que certaines personnes pensent que ce fruit délicieux ne contient que de l’eau et du sucre, La pastèque contient beaucoup de nutriments et fournit de nombreuses vitamines, minéraux et antioxydants . Ce fruit est un aliment très sain et peu calorique.

Les pastèques et la période estivale vont de pair. Sa qualité rafraîchissante et son goût sucré aident à combattre la chaleur. Pour ceux qui veulent perdre du poids, ce fruit est un dessert très savoureux qui ne vous culpabilise pas lorsque vous le mangez.


  • Article connexe: "24 aliments brûlant les graisses (et très sains)"

Propriétés et avantages de la pastèque

Il existe différents types de melon d'eau, certains plus gros, d'autres moins arrondis et d'autres sans les rayures qui les caractérisent. Quel que soit le type de pastèque consommé, ils sont tous très sains.

Mais ... Quelles sont les propriétés de la pastèque? Dans les lignes suivantes, nous présentons les avantages pour la santé de la pastèque.

1. hydrater

La pastèque est associée à l’été et ce n’est pas surprenant, puisque est un aliment à haute teneur en eau, 92% de sa composition , et contient des électrolytes importants. Il peut être consommé à tout moment et constitue un «en-cas» idéal à boire à tout moment. Si nous la laissons également dans le réfrigérateur, ce ne sera pas seulement délicieux, mais ce sera très rafraîchissant. Lorsque la saison estivale approche, la pastèque devient un aliment très appétissant.


2. Améliore le système immunitaire et prévient les dommages cellulaires

Ce fruit est riche en vitamine C, essentielle pour notre système immunitaire et, par conséquent, protège notre corps et nous aide à combattre, par exemple, les rhumes. Il maintient également l'équilibre redox des cellules et les protège des espèces d'oxygène réactives, qui endommagent nos cellules et notre ADN.

3. Cicatrisation des plaies

Le rôle de la vitamine C dans la cicatrisation des plaies a également été observé dans de nombreuses études, depuis C'est essentiel pour la formation de nouveau tissu conjonctif . Les enzymes qui participent à la formation du collagène, c’est-à-dire le principal composant de la cicatrisation, sont inefficaces sans vitamine C. En bref, la pastèque participe à la cicatrisation des plaies.

4. améliore la santé des os

La pastèque contient du lycopène, ce qui est particulièrement important pour la santé de nos os. . Le lycopène alimentaire, présent dans certains aliments tels que la pastèque ou la tomate, réduit le stress oxydatif qui réduit normalement l'activité des ostéoblastes et des ostéoclastes, deux cellules osseuses impliquées dans la pathogenèse de l'ostéoporose.


La consommation de lycopène est associée à des os en meilleure santé. La pastèque est également riche en potassium, ce qui aide à retenir le calcium dans le corps, ce qui améliore la santé des os et des articulations.

5. améliore la santé cardiovasculaire.

Consommez de la pastèque en grande quantité, selon de nombreuses enquêtes, en corrélation positive avec l'amélioration de la fonction cardiovasculaire , car il augmente le flux sanguin par vasodilatation.

Une étude menée par l'American Journal of Hypertension a montré que la supplémentation en extrait de melon d'eau réduit la pression artérielle de la cheville, la pression artérielle brachiale et la pression carotidienne chez les adultes obèses d'âge moyen souffrant d'hypertension légère.

6. Aide à perdre de la graisse corporelle

La pastèque contient de la citrulline, qui aide à réduire l'accumulation de graisse dans nos cellules adipeuses. . La citrulline est un acide aminé qui est transformé en arginine à l'aide des reins. Lorsque notre corps absorbe la citrulline, il a la capacité de bloquer l'activité de la TNAP (phosphatase alcaline non spécifique des tissus), ce qui a pour effet que nos cellules adipeuses produisent moins de tissu adipeux et contribuent ainsi à prévenir l'accumulation excessive de graisse corporelle. .

7. Améliorer la santé des yeux

Ce fruit est une excellente source de bêta-carotène (c'est pourquoi cette couleur rougeâtre à l'intérieur) devient vitamine A. Elle aide à produire des pigments dans la rétine de l'oeil et protège contre la dégénérescence maculaire liée à l'âge. Il empêche également la cécité nocturne, maintient la peau, les dents, les tissus squelettiques et mous et les membranes des muqueuses en bonne santé.

8. effet diurétique

La pastèque est un diurétique naturel qui aide à augmenter le débit d'urine et protège les reins . Il intervient également dans le processus d'élimination de l'ammoniac du foie.La pastèque est un amincissant diurétique et naturel qui vous aidera à rester en forme et en bonne santé.

9. anti-inflammatoire et antioxydant

La pastèque Il est riche en composés phénoliques tels que les flavonoïdes, les caroténoïdes et les triterpénoïdes . Le lycopène caroténoïde de ce fruit est bénéfique pour réduire l'inflammation et neutraliser les radicaux libres.

La cucurbitacine E triterpénoïde est également présente dans la pastèque et fournit un support anti-inflammatoire en bloquant l'activité des enzymes cyclooxygénases qui produisent normalement une augmentation inflammatoire. Les pastèques mûres contiennent des quantités plus élevées de ces composés phénoliques bénéfiques.

10. prévient le cancer

Comme je l'ai déjà mentionné, ce fruit est une excellente source de vitamine C et d'autres antioxydants. C'est pourquoi tu peux aider à lutter contre la formation de radicaux libres associée au développement du cancer . Selon plusieurs études, la consommation de lycopène a été positivement liée à une diminution du risque de cancer de la prostate.


6 Bienfaits Surprenants De La Pastèque !!! (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes