yes, therapy helps!
What is a psychological autopsy?

What is a psychological autopsy?

May 26, 2024

Figuratively, reviving a person who has committed suicide is possible. There are cases of death in which the motives or the evidence are not very clear, so it is not known with certainty if it is a suicide or a homicide.

The psychological autopsy is developed for the elucidation of doubtful deaths . We will talk about it in this article.

  • Related article: "Forensic Psychology: definition and functions of the forensic psychologist"

What is the psychological autopsy?

The psychological autopsy is a process that involves a multidisciplinary work that brings together doctors, criminologists and psychologists. Is an important technique used within the field of forensic psychology . It is useful to determine causes or solve cases of suicide, and the development of this technique began by addressing the need to define the cause of death in doubtful cases and in those that the medical autopsy does not have sufficient evidence.


The participation of the Psychology area is fundamental for the process of analysis and decoding of clues. On many occasions, the fact that a death with dubious causes is studied from a single perspective or profession is not enough. Needed a team made up of different health professionals so that each one analyzes the case from his point of view and thus a more accurate and more complete result can be reached.

The intervention of the forensic psychologist in the clarification of the case is fundamental, since when he goes to the scene of the crime, this one can start to generate a sketch of the subject's personality just by looking at the organization of your space, furniture, ornaments, etc. When it came to achieving it, Schneidman, author of the technique, proposed three fundamental categories to investigate and analyze: the what, the how and the why.


One of the main functions of the psychologist is interpret the signs and clues within a crime scene . In addition to the medical autopsy, it is required to have access to the medical record, medical and legal records, notes, letters, diary or anything else that can provide more information about how the subject felt, the thoughts he had before his death, own ideas and learned. The process starts from the same place as the facts, in which not only objective traces can be raised, but also psychological traces that are printed in the places where the victim was and in the people who interacted with it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The polygraph: does the lie detector really work?"

The MAPI technique

Inside the psychological autopsy, The most used and most effective technique is MAPI , whose acronym means the different areas of the individual in question that will be studied.


1. Mental

It refers to intelligence, memory, attention, judgment and cognition. With this there can be reference of the cognitive skills and abilities .

2. Emotional or affective

Analyze the development and changes in mood. It's fundamental because it's the one study the mental state of the subject , if there was any predisposition to suicidal behaviors or ideas or in itself that there were recurrent depressive episodes or the presence of some other disorder.

3. Psychosocial

It focuses on the background, since he was born, how was his childhood, adolescence, etc. In the same way, it is inquired about the relations with people of not close circles and important changes throughout his life.

4. Interpersonal

It focuses on family relationships and with friends . The importance of this is that you can contact people who were close to the deceased and contribute to the research process. Now ... how should the interviews be carried out with the friends and relatives of the deceased? Let's see it

Interviews with people close to the deceased

Carry outinterviews with people close to the deceased It is the final step of this tool so used in psychological autopsy. Doing this has two main purposes:

  1. Know more about the victim , his personality, character, daily activities and everything of which there is no written record or physical evidence.
  2. It serves as a therapeutic way for family and close friends , since they often express their feelings and thoughts about the situation.

It is established that the optimum time to carry them out is from 1 to 6 months after the event. Doing them before can be counterproductive because the feelings and emotions are still very recent and can affect the interpretation and the way they remember the facts. And doing them after the stipulated time, can cause the memories are no longer clear and people try to redo them or fill in the blanks they have with facts or incorrect or false elements.

The psychological autopsy is a new tool , barely developed in the 21st century, but in a short time it has proved useful in many cases where medicine has not been sufficient to determine the causes of death. Any process related to human beings, until death, is extremely complex due to the nature of man. This is why it needs to be approached from a broad and multidisciplinary perspective.


Burary Death Mystery | Cops Plan to Go for | Psychological Autopsy (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce qu'une autopsie psychologique?

Qu'est-ce qu'une autopsie psychologique?

Juillet 25, 2022

Au sens figuré, il est possible de faire revivre une personne qui s'est suicidée. Il y a des cas de décès dans lesquels les motifs ou les preuves ne sont pas très clairs, donc on ne sait pas avec certitude s'il s'agit d'un suicide ou d'un homicide.

L'autopsie psychologique est développée pour élucider les morts douteuses . Nous en parlerons dans cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie légale: définition et fonctions du psychologue judiciaire"

Quelle est l'autopsie psychologique?

L'autopsie psychologique est un processus impliquant un travail multidisciplinaire qui réunit des médecins, des criminologues et des psychologues. C'est une technique importante utilisée dans le domaine de la psychologie légale . Il est utile de déterminer les causes ou de résoudre les cas de suicide. Le développement de cette technique a commencé par répondre à la nécessité de définir la cause du décès dans les cas douteux et dans les cas où l'autopsie médicale ne disposait pas de preuves suffisantes.


La participation du domaine de la psychologie est fondamentale pour le processus d'analyse et de décodage des indices. À maintes reprises, le fait d’étudier un décès lié à une cause douteuse d’un seul point de vue ou d’une seule profession ne suffit pas. On a besoin une équipe composée de différents professionnels de la santé afin que chacun analyse le cas de son point de vue et obtienne ainsi un résultat plus précis et plus complet.

L’intervention du psychologue légiste dans la clarification de l’affaire est fondamentale, car lorsqu’il se rend sur le lieu du crime, celui-ci peut commencer à générer un croquis de la personnalité du sujet juste en regardant l'organisation de votre espace, meubles, ornements, etc. Schneidman, l'auteur de la technique, a proposé trois catégories fondamentales à explorer et à analyser: le quoi, le comment et le pourquoi.


Une des fonctions principales du psychologue est interpréter les signes et indices d'une scène de crime . En plus de l'autopsie médicale, il est nécessaire d'avoir accès au dossier médical, aux dossiers médicaux et juridiques, aux notes, aux lettres, au journal ou à tout autre élément pouvant fournir plus d'informations sur les sentiments du sujet, les pensées qu'il avait avant son décès, propres idées et appris. Le processus commence au même endroit que les faits, dans lesquels non seulement des traces objectives peuvent être soulevées, mais aussi des traces psychologiques imprimées aux endroits où la victime était et chez les personnes qui ont interagi avec elle.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Le polygraphe: le détecteur de mensonge fonctionne-t-il vraiment?"

La technique MAPI

À l'intérieur de l'autopsie psychologique, La technique la plus utilisée et la plus efficace est MAPI , dont l'acronyme désigne les différentes zones de l'individu en question qui seront étudiées.


1. mentale

Il fait référence à l'intelligence, à la mémoire, à l'attention, au jugement et à la cognition. Avec cela, il peut y avoir une référence de la compétences et capacités cognitives .

2. émotionnel ou affectif

Analyser l'évolution et les changements d'humeur. C'est fondamental parce que c'est celui-là étudier l'état mental du sujet , en cas de prédisposition à des comportements ou idées suicidaires ou en soi, à des épisodes dépressifs récurrents ou à la présence de tout autre trouble.

3. psychosocial

Il se concentre sur le fond, depuis sa naissance, comment était son enfance, son adolescence, etc. De la même manière, il est interrogé sur les relations avec les personnes de milieux marginaux et les changements importants intervenus tout au long de sa vie.

4. interpersonnel

Il se concentre sur relations familiales et avec des amis . L’importance de cela est que vous pouvez contacter des personnes proches du défunt et contribuer au processus de recherche. Maintenant ... comment les entretiens devraient-ils être menés avec les amis et les parents du défunt? Voyons le

Entretiens avec des proches du défunt

Mener à bienentretiens avec des proches du défunt C’est la dernière étape de cet outil tellement utilisé en autopsie psychologique. Cela a deux objectifs principaux:

  1. En savoir plus sur la victime , sa personnalité, son caractère, ses activités quotidiennes et tout ce dont il n’ya ni trace écrite ni preuve matérielle.
  2. Il sert de un moyen thérapeutique pour la famille et les amis proches , car ils expriment souvent leurs sentiments et leurs réflexions sur la situation.

Il est établi que le moment optimal pour les réaliser est de 1 à 6 mois après l'événement. Les faire avant peut être contre-productif car les sentiments et les émotions sont encore très récents et peuvent affecter l'interprétation et la façon dont ils se souviennent des faits. Et les faire après le temps imparti, peut causer les souvenirs ne sont plus claires et les gens essaient de les refaire ou de compléter leurs blancs avec des faits ou des éléments incorrects ou faux.

L'autopsie psychologique est un nouvel outil , à peine développé au 21ème siècle, mais dans peu de temps il s'est avéré utile dans beaucoup de cas où la médecine n'a pas été suffisante pour déterminer les causes du décès Tout processus lié aux êtres humains, jusqu'à la mort, est extrêmement complexe en raison de la nature de l'homme. C’est pourquoi il faut l’aborder dans une perspective large et multidisciplinaire.


Les coulisses de l'autopsie - Les Tabous de ...La mort 5 (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes