yes, therapy helps!
What does the color white mean in Psychology?

What does the color white mean in Psychology?

May 24, 2022

White is an achromatic color that is normally opposed to black because it is just the opposite: it is absolute clarity, or the absence of darkness.

But it is not simply that, since beyond what is technically the target, it remains the impact it has on the human mind. An impact modulated by the culture in which one lives and by the system of symbols from which reality is experienced, of course, and which is related to a series of sensations and concepts that evokes us when we see it.

In this article we will see what the white color means in different societies and cultures , focusing especially on Western countries.

  • Related article: "Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors"

What does the color white mean in different cultures?

Keep in mind that there is no universal meaning of white, but this it is always mediated by the cultural context in which we have been educated and that influences us during the day to day. So, let's see what concepts and sensations evokes white distinguishing by cultural blocks.


In the West

As we will see, in western countries the balne is associated with a series of concepts that are associated with a fragile and momentary equilibrium, a state in which there are no antagonisms or stridencies. Somehow, these place the target in a position of closeness to the spiritual, which has traditionally been seen as beyond matter and not subject to the imperfections of the earthly .

1. Purity and ingenuity

The paradox of white is that, despite being the combination of all the colors present in the rainbow, it represents purity. This has been the meaning of the white most associated with the white, meaning by purity, normally, that which has not been corrupted, for which it has clear moral connotations.


Perhaps this is because the white color is seen as something of precarious existence, which can vanish when any other element comes into contact with it; the immaculate happens to stain when the white is invaded by the dirt that comes from other elements.

For a similar reason, in Western countries white means innocence, given that this is related to childhood, which has not had time to be corrupted . It is a fatalistic perception of the life cycle that is embodied in our way of attributing meanings to this color. In addition, the concept of naivety is also related to the target.

On the other hand, since white is purity, it is also widely used in ceremonies related to the sacred, given that it is said that before the divine it is necessary to present oneself without blemish. The wedding dresses are the clearest example of this.


  • Maybe you're interested: "What does the color black mean in Psychology?"

2. The clean

In addition, white represents clean, sterilized, also related to purity. Thus, It is widely used in the hospitality industry and in the health sector , to reassure people and convey a sense of calm.

3. Peace

Another of the meanings of white is that of peace, which is often symbolized by the figure of a white dove. In fact, that's also why is linked to the flag of surrenders and those used to request a truce .

The reason why white means peace may have to do with the fact that it is beyond the chromatic compositions typical of the flags and the emblems of the clans that confront each other in battles.

While the rest of the colors are usually present in concrete figures that serve to distinguish sides, white is perceived as something with its own entity, being the union of all colors, and that therefore is beyond the frontline logic based in the division.

4. Nothing

From what we have seen, white too represents the absence of matter, the emptiness . This representation of nothingness allows us to locate the target in the concept of what exists "by default", independently of everything else.

A blank space is there without anything having to fill it, since white is nothing, and will be full when we add something. Perhaps this has to do with the meaning of purity, which leads us to think about this color as if it were an element to which nothing has yet affected it, and to which everything is to be added.

In China

Interestingly, in China white has traditionally symbolized death and bad luck . At weddings, instead of white, the color red has been used.

In India

In Indian culture, white symbolizes the contemplative life and apart from the rest of society, something linked to the Western notion of purity, but with more social and isolation connotations . Therefore, widows usually go white, not black.

Bibliographic references:

  • Plochere Color System. Kenneth L. Kelly and Deanne B. Judd. (1976): "Color: Universal Language and Dictionary of Names", National Bureau of Standards, Spec. Publ. 440
  • Heller, Eva (2012). Color psychology. Barcelona: Gustavo Gili.

The Color White - Color Psychology (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Que signifie la couleur blanche en psychologie?

Que signifie la couleur blanche en psychologie?

Février 24, 2021

Le blanc est une couleur achromatique qui s'oppose normalement au noir parce que c'est tout le contraire: c'est une clarté absolue ou l'absence de noirceur.

Mais ce n’est pas simplement que, puisque au-delà de ce qui est techniquement visé, il reste l’impact qu’il a sur l’esprit humain. Un impact modulé par la culture dans laquelle on vit et par le système de symboles à partir duquel la réalité est vécue, bien sûr, et qui est lié à une série de sensations et de concepts qui nous évoquent quand nous la voyons.

Dans cet article nous verrons ce que signifie la couleur blanche dans différentes sociétés et cultures , en particulier dans les pays occidentaux.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosité des couleurs"

Que signifie la couleur blanche dans différentes cultures?

Gardez à l’esprit qu’il n’ya pas de signification universelle du blanc, mais ce il est toujours médiatisé par le contexte culturel dans lequel nous avons été éduqués et cela nous influence jour après jour. Voyons donc quels concepts et sensations évoquent le blanc en distinguant par des blocs culturels.


À l'ouest

Comme nous le verrons, dans les pays occidentaux, le balné est associé à une série de concepts associés à un équilibre fragile et momentané, un état dans lequel il n’existe ni antagonisme ni stridence. En quelque sorte, ils placent la cible dans une position de proximité avec le spirituel, ce qui a toujours été considéré comme au-delà de la matière et non soumis aux imperfections du terrestre .

1. Pureté et ingéniosité

Le paradoxe du blanc est que, bien qu’il soit la combinaison de toutes les couleurs présentes dans l’arc-en-ciel, il représente la pureté. Tel a été le sens du blanc le plus associé au blanc, signifiant par pureté, normalement, ce qui n’a pas été corrompu, pour lequel il a des connotations morales évidentes.


C'est peut-être parce que la couleur blanche est perçue comme une existence précaire, qui peut disparaître lorsqu'un autre élément entre en contact avec elle; l'immaculée se tache quand le blanc est envahi par la saleté provenant d'autres éléments.

Pour une raison similaire, dans les pays occidentaux, blanc signifie innocence, étant donné que cela est lié à l'enfance, qui n'a pas eu le temps d'être corrompue . C'est une perception fataliste du cycle de vie qui s'incarne dans notre façon d'attribuer des significations à cette couleur. En outre, le concept de naïveté est également lié à la cible.

D'autre part, le blanc étant la pureté, il est également largement utilisé dans les cérémonies liées au sacré, étant donné qu'il est dit qu'avant le divin, il est nécessaire de se présenter sans défaut. Les robes de mariée en sont l'exemple le plus clair.


  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Qu'est-ce que la couleur noire signifie en psychologie?"

2. le propre

De plus, le blanc représente pur, stérilisé, également lié à la pureté. Pour lui, Il est largement utilisé dans le secteur de l'hôtellerie et de la santé , pour rassurer les gens et transmettre un sentiment de calme.

3. la paix

Une autre signification du blanc est celle de la paix, qui est souvent symbolisée par la figure d’une colombe blanche. En fait, c'est aussi pourquoi est lié au drapeau de la reddition et à ceux qui ont demandé une trêve .

La raison pour laquelle le blanc signifie la paix peut avoir à voir avec le fait qu'il est au-delà des compositions chromatiques typiques des drapeaux et des emblèmes des clans qui s'affrontent lors de batailles.

Alors que le reste des couleurs est généralement présent dans des figures concrètes servant à distinguer les côtés, le blanc est perçu comme une entité possédant sa propre entité, étant l’union de toutes les couleurs, ce qui dépasse la logique de la ligne de front. dans la division.

4. rien

De ce que nous avons vu, blanc aussi représente l'absence de matière, le vide . Cette représentation du néant nous permet de situer la cible dans le concept de ce qui existe "par défaut", indépendamment de tout le reste.

Un espace vide est là sans rien avoir à remplir, puisque le blanc n'est rien et sera plein lorsque nous ajouterons quelque chose. Cela a peut-être un rapport avec le sens de la pureté, ce qui nous amène à penser à cette couleur comme à un élément auquel rien ne l'a encore affectée et à laquelle il faut tout ajouter.

En chine

Fait intéressant, en Chine, le blanc a traditionnellement symbolisé mort et malchance . Lors des mariages, au lieu de blanc, la couleur rouge a été utilisée.

En Inde

Dans la culture indienne, le blanc symbolise la vie contemplative et, mis à part le reste de la société, un élément lié à la notion occidentale de pureté, mais avec plus de connotations sociales et d'isolement . Par conséquent, les veuves deviennent généralement blanches, pas noires.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Système de couleurs Plochère. Kenneth L. Kelly et Deanne B. Judd. (1976): "Couleur: langage universel et dictionnaire des noms", National Bureau of Standards, Spec. Publ. 440
  • Heller, Eva (2012). Psychologie de la couleur. Barcelone: ​​Gustavo Gili.

Les couleurs 1. leurs symboliques (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes