yes, therapy helps!
What are Sexual Rights and Reproductive Rights?

What are Sexual Rights and Reproductive Rights?

May 10, 2021

Sexual Rights and Reproductive Rights they are a series of rights that relate to your sexuality and your reproduction and therefore include your right to privacy, to health, to freedom of thought and expression, to live free of violence and to have education and information.

Sexual and reproductive rights: why and for what

This set of rights are also part of Human Rights and are closely related to health. According to WHO, sexual and reproductive rights imply that every person (without any discrimination) can achieve the highest level of health in relation to sexuality .


Exercising these rights helps you to take responsibility for your life and your actions, as long as you recognize that just as you have the right to live your sexuality in a healthy and responsible manner, you also have duties and responsibilities towards others.

What is sexuality?

When we talk about sexuality, we refer to the ability that every person has to feel pleasure (both with their body and their mind) and involve the physical, sentimental and emotional . This means that sexuality is closely linked to your personality, your way of being, thinking, feeling, understanding life, acting and relating to other people and yourself.


Sexual rights

These are some of the sexual rights:

  • Decide whether or not to be sexually active or active ; decide how, when and with whom to have affective and sexual relationships within the framework of mutual respect and consent.
  • Decide whether or not to have a partner; consent or not marriage .
  • To express our emotions and sexuality .
  • Find a pleasant sexual life , safe and satisfactory.
  • Enjoy our body , receive respect for their integrity and not be subjected to any type of physical, psychological or sexual violence.
  • Right to sexual privacy and decide what we want to do with our body, without hurting ourselves or affecting the sexual rights of other people.
  • Not be discriminated against because of our sex , gender, sexual orientation or any other cause.
  • To be able to access quality health services in which privacy and confidentiality are guaranteed. These services should include counseling on biological, psychological and social aspects of sexuality.
  • To search, receive and impart information in relation to sexuality.
  • Receive sex education .

Reproductive rights

Understand your freedom and autonomy to decide with responsibility if you want to have children or not, how many, at what time and with whom.


These are some of the main reproductive rights:

  • Decide whether or not we wish to have sons and daughters , when, their number and the time elapsed between them and them.
  • Not be discriminated against or receive unequal treatment by reason of becoming pregnant or being a mother (at school, work, within the family, etc.). Pregnant teenagers have the right to continue attending school where they studied before pregnancy.
  • Access health and medical care services that guarantee safe motherhood, free of risk during management, delivery and breastfeeding, and that ensure mother-child or daughter's well-being. Receive opportunity and quality care when the woman's life is in danger due to pregnancy.
  • Receive information and education to guarantee reproductive autonomy and family planning, guaranteeing confidentiality and privacy, especially to adolescents.
  • Access safe contraception , acceptable and effective.
  • Enjoy the highest possible level of reproductive health , free of diseases and disabilities due to causes such as: poor attention, malnutrition, exposure to chemical elements or forms of violence.
  • Access fertilization methods or procedures in case you need help to achieve the desired pregnancy.
  • Be protected from forced pregnancies , sterilization or abortion by imposition, obligation, pressure or coercion; or against any degrading treatment and violence in relation to reproduction.

In conclusion

Sexual rights and reproductive rights are part of human rights, this means that every person, regardless of their age, sex, origin, social status, has the right to reach a state of complete physical, mental and social, and keep it throughout his life.


Sexual and reproductive health and rights -- deconstructing the myths (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que sont les droits sexuels et les droits reproductifs?

Que sont les droits sexuels et les droits reproductifs?

Mai 22, 2019

Droits sexuels et droits reproductifs ils constituent une série de droits relatifs à votre sexualité et à votre reproduction et comprennent donc votre droit à la vie privée, à la santé, à la liberté de pensée et d'expression, à vivre sans violence et à recevoir une éducation et des informations.

Droits sexuels et reproductifs: pourquoi et pour quoi

Cet ensemble de droits fait également partie des droits de l'homme et est étroitement lié à la santé. Selon l'OMS, les droits sexuels et reproductifs implique que chaque personne (sans aucune discrimination) puisse atteindre le plus haut niveau de santé en matière de sexualité .


L’exercice de ces droits vous aide à assumer la responsabilité de votre vie et de vos actes, à condition de reconnaître que, tout comme vous avez le droit de vivre votre sexualité de manière saine et responsable, vous avez également des devoirs et des responsabilités envers les autres.

Qu'est ce que la sexualité?

Quand on parle de sexualité, nous nous référons à la capacité que chaque personne a de ressentir du plaisir (à la fois avec son corps et son esprit) et implique le physique, sentimental et émotionnel . Cela signifie que la sexualité est étroitement liée à votre personnalité, à votre façon d'être, de penser, de ressentir, de comprendre la vie, d'agir et de vous relier à d'autres personnes et à vous-même.


Droits sexuels

Voici quelques-uns des droits sexuels:

  • Décidez si vous devez être sexuellement actif ou non ; décider comment, quand et avec qui avoir des relations affectives et sexuelles dans le respect mutuel et le consentement.
  • Décider d'avoir ou non un partenaire; consentement ou pas mariage .
  • Pour exprimer nos émotions et notre sexualité .
  • Trouver une vie sexuelle agréable , sûr et satisfaisant.
  • Profitez de notre corps , reçoivent le respect de leur intégrité et ne subissent aucun type de violence physique, psychologique ou sexuelle.
  • Droit à la vie privée sexuelle et décidez ce que nous voulons faire de notre corps, sans nous blesser ni nuire aux droits sexuels d'autrui.
  • Ne pas être discriminé à cause de notre sexe , sexe, orientation sexuelle ou toute autre cause.
  • Pour pouvoir accéder à des services de santé de qualité dans lequel la vie privée et la confidentialité sont garanties. Ces services devraient inclure des conseils sur les aspects biologiques, psychologiques et sociaux de la sexualité.
  • Rechercher, recevoir et communiquer des informations en relation avec la sexualité.
  • Recevoir une éducation sexuelle .

Droits de reproduction

Comprenez votre liberté et votre autonomie pour décider avec responsabilité si vous voulez avoir des enfants ou non, combien, à quelle heure et avec qui.


Voici quelques-uns des principaux droits en matière de reproduction:

  • Décidez si nous souhaitons avoir des fils et des filles , quand, leur nombre et le temps écoulé entre eux et eux.
  • Ne pas faire l'objet de discrimination ou recevoir un traitement inégal en raison de tomber enceinte ou d'être mère (à l'école, au travail, au sein de la famille, etc.). Les adolescentes enceintes ont le droit de continuer à aller à l'école où elles ont étudié avant la grossesse.
  • Accéder aux services de santé et de soins médicaux qui garantissent une maternité sans risque, sans risque pendant la gestion, l'accouchement et l'allaitement, et qui assurent le bien-être de la mère, de l'enfant ou de la fille. Recevez des soins de qualité et de qualité lorsque la vie de la femme est en danger en raison de sa grossesse.
  • Recevoir des informations et de l'éducation pour garantir l'autonomie de reproduction et la planification familiale, garantissant la confidentialité et la vie privée, en particulier aux adolescents.
  • Accéder à une contraception sûre , acceptable et efficace.
  • Profitez du plus haut niveau possible de santé reproductive , exempt de maladies et d’infirmités pour des raisons telles que: attention insuffisante, malnutrition, exposition à des éléments chimiques ou à des formes de violence.
  • Accéder aux méthodes ou procédures de fertilisation au cas où vous auriez besoin d’aide pour obtenir la grossesse souhaitée.
  • Être protégé contre les grossesses forcées , stérilisation ou avortement par imposition, obligation, pression ou contrainte; ou contre tout traitement dégradant et toute violence en matière de procréation.

En conclusion

Les droits sexuels et les droits en matière de procréation font partie des droits humains. Cela signifie que toute personne, quel que soit son âge, son sexe, son origine ou son statut social, a le droit d’atteindre un état de complète santé physique, mentale et mentale. social, et le garder toute sa vie.


"Où est l'argent pour les droits sexuels et reproductifs ?" (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes