yes, therapy helps!
What is a psychologist? This is what makes it useful

What is a psychologist? This is what makes it useful

July 19, 2024

Psychology is an area full of myths, in part perhaps because of the broad scope of this field of knowledge and intervention. That is why, although there is much talk about this type of professionals, many people still do not know what a psychologist is . It is a field of work that some relate to cruel experiments, others with sessions of interpretation of dreams and others even with almost shamanic rituals.

However, at present the work of psychologists has nothing to do with that. Far have been the times in which psychotherapy therapy sessions were based on the "spoken cure" proposed by the followers of Freud, and, despite the influences of postmodern relativism, ancestral rituals have never become part of this science.


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

What is a psychologist? An aid to understand it

Next, we will review the question of what psychologists are and what they do, going through the fundamental characteristics of this profession.

Psychologists and the relationship with mental health

The figure of the psychologist is often associated with mental health and the fact of receiving in his office people with disorders such as depression, bipolarity, etc. This can make confuse their work with that of psychiatrists . However, psychology promotes health through programs that in the end are forms of training, or sophisticated education.


For example, a person with depression is helped to go through the phases of their disorder mitigating the negative effects of this phenomenon, a person with a phobia is taught to reduce the level of fear and anxiety felt, etc. From psychiatry, on the other hand, it is about influencing the organism in a more direct way, modifying it physically or chemically.

It is clear that this is not the only difference between psychologists and psychiatrists, but one that helps to capture the essences of these teachers. On the other hand, it should be noted that mental health is just one of the many areas where Psychology works.

  • Related article: "What is the difference between a psychologist and a psychiatrist?"

Research on broad themes

What is it that is dedicated to studying Psychology? If we had to look for a summarized version of the answer to this question, this would be "human behavior", understanding behavior as thoughts and emotions, not just physical movements. However, there are also many psychologists who are responsible for studying the behavior of non-human animals, and even some who study some to better understand others.


The relationship with the unconscious

The current Psychology does not work with the Freudian conception of the unconscious in the human mind , since it rejects the idea that the mind can be divided into entities with their own agenda of interests. Instead, it works assuming that in the mental processes the non-consciousness is normal (as it is in other animal species) and that consciousness only takes center stage for some things in our life, that in which we focus attention on each moment.

  • Related article: "The Theory of the Unconscious of Sigmund Freud (and the new theories)"

Psychologists are not counselors or sorcerers

Psychology is not a profession characterized by giving advice, but, as we have already seen, train and educate in adaptive ways to face challenges , and not in concrete ways of acting in front of them. For example, they help to manage the stress produced by participating in a program of professional promotions, but they do not indicate at all times how to act to maximize the options of winning the boss's favor.

In the same way, they do not make important life decisions for the client based on their "wisdom" or anything similar. The big decisions must be made by oneself.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Why do not psychologists give advice?"

It does not intervene only in biology

Psychologists do not try to detect a "piece" damaged in the minds of their patients, in the same way that a mechanic with his car would. Instead, they observe the behavioral habits of this and their way of relating to the outside to detect relationships that, by their content or by the way in which they occur, generate a focus of social or psychological problems.

For example, a person who tends to believe that everything bad that happens to him is his fault exclusively has a pattern of unhealthy relationships on which he intervenes.The problem is the dynamic that is established between one and the external world, and not a particular part of your brain.

Although parts of your nervous system can act abnormally, this is the result of the habits you are used to, it does not have to be the cause. So, psychologists they tend to act from events towards biology, and not vice versa .


25 Psychological TRICKS That Really Do WORK (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue? C'est ce qui le rend utile

Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue? C'est ce qui le rend utile

Septembre 11, 2022

La psychologie est un domaine rempli de mythes, en partie peut-être en raison de la vaste portée de ce domaine de connaissances et d'intervention. C’est pourquoi, bien que l’on parle beaucoup de ce type de professionnels, beaucoup de gens ne sais pas ce qu'est un psychologue . C’est un domaine de travail que certains rapportent à des expériences cruelles, d’autres à des séances d’interprétation de rêves et d’autres même à des rituels presque chamaniques.

Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, le travail des psychologues n'a rien à voir avec cela. Les séances de psychothérapie étaient basées sur la "cure parlée" proposée par les disciples de Freud et, malgré les influences du relativisme postmoderne, les rituels ancestraux ne font jamais partie cette science.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Qu'est-ce qu'un psychologue? Une aide pour le comprendre

Nous examinerons ensuite la question de savoir ce que sont et ce que font les psychologues, en passant en revue les caractéristiques fondamentales de cette profession.

Les psychologues et la relation avec la santé mentale

La figure du psychologue est souvent associée à la santé mentale et au fait de recevoir dans son bureau des personnes souffrant de troubles tels que la dépression, la bipolarité, etc. Cela peut faire confondre leur travail avec celui des psychiatres . Cependant, la psychologie favorise la santé par le biais de programmes qui sont finalement des formes de formation ou d’éducation sophistiquée.


Par exemple, une personne déprimée est aidée à traverser les phases de son désordre pour atténuer les effets négatifs de ce phénomène, une personne souffrant de phobie apprend à réduire le niveau de peur et d'anxiété ressentie, etc. En psychiatrie, il s'agit d'influencer l'organisme de manière plus directe, de le modifier physiquement ou chimiquement.

Il est clair que ce n’est pas la seule différence entre psychologues et psychiatres, mais une différence qui aide à saisir l’essence de ces enseignants. D'autre part, il convient de noter que la santé mentale n'est que l'un des nombreux domaines où travaille la psychologie.

  • Article connexe: "Quelle est la différence entre un psychologue et un psychiatre?"

Recherche sur des thèmes généraux

Qu'est-ce qui est dédié à l'étude de la psychologie? Si nous devions chercher une version résumée de la réponse à cette question, il s'agirait d'un "comportement humain", comprenant les comportements comme des pensées et des émotions, pas seulement des mouvements physiques. Cependant, de nombreux psychologues sont chargés d’étudier le comportement d’animaux non humains et même certains étudient certains pour mieux en comprendre d’autres.


La relation avec l'inconscient

La psychologie actuelle ne fonctionne pas avec la conception freudienne de l'inconscient dans l'esprit humain , car il rejette l’idée que l’esprit puisse être divisé en entités dotées de leurs propres intérêts. Cela fonctionne plutôt en supposant que, dans les processus mentaux, la non-conscience est normale (comme chez d’autres espèces animales) et que la conscience n’est au centre que de certaines choses de notre vie, celles sur lesquelles nous concentrons notre attention. moment

  • Article connexe: "La théorie de l'inconscient de Sigmund Freud (et les nouvelles théories)"

Les psychologues ne sont ni des conseillers ni des sorciers

La psychologie n’est pas un métier caractérisé par le conseil, mais, comme on l’a déjà vu, former et éduquer de manière adaptative pour faire face aux défis , et pas de manière concrète d'agir devant eux. Par exemple, ils aident à gérer le stress généré par la participation à un programme de promotions professionnelles, mais ils n'indiquent pas toujours comment agir pour maximiser les options permettant de gagner les faveurs du patron.

De la même manière, ils ne prennent pas de décisions de vie importantes pour le client en fonction de leur "sagesse" ou de quelque chose de similaire. Les grandes décisions doivent être prises par soi-même.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Pourquoi les psychologues ne donnent-ils pas de conseils?"

Il n'intervient pas seulement en biologie

Les psychologues n'essayent pas de détecter une "pièce" endommagée dans l'esprit de leurs patients, comme le ferait un mécanicien avec sa voiture. Au lieu de cela, ils observent leurs habitudes de comportement et leur manière de se rapporter à l'extérieur pour détecter les relations qui, par leur contenu ou leur manière de se produire, génèrent un foyer de problèmes sociaux ou psychologiques.

Par exemple, une personne qui a tendance à croire que tout ce qui lui arrive de mal est de sa faute a exclusivement des relations malsaines sur lesquelles elle intervient.Le problème est la dynamique qui s’établit entre l’un et le monde extérieur, et non une partie particulière de votre cerveau.

Bien que certaines parties de votre système nerveux puissent agir de manière anormale, cela est le résultat des habitudes auxquelles vous êtes habitué. Alors, les psychologues ils ont tendance à agir à partir d'événements allant vers la biologie, et non l'inverse .


10 Astuces Psychologiques pour LA SÉDUIRE et la Rendre Amoureuse ! (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes