yes, therapy helps!
Wendy's syndrome: people who need the approval of others

Wendy's syndrome: people who need the approval of others

July 27, 2022

We have already spoken in another article about the characteristics of Peter Pan Syndrome. Behind someone who suffers from this syndrome, there is always a person taking care of him.

The Wendy Syndrome

That person is Wendy, and she has an imperative need to satisfy the other, mainly if it is her partner or her children .

Examples of Wendy syndrome would be the father or mother who practically does his homework to his son, who wakes him up every morning so that he does not arrive late to school even though he is old enough to do it alone, always seeks to make life easy for those around him or the housewife who assumes all the responsibilities in the home so that the husband and the children do not have to do it; or a member of a couple who assumes all the duties and makes the decisions and also justifies the informality of their partner before others.


Characteristics of Wendy's Syndrome

To make it clearer, let's look at the characteristics of a person with Wendy Syndrome are:

  • It feels essential for others.
  • Understands love as sacrifice and resignation.
  • Feel the need to care for and protect others by assuming a motherly figure. It ends by assuming the role of the father or mother of your partner.
  • Avoid at all costs that people around him get angry or upset.
  • Try to make others happy constantly.
  • Always seeks to please those around her.
  • He insists on doing things and taking responsibility instead of the other person.
  • Constantly ask for forgiveness for all that you have not done or have not been able to do even when the responsibility is not yours.
  • It is depressed for lack of attention and depends on social acceptance.

Need for security

So far this description can make us remember our mothers and fathers and the reader may think that it is not negative since all this seems like something beautiful and altruistic , but Wendy does not do this for genuine pleasure, but this set of behaviors is done by fear of rejection , for the need to feel accepted and supported and for the fear that no one wants him. What, in short, leads them to be overly servile to others is a need for security .


Emotional dependence

Another negative aspect of this behavioral disorder is that those who suffer from Wendy's syndrome hardly control their own course in life, so they focus on trying to control the lives of other people. It is also likely that a Wendy mother has a child with Peter Pan syndrome.

Those who suffer from this syndrome hardly recognize that this is their reality and their diagnosis, although it's about a non-established clinical entity , it is done because people come to the clinic feeling "burned", oversaturated or overwhelmed. Those who suffer from this syndrome go to the specialist voluntarily.

As in the SPP, the origin of the syndrome is often found in the family history of the sufferer, in which the person felt separated and unprotected, so in adulthood compensates for the lack of direction and protection assuming the role of parents absent or wished to have. And unlike the SPP, Wendy's Syndrome affects more women than men , this may be due to cultural and educational factors.



How to Help a Child with Autism (July 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Wendy: personnes qui ont besoin de l'approbation des autres

Syndrome de Wendy: personnes qui ont besoin de l'approbation des autres

Juillet 20, 2022

Nous avons déjà parlé dans un autre article des caractéristiques du syndrome de Peter Pan: derrière quelqu'un qui souffre de ce syndrome, il y a toujours une personne qui prend soin de lui.

Le syndrome de Wendy

Cette personne est Wendy, et elle a un besoin impératif de satisfaire l'autre, surtout s'il s'agit de son partenaire ou de ses enfants .

Exemples de Syndrome de Wendy serait le père ou la mère qui fait pratiquement ses devoirs à son fils, qui le réveille tous les matins pour qu’il n’arrive pas en retard à l’école alors qu’il est assez vieux pour le faire seul, cherche toujours à simplifier la vie de son entourage ou la femme au foyer qui assume toutes les responsabilités à la maison pour que le mari et les enfants ne soient pas obligés de le faire; ou un membre d'un couple qui assume toutes les tâches et prend les décisions et justifie également l'informalité de leur partenaire avant les autres.


Caractéristiques du syndrome de Wendy

Pour clarifier les choses, examinons les caractéristiques d’une personne atteinte du syndrome de Wendy:

  • Cela semble essentiel pour les autres.
  • Comprend l'amour comme sacrifice et résignation.
  • Sentez le besoin de prendre soin et de protéger les autres en adoptant une silhouette maternelle. Il finit par assumer le rôle de père ou de mère de votre partenaire.
  • Évitez à tout prix que son entourage soit fâché ou contrarié.
  • Essayez de rendre les autres heureux constamment.
  • Cherche toujours à faire plaisir à ceux qui l'entourent.
  • Il insiste pour faire des choses et prendre des responsabilités à la place de l'autre personne.
  • Demande constamment pardon pour tout ce que tu n'as pas fait ou que tu n'as pas pu faire, même lorsque la responsabilité ne t'appartient pas.
  • Il est déprimé par manque d'attention et dépend de l'acceptation sociale.

Besoin de sécurité

Jusqu'à présent, cette description peut nous rappeler nos mères et nos pères et le lecteur peut penser que ce n'est pas négatif, car tout cela semble être quelque chose belle et altruiste , mais Wendy ne le fait pas pour un plaisir réel, mais cet ensemble de comportements est fait par peur du rejet , pour le besoin de se sentir accepté et soutenu et pour la peur que personne ne le veuille. En bref, ce qui les conduit à être trop serviles envers les autres est un besoin de sécurité .


Dépendance émotionnelle

Un autre aspect négatif de ce trouble du comportement est que ceux qui souffrent du syndrome de Wendy's ne contrôlent guère leur propre chemin dans la vie. Ils s'efforcent donc de contrôler la vie des autres. Il est également probable qu'une mère Wendy ait un enfant atteint du syndrome de Peter Pan.

Ceux qui souffrent de ce syndrome reconnaissent à peine qu'il s'agit de leur réalité et de leur diagnostic, bien que il s'agit d'une entité clinique non établie C'est fait parce que les gens qui se présentent à la clinique se sentent "brûlés", sursaturés ou dépassés. Ceux qui souffrent de ce syndrome vont volontairement chez le spécialiste.

Comme dans le PSP, l'origine du syndrome se trouve souvent dans les antécédents familiaux du patient, dans lesquels la personne s'est sentie séparée et non protégée. Ainsi, à l'âge adulte, le manque de direction et de protection est compensé par le rôle de parents absents ou désirés. Et contrairement au SPP, le syndrome de Wendy affecte plus de femmes que d'hommes , cela peut être dû à des facteurs culturels et éducatifs.



The War on Drugs Is a Failure (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes