yes, therapy helps!
What is and is not forgiveness

What is and is not forgiveness

June 30, 2024

Everyone, at some point, has hurt others, whether in small or large ways. We have also been hurt by people we love, by family, friends, couples and even by people we did not know. We have been damaged directly or indirectly by the hatred of the armed groups, the wars, by the ambition of governmental entities and unfortunately even by organizations that claim to protect the rights of the human being. Why do we keep hurting each other? Why do we continue to believe that the answer to the evil of the world is with more hatred?

We continue to believe that the enemy is outside . But as Khyentsé Rinpoche says, "the time has come to divert the hatred of its usual targets, your supposed enemies, to direct it against itself. In reality, your real enemy is hatred and it is him you must destroy. " Forgiveness is the key.


Matthiew Ricard, in his book In Defense of HappinessHe points out that we do not usually consider a criminal the victim of his own hatred, much less understand that the desire for revenge that may arise in us comes fundamentally from that same emotion that has led the aggressor to hurt us.

  • Related article: "Empathy, much more than putting oneself in the place of the other"

Hate is limiting

Hate is the real poison , and if we are not aware of how anger is transforming into this feeling, we can end up in the position of the criminal, victim of his hatred. Imprisoned. Destroyed. Without peace. Playing an endless chain of pain.


Ricard mentions that this does not mean that we can not feel a deep aversion and repulsion towards injustice, cruelty, oppression and harmful acts or fight so that they do not happen. We can do it without succumbing to hatred and revenge and more motivated by a deep compassion towards both the suffering of the victims and the victimizers.

To hold a grudge, to blame, to cling and to stop too much in the wounds It undermines our happiness and has a considerable effect on our physical and psychological well-being. Studies have suggested that forgiveness is a more effective way of responding, reducing stress and promoting happiness. However, how we react to those injuries depends on us. Forgiving is a choice and a process. Pain and disappointments are inevitable, but they should not control our lives.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Forgiveness: should I or should I not forgive the one who hurt me?"

What is forgiveness?

Dacher Keltner, social psychologist and professor at the University of Berkeley, mentions that there are four components that help us define and scientifically measure forgiveness . The first is the acceptance that the transgression or damage that someone has done to us has occurred. The second is the decrease in the desire or urgency to seek revenge or compensation. The third (and especially when it comes to minor conflicts or with close people and that you can resume the relationship), is the desire for rapprochement, decrease in distance or evasion of the other person. Finally, the fourth component involves a change in negative feelings towards the other person, such as an increase in compassion and understanding of their own suffering, pain, ignorance or confusion that has caused them to hurt us.


Contrary to what is usually thought, forgiveness also allows us to establish the limits that are necessary to protect ourselves from re-experiencing harm from other people. Jack Kornfield, psychologist and Buddhist teacher, defines forgiveness as the resolution not to allow the transgression to happen again , to protect yourself and others. Forgiving does not mean talking with or relating to the person who necessarily betrayed him. It is not about the other, nor about a duty. It is a way to end one's suffering.

Forgiveness can demand justice and say "No more". He mentions in turn that he is not sentimental nor is he quick. For him, forgiveness is a deep process of the heart that can take a long time and can be difficult, both when it comes to forgiving others and ourselves. But it is a process that frees us and allows us to love.

In turn, forgiveness also involves mourning the loss of things that did not work as we wanted and to stop waiting for a better past, because it has already happened, it is already done and it can not be changed. That grief and pain have a great value, because as Kornfield says "sometimes the things that make us vulnerable are those that open our hearts and take us back to what matters most, to love and to life".

What is not forgiveness?

Forgiving does not mean forgetting the way others have hurt you, nor does it necessarily mean reconciling or relating to the person who hurt you. Neither approve his behavior or his offense, nor absolve him of his responsibility.Forgiving is not weakness or a sign of submission. Instead, it requires courage, it means to stop doing someone constantly responsible for your emotional well-being and change your attitude toward that original wound so that it does not continue to hurt you. It involves letting go of the load that is carried by that person who has hurt you.

Benefits of forgiving about health and relationships

Forgiveness tends to be positively associated with psychological well-being, physical health and good interpersonal relationships. People who tend to forgive others score lower on measures of anxiety, depression and hostility (Brown 2003, Thompson et al., 2005). Likewise, leaving the rancor is associated with lower levels of stress and cardiovascular reactivity (blood pressure and heart rate) (Witvliet et al., 2001).

According to a review of the literature on forgiveness and health by Everett Worthington and his colleague Michael Scherer (2004), not to forgive can compromise the immune system. The review suggests that it can affect the production of important hormones and the way our cells fight infections and bacteria. At the same time, hostility is a central part of the lack of forgiveness , and has been directly related to numerous health problems, having more detrimental effects on the cardiovascular system (Kaplan, 1992, Williams and Williams, 1993).

Researchers at the University of Miami associate forgiveness with an increase in life satisfaction, more positive emotions, fewer negative emotions and fewer symptoms of physical illness. They also found that people felt happier after forgiving someone they reported having a close and committed relationship with before the transgression and especially when the other person apologized and tried to repair the damage, suggesting that forgiveness increases our happiness because helps repair interpersonal relationships , which previous studies have shown to be vital for our long-term happiness (Bono, et al., 2007). Similarly, other studies have found that people who tend to forgive report higher quality, satisfaction and commitment in their relationships.

Of course, there are limits. The context in which forgiveness occurs is important. For example, in marriages, the frequency of transgressions by their members moderates the effects of forgiveness. If a husband or wife continues to forgive their partner for their frequent transgressions, not only does their satisfaction with the relationship diminish, but it is likely that the mistreatment, transgressions or unwanted behavior of their partner continue and even worsen because they do not There are repercussions of their actions (McNulty, 2008).

Forgiving is not easy. It may seem almost impossible for us to forgive those who have hurt us in great ways. Even more unimaginable to come to feel compassion, understanding or empathy for the people who have deeply offended or hurt us. It can even cost us to small grievances. However, it is likely that we all know stories of people who have managed to do so and who have shown us the importance and beauty of forgiveness. Forgiveness, as well as other positive emotions such as hope, compassion and appreciation, is a natural expression of our humanity.

Author: Jessica Cortés

Bibliographic references:

  • Brown, R.P. (2003). Measuring individual differences in the tendency to forgive: Construct validity and links with depression. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 29, 759-771.
  • Bono, G., McCullough M. E., & Root, L.M. (2007). Forgiveness, Feeling Connected to Others, and Well-Being: Two Longitudinal Studies. Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin, 20, 1-14.
  • Kaplan, B.H. (1992). Social health and the forgiving heart: The Type B story. Journal of Behavior Medicine, 15, 3-14.
  • Kornfield, J. (2010). The Wisdom of the Heart A guide to the universal teachings of Buddhist psychology. Barcelona, ​​Spain: The March Hare.
  • McNulty, J.K. (2008). Forgiveness in Marriage: Putting the Benefits into Context. Journal of Family Psychology. 22, 171-175.
  • Ricard, M. (2005). In Defense of Happiness. Urano editions: Barcelona.
  • Thompson L. Y., Snyder, C.R., Hoffman, L., Michael, S.T., Rasmussen, H. N., Billings, L.S., et al. (2005). Dispositional forgiveness of self, others and situations. Journal of Personality, 73, 313-359.
  • Witvliet, C.V.O., Ludwig, T.E., & Vander Laan, K.L. (2001). Granting forgiveness or harboring grudges: Implications for emotions, physiology, and health. Psychological Science, 121, 117-123.
  • Williams, R. and Williams, V. (1993). Anger Kills: Seventeen Strategies for Controlling the Hostility that Can Harm your Health. Harper Perennial, New York.
  • Worthington, E.L., & Scherer, M. (2004): Forgiveness is an emotion-focused coping strategy that reduces health risks and promotes health resilience: theory, review, and hypotheses, Psychology & Health, 19: 3, 385-405.

10 Things Forgiveness Isn't (Mark Driscoll) (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est ce qui est et n'est pas le pardon

Qu'est ce qui est et n'est pas le pardon

Août 9, 2020

Tout le monde, à un moment donné, a blessé les autres, que ce soit de manière petite ou grande. Nous avons également été blessés par des personnes que nous aimons, par la famille, les amis, les couples et même par des personnes que nous ne connaissions pas. Nous avons été touchés directement ou indirectement par la haine des groupes armés, les guerres, par l'ambition d'entités gouvernementales et, malheureusement, même par des organisations qui prétendent protéger les droits de l'être humain. Pourquoi continuons-nous à nous faire du mal? Pourquoi continuons-nous de croire que la réponse au mal du monde passe par plus de haine?

Nous continuons de croire que l'ennemi est à l'extérieur . Mais comme le dit Khyentsé Rinpoché, "le moment est venu de détourner la haine de ses cibles habituelles, vos supposés ennemis, pour la diriger contre elle-même. En réalité, votre véritable ennemi est la haine et c'est lui que vous devez détruire. " Le pardon est la clé.


Matthiew Ricard, dans son livre En défense du bonheurIl souligne que nous ne considérons généralement pas le criminel comme la victime de sa propre haine, encore moins que le désir de vengeance qui peut naître en nous découle fondamentalement de la même émotion qui a conduit l'agresseur à nous faire du mal.

  • Article connexe: "L'empathie, bien plus que se mettre à la place de l'autre"

La haine limite

La haine est le vrai poison et si nous ne savons pas comment la colère se transforme en ce sentiment, nous pouvons nous retrouver dans la position du criminel victime de sa haine. Emprisonné Détruit Sans paix Jouer une chaîne de douleur sans fin.


Ricard mentionne que cela ne signifie pas que nous ne pouvons pas ressentir une profonde aversion et répulsion à l'égard de l'injustice, de la cruauté, de l'oppression et des actes préjudiciables, ni lutter pour qu'ils ne se produisent pas. Nous pouvons le faire sans succomber à la haine et à la vengeance et davantage motivés par une profonde compassion pour les souffrances des victimes et des agresseurs.

Garder rancune, blâmer, s'accrocher et trop s'arrêter dans les plaies Cela mine notre bonheur et a un effet considérable sur notre bien-être physique et psychologique. Des études ont suggéré que le pardon est un moyen plus efficace de réagir, de réduire le stress et de promouvoir le bonheur. Cependant, notre réaction à ces blessures dépend de nous. Pardonner est un choix et un processus. La douleur et les déceptions sont inévitables, mais elles ne devraient pas contrôler nos vies.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Pardon: dois-je ou ne dois-je pas pardonner à celui qui m'a fait mal?"

Qu'est-ce que le pardon?

Dacher Keltner, psychologue social et professeur à l'Université de Berkeley, mentionne que il y a quatre composants qui nous aident à définir et à mesurer scientifiquement le pardon . Le premier est l'acceptation du fait que la transgression ou les dommages que quelqu'un nous a causés ont eu lieu. La seconde est la diminution du désir ou de l'urgence de chercher vengeance ou compensation. Le troisième (et particulièrement lorsqu'il s'agit de conflits mineurs ou avec des personnes proches et que vous pouvez reprendre la relation) est le désir de rapprochement, la réduction de la distance ou l'évasion de l'autre personne. Enfin, le quatrième élément implique un changement des sentiments négatifs envers l'autre personne, par exemple une augmentation de la compassion et de la compréhension de ses propres souffrances, douleur, ignorance ou confusion qui les a amenés à nous faire mal.


Contrairement à ce que l’on pense habituellement, le pardon nous permet également d’établir les limites nécessaires pour nous protéger de la souffrance subie de nouveau. Jack Kornfield, psychologue et enseignant bouddhiste, définit le pardon comme étant: la résolution de ne pas laisser la transgression se reproduire , pour vous protéger et protéger les autres. Pardonner ne veut pas dire parler avec la personne qui l’a nécessairement trahi ou s’en rapporter à elle. Il ne s'agit pas de l'autre, ni d'un devoir. C'est un moyen de mettre fin à la souffrance.

Le pardon peut demander justice et dire "Pas plus". Il mentionne à son tour qu'il n'est ni sentimental ni rapide. Pour lui, le pardon est un processus profond du cœur qui peut durer longtemps et qui peut être difficile, à la fois pour pardonner aux autres et pour nous-mêmes. Mais c’est un processus qui nous libère et nous permet d’aimer.

À son tour, le pardon aussi implique de pleurer la perte de choses qui ne fonctionnaient pas comme nous le souhaitions et cesser d’attendre un passé meilleur, car cela est déjà arrivé, c’est déjà fait et cela ne peut pas être changé. Ce chagrin et cette douleur ont une grande valeur car, comme le dit Kornfield, "ce qui nous rend vulnérables est parfois ce qui ouvre notre cœur et nous ramène à ce qui compte le plus, aimer et vivre."

Qu'est-ce que le pardon?

Pardonner ne signifie pas oublier la façon dont les autres vous ont blessé, cela ne signifie pas non plus nécessairement réconcilier ou mettre en relation la personne qui vous a blessé. Ni approuver son comportement ou son infraction, ni le décharger de sa responsabilité.Pardonner n'est pas une faiblesse ni un signe de soumission. Au lieu de cela, il faut du courage, cela signifie d'arrêter de faire quelqu'un constamment responsable de votre bien-être émotionnel et changez votre attitude vis-à-vis de la blessure d'origine pour qu'elle ne continue pas à vous faire mal. Cela implique de lâcher le fardeau que porte la personne qui vous a blessé.

Avantages de pardonner sur la santé et les relations

Le pardon tend à être associé positivement au bien-être psychologique, à la santé physique et aux bonnes relations interpersonnelles. Les personnes qui ont tendance à pardonner aux autres ont des scores plus bas pour les mesures d'anxiété, de dépression et d'hostilité (Brown 2003, Thompson et al., 2005). De même, l'abandon de la rancoeur est associé à des niveaux moins élevés de stress et de réactivité cardiovasculaire (pression artérielle et fréquence cardiaque) (Witvliet et al., 2001).

Selon une revue de la littérature sur le pardon et la santé publiée par Everett Worthington et son collègue Michael Scherer (2004), le fait de ne pas pardonner peut compromettre le système immunitaire. La revue suggère que cela peut affecter la production d'hormones importantes et la façon dont nos cellules combattent les infections et les bactéries. À son tour, l'hostilité est un élément central du manque de pardon et a été directement liée à de nombreux problèmes de santé, ayant des effets plus néfastes sur le système cardiovasculaire (Kaplan, 1992, Williams et Williams, 1993).

Des chercheurs de l'Université de Miami associent le pardon à une plus grande satisfaction de la vie, davantage d'émotions positives, moins d'émotions négatives et moins de symptômes de maladie physique. Ils ont également constaté que les gens se sentaient plus heureux après avoir pardonné à une personne avec laquelle ils ont déclaré avoir eu une relation étroite et engagée avant la transgression et en particulier lorsque l'autre personne s'est excusée et a tenté de réparer les dommages, suggérant que le pardon augmente notre bonheur, aide à réparer les relations interpersonnelles , que des études précédentes ont montré être vitales pour notre bonheur à long terme (Bono et al., 2007). De même, d'autres études ont montré que les personnes qui ont tendance à pardonner ont une qualité, une satisfaction et un engagement supérieurs dans leurs relations.

Bien sûr, il y a des limites. Le contexte dans lequel se produit le pardon est important. Par exemple, dans les mariages, la fréquence des transgressions commises par leurs membres modère les effets du pardon. Si un mari ou une femme continue de pardonner à leur partenaire pour leurs transgressions fréquentes, non seulement leur satisfaction à l'égard de la relation diminue, mais il est probable que les mauvais traitements, les transgressions ou les comportements non souhaités de leur partenaire continuent et même empirent, Leurs actions ont des répercussions (McNulty, 2008).

Pardonner n'est pas facile. Il peut sembler presque impossible pour nous de pardonner à ceux qui nous ont fait du mal. Encore plus inimaginable de venir se sentir compassion, compréhension ou empathie pour les personnes qui nous ont profondément offensés ou blessés. Cela peut même nous coûter de petits griefs. Cependant, il est probable que nous connaissons tous des histoires de personnes qui ont réussi à le faire et qui nous ont montré l'importance et la beauté du pardon. Le pardon, ainsi que d'autres émotions positives telles que l'espoir, la compassion et l'appréciation, est une expression naturelle de notre humanité.

Auteur: Jessica Cortés

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brown, R.P. (2003). Mesurer les différences individuelles dans la tendance à pardonner: Construire une validité et des liens avec la dépression. Personnalité et Social Psychology Bulletin, 29, 759-771.
  • Bono, G., McCullough, E., et Root, L.M. (2007). Le pardon, le sentiment d'être connecté aux autres et le bien-être: deux études longitudinales. Personnalité et Psychologie Sociale Bulletin, 20, 1-14.
  • Kaplan, B.H. (1992). La santé sociale et le cœur qui pardonne: l'histoire de type B. Journal of Behavior Medicine, 15, 3-14.
  • Kornfield, J. (2010). La sagesse du coeur Un guide sur les enseignements universels de la psychologie bouddhiste. Barcelone, Espagne: Le lièvre de mars.
  • McNulty, J.K. (2008). Le pardon dans le mariage: mise en contexte des avantages. Journal de psychologie familiale. 22, 171-175.
  • Ricard, M. (2005). En défense du bonheur. Editions Urano: Barcelone.
  • Thompson L.Y., Snyder, C.R., Hoffman, L., Michael, S.T., Rasmussen, H.N., Billings, L.S., et al. (2005). Le pardon dispositionnel de soi-même, des autres et des situations. Journal of Personality, 73, 313-359.
  • Witvliet, C.V.O., Ludwig, T.E., et Vander Laan, K.L. (2001). Accorder du pardon ou garder des rancunes: implications pour les émotions, la physiologie et la santé. Psychological Science, 121, 117-123.
  • Williams, R. et Williams, V. (1993). Anger Kills: Dix-sept stratégies pour contrôler l'hostilité qui peut nuire à votre santé. Vivace Harper, New York.
  • Worthington, E.L., & Scherer, M. (2004): Le pardon est une stratégie d'adaptation centrée sur les émotions qui réduit les risques pour la santé et favorise la résilience en matière de santé: théorie, synthèse et hypothèses, Psychology & Health, 19: 3, 385-405.

PARDONNER qu'il est difficile de pardonner (Août 2020).


Articles Connexes