yes, therapy helps!
What are legal drugs and what types are there?

What are legal drugs and what types are there?

September 19, 2022

In the psyche of most Spanish-speaking people, the term drug is associated with an illegal substance: when we hear about drugs, the first names that come to our head are probably cocaine, heroin, ecstasy or LSD.

However, there are a large number of substances that fall into this type of classification and not all are illegal (although that does not mean they are harmless, their use or abuse can generate serious consequences). What are legal drugs and what types are there? In this article we are going to discuss it.

  • Related article: "Types of drugs: know their characteristics and effects"

Legal drug: basic concept

The concept of legal drug is easy to understand, but for this it is necessary first of all to remember what a drug is.


We call all that substance, whether of natural or synthetic origin, with the capacity to generate an alteration or modification in the nervous system . It is therefore all that substance that has a psychoactive effect. In this definition, there is no room for legal consideration of the substance, although in a colloquial manner we usually identify drugs with illegality.

Thus, they are called legal drugs those substances with psychoactive effects that are allowed, their use is not punishable by law despite knowing their possible effects. This legal status may refer to its use at recreational level or be designed for other uses, which do not include consumption to achieve alter the psyche, and for which it is considered something allowed.


That yes, as we indicated in the introduction that are legal do not mean that they do not pose danger, being the misuse and / or abuse of them very dangerous and harmful to health and can lead to serious diseases or even cause death.

  • Maybe you're interested: "15 consequences of drug use (in your mind and in your body)"

Types of legal drugs

There are many legal drugs that exist, and that can receive different uses by the population. Some use them as a recreational element, while in other cases consumers seek to benefit from relaxing or exciting effects of the substance in question or use them in order to forget or reduce some type of physical or emotional pain. Among the so-called legal drugs, some of the best known are the following.

1. Alcohol

Probably, the drug most used and accepted socially to the point of being part of a variety of cultures. Alcohol or ethanol is a substance of the depressant type , which decreases the activation of the nervous system and which is consumed by all kinds of people, generally starting in adolescence.


Initially it has a euphoric and relaxing effect, as well as in some people certain disinhibition, but later the general tone diminishes and symptoms such as blurred vision, hypotonia and muscular weakness appear or problems to focus attention or inhibit extreme emotional behaviors. Excessive and abusive consumption can lead to hypoglycemia, dizziness, vomiting, coma or even death .

It can also generate dependence with great ease (especially due to its social acceptance), as well as abstinence syndromes with deadly potential. It is common for alcoholics to develop cirrhosis, kidney and liver problems, and even cognitive and functional deterioration in complications such as those caused by Korsakoff's syndrome after Wernicke's encephalopathy.

2. Nicotine

Tobacco is another of the drugs most consumed worldwide and, although the legislation of many countries prohibits smoking in certain spaces, the very fact of smoking or marketing nicotine products (especially tobacco) is not prohibited. It is a substance that may seem relaxing for experienced smokers, but it's really a psychostimulant whose main mechanism of action is on acetylcholine.

If long-term smokers find it relaxing, it is because their long-term consumption ends up blocking said neurotransmitter. It generates a large number of problems, with lungs being particularly relevant (lung cancer and COPD are prominent) and cardiorespiratory.

We are facing a substance that it generates dependency (In fact, it is the main one responsible for the generation of tobacco dependence) and withdrawal syndrome, as people who have tried to quit will probably know.

3. The xanthine group: caffeine, theobromine, theophylline

Although few people consider them as drugs, the truth is that they are substances that generate an alteration in brain chemistry that has effects on behavior so that they can be considered as such. These are substances with a stimulating effect, generally generating an increase in brain activation.Of course, its effects are much lower than those of other substances, needing large quantities to be dangerous.

Caffeine is probably best known as such, with coffee consumption being the most frequent. Although it is not usually considered the existence of dependence as such, it is observed that for some people it is an addictive substance and to which the body generates tolerance, which may lead to a certain withdrawal syndrome. An intoxication is difficult to reach, but it is possible with massive consumption (from six cups of coffee it begins to be dangerous).

In addition to coffee you have to take into account that can be found in a lot of soft drinks that although perhaps to a lesser extent they also generate a high.

As for theobromine and theophylline, possibly few people know what we are referring to. However, these are components that are present in tea and chocolate and that generate an increase in cortical activation and energy levels .

4. Volatile substances

We are dealing with substances that are legal because their original use is not linked to the consumption or administration of the substance as such in the body. The name of volatiles is due to the fact that the route of administration is usually inhaled or aspirated. These are substances such as glue, gasoline, anesthetics or ketones , that some people use in order to notice psychoactive effects, generally of the depressant type.

They are substances with low addictive potential, but prone to abuse that can cause serious damage among others in the liver, spine, muscles and nervous system. It also facilitates the appearance of aggressive behavior.

5. Psychotropic drugs and other drugs

The psychotropic drugs, and in fact all kinds of drugs, is a substance that can be considered a legal drug (not in vain do drugs in English refer to both the concept of drug and drug) by generating an alteration in the patient's nervous system (in the case of other drugs not linked to psychiatry alter the chemistry of other parts of the body). At first The use of these drugs is medicinal, which is why they are legal . However, many become dependent and even in some cases are used well to try to enhance their own skills or recreationally.

Probably the most frequently used psychotropic drug in this sense are benzodiazepines, which are mainly used to treat anxiety. In their medical use, in principle, the doses used and the times used are monitored to a great extent, although many medical professionals prescribe them excessively and for longer than they should be employed in principle. Other anxiolytics have also been abused due to their high addictive potential, such as the not so frequent barbiturates (which caused many deaths due to overdoses, such as that of Marilyn Monroe).

In addition to this, substances such as amphetamines or derivatives thereof, such as modafinil or adderall, are used, although their function and indication are problems such as ADHD or narcolepsy are sometimes used recreationally or even by students because of its stimulating properties and the supposed empowerment of the ability to concentrate and stay active. Also in this case they can generate serious health problems (including liver and coronary problems) and be very addictive, being dangerous if they are used without medical control.

Among other drugs that are not used as psychotropic drugs but that do generate addiction and dependence and are considered legal drugs are drugs such as steroids, morphine or codeine, or anesthetics such as phencyclidine. Steroids are another substance that can be considered a legal drug; they are often abused in fields such as sports and this can have serious repercussions on health. As for morphine, it is an opiate derivative that is used to treat pain.

Codeine is a derivative of this, present in multiple syrups and medications. Both are opioids with depressant and relaxing effects and can generate addiction and withdrawal, as well as intoxications. Finally, phencyclidine is an anesthetic currently used for veterinary and psychodysleptic effects that can generate perceptual alterations, loss of sensitivity, aggressive behavior and even hallucinations.

All these drugs are legal in certain areas, some of which can be easily obtained (for example, anxiolytics) while others are only legal in very specific areas.

Differences between countries: the case of cannabis

So far we have talked about substances allowed in most of the globe, either recreationally or for other purposes. However, we must bear in mind that the law is not the same in all parts of the world. Which drugs are considered legal or not will depend on the legislation of each country. One of the cases in which we most see this variability is in cannabis, whose legal consideration varies greatly in different countries of the world.

The best known case is that of the Netherlands, which allows the purchase and consumption of cannabis in coffee shops. Also in Washington and Colorado, in the United States, or in Uruguay recreational use is permitted (although with restrictions). In other countries, including ours, own consumption is decriminalized as long as it is carried out in private places. Consumption in public, however, if prohibited and illegal . So is the crop, and obviously the same happens with its sale and distribution.

In addition, other substances have changed their legal status in certain countries. In the United States, for example, the sale of alcohol was illegal during the so-called Ley Seca. Alcohol is also forbidden in some Muslim countries, for religious reasons, although in other countries legislation does allow it.

False legal drugs: "legal highs"

Special mention deserve a type of substances for recreational use that while sold as legal in reality what they do is to take advantage of the legal vacuum generated by little knowledge about them or because they are so recent that has not yet given time to be banned .

It is about drugs that are called to be regulated, and in many cases forbidden, and take advantage of the slowness of the administrations in order to establish laws or regulations in this regard to pass themselves off as legal. Actually, they would be in a situation of negligence: the legislation does not yet contemplate them. This is due to a kind of escalation or competition: as they are prohibited and pursuing specific drugs, others are created that take advantage of legal gaps.

In addition, they take advantage of this plea to sell more: they claim to be legal, which makes the consumer believe that the danger is minimal . However, in many cases their psychoactive effects are not known and many of them have devastating effects on those who consume them. For example, the well-known cannibal drug or krokodil were at the time alleged, created as an attempt to replace the already persecuted heroine.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gahlinger, P.M. (2001). Illegal Drugs: A Complete Guide to Their History, Chemistry, Use and Abuse. Sagebrush Press (UT).
  • Fox, Thomas Peter; Oliver, Govind; Ellis, Sophie Marie (2013). "The Destructive Capacity of Drug Abuse: An Overview Exploring the Harmful Potential of Drug Abuse Both to the Individual and to Society". ISRN Addiction. 2013: pp. 1 - 6.
  • Teale P, Scarth J, Hudson S (2012). "Impact of the emergence of designer drugs upon sports doping testing". Bioanalysis. 4 (1): pp. 71-88.

Top 10 Most Dangerous Street Drugs (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que sont les drogues légales et quels sont les types?

Que sont les drogues légales et quels sont les types?

Novembre 22, 2019

Dans la psyché de la plupart des hispanophones, le terme drogue est associé à une substance illégale: lorsque nous entendons parler de drogue, les premiers noms qui nous viennent à la tête sont probablement la cocaïne, l'héroïne, l'ecstasy ou le LSD.

Cependant, un grand nombre de substances relèvent de ce type de classification et toutes ne sont pas illégales (bien que cela ne signifie pas qu'elles sont inoffensives, leur utilisation ou abus peut générer des conséquences graves). Que sont les drogues légales et quels sont les types? Dans cet article, nous allons en discuter.

  • Article connexe: "Types de drogues: connaître leurs caractéristiques et leurs effets"

Drogue légale: concept de base

Le concept de drogue légale est facile à comprendre, mais pour cela, il faut d’abord se rappeler ce qu’est une drogue.


Nous appelons toute cette substance, qu’elle soit naturelle ou synthétique, la capacité de générer une altération ou une modification du système nerveux . C'est donc toute cette substance qui a un effet psychoactif. Dans cette définition, il n’ya pas de place pour un examen juridique de la substance, bien que de manière familière, nous identifions généralement les drogues comme illégales.

Ainsi, on appelle drogues légales les substances à effets psychoactifs autorisées, leur utilisation n’est pas punissable par la loi bien qu’elles connaissent leurs effets possibles. Ce statut juridique peut faire référence à son utilisation à des fins récréatives ou être conçu pour d'autres utilisations, qui n'incluent pas la consommation pour altérer le psychisme, et pour lesquelles cela est considéré comme autorisé.


Que oui, comme nous l'avons indiqué dans l'introduction, les termes légaux ne signifient pas qu'ils ne constituent pas un danger, qu'ils soient mal utilisés ou abusés très dangereux et dangereux pour la santé et peut entraîner des maladies graves ou même entraîner la mort.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "15 conséquences de la consommation de drogues (dans votre esprit et dans votre corps)"

Types de drogues légales

Il existe de nombreuses drogues légales, qui peuvent être utilisées de différentes manières par la population. Certains les utilisent en tant qu'éléments de loisirs, tandis que dans d'autres cas, les consommateurs cherchent à tirer profit des effets relaxants ou excitants de la substance en question ou à les utiliser pour oublier ou atténuer un type de douleur physique ou émotionnelle. Parmi les soi-disant drogues légales, certaines des plus connues sont les suivantes.

1. l'alcool

Probablement, le médicament le plus utilisé et accepté socialement au point de faire partie de diverses cultures. L'alcool ou l'éthanol est une substance de type dépresseur , qui diminue l’activation du système nerveux et qui est consommé par toutes sortes de personnes, commençant généralement à l’adolescence.


Au début, il a un effet euphorique et relaxant, ainsi que chez certaines personnes une certaine désinhibition, mais plus tard, le tonus général diminue et des symptômes tels qu'une vision floue, une hypotonie et une faiblesse musculaire apparaissent ou des problèmes d'attention ou de limitation des comportements émotionnels extrêmes. Consommation excessive et abusive peut conduire à une hypoglycémie, des vertiges, des vomissements, un coma ou même la mort .

Il peut également générer une dépendance avec une grande facilité (en particulier en raison de son acceptation sociale), ainsi que des syndromes d'abstinence au potentiel mortel. Il est courant que les alcooliques développent une cirrhose, des problèmes rénaux et hépatiques, voire une détérioration cognitive et fonctionnelle liée à des complications telles que celles provoquées par le syndrome de Korsakoff après l’encéphalopathie de Wernicke.

2. nicotine

Le tabac est une des drogues les plus consommées dans le monde et, bien que la législation de nombreux pays interdise de fumer dans certains espaces, le fait de fumer ou de commercialiser des produits à base de nicotine (en particulier le tabac) n’est pas interdit. C'est une substance qui peut sembler relaxante pour les fumeurs expérimentés, mais c'est vraiment un psychostimulant dont le mécanisme d’action principal est l’acétylcholine.

Si les fumeurs à long terme le trouvent relaxant, c'est parce que leur consommation à long terme finit par bloquer ledit neurotransmetteur. Il génère un grand nombre de problèmes, les poumons étant particulièrement importants (le cancer du poumon et la BPCO sont prédominants) et cardiorespiratoires.

Nous sommes confrontés à une substance qui il génère une dépendance (En fait, il est le principal responsable de la génération de dépendance au tabac) et du syndrome de sevrage, comme le sauront probablement les personnes qui ont essayé d’arrêter de fumer.

3. Le groupe xanthine: caféine, théobromine, théophylline

Bien que peu de gens les considèrent comme des drogues, la vérité est qu’il s’agit de substances qui génèrent une altération de la chimie du cerveau qui a des effets sur le comportement afin qu'ils puissent être considérés comme tels. Ce sont des substances à effet stimulant, générant généralement une augmentation de l'activation cérébrale.Bien entendu, ses effets sont bien moindres que ceux d’autres substances, nécessitant de grandes quantités pour être dangereux.

La caféine est probablement mieux connue en tant que telle, la consommation de café étant la plus fréquente. Bien que l’existence de la dépendance ne soit généralement pas considérée comme telle, on constate que c’est pour certaines personnes une substance addictive à laquelle l’organisme génère une tolérance qui peut conduire à un certain syndrome de sevrage. Une intoxication est difficile à atteindre, mais c'est possible avec une consommation massive (à partir de six tasses de café, cela commence à être dangereux).

En plus du café, vous devez tenir compte du fait que peut être trouvé dans beaucoup de boissons gazeuses que bien que peut-être dans une moindre mesure, ils génèrent également un haut.

En ce qui concerne la théobromine et la théophylline, peu de gens savent probablement de quoi nous parlons. Cependant, ce sont des composants présents dans le thé et le chocolat et qui génèrent une augmentation de l'activation corticale et des niveaux d'énergie .

4. substances volatiles

Nous traitons de substances qui sont légales parce que leur utilisation d'origine n'est pas liée à la consommation ou à l'administration de la substance en tant que telle dans le corps. Le nom de substances volatiles est dû au fait que la voie d'administration est habituellement inhalée ou aspirée. Ce sont des substances telles que la colle, l'essence, les anesthésiques ou les cétones , que certaines personnes utilisent pour constater des effets psychoactifs, généralement du type dépresseur.

Ce sont des substances à faible potentiel de dépendance, mais susceptibles d’abus pouvant causer de graves dommages, notamment au niveau du foie, de la colonne vertébrale, des muscles et du système nerveux. Cela facilite également l'apparition d'un comportement agressif.

5. Drogues psychotropes et autres drogues

Les drogues psychotropes, et en fait toutes sortes de drogues, sont une substance qui peut être considérée comme une drogue légale (les drogues en anglais ne renvoient pas en vain au concept de drogue et de drogue) en provoquant une altération du système nerveux du patient le cas d'autres drogues non liées à la psychiatrie modifie la chimie d'autres parties du corps). En principe L’utilisation de ces médicaments est médicinale, c’est pourquoi ils sont légaux . Cependant, beaucoup deviennent dépendants et, dans certains cas, ils sont bien utilisés pour améliorer leurs compétences ou leurs loisirs.

Les benzodiazépines, qui sont principalement utilisées pour traiter l’anxiété, sont probablement les médicaments psychotropes les plus fréquemment utilisés dans ce sens. Dans leur utilisation médicale, en principe, les doses utilisées et les temps utilisés font l’objet d’une surveillance étroite, bien que de nombreux professionnels de la santé les prescrivent de manière excessive et plus longtemps qu’ils ne devraient en principe être employés. D'autres anxiolytiques ont également été maltraités en raison de leur potentiel de dépendance élevé, tels que les barbituriques peu fréquents (qui ont causé de nombreux décès dus à une surdose, comme celle de Marilyn Monroe).

En outre, des substances telles que les amphétamines ou leurs dérivés, tels que le modafinil ou l'adderall, sont utilisées, bien que leur fonction et leur indication sont des problèmes tels que le TDAH ou la narcolepsie qui sont parfois utilisés à des fins récréatives, voire par les étudiants. ses propriétés stimulantes et l’autonomisation supposée de la capacité de concentration et de rester actif. Dans ce cas également, ils peuvent générer de graves problèmes de santé (y compris des problèmes de foie et de coronaires) et créer une très forte dépendance, étant dangereux s'ils sont utilisés sans contrôle médical.

Parmi les drogues non utilisées comme substances psychotropes, mais qui génèrent une dépendance et qui sont considérées comme légales, on peut citer les drogues telles que les stéroïdes, la morphine ou la codéine, ou des anesthésiques tels que la phencyclidine. Les stéroïdes sont une autre substance qui peut être considérée comme une drogue légale. ils sont souvent maltraités dans des domaines tels que le sport et cela peut avoir de graves répercussions sur la santé. Quant à la morphine, il s’agit d’un dérivé des opiacés utilisé pour traiter la douleur.

La codéine est un dérivé de celui-ci, présent dans plusieurs sirops et médicaments. Les deux sont des opioïdes avec des effets dépresseurs et relaxants et peuvent générer une dépendance, un sevrage et des intoxications. Enfin, la phencyclidine est un anesthésique couramment utilisé pour les effets vétérinaires et psychodysleptiques pouvant générer des altérations de la perception, une perte de sensibilité, un comportement agressif et même des hallucinations.

Tous ces médicaments sont légaux dans certains domaines, dont certains peuvent être facilement obtenus (par exemple, les anxiolytiques), tandis que d’autres ne le sont que dans des domaines très spécifiques.

Différences entre pays: le cas du cannabis

Jusqu'à présent, nous avons parlé des substances autorisées dans la plupart des régions du monde, que ce soit à des fins récréatives ou à d'autres fins. Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que la loi n'est pas la même dans toutes les régions du monde. Les drogues considérées comme légales ou non dépendront de la législation de chaque pays. L’un des cas où nous constatons le plus cette variabilité est celui du cannabis, dont la considération juridique varie considérablement selon les pays du monde.

Le cas le plus connu est celui des Pays-Bas, qui permet l'achat et la consommation de cannabis dans les cafés. Également à Washington et au Colorado, aux États-Unis ou en Uruguay, l'utilisation à des fins récréatives est autorisée (bien qu'avec des restrictions). Dans d’autres pays, dont le nôtre, la consommation propre est décriminalisée tant qu’elle est effectuée dans des lieux privés. Consommation en public, cependant, si interdite et illégale . Il en va de même pour la récolte, et il en va évidemment de même pour la vente et la distribution.

En outre, d'autres substances ont changé de statut juridique dans certains pays. Aux États-Unis, par exemple, la vente d'alcool était illégale au cours de la soi-disant Ley Seca. L’alcool est également interdit dans certains pays musulmans, pour des raisons religieuses, bien que dans d’autres pays, la législation l’autorise.

Faux médicaments légaux: "hauts légaux"

Une mention spéciale mérite un type de substances à usage récréatif qui, bien qu’elles soient vendues comme légales en réalité, c’est pour profiter du vide juridique créé par le manque de connaissances à leur sujet ou parce qu’elles sont si récentes que n'a pas encore donné le temps d'être banni .

Il s’agit de drogues appelées à être réglementées et, dans de nombreux cas, interdites, et à tirer parti de la lenteur des administrations pour mettre en place des lois ou des règlements à cet égard pour se faire passer pour légaux. En réalité, ils seraient en situation de négligence: la législation ne les envisage pas encore. Cela est dû à une sorte d'escalade ou de concurrence: comme ils sont interdits et qu'ils poursuivent des drogues spécifiques, il en existe d'autres qui tirent parti des vides juridiques.

En outre, ils profitent de cet appel pour vendre plus: ils prétendent être légaux, ce qui fait croire au consommateur que le danger est minime . Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, leurs effets psychoactifs ne sont pas connus et nombre d'entre eux ont des effets dévastateurs sur ceux qui les consomment. Par exemple, le fameux médicament cannibale ou krokodil avait été créé à l'époque pour tenter de remplacer l'héroïne déjà persécutée.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gahlinger, P.M. (2001). Drogues illicites: Guide complet sur leur histoire, leur chimie, leur utilisation et leurs abus. Sagebrush Press (UT).
  • Fox, Thomas Peter; Oliver, Govind; Ellis, Sophie Marie (2013). "La capacité destructrice de l'abus de drogue: Un aperçu explorant le potentiel nocif de l'abus de drogue à la fois pour l'individu et pour la société". Addiction à l'ISRN. 2013: pp. 1 - 6.
  • Teale P, Scarth J, Hudson S (2012). "Impact de l'émergence de drogues de synthèse sur les tests de dopage sportif". Bioanalyse. 4 (1): pp. 71-88.

12 DROGUES FOLLES que tu ne connais pas (Novembre 2019).


Articles Connexes