yes, therapy helps!
Wernicke area: anatomy, functions and disorders

Wernicke area: anatomy, functions and disorders

December 1, 2022

Although the localizationist vision that attributes the understanding of language to the area of ​​Wernicke, a region located in the temporal lobe, has prevailed since the end of the 19th century, in recent years the scientific community is demonstrating that the nervous complexity of this characteristically human function is very much greater than what was believed.

In this article we will describe the Anatomical structure and functions of the Wernicke area . We will also talk about the most distinctive symptoms of the linguistic disorder associated with injuries in this region of the brain: Wernicke's aphasia, also called "sensory" or "receptive".

  • Maybe you're interested: "Aphasias: the main language disorders"

Anatomy and structure of the Wernicke area

The Wernicke area is a region of the brain that it is situated in the posterior part of the superior temporal gyrus of the dominant hemisphere , usually the left, with a large number of exceptions among left-handed people. The superior temporal gyrus is located near the primary auditory cortex, as well as the outermost parts of this sensory system.


This area of ​​the brain limits the angular rotation of the parietal lobe, which is involved in language, reasoning and memory. Irrigation of blood to the Wernicke region depends on the middle cerebral artery, fundamental for the transport of nutrients to the cortex as a whole.

There is some disagreement about the exact delineation of the Wernicke area. Thus, while many experts consider that it identifies with the anterior part of Brodmann's area 22 of the temporal lobe (involved in the recognition of auditory verbal stimuli according to neurofunctional studies), others place it in the multimodal cortex of the parietal.

  • Related article: "Parts of the human brain (and functions)"

Functions of this brain region

This cortical structure was first described by the German neurologist and psychiatrist Carl Wernicke in the year 1874. This author proposed the existence of a link between the brain region to which his name would be given and the production and imitation of oral language. His hypothesis was based on the analysis of lesions in the superior temporal gyrus and its associated signs.


From this milestone in the field of neuroanatomy, it began to consolidate the localizationist vision that attributes the receptive language (that is, the auditory understanding of speech) to Wernicke's area. From this point of view, the region is considered the brain center for language comprehension , or at least a very relevant structure in this function.

Among the cognitive functions that were related to Wernicke's area throughout the 19th and 20th centuries, we find the semantic processing of linguistic information (both in auditory and written format), the recognition of language and its interpretation.

Recent research on language

It's important to mention the relationship between Wernicke's area and Broca's , located in the forebrain and traditionally associated with the production of language. For a long time it has been believed that the two regions are connected through a set of nerve fibers called the "arched fascicle".


However, we now know that in fact the arcuate fascicle connects Wernicke's area with the premotor and motor cortex in general, and not only with Broca's area; In any case, the uncinated fascicle would be responsible for this interaction. More relevant still are the discoveries about the functions of these two regions.

While language understanding has traditionally been attributed to Wernicke's area, recent studies with neuroimaging suggest that this region could be more involved in the production of speech . Paradoxically, nowadays it is also believed that the area of ​​Broca can be related mainly to the understanding of language and not to its production.

In any case, it is important to note that brain functions are not usually located in a single brain structure. In the same way, language is a very complex function in which large regions and networks that involve mainly, but not exclusively, the frontal and temporal lobes fulfill important roles.

Symptoms of Wernicke's aphasia

Frequently, lesions in the temporal lobe of the dominant hemisphere of the brain cause a language disorder that has been given the name of "Wernicke's aphasia" because of its relationship with the area that concerns us.This alteration has also been called "sensory aphasia", "receptive", "understanding" and "fluid" based on its defining characteristics.

People with Wernicke's aphasia have difficulty understanding other people's speech. In addition, and despite being fluid and well articulated, his speech is often meaningless and full of paraphasias , or substitutions of phonemes by similar ones. These alterations also occur in the written language, which shares a cerebral basis with the spoken one.

The similarity of the symptoms of Wernicke's aphasia with the language alterations that occur in the context of schizophrenia is striking. Thus, in both disorders we find phenomena such as neologisms (words without shared meaning) and the lack of coherence of sentences (schizoafasia, paragramatismo or salad of words) .

  • Related article: "Wernicke aphasia: description, symptoms and causes"

2-Minute Neuroscience: Wernicke's Area (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Région de Wernicke: anatomie, fonctions et troubles

Région de Wernicke: anatomie, fonctions et troubles

Février 3, 2023

Bien que la vision localisationniste qui attribue la compréhension du langage à la région de Wernicke, une région située dans le lobe temporal, prévaut depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, la communauté scientifique démontre aujourd'hui que la complexité nerveuse de cette fonction typiquement humaine est bien plus grand que ce que l'on croyait.

Dans cet article, nous décrirons les Structure anatomique et fonctions de la région de Wernicke . Nous aborderons également les symptômes les plus distinctifs du trouble linguistique associé aux blessures dans cette région du cerveau: l'aphasie de Wernicke, également appelée "sensorielle" ou "réceptive".

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Aphasies: les principaux troubles du langage"

Anatomie et structure de la région de Wernicke

La région de Wernicke est une région du cerveau qui il est situé dans la partie postérieure du gyrus temporal supérieur de l'hémisphère dominant , généralement la gauche, avec un grand nombre d'exceptions parmi les gauchers. Le gyrus temporal supérieur est situé près du cortex auditif primaire, ainsi que des parties les plus externes de ce système sensoriel.


Cette zone du cerveau limite la rotation angulaire du lobe pariétal, impliqué dans le langage, le raisonnement et la mémoire. L'irrigation du sang dans la région de Wernicke dépend de l'artère cérébrale moyenne, fondamentale pour le transport des nutriments vers le cortex dans son ensemble.

Il existe un certain désaccord sur la délimitation exacte de la région de Wernicke. Ainsi, alors que de nombreux experts considèrent qu’il s’identifie à la partie antérieure de la région de Brodmann 22 du lobe temporal (impliquées dans la reconnaissance des stimuli verbaux auditifs selon les études neurofonctionnelles), d’autres le placent dans le cortex multimodal du pariétal.

  • Article connexe: "Parties du cerveau humain (et fonctions)"

Fonctions de cette région du cerveau

Cette structure corticale était décrit pour la première fois par le neurologue et psychiatre allemand Carl Wernicke en 1874. Cet auteur a suggéré l'existence d'un lien entre la région du cerveau à laquelle son nom serait attribué et la production et l'imitation d'un langage oral. Son hypothèse était basée sur l'analyse des lésions du gyrus temporal supérieur et de ses signes associés.


À partir de ce jalon dans le domaine de la neuroanatomie, il a commencé à consolider la vision localisationniste qui attribue le langage réceptif (c’est-à-dire la compréhension auditive de la parole) à la région de Wernicke. De ce point de vue, la région est considérée comme le centre du cerveau pour la compréhension du langage , ou du moins une structure très pertinente dans cette fonction.

Parmi les fonctions cognitives liées à la région de Wernicke aux 19e et 20e siècles, on trouve le traitement sémantique de l'information linguistique (à la fois au format auditif et écrit), la reconnaissance du langage et son interprétation.

Recherches récentes sur la langue

C'est important de mentionner la relation entre la région de Wernicke et celle de Broca , situé dans le cerveau antérieur et traditionnellement associé à la production du langage. On a longtemps cru que les deux régions étaient reliées par un ensemble de fibres nerveuses appelé "fascicule arqué".


Cependant, nous savons maintenant qu'en réalité le fascicule arqué relie la région de Wernicke au cortex pré-moteur et moteur en général, et pas seulement à la région de Broca; Dans tous les cas, le fascicule non percé serait responsable de cette interaction. Les découvertes sur les fonctions de ces deux régions sont encore plus pertinentes.

Bien que la compréhension de la langue ait traditionnellement été attribuée à la région de Wernicke, des études récentes en neuroimagerie suggèrent que cette région pourrait être plus impliqué dans la production de la parole . Paradoxalement, on pense également aujourd'hui que la région de Broca peut être liée principalement à la compréhension de la langue et non à sa production.

Dans tous les cas, il est important de noter que les fonctions cérébrales ne sont généralement pas situées dans une structure cérébrale unique. De la même manière, la langue est une fonction très complexe dans laquelle de grandes régions et des réseaux qui impliquent principalement, mais non exclusivement, les lobes frontaux et temporaux jouent des rôles importants.

Symptômes de l'aphasie de Wernicke

Fréquemment, des lésions dans le lobe temporal de l'hémisphère dominant du cerveau provoquent un trouble de la langue qui a reçu le nom de "l'aphasie de Wernicke" en raison de sa relation avec la région qui nous concerne.Cette altération a également été appelée "aphasie sensorielle", "réceptive", "compréhension" et "fluide" en fonction de ses caractéristiques déterminantes.

Les personnes souffrant d'aphasie de Wernicke ont du mal à comprendre le discours des autres. De plus, bien qu’il soit fluide et bien articulé, son discours est souvent dépourvu de sens et regorge de paraphasies , ou des substitutions de phonèmes par des analogues. Ces altérations se produisent également dans la langue écrite, qui partage une base cérébrale avec la langue parlée.

La similitude des symptômes de l'aphasie de Wernicke avec les altérations du langage qui se produisent dans le contexte de la schizophrénie est frappante. Ainsi, dans les deux troubles, on trouve des phénomènes tels que les néologismes (mots sans signification commune) et le manque de cohérence des phrases (schizoafasia, paragramatismo ou salade de mots) .

  • Article connexe: "Aphasie de Wernicke: description, symptômes et causes"

Central Nervous System: Crash Course A&P #11 (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes