yes, therapy helps!
What are phobias? Understanding this type of anxiety disorder

What are phobias? Understanding this type of anxiety disorder

September 14, 2022

Specific phobias or simple phobias they refer to disproportionate fears when faced with specific stimuli. We can all have some kind of phobia to a greater or lesser degree or know someone who presents it.

In this article we'll see what phobias are and what symptoms and characteristics they present.

  • Related article: "Types of Anxiety Disorders and their characteristics"

What are phobias and how do they appear?

Throughout our lives, especially in childhood, a stage in which we still do not know how to manage emotions at all, situations in which there has been a high fear, a sense of disgust, an unexpected shock , etc., associated with an object, situation or living being, can be memorized or leave an imprint that maintains that association in our brain.


In that way the appearance of the associated stimulus or any other related to it, again generates the same feeling and in the same intensity as when we live the traumatic situation or unpleasant in the past.

Sometimes phobias can be so intense that they severely limit the lives of people who suffer from it; imagine a severe phobia of birds or any stimulus that is related to them, whether feathers, song, etc. This disproportionate fear will not allow this person to go out to the street normally, take a field trip or live in places close to nature.

Your guys

We can differentiate between the next types of phobias .


1. Animal type

They refer to a wide range of species, which can cause extreme fear to the child or adolescent, such as dogs or cats, certain types of insects or reptiles, worms , etc.

2. Environmental type

Fear of meteorological phenomena such as the rays and storms, the heights , etc.

3. Blood type, injections and damage

They suggest excessive fear or fear of objects, material and surgical procedures, so it will generate intense anticipatory anxiety before a blood test, going to the dentist, the gynecologist, going to hospitals. As well there may be intense fear at the sight of blood or wounds (hematofobia), etc.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Blood phobia: everything there is to know about hematophobia"

4. Situational type

As its name suggests, they take the form of a disproportionate and irrational fear of situations such as tunnels, bridges, elevators, buses, staying alone, darkness, etc.


Phobias they are a sample of the functioning of our survival system , tremendously powerful and related to our hormones and neurotransmitters in the brain. This intense memory of events experienced as dangerous, is the reaction of our body when it considers that it has to defend itself against that danger in the future.

Characteristics of these anxiety disorders

While fear is a proportionate reaction to the stimulus that triggers it, phobia is characterized by a disproportionate reaction of fear to stimuli or situations that do not entail a real danger .

Even when the person is aware that his fear is irrational and disproportionate he can not control the fear, triggering physiological reactions of anxiety like tachycardia, nausea, dizziness, hyperventilation, cold sweats , chills, knot in the stomach, etc.

The symptoms are so intense that many times situations where phobia can appear are avoided , to the point of limiting for everyday life.

Your treatment

Psychology has developed techniques to overcome phobias; especially successful is cognitive behavioral therapy , with techniques developed for the "desprendizaje" of anxiety such as systematic desensitization, gradual exposure and cognitive restructuring.

The latest Advanced Therapies such as EMDR or ICT are giving very positive results in overcoming phobias and traumas, being today one of the most effective and innovative treatments along with the techniques of cognitive-behavioral psychology.

From our experience in the field of mental health, in Advance Psychologists we have proven that this class of anxiety disorders can hardly be treated by going only to the logical and rational facet of the human mind . The focus of the alteration is on the way in which emotional memory is experienced, and therefore a complete therapeutic approach must especially affect this component.

Authors: Laura Palomares Pérez and Sofía Rodríguez de la Plaza.


Hypnotherapy : Natural Cures for Social Phobia (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que sont les phobies? Comprendre ce type de trouble anxieux

Que sont les phobies? Comprendre ce type de trouble anxieux

Septembre 28, 2022

Phobies spécifiques ou phobies simples ils font référence à des peurs disproportionnées face à des stimuli spécifiques. Nous pouvons tous avoir une forme de phobie plus ou moins grande ou connaître quelqu'un qui la présente.

Dans cet article nous verrons ce que sont les phobies et quels symptômes et caractéristiques ils présentent.

  • Article connexe: "Types de troubles anxieux et leurs caractéristiques"

Que sont les phobies et comment apparaissent-elles?

Tout au long de notre vie, en particulier dans l’enfance, une étape dans laquelle nous ne savons toujours pas comment gérer nos émotions, situations dans lesquelles il y a eu une grande peur, un sentiment de dégoût, un choc inattendu , etc., associés à un objet, à une situation ou à un être vivant, peuvent être mémorisés ou laisser une empreinte préservant cette association dans notre cerveau.


De cette façon, l’apparition du stimulus associé ou de tout autre élément associé, génère à nouveau le même sentiment et dans la même intensité que lorsque nous vivons la situation traumatique ou désagréable dans le passé.

Parfois, les phobies peuvent être si intenses qu'elles limitent gravement la vie des personnes qui en souffrent. imaginez une phobie grave des oiseaux ou tout stimulus qui leur est lié, qu'il s'agisse de plumes, de chants, etc. Cette peur disproportionnée ne permettra pas à cette personne de sortir dans la rue normalement, de faire une sortie ou de vivre dans des endroits proches de la nature.

Vos gars

Nous pouvons différencier entre les prochains types de phobies .


1. Type d'animal

Ils font référence à un large éventail d’espèces pouvant provoquer une peur extrême chez l’enfant ou l’adolescent, telles que chiens ou chats, certains types d'insectes ou de reptiles, vers etc.

2. Type environnemental

La peur des phénomènes météorologiques tels que les rayons et les tempêtes, les hauteurs etc.

3. Type sanguin, injections et dommages

Ils suggèrent une peur excessive ou la peur d'objets, de procédures matérielles et chirurgicales, afin de générer une anxiété anticipée intense avant une prise de sang, d'aller chez le dentiste, le gynécologue, à l'hôpital. Aussi il peut y avoir une peur intense à la vue du sang ou des plaies (hématofobie), etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Phobie sanguine: tout ce qu'il y a à savoir sur l'hématophobie"

4. Type de situation

Comme son nom l'indique, elles prennent la forme d'une peur disproportionnée et irrationnelle de situations telles que tunnels, ponts, ascenseurs, bus, rester seul, rester dans l'obscurité, etc.


Phobies ils sont un échantillon du fonctionnement de notre système de survie , extrêmement puissant et lié à nos hormones et neurotransmetteurs dans le cerveau. Ce souvenir intense d’événements vécus comme dangereux est la réaction de notre corps quand il considère qu’il doit se défendre contre ce danger à l’avenir.

Caractéristiques de ces troubles anxieux

Alors que la peur est une réaction proportionnelle au stimulus qui la déclenche, la phobie se caractérise par une réaction de peur disproportionnée face à des stimuli ou à des situations qui ne présentent pas de danger réel .

Même lorsque la personne est consciente que sa peur est irrationnelle et disproportionnée, elle ne peut pas contrôler sa peur, ce qui déclenche des réactions physiologiques d'angoisse comme tachycardie, nausée, vertiges, hyperventilation, sueurs froides , frissons, nœud dans l'estomac, etc.

Les symptômes sont si intenses que plusieurs fois les situations où la phobie peut apparaître sont évitées , au point de limiter pour la vie quotidienne.

Votre traitement

La psychologie a développé des techniques pour surmonter les phobies; la thérapie cognitivo-comportementale est particulièrement efficace , avec des techniques développées pour la "suppression de l'anxiété" telles que la désensibilisation systématique, l'exposition progressive et la restructuration cognitive.

Les dernières thérapies innovantes telles que l'EMDR ou les TIC donnent des résultats très positifs dans la lutte contre les phobies et les traumatismes. Elles constituent aujourd'hui l'un des traitements les plus efficaces et les plus innovants avec les techniques de psychologie cognitivo-comportementale.

D'après notre expérience dans le domaine de la santé mentale, dans Advance Psychologists, nous avons prouvé que cette classe de troubles anxieux peut difficilement être traité en allant seulement à la facette logique et rationnelle de l'esprit humain . La modification porte principalement sur la manière dont la mémoire émotionnelle est vécue. Une approche thérapeutique complète doit donc affecter particulièrement cette composante.

Auteurs: Laura Palomares Pérez et Sofía Rodríguez de la Plaza.

Articles Connexes