yes, therapy helps!
What are the parts of the neuron?

What are the parts of the neuron?

January 25, 2022

On numerous occasions we have talked about the nervous system, the cells that make it up, its functions and what happens when these do not work properly. Now, what makes up the neuronal cells that inhabit the nervous system?

Throughout this article we will talk about the different parts of the neurons , as well as its main characteristics and the functions that each of them possess and that make possible the transmission of information throughout the entire nervous system.

  • Related article: "Types of neurons: characteristics and functions"

What is a neuron?

Neurons are some small cells that inhabit our nervous system and that are responsible for activating or inhibiting the electrical activity of this. Sun's main function is to receive electrical stimuli and drive them to other neurons. This stimulus or electrical reaction is known as action potential.


Therefore, the neurons send an infinite number of action potentials between them that make possible the functioning of our nervous system, thanks to which we can move our muscles, feel pain or even dream.

It is estimated that only about 86 billion neurons are housed in our brain. However, at the time of our birth there may be more than 100 billion. The reason for this decrease in the amount is that over the years our brain ages and the number of neurons begins to wane.

However, this does not mean that our neurons can only die. In our day to day, not only the degeneration of neurons occurs, but also their regeneration.


Currently, it is believed that our brain is in constant neuronal regeneration . Thanks to the process known as neurogenesis, the creation of new neurons and new neuronal connections takes place. In addition, some studies say that, especially during childhood, we can enhance this birth of new neurons through a series of exercises and activities that exercise our brain.

Main parts of the neuron

As mentioned above, the neuron constitutes the functional and structural unit not only of our brain, but of the entire nervous system. These are formed by different parts, each with specific characteristics and specific functions .

These parts are known as soma or cell body, dendrites and axon.

1. Soma or cell body

The first part we will talk about is the soma or cell body. As its name suggests, the soma constitutes the center of the neuron, and it is here that the metabolic activity of this .


In the soma new molecules are generated and all kinds of essential functions are carried out that make possible the vital maintenance of the cell and its functions,

In order to carry out these functions and achieve the transmission of information between neurons, each of them must produce huge amounts of proteins , without which this transmission would not be possible.

In addition, within the cell body we can find some organelles also present in other types of cells such as lysosomes and mitochondria, the Golgi apparatus or the chromosomes that define our genetics. All this is located in the cytoplasm, which constitutes the soma of the neuron.

Finally, within the neuronal cytoplasm also are the fibrillar proteins, which form the cytoskeleton . This cytoskeleton is what gives shape to the neuron and provides a mechanism for the transport of molecules.

  • Related article: "Soma neuronal or pericarion: parts and functions"

2. Dendrites

Another part that make up the neurons are the dendrites. This name refers to the numerous extensions in the form of small branches They are born from the neuronal body and whose main functions are to receive the stimuli and provide food for the cell.

These extensions function as neuronal terminals, which receive the action potentials of other nearby neurons and redirect them to the cell body or soma. In addition, due to its branched form, along these we find the dendritic spines, small spines in which the synapses that give rise make possible the transmission of bioelectric impulses .

  • Maybe you're interested: "What are the dendrites of neurons?"

3. Axon

Finally, the axon is the main prolongation of the neuron (and the largest). It is responsible for transporting the action potential from the cell body to another neuron .

This prolongation of great length is born from the cellular body or, in some occasions, from a dendrite.Inside we can find the axoplasm, a characteristically viscous substance in which the different organisms of neurons are found.

One of the main characteristics of these axons is that they can be covered with a layer known as myelin sheath , which can enhance or facilitate the rapidity with which the action potentials or electrical stimuli are transmitted.

In addition, neurons can be classified into different types according to the length of the axon: Golgi type I and type II neurons, or according to the form of these: pyramidal cells of the cerebral cortex and Purkinje cells.

4. Other neuronal elements

In addition to the main parts of the neuron described above, there are other particles or sections of great importance for the proper functioning of these. Some of these parts are:

Schwann cells

Also known as neurolemocytes these cells coat the axons of neurons of the peripheral nervous system and they form myelin sheaths.

Myelin sheaths

As mentioned above, some axons have a myelin layer that facilitates the transmission of electrical stimuli in long journeys .

Ranvier nodules

This concept refers to the tiny spaces that are in the myelin sheath and its main purpose is to enhance the speed with which electrical impulses are transmitted.


2-Minute Neuroscience: The Neuron (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelles sont les parties du neurone?

Quelles sont les parties du neurone?

Septembre 19, 2022

À de nombreuses reprises, nous avons parlé du système nerveux, des cellules qui le composent, de ses fonctions et de ce qui se passe lorsque celles-ci ne fonctionnent pas correctement. Maintenant, qu'est-ce qui compose les cellules neuronales qui habitent le système nerveux?

Tout au long de cet article, nous allons parler de les différentes parties des neurones , ainsi que ses caractéristiques principales et les fonctions qu’ils possèdent et qui permettent la transmission de l’information dans l’ensemble du système nerveux.

  • Article connexe: "Types de neurones: caractéristiques et fonctions"

Qu'est-ce qu'un neurone?

Les neurones sont certaines petites cellules qui habitent notre système nerveux et qui sont responsables de l'activation ou de l'inhibition de l'activité électrique de celui-ci. La fonction principale de Sun est de recevoir des stimuli électriques et de les diriger vers d'autres neurones. Ce stimulus ou réaction électrique est appelé potentiel d'action.


Par conséquent, les neurones envoient entre eux un nombre infini de potentiels d'action qui permettent le fonctionnement de notre système nerveux, grâce auxquels nous pouvons déplacer nos muscles, ressentir de la douleur ou même faire rêver.

On estime qu'environ 86 milliards de neurones sont logés dans notre cerveau. Cependant, au moment de notre naissance, il pourrait y avoir plus de 100 milliards de dollars. La raison de cette diminution est que notre cerveau vieillit et que le nombre de neurones commence à diminuer.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas que nos neurones ne peuvent que mourir. Dans notre quotidien, non seulement la dégénérescence des neurones se produit, mais également leur régénération.


Actuellement, on pense que notre cerveau est en constante régénération neuronale . Grâce au processus appelé neurogenèse, la création de nouveaux neurones et de nouvelles connexions neuronales a lieu. En outre, certaines études indiquent que, particulièrement pendant l’enfance, nous pouvons améliorer cette naissance de nouveaux neurones grâce à une série d’exercices et d’activités qui exercent notre cerveau.

Parties principales du neurone

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, le neurone constitue l'unité fonctionnelle et structurelle non seulement de notre cerveau, mais de tout le système nerveux. Ceux-ci sont formés par différentes parties, chacun avec des caractéristiques et des fonctions spécifiques .

Ces parties sont appelées soma ou corps cellulaire, dendrites et axones.

1. Soma ou corps cellulaire

La première partie dont nous allons parler est le soma ou corps cellulaire. Comme son nom l'indique, le soma constitue le centre du neurone, et c’est ici que l’activité métabolique de cette .


Au soma, de nouvelles molécules sont générées et toutes sortes de fonctions essentielles sont réalisées pour permettre le maintien vital de la cellule et de ses fonctions,

Afin de remplir ces fonctions et d’assurer la transmission de l’information entre neurones, chacun d'eux doit produire d'énormes quantités de protéines , sans lequel cette transmission ne serait pas possible.

En outre, dans le corps cellulaire, on peut trouver des organites également présents dans d'autres types de cellules, telles que les lysosomes et les mitochondries, l'appareil de Golgi ou les chromosomes qui définissent notre génétique. Tout cela est situé dans le cytoplasme, qui constitue le soma du neurone.

Enfin, dans le cytoplasme neuronal également sont les protéines fibrillaires, qui forment le cytosquelette . Ce cytosquelette est ce qui donne la forme au neurone et fournit un mécanisme pour le transport de molécules.

  • Article connexe: "Soma neuronal ou péricarion: parties et fonctions"

2. Dendrites

Les dendrites sont une autre composante des neurones. Ce nom fait référence à la nombreuses extensions sous forme de petites branches Ils sont nés du corps neuronal et dont les fonctions principales sont de recevoir les stimuli et de nourrir la cellule.

Ces extensions fonctionnent comme des terminaux neuronaux, qui reçoivent les potentiels d'action d'autres neurones proches et les redirigent vers le corps cellulaire ou le soma. De plus, en raison de sa forme ramifiée, on trouve le long de celles-ci les épines dendritiques, petites épines dans lesquelles se produisent rendre possible la transmission d'impulsions bioélectriques .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Quels sont les dendrites des neurones?"

3. Axon

Enfin, l'axone est le prolongement principal du neurone (et le plus grand). Il est responsable du transport du potentiel d'action du corps cellulaire vers un autre neurone. .

Ce prolongement de grande longueur est né du corps cellulaire ou, dans certains cas, d'une dendrite.À l'intérieur, on trouve l'axoplasme, une substance visqueuse caractéristique dans laquelle se trouvent les différents organismes neuronaux.

Une des caractéristiques principales de ces axones est que ils peuvent être recouverts d'une couche appelée gaine de myéline , ce qui peut améliorer ou faciliter la rapidité avec laquelle les potentiels d’action ou les stimuli électriques sont transmis.

De plus, les neurones peuvent être classés en différents types en fonction de la longueur de l'axone: neurones de Golgi de type I et II, ou sous la forme de ceux-ci: cellules pyramidales du cortex cérébral et cellules de Purkinje.

4. Autres éléments neuronaux

En plus des parties principales du neurone décrites ci-dessus, il existe d'autres particules ou sections d'une grande importance pour le bon fonctionnement de celles-ci. Certaines de ces pièces sont:

Cellules de Schwann

Aussi appelé neurolémocytes, ces cellules enduire les axones des neurones du système nerveux périphérique et ils forment des gaines de myéline.

Gaines de myéline

Comme mentionné ci-dessus, certains axones ont une couche de myéline qui facilite la transmission des stimuli électriques lors de longs trajets .

Nodules de Ranvier

Ce concept fait référence aux espaces minuscules qui se trouvent dans la gaine de myéline et a pour objectif principal d’accroître la vitesse de transmission des impulsions électriques.


C'est pas sorcier -CERVEAU 1 : LES SORCIERS SE PRENNENT LA TETE (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes