yes, therapy helps!
What do we understand by brain?

What do we understand by brain?

April 28, 2024

The thinking organ. Our brain is one of the most important areas of the body , since it regulates the different vital functions that allow our survival. Also, it allows us to be who we are.

Reason, emotion, motivation ... all this has its origin in the nervous system and especially in the brain. But this body is not something homogeneous, but is structured in different areas. That is why in this article we are going to mention the different structures of the brain .

  • Maybe you are interested: "The model of the 3 brains: reptilian, limbic and neocortex"

What do we understand by brain?

We call brain to the functional center of the nervous system , located at the upper end of the neural tube. Located inside the skull and protected by this and the meninges against damage and external aggressions, it is the most important organ to be the one that regulates and controls all the functions of the organism, allowing the life and survival of the human being. In addition, thanks to him we are able to think, reflect, have feelings and emotions, identify with something or someone and, in general and even have awareness of ourselves.


It is considered that the brain itself is mainly configured by the cortex and subcortex, not entering inside the brainstem or the cerebellum. Nonetheless, Brain and brain are often used as synonyms and generally when we talk about the brain we will be referring to the entire brain.

Main brain structures

The brain is made up of a large number of structures, the brain can be divided into different parts . During our development we can find three main areas of the encephalon, the posterior brain or rhombencephalon, the middle brain or mesencephalon and the anterior or forebrain brain (which is later divided into diencephalon and telencephalon), each one counting with different structures of the brain.


1. Rombencephalon

Located in the lower part of the brain, the rhombencephalon is the part of the brain in which the most primitive structures are located of this one It is the part of the brain that contacts the spinal cord and regulates the most basic vital functions.

In this division of the brain we can observe two subdivisions, situating in each of them different structures of the brain. Next to the mesencephalon, It is part of the also known as brainstem or brainstem.

Spinal bulb

It is one of the brain structures that are part of the rombencephalon, derived from the myelencephalon. The medulla oblongata is the point of connection between the spinal cord and the brain , being a part of the brain essential for survival as it is responsible for the management of processes such as heart rate, motor skills and digestion.


Protuberance or Varolium bridge

The bulge is another of the brain structures most vital to mere survival, being able to provoke his injury the death . It is responsible for the movement of the viscera, homeostatic processes such as the maintenance of temperature and participates in the regulation of consciousness and respiration.

Cerebellum

This part of the brain is known for its involvement in a large number of processes and functions of the organism. Recognized especially for his role in the control of muscular movement , also participates in aspects such as emotional regulation or cognitive processes such as memory and intelligence.

  • Related article: "Human cerebellum: its parts and functions"

2. Mesencephalon

The mesencephalon or middle brain is the part of the brain between the forebrain and the hindbrain. It unites both regions and allows communication between them, also having great importance for the control of vital processes. Like the rhombencephalon, it is part of the brainstem or brainstem. Contributes to integrate information in different ways and it is linked to the level of consciousness. In this region we can find fundamentally two structures of the brain.

Tectum

Located in the dorsal part of the mesencephalon , this structure is linked to the reaction to sound stimuli and the reflex control of eye movements.

Tegmentum

Formed in turn by structures such as the substantia nigra, the red nucleus or the periaqueductal gray matter, this structure of the brain is involved in functions such as movement, pain management and the fight or flight reactions.

3. Forebrain

It is the most developed part of the brain that has more structures, taking charge of the higher mental functions . We can differentiate two large areas, diencephalon and telencephalon.

3.1. Diencephalon

Located in the depths of the brain, the diencephalon is an internal part of the forebrain that is mainly configured by two large structures of the brain, thalamus and hypothalamus .

Thalamus

This brain region is the main core of integration of sensitive information , allowing to maintain a coordinated perception regarding external stimulation before being able to send it to other cerebral areas in which the information is processed. In addition, it allows thanks to its connection with the limbic system that perception and emotion can be linked.

Hypothalamus

The hypothalamus is one of the structures of the brain linked to the regulation of different hormones that allow the management of the organism. Connected with the pituitary gland, it participates in a large number of coordinated processes together with the autonomic nervous system, such as wakefulness, sexual behavior, hunger and thirst or affectivity. It is fundamental in the control of body homeostasis.

  • Related article: "Types of hormones and their functions in the human body"

3.2. Telencephalon

If we consider brain as a part of the brain and not as a synonym of it, the brain would be the part of the brain equivalent to the telencephalon. Within it we can find different systems that in turn are made up of different structures.

Cerebral cortex

The most visible and recognizable part of the brain, the cerebral cortex is the area of ​​the brain in which the integration and processing of information is completed and thanks to which the most complex functions are carried out , allowing aspects such as reasoning, speech, executive functions or fine motor skills.

The bark It is divided into two cerebral hemispheres. In addition to this we can establish five differentiated lobes specialized in various functions, the frontal, occipital, temporal and parietal lobes, in addition to the insula.

Basal ganglia

A small group of brain structures that they are located below the crust , the basal ganglia are of great importance when controlling functions automatically. They relate to learning and the automation of tasks, as well as memory or movement. Putamen, pale globe and caudate nucleus are its main components.

Limbic system

The limbic system is a system of different structures of the brain which They are responsible for the management of emotions , learning and memory. Some of its main components are the amygdala, the hippocampus, the hypothalamus or the mammillary bodies.


What we know about the human brain | Edwin Weeber | TEDxTampaBay (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que comprenons-nous par cerveau?

Que comprenons-nous par cerveau?

Novembre 3, 2022

L'organe pensant. Notre cerveau est l'une des zones les plus importantes du corps , car il régule les différentes fonctions vitales qui permettent notre survie. En outre, cela nous permet d’être qui nous sommes.

Raison, émotion, motivation ... tout cela a son origine dans le système nerveux et surtout dans le cerveau. Mais ce corps n'est pas quelque chose d'homogène, mais est structuré en différents domaines. C’est pourquoi, dans cet article, nous allons mentionner les différentes structures du cerveau .

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le modèle des 3 cerveaux: reptilien, limbique et néocortex"

Que comprenons-nous par cerveau?

Nous appelons cerveau au centre fonctionnel du système nerveux , situé à l'extrémité supérieure du tube neural. Situé à l'intérieur du crâne et protégé par elle et les méninges contre les dommages et les agressions extérieures, il est l'organe le plus important pour être celui qui régule et contrôle toutes les fonctions de l'organisme, permettant la vie et la survie de l'être humain. En outre, grâce à lui, nous pouvons penser, réfléchir, avoir des sentiments et des émotions, nous identifier à quelque chose ou à quelqu'un et, en général, et même avoir conscience de nous-mêmes.


On considère que le cerveau lui-même est principalement configuré par le cortex et le sous-cortex, sans entrer dans le tronc cérébral ou le cervelet. Toutefois, Cerveau et cerveau sont souvent utilisés comme synonymes et généralement lorsque nous parlons du cerveau, nous nous référons au cerveau entier.

Principales structures du cerveau

Le cerveau est composé d'un grand nombre de structures, le cerveau peut être divisé en différentes parties . Au cours de notre développement, nous pouvons trouver trois zones principales de l'encéphale, le cerveau postérieur ou rhombencéphale, le cerveau moyen ou mésencéphale et le cerveau antérieur ou antérieur (qui se divise plus tard en diencéphale et télencéphale), chacun comptant des structures différentes du cerveau.


1. Rombencéphale

Situé dans la partie inférieure du cerveau, le rhombencéphale est la partie du cerveau dans lequel se trouvent les structures les plus primitives de celui-ci C'est la partie du cerveau qui entre en contact avec la moelle épinière et régule les fonctions vitales les plus fondamentales.

Dans cette division du cerveau, nous pouvons observer deux subdivisions, situant dans chacune d’elles des structures différentes du cerveau. A côté du mésencéphale, Il fait partie de la aussi connue sous le tronc cérébral ou du tronc cérébral.

Bulbe vertébral

C'est l'une des structures du cerveau faisant partie du rombencéphale, dérivée du myélencéphale. La moelle oblongate est le point de connexion entre la moelle épinière et le cerveau fait partie du cerveau essentiel à la survie car il est responsable de la gestion de processus tels que la fréquence cardiaque, la motricité et la digestion.


Pont de protubérance ou de varolium

Le renflement est une autre des structures cérébrales les plus vitales pour la simple survie, être capable de provoquer sa blessure la mort . Il est responsable du mouvement des viscères, des processus homéostatiques tels que le maintien de la température et participe à la régulation de la conscience et de la respiration.

Cervelet

Cette partie du cerveau est connue pour son implication dans un grand nombre de processus et de fonctions de l'organisme. Reconnu surtout pour son rôle dans le contrôle du mouvement musculaire , participe également à des aspects tels que la régulation émotionnelle ou des processus cognitifs tels que la mémoire et l’intelligence.

  • Article connexe: "Cervelet humain: ses parties et ses fonctions"

2. Mésencéphale

Le mésencéphale ou cerveau moyen est la partie du cerveau située entre le cerveau antérieur et le cerveau postérieur. Il unit les deux régions et permet la communication entre elles, ce qui a également une grande importance pour le contrôle des processus vitaux. Comme le rhombencéphale, il fait partie du tronc cérébral ou du tronc cérébral. Contribue à intégrer l'information de différentes manières et il est lié au niveau de conscience. Dans cette région, nous pouvons trouver fondamentalement deux structures du cerveau.

Tectum

Situé dans la partie dorsale du mésencéphale , cette structure est liée à la réaction aux stimuli sonores et au contrôle réflexe des mouvements des yeux.

Tegmentum

Formée à son tour par des structures telles que la substantia nigra, le noyau rouge ou la matière grise périaqueducale, cette structure du cerveau est impliqué dans des fonctions telles que le mouvement, la gestion de la douleur et les réactions de combat ou de fuite.

3. cerveau antérieur

C’est la partie la plus développée du cerveau qui a plus de structures, prendre en charge les fonctions mentales supérieures . Nous pouvons distinguer deux grandes zones, diencephalon et telencéphale.

3.1. Diencephalon

Situé dans les profondeurs du cerveau, le diencephale est une partie interne du cerveau antérieur qui est principalement configurée par deux grandes structures du cerveau, thalamus et hypothalamus .

Thalamus

Cette région du cerveau est le cœur de l'intégration des informations sensibles , permettant de maintenir une perception coordonnée de la stimulation externe avant de pouvoir l’envoyer vers d’autres zones cérébrales dans lesquelles l’information est traitée. En outre, il permet, grâce à sa connexion avec le système limbique, de relier perception et émotion.

Hypothalamus

L'hypothalamus est l'une des structures du cerveau lié à la régulation de différentes hormones qui permettent la gestion de l'organisme. Connecté à l'hypophyse, il participe à un grand nombre de processus coordonnés avec le système nerveux autonome, tels que l'état de veille, le comportement sexuel, la faim et la soif ou l'affectivité. C'est fondamental dans le contrôle de l'homéostasie du corps.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'hormones et leurs fonctions dans le corps humain"

3.2. Télencéphale

Si nous considérons le cerveau comme une partie du cerveau et non comme un synonyme, le cerveau serait la partie du cerveau équivalente au télencéphale. On peut y trouver différents systèmes qui sont composés de différentes structures.

Cortex cérébral

La partie la plus visible et la plus reconnaissable du cerveau, le cortex cérébral est la zone du cerveau dans laquelle l'intégration et le traitement de l'information est complétée et grâce à quoi les fonctions les plus complexes sont effectuées , permettant des aspects tels que le raisonnement, la parole, les fonctions exécutives ou la motricité fine.

L'écorce Il est divisé en deux hémisphères cérébraux. En plus de cela, nous pouvons établir cinq lobes différenciés spécialisés dans diverses fonctions, les lobes frontaux, occipitaux, temporaux et pariétaux, en plus de l'insula.

Ganglions de la base

Un petit groupe de structures cérébrales qui ils sont situés sous la croûte , les ganglions de la base sont d’une grande importance pour le contrôle automatique des fonctions. Ils concernent l'apprentissage et l'automatisation des tâches, ainsi que la mémoire ou le mouvement. Le putamen, le globe pâle et le noyau caudé sont ses composants principaux.

Système limbique

Le système limbique est un système de différentes structures du cerveau qui Ils sont responsables de la gestion des émotions , apprentissage et mémoire. L’amygdale, l’hippocampe, l’hypothalamus ou les corps mammillaires en sont les principaux composants.


La Vérif : cellulaire et cerveau font-ils bon ménage? (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes