yes, therapy helps!
What are the dendrites of neurons?

What are the dendrites of neurons?

June 25, 2022

The different parts of the neurons tell us a lot about how these small cells work of the brain.

Neural axons, for example, with their elongated shape similar to a cable allow electricity to travel through them, regardless of whether or not they are accompanied by myelin sheaths. The dendrites, in turn, fulfill another function that we will see now.

What are dendrites and what is their function?

The dendrites are parts of the neurons that They are spread throughout the body that is, both in the brain and spinal cord and in those in the ganglia, internal organs, muscles, etc.


In particular, the dendrites they are small branches that leave the cell body (the part of the neuron in which the nucleus of the cell is located). Compared to the axon, the dendrites tend to be shorter and thinner, so that they end closer to the cell body.

Further, on the surface of the dendrites there are still another class of extensions microscopic These are small formations called dendritic spines , which are, in turn, the places where the dendrites fulfill their main function, as we will see.

Dendritic spines and synapses

Since the time of the famous Spanish neurologist Santiago Ramón y Cajal, it is known that neurons are relatively independent small bodies, that is, there is a separation between them. A part of this space that separates the neurons from each other are the so-called synaptic spaces , which are the points by which these nerve cells pass information through substances called neurotransmitters.


The function of dendrites in general, and of dendritic spines in particular, is that of make the main contact of the neurotransmitters that come from outside . That is to say, the dendritic spines act as terminals to which the stimuli of the other neuron that sends neurotransmitters through the synaptic space arrive. Thanks to this it is possible to establish the transmission of nerve impulses that allows the operation not only of the brain, but of the entire nervous system, since there are neurons distributed throughout the body.

On the other hand, the brain's potential to adapt to circumstances (for example, learning from experience) is also possible thanks to the work of the dendrites. These are the ones that regulate the possibilities of two nerve cells coming into contact with more or less frequency, so they decide the "route" that nerve impulses take.


With the passage of time, the degree of affinity gained by the dendrites of one neuron with the terminals of another it creates a common way of communication , fact that affects, even minimally, the progress of the mental operations that are being carried out. Of course, this effect multiplied by the number of synapses in the nervous system is not minimal, and not only affects the functioning of the brain and the rest of the system, but is, in itself, the basis of this.

On the surface of the dendritic spines there are a series of structures called receptors that They are responsible for capturing certain types of neurotransmitters and activating a specific mechanism . In this way, a neurotransmitter such as dopamine will reach a receptor compatible with it and cause it to activate a process in the receptor neuron.

Your role in brain communication

If the axons are responsible for making nerve impulses travel through two points of the nervous system, the dendrites are responsible for capturing the chemicals that come from the tip of the axons and make these chemical signals transform or not into electrical impulses , although this process can also be initiated in the body of the neuron.

That is it is in the dendrites and in the neuronal body where the electrical signals are born (also called action potentials) that travel through the neurons and end at the tip of the axons, causing this part of the neuron to release chemicals. When the right amount of neurotransmitters reach the dendrites, depolarization occurs , which is the process that generates nerve impulses.

The dendrites They are very sensitive to the slightest variations in the type and amount of neurotransmitters that they collect , and that means that depending on the chemical substances that they detect, they initiate one or another pattern of electrical impulses, or that an electrical signal is not generated directly, if conditions are met.

That means it is not necessary that the dendrites do not pick up any neurotransmitter so that they do not produce an electrical impulse ; This can also happen if they capture a certain amount of a specific type of chemical substance.That is why some psychotropic drugs act on the dendrites of neurons, to make them not generate electrical signals as they would if it were not for the effect of this active principle.

In short, the molecular traces left by the lived experiences in the dendrites and terminals of the neurons are the basis of the functioning of the nervous system and its ability to make its activity vary dynamically. At the same time, they are a fundamental part of the memory management process, which are printed patterns in those molecular traces with which the nerve cell works.


2-Minute Neuroscience: The Neuron (June 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quels sont les dendrites des neurones?

Quels sont les dendrites des neurones?

Août 8, 2022

Les différentes parties des neurones nous en disent long sur le fonctionnement de ces petites cellules du cerveau.

Les axones neuronaux, par exemple, avec leur forme allongée semblable à celle d’un câble, permettent à l’électricité de les traverser, qu’ils soient accompagnés ou non de gaines de myéline. Les dendrites remplissent à leur tour une autre fonction que nous verrons maintenant.

Que sont les dendrites et quelle est leur fonction?

Les dendrites font partie des neurones qui Ils sont répartis dans tout le corps c'est-à-dire tant dans le cerveau et la moelle épinière que dans ceux des ganglions, des organes internes, des muscles, etc.


En particulier, les dendrites ce sont de petites branches qui quittent le corps cellulaire (la partie du neurone dans laquelle se trouve le noyau de la cellule). Par rapport à l'axone, les dendrites ont tendance à être plus courts et plus minces, de sorte qu'ils se retrouvent plus près du corps cellulaire.

En outre, à la surface des dendrites, il existe encore une autre classe d'extensions microscopique Ce sont de petites formations appelées épines dendritiques , qui sont, à leur tour, les endroits où les dendrites remplissent leur fonction principale, comme nous le verrons.

Épines et synapses dendritiques

Depuis l'époque du célèbre neurologue espagnol Santiago Ramón y Cajal, il est connu que les neurones sont des petits corps relativement indépendants, c'est-à-dire qu'il existe une séparation entre eux. Une partie de cet espace qui sépare les neurones les uns des autres sont appelés espaces synaptiques. , quels sont les points par lesquels ces cellules nerveuses transmettent des informations par le biais de substances appelées neurotransmetteurs.


La fonction des dendrites en général et des épines dendritiques en particulier est celle de faire le contact principal des neurotransmetteurs qui viennent de l'extérieur . C'est-à-dire que les épines dendritiques agissent comme des terminaux auxquels arrivent les stimuli de l'autre neurone qui envoie des neurotransmetteurs à travers l'espace synaptique. Grâce à cela, il est possible d'établir la transmission de l'influx nerveux qui permet le fonctionnement non seulement du cerveau, mais de tout le système nerveux, puisqu'il existe des neurones répartis dans tout le corps.

D'autre part, le potentiel du cerveau à s'adapter aux circonstances (par exemple, apprendre de l'expérience) est également possible grâce au travail des dendrites. Ce sont ceux qui régulent la possibilité que deux cellules nerveuses entrent en contact avec plus ou moins de fréquence, de sorte qu'elles décident de la "voie" empruntée par les impulsions nerveuses.


Au fil du temps, le degré d'affinité gagné par les dendrites d'un neurone avec les terminaux d'un autre cela crée un moyen de communication commun , fait qui affecte, même de manière minimale, le progrès des opérations mentales qui sont effectuées. Bien entendu, cet effet multiplié par le nombre de synapses dans le système nerveux n’est pas minime, et affecte non seulement le fonctionnement du cerveau et du reste du système, mais en est, en soi, la base.

À la surface des épines dendritiques, il existe une série de structures appelées récepteurs qui Ils sont responsables de la capture de certains types de neurotransmetteurs et de l'activation d'un mécanisme spécifique . De cette manière, un neurotransmetteur tel que la dopamine atteindra un récepteur compatible avec celui-ci et le déclenchera pour activer un processus dans le neurone récepteur.

Votre rôle dans la communication cérébrale

Si les axones sont responsables de la transmission de l'influx nerveux par deux points du système nerveux, les dendrites sont responsables de la capture des produits chimiques provenant de la pointe des axones et faire que ces signaux chimiques se transforment ou non en impulsions électriques , bien que ce processus puisse également être initié dans le corps du neurone.

C'est que c'est dans les dendrites et dans le corps neuronal où naissent les signaux électriques (également appelés potentiels d'action) qui voyagent à travers les neurones et se terminent à la pointe des axones, provoquant la libération de produits chimiques par cette partie du neurone. Quand la bonne quantité de neurotransmetteurs atteint les dendrites, la dépolarisation se produit , qui est le processus qui génère les impulsions nerveuses.

Les dendrites Ils sont très sensibles aux moindres variations de type et de quantité de neurotransmetteurs qu’ils collectent. et cela signifie que, selon les substances chimiques qu’ils détectent, ils initient l’un ou l’autre type d’impulsions électriques ou qu’aucun signal électrique n’est généré directement si les conditions sont remplies.

Cela signifie que il n'est pas nécessaire que les dendrites ne captent aucun neurotransmetteur pour ne pas produire d'impulsion électrique ; Cela peut aussi arriver s'ils capturent une certaine quantité d'un type spécifique de substance chimique.C’est pourquoi certains médicaments psychotropes agissent sur les dendrites des neurones, en leur évitant de générer des signaux électriques comme ils le feraient s’il n’y avait pas effet de ce principe actif.

En bref, les traces moléculaires laissées par les expériences vécues dans les dendrites et les terminaisons des neurones constituent la base du fonctionnement du système nerveux et sa capacité à faire varier son activité de manière dynamique. En même temps, ils constituent un élément fondamental du processus de gestion de la mémoire, qui consiste en des motifs imprimés dans les traces moléculaires avec lesquelles la cellule nerveuse fonctionne.


Physiologie du système nerveux : Neurone - partie 1 (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes