yes, therapy helps!

"We only use 10% of the brain": myth or reality?

May 19, 2024

Normally, in this type of articles it is advisable not to use the first paragraph to give an answer to the question posed in the title. However, there are special cases, like this one, in which it is practically impossible to make an uncertainty last that is based on the most absolute of the nadas.

We use only 10% of the brain: one of the most popular scientific myths

Do not, it is not true that we use only 10% of the brain . It is a myth, firstly, because it is based on a statement that is too ambiguous not to be (what does it mean to "use the brain"? How is the remaining 90% distributed?) And, secondly, because although is disguised as scientific knowledge when posed as a subject of percentages, is not supported by empirical evidence (in fact, the origin of this idea is attributed to Albert Einstein , one of the maximum scientific references that, in spite of its merits, was not specialized in the functioning of the brain).


However, despite the vagueness of this belief, it is possible to refute it on several fronts. Precisely because, as well as ambiguous, it is wrong.

10% of the brain means little efficiency

First of all, it is necessary to emphasize the fact that the brain tissue that is not used is probably a brain tissue that is dead. Our body works by responding to the strictest criteria of efficiency, and many parts of the body that are not wasted tend to be converted into something more useful .

Neurons, specifically, are subject to a type of ordered and programmed cell death, the so-called apoptosis , which serves to improve the overall functioning of the brain. In this way the materials with which these cells were made are reused and space is left for other connections. At the individual level, moreover, neurons need to receive electric shocks with certain frequency in order not to die.


A burden for evolution

In addition, a large and useless brain, like the one that we would suppose we would have in the case of being true the myth of 10% of the brain, is a ballast from the evolutionary point of view . No animal is interested in having an overdeveloped organ that does not use everything it should: more than a potentiality, it is a problem. The human brain, in particular, heads the ranking of the organs that consume more energy, and therefore it does not make sense to keep a part that is useless. It would be useless if the remaining 90% could be "unlocked" and used in the future: if by default it was not used, evolution would have been smoothed over the millennia until it practically disappeared.

Turn on and off

Imagine for a moment that this hidden part of the brain was not located in a fixed place, but constantly changed, and could not be located in a specific place of the brain, but was distributed by the neural networks that live in us. Would the belief that we only use 10% of the brain make sense? Well, no, either.


Functionally, the fact that at certain times there are neurons "off" does not mean that they are not used. Like good nerve cells, part of the process by which neurons communicate with each other is based on the rate of firing of electricity. For that reason, as the information with which they work is, at certain moments, the firing frequency, it is necessary that there are moments when there is not an electrical surge going through the neuron. In the same way, for the brain to be useful, it is necessary to have tissue areas more active than others: when we are listening to a piece of music it is not essential to have the language centers very activated, and when we try to recognize someone's face it is not It is necessary to mentally rehearse the sequence of tai chi positions. Having all areas of the brain strongly activated would be impractical and, in addition, would disastrous consequences for health and the maintenance of consciousness.

The boundless realm of the unconscious

The concept of consciousness it also allows us to obtain a clue as to why it is not wrong to believe that we only use 10% of the brain. The encephalon is basically an organ that is dedicated to maintaining unconscious processes. The conscience dwarfs the enormous amount of unconscious tasks we perform every day: from directing most of the gestures of the face, to maintaining balance, involuntarily remembering a past experience, or associating a word we have read with a piece of music in a magazine.

The unconscious governs almost all our acts, and not because it is discrete ceases to exist.It is possible that the myth of 10% of the brain is based on the will to dominate all those processes that we can not control and that, however, show incredible power and versatility. Unrealistic aspirations, of course, if we take into account that conscience barely gives us to divide and mentally multiply relatively short figures. The boundaries of consciousness may be small, but they do not constrain our potential.


Do I Only Use 10% of My Brain? (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!

"Nous n'utilisons que 10% du cerveau": mythe ou réalité?

Décembre 4, 2022

Normalement, dans ce type d'articles, il est recommandé de ne pas utiliser le premier paragraphe pour répondre à la question posée dans le titre. Cependant, il existe des cas particuliers, comme celui-ci, dans lesquels il est pratiquement impossible de faire durer une incertitude qui repose sur le plus absolu des nadas.

Nous n'utilisons que 10% du cerveau: l'un des mythes scientifiques les plus populaires

Non il n'est pas vrai que nous n'utilisons que 10% du cerveau . C'est un mythe, tout d'abord, parce qu'il repose sur une déclaration trop ambiguë pour ne pas l'être (que signifie "utiliser le cerveau"? Comment les 90% restants sont-ils répartis?) Et, deuxièmement, parce que déguisé en savoir scientifique lorsqu'il est présenté comme un sujet de pourcentage, n'est pas étayé par des preuves empiriques (en fait, l'origine de cette idée est attribuée à Albert Einstein , une des références scientifiques maximales qui, malgré ses mérites, n’était pas spécialisée dans le fonctionnement du cerveau).


Cependant, malgré le caractère vague de cette croyance, il est possible de la réfuter sur plusieurs fronts. C'est justement parce que ambiguë, c'est faux.

10% du cerveau signifie peu d'efficacité

Tout d'abord, il convient de souligner le fait que le tissu cérébral non utilisé est probablement un tissu cérébral mort. Notre corps fonctionne en répondant aux critères d'efficacité les plus stricts, et de nombreuses parties du corps qui ne sont pas gaspillées ont tendance à être converti en quelque chose de plus utile .

Les neurones, en particulier, sont soumis à un type de mort cellulaire ordonnée et programmée, le soi-disant apoptose , qui sert à améliorer le fonctionnement général du cerveau. De cette manière, les matériaux avec lesquels ces cellules ont été fabriquées sont réutilisés et un espace est laissé pour d'autres connexions. De plus, au niveau individuel, les neurones doivent recevoir des décharges électriques avec une certaine fréquence pour ne pas mourir.


Un fardeau pour l'évolution

En outre, un cerveau volumineux et inutile, comme celui que nous aurions supposé avoir dans le cas où le mythe de 10% du cerveau serait vrai, est un lest du point de vue de l'évolution . Aucun animal n'est intéressé par un organe surdéveloppé qui n'utilise pas tout ce qu'il devrait: plus qu'une potentialité, c'est un problème. Le cerveau humain, en particulier, est à la tête du classement des organes qui consomment plus d’énergie, il n’a donc aucun sens de garder une partie inutile. Il serait inutile que les 90% restants puissent être "déverrouillés" et utilisés à l'avenir: si, par défaut, ils n'étaient pas utilisés, l'évolution aurait été lissée au cours des millénaires jusqu'à ce qu'elle disparaisse pratiquement.

Allumer et éteindre

Imaginons un instant que cette partie cachée du cerveau ne soit pas située dans un endroit fixe, mais soit constamment modifiée et qu'elle ne puisse pas être située dans un endroit spécifique du cerveau, mais qu'elle soit distribuée par les réseaux de neurones qui nous habitent. Est-ce que la conviction que nous n'utilisons que 10% du cerveau aurait du sens? Eh bien non non plus.


Fonctionnellement, le fait qu'il y ait des neurones à certains moments "inactifs" ne signifie pas qu'ils ne sont pas utilisés. Comme les bonnes cellules nerveuses, une partie du processus par lequel les neurones communiquent entre eux est basée sur le taux de déclenchement de l'électricité. Pour cette raison, comme les informations avec lesquelles ils travaillent sont, à certains moments, la fréquence de déclenchement, il est nécessaire qu'il y ait des moments où il n'y a pas de surtension traversant le neurone. De même, pour que le cerveau soit utile, il est nécessaire que les zones tissulaires soient plus actives que les autres: lorsque nous écoutons un morceau de musique, il n'est pas essentiel que les centres de langage soient très activés et lorsque nous essayons de reconnaître le visage de quelqu'un Il est nécessaire de répéter mentalement la séquence des positions de tai-chi. Avoir toutes les zones du cerveau fortement activées serait peu pratique et, en outre, conséquences désastreuses pour la santé et le maintien de la conscience.

Le royaume sans limites de l'inconscient

Le concept de la conscience cela nous permet également de comprendre pourquoi il n’est pas faux de croire que nous utilisons seulement 10% du cerveau. L'encéphale est essentiellement un organe dédié au maintien des processus inconscients. La conscience dépasse l’énorme quantité de tâches inconscientes que nous accomplissons chaque jour: diriger la plupart des gestes du visage, maintenir l’équilibre, rappeler involontairement une expérience passée ou associer un mot lu à une pièce musicale. dans un magazine.

L'inconscient gouverne presque tous nos actes, et non parce qu'il est discret, il cesse d'exister.Il est possible que le mythe de 10% du cerveau repose sur la volonté de dominer tous ces processus que nous ne pouvons pas contrôler et qui, cependant, font preuve d'une puissance et d'une polyvalence incroyables. Des aspirations irréalistes, bien sûr, si nous prenons en compte le fait que la conscience nous donne à peine de diviser et de multiplier mentalement des chiffres relativement courts. Les limites de la conscience peuvent être petites, mais elles ne limitent pas notre potentiel.

Articles Connexes