yes, therapy helps!
What does science reveal about infidelity?

What does science reveal about infidelity?

October 1, 2022

Is everything that is usually heard about infidelity true? Are men more infidels by nature? Do women who are unfaithful lie better? These are complicated questions to solve, but some scientific studies have tried to unravel some of these issues.

Science and infidelity in data

The findings of the investigations are certainly revealing. For example, a research group from the University of Florida linked narcissism with infidelity during the first stage of marital coexistence: «Sex narcissism (which could well be defined as the self-image of conquest and sexual abilities) correlates positively with infidelity », They say, having studied the case of a total of 125 marriages.


Other research studied the slip-ups in fishermen's marriages in Lake Victoria, Kenya. The end of the study was analyze the relationship between these infidelities and the spread of HIV . It was discovered that there were several factors that increased the likelihood of women having relationships beyond marriage: "The recurrence of gender violence, sexual dissatisfaction with the spouse, excessively large penises in the state of erection, and the impossibility of practice different sexual postures ».

Are there "genes of infidelity"?

Other research suggests that there may be certain genes related to infidelity , because the behavior is motivated, in part, by the genetic variations linked to the reward pathways of the brain.


A study by the University of Binghamton pointed out the presence of a high variability gene that seems to be a decisive factor in the modulation of the infidelity tendency of the person . According to the researchers, natural selection chooses one or another variant of the gene according to the advantages or disadvantages offered by one or another behavior in the way of relating to the opposite sex. However, they attest that sexuality, social behavior and genetics influence to an important degree, and that the results should be viewed with prudence and only as a further indicator on which further research should be conducted.

It seems that the frequency of fake orgasms It is closely linked to infidelity in women, and to dissatisfaction in couples, as a statistical study carried out on 140 women and 120 men warned. The authors of the research warned that "the signaling of orgasm was an element chosen by natural selection in ancestral women" in contexts where fidelity was rewarded and men collaborated in the care of offspring.


What is infidelity?

Although it may seem like an easy-to-answer question, Infidelity is not perceived in the same way by women and men . At least that conclusion came an investigation conducted by the University of Kansas, having evaluated a total of 475 people.

The study highlighted that men perceive infidelity as a sexual act, while women understand it as the consequence of an emotional desire. 90% of women considered that kissing with another person is infidelity , but only 75% of the male participants agreed with that statement. On the other hand, 51% of men considered that sending text messages raised pitch was infidelity, but the percentage rose to 68% in the opinion of women.

Where do infidelities take place?

Data provided by the contact manager Ashley Madison collected, among 170,000 users in the United States, that 68% of infidelities are carried out in the workplace .

Certain moments seem to be more likely to commit adultery. Several studies suggest that Wednesday afternoons is the time of the week when there are more adventures. Scientists from Harvard University explain that routine experiences and prolonged contact with the desired person. This routine may be undermining the moral resistance to infidelity.

Why are we unfaithful?

Many people ask this question. A statistical investigation with more than 74,000 participants discovered that 45% of unfaithful women are so because they feel a strong attraction for the other person , while 32% confess to being unfaithful to feel more wanted. In men, it seems that infidelity has a greater link with sex: 48% said they were unfaithful because they wanted to have more sex, and 46% said they wanted more variety.


Rethinking infidelity ... a talk for anyone who has ever loved | Esther Perel (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la science révèle sur l'infidélité?

Qu'est-ce que la science révèle sur l'infidélité?

Juin 21, 2022

Est-ce que tout ce qu'on entend habituellement sur l'infidélité est vrai? Les hommes sont-ils plus infidèles par nature? Les femmes infidèles mentent-elles mieux? Ce sont des questions compliquées à résoudre, mais certaines études scientifiques ont tenté de résoudre certaines de ces questions.

Science et infidélité dans les données

Les conclusions des enquêtes sont certainement révélatrices. Par exemple, un groupe de recherche de l’Université de Floride a lié le narcissisme à l’infidélité au cours de la première étape de la coexistence conjugale:Narcissisme sexuel (qui pourrait bien être défini comme l'image de soi de la conquête et des capacités sexuelles) en corrélation positive avec l'infidélité », Disent-ils après avoir étudié le cas de 125 mariages au total.


D'autres recherches ont étudié les dérapages dans les mariages de pêcheurs dans le lac Victoria, au Kenya. La fin de l'étude était analyser la relation entre ces infidélités et la propagation du VIH . Il a été découvert que plusieurs facteurs augmentaient la probabilité que les femmes aient des relations au-delà du mariage: "La récurrence de la violence sexiste, l'insatisfaction sexuelle à l'égard du conjoint, des pénis excessivement grands en état d'érection et l'impossibilité de pratiquer différentes postures sexuelles ».

Existe-t-il des "gènes d'infidélité"?

D’autres recherches suggèrent qu’il pourrait y avoir certains gènes liés à l'infidélité , parce que le comportement est en partie motivé par les variations génétiques liées aux voies de récompense du cerveau.


Une étude de l’Université de Binghamton a mis en évidence la présence d’un gène de forte variabilité qui semble être un facteur décisif dans la modulation de la tendance d'infidélité de la personne . Selon les chercheurs, la sélection naturelle choisit l'une ou l'autre variante du gène en fonction des avantages ou des inconvénients offerts par l'un ou l'autre comportement lié au sexe opposé. Cependant, ils attestent que la sexualité, le comportement social et la génétique ont une influence importante et que les résultats doivent être considérés avec prudence et uniquement comme un indicateur supplémentaire sur lequel des recherches plus approfondies doivent être menées.

Il semble que la fréquence de faux orgasmes Il est étroitement lié à l’infidélité chez les femmes et à l’insatisfaction des couples, comme l’avait annoncé une étude statistique portant sur 140 femmes et 120 hommes. Les auteurs de la recherche ont averti que "la signalisation de l'orgasme était un élément choisi par la sélection naturelle chez les femmes ancestrales" dans des contextes où la fidélité était récompensée et où les hommes collaboraient pour prendre soin de leur progéniture.


Qu'est-ce que l'infidélité?

Bien que cela puisse sembler être une question facile à répondre, L'infidélité n'est pas perçue de la même manière par les hommes et les femmes . Au moins cette conclusion est venue d'une enquête menée par l'Université du Kansas, ayant évalué 475 personnes au total.

L’étude a montré que l’infidélité était perçue par les hommes comme un acte sexuel, alors que les femmes y voyaient la conséquence d’un désir émotionnel. 90% des femmes ont estimé que s'embrasser avec une autre personne est une infidélité , mais seuls 75% des participants masculins étaient d’accord avec cette affirmation. En revanche, 51% des hommes considéraient que l’envoi de SMS était une infidélité, mais ce pourcentage était de 68% chez les femmes.

Où se produisent les infidélités?

Les données fournies par la responsable des contacts Ashley Madison ont collecté, parmi 170 000 utilisateurs aux États-Unis, que 68% des infidélités sont commises sur le lieu de travail .

Certains moments semblent plus susceptibles de commettre un adultère. Plusieurs études suggèrent que le mercredi après-midi est le moment de la semaine où il y a le plus d'aventures. Des scientifiques de l'Université de Harvard expliquent qu'il s'agit d'expériences courantes et d'un contact prolongé avec la personne souhaitée. Cette routine peut saper la résistance morale à l'infidélité.

Pourquoi sommes-nous infidèles?

Beaucoup de gens posent cette question. Une enquête statistique portant sur plus de 74 000 participants a révélé que 45% des femmes infidèles le sont parce qu'elles ressentent une forte attirance pour l'autre personne , tandis que 32% avouent être infidèles pour se sentir plus recherchés. Chez les hommes, il semble que l’infidélité ait un lien plus étroit avec le sexe: 48% ont dit qu’ils étaient infidèles parce qu’ils voulaient avoir plus de rapports sexuels et 46%, plus de variété.


9 Types de Trahison émotionnelle Qui Sont Considérés Comme Une Infidélité (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes