yes, therapy helps!
What is brain death? Is it irreversible?

What is brain death? Is it irreversible?

November 16, 2022

When we think about death, we usually think of a more or less prolonged process in which little by little our heart stops beating and our lungs stop working. The term expire to refer to death or expressions like exhaling the last breath are a clear reference to this way of seeing death.

However, nowadays it is known that it is possible that the cardiorespiratory functions stop and still can be kept alive thanks to mechanical supports. However, there is another aspect that definitively reflects the death of a person as such, and the end of brain activity. We are talking about brain death .

  • Related article: "The role of Psychology in irreversible processes: 5 attitudes towards death"

What is brain death?

It is considered that the brain death of a person occurs when the Complete and irreversible cessation of all brain functions , both on the part of the hemispheres and the brain stem. It is important to take into account the nuances of complete and irreversible, since different types of brain injuries are capable of causing similar symptoms that may be recoverable or suppose only a partial cessation of functions. Thus, in order to diagnose a brain death, it is necessary to certify that there is no possibility of recovery, and for this, it is necessary to carry out confirmatory tests and the application of highly systematized protocols.


Brain death is usually caused by massive brain injuries, especially when the brainstem is injured (responsible for regulating aspects such as breathing and heartbeat). One of the most frequent causes of brain death occurs when the intracranial pressure exceeds the systolic blood pressure, which culminates in the cessation of blood circulation in the brain. In this state the blood, usually loaded with oxygen and nutrients, does not reach the brain and therefore it ceases to function because of hypoxia.

  • Related article: "Trunk of the encephalon: functions and structures"

Diagnosis: key aspects to check

Diagnosing brain death is not easy , and for this it is necessary to prove the nonexistence of different brain functions through different protocols. Specifically, it stipulates that at least two different specialized doctors must perform the patient's examination, performing at least two physical examinations and two electroencephalograms separated in time.


In the case of children under one year of age, the observation period is usually longer, requiring a higher level of verification and more repetitions of these, as their brain is more immature and it is more expensive to perform the neurological examination.

To diagnose brain death, it is essential to take into account if the subject is in conditions that allow such verification. For this, the organism must possess a respiratory cardiac stability, either naturally or through artificial mechanisms, an adequate blood oxygenation level and a temperature level that reflects the absence of hypothermia (which can cause symptoms similar to brain death). In this last aspect the body has to be at least more than 32º C.

As well it is necessary to rule out that the organism is in a state of intoxication due to drugs or under the effects of psychotropic drugs, since some substances can cause apparent death, and even many substances of a psycholeptic or depressant type can be misleading by avoiding responses to different stimulations. Conditions due to metabolic problems, such as insulin coma, should also be ruled out.


Once these aspects prior to the neurological analysis are taken into account, the following aspects can be analyzed.

1. Irreversible and irreversible coma state

In order to diagnose brain death, the subject must be in a coma due to a known cause and well established (discarding aspects such as the ones mentioned above of hypothermia or intoxication, for example). One of the main aspects to verify is that the subject in question does not have any kind of reaction to the stimulation. To verify this, the application of painful stimuli such as activation of the trigeminal nerve is used, and neither vegetative nor motor reactions should occur.

2. Brain activity: flat encephalogram

Through the encephalogram cerebral bioelectrical activity is measured . In this way, that it appears flat indicates that no brain activity is recorded, showing that the central nervous system has stopped acting. In addition to the encephalogram, many other neuroimaging techniques can be used to check brain activity, such as evoked potentials or various types of computed tomography.

3.Respiratory functions dependent on artificial elements

One of the aspects that are proven when establishing the brain death of a person is that they are not able to breathe on their own. To do this, the apnea test is used , through which the artificial respiration is temporarily stopped (having previously oxygenated the blood) to observe if the individual breathes by itself through the observation of respiratory movements and the measurement of the partial pressure of carbon dioxide in the blood of the arteries (paCO2).

If no respiratory movements are observed and paCO2 exceeds 60 mmHg (which indicates the maximum stimulation of the respiratory centers), it is considered that the test gives a positive result in indicating the absence of breathing, reconnecting the subject to respiration artificial.

4. Absence of own cardiac functions

To check that the heart does not work on its own without mechanical aid, the atropine test is applied, injecting into the blood supply the substance that gives the test its name. In subjects with their own heart rate, said injection would suppose an increase and acceleration of the cardiac rate, with which the absence of reaction is a negative indicator.

5. Absence of reflexes derived from the brainstem

When the brain dies, the different reflexes and typical reactions to the different types of stimuli cease to appear. The brain stem is the area of ​​the brain that regulates the most basic aspects and functions for life, so that the reflexes that are developed in this area suppose some of the most basic, with what its absence suggests the existence of brain death.

One of the reflections to explore is the photomotor reflection , that is to say if the eye presents / displays pupillary reaction to the level of light (for example focusing a flashlight directly to the pupil). In case of brain death, there should not be any type of reaction to light stimulation.

Another one of the reflexes to take into account is the corneal, in which it is observed if there is a reaction to pain and friction through tactile stimulation through the use of gauze. It also proceeds to introduce cold liquids in the ear, which in brain-active subjects would cause a reaction in the form of eye movement (oculovestibular reflex). The oculocephalic reflex is also checked , turning the patient's head horizontally quickly to check if there is any type of eye movement

Apart from the reflexes of the oculomotor system, there is also evidence of the existence of reflexes linked to the nerves that govern the mouth and digestive tract. For example, it is intended to provoke nausea by stimulating the palate and the phalanx. The trachea is also stimulated in order to try to elicit responses in the form of cough or nausea. In any of the cases, if we are dealing with a case of brain death, there should not be any type of reaction.

  • Related article: "Cranial pairs: the 12 nerves that leave the brain"

The confusion between brain death and other concepts

Brain death is a concept that, although it may be easy to understand at first, is often confused with other terms. The most frequent of all of them is the concept of coma.

Although a coma can end up leading to the brain death of the subject and in fact for the diagnosis of it is usually required that the patient has entered an irreversible coma, the latter is not identified with brain death.

The patient in a coma, although remains unconscious and is in many cases unable to respond to stimuli, continues to have a certain level of brain activity which means that he can still be considered alive even if vital support is needed to make his heart continue to pump blood and artificial respiration. Although it is not always reversible in many cases, this possibility exists. People who leave this state usually do so between the first two and four weeks, but in some cases the coma can last up to several decades.

Another related aspect can be found in the confinement syndrome . In this strange syndrome the subject does not present any type of stimulating reaction, but nevertheless he is fully aware of what is happening around him. In some cases they may move their eyes. It is usually caused by damage to the brainstem resulting from injuries in it, overdose or problems or vascular accidents.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The duel: facing the loss of a loved one"

Contradictory cases: returning from the dead

As we have seen, one of the main characteristics of brain death is its irreversibility. The diagnosis is made once there have been very rigorous, systematic and strict checks. However, although it is not very common, some cases of people who have been considered brain dead and who have subsequently been reanimated .

The explanation of this phenomenon seems simple: although it is possible, it is extremely complicated to assert that a brain is unrecoverable, as in some cases derived from hypothermia or substance use.In this way, some people who were not brain dead yet may have been incorrectly diagnosed.

Some of the possible causes of said poor diagnosis may be due to the alteration of the tests carried out due to not taking into account certain conditions of the subject (state of shock, hypothermia, consumption of medications or metabolic disorders) or confusion with conditions similar to brain death but without reaching it.

It could be possible to find that the brain dies for a short period of time and that it manages to recover the patient if the reason for the cessation of functioning is reversible and reactivates the brain, but in principle brain death conceptually assumes that there is an irreversibility in that state. So at least at present (although it does not seem likely in the future, scientific research may find ways to recover the functionality of a brain that is already dead if it is preserved) brain death means the end of life as such .

Organ donation

Once the brain death of the patient is diagnosed, you can proceed to the disconnection of artificial life support . However, if the patient has wanted to donate the organs or their relatives have given permission to do so, these organs can be extracted and transplanted, including those organs that have been artificially maintained, such as the heart.

In this aspect we must bear in mind that the donation of some of them is only possible if the organ remains in operation, having to be transplanted directly after the death while the organ remains alive.

The relative absence of life

The phenomenon of brain death not only tells us that the most important component to determine if a person is alive or not in brain activity .

In addition, it shows that the line that separates life from death is not as clear as one might think in a moment, and that it is something relative. If you had the right technical means, it would be possible to revive practically any person as long as the brain tissues did not deteriorate and a way to reactivate several groups of relevant neurons was found at the same time. Neither the absence of heartbeats is the objective signal that someone has left to not return, nor does it make sense that it is.

Bibliographic references:

  • Escudero, D. (2009). Diagnosis of encephalic death. Medicina Intensiva vol.33, 4. Intensive Medicine Service. Central University Hospital of Asturias.
  • Racine, E .; Amaram, R .; Seidler, M .; Karczewska, M. & Illes, J. (2008). Media coverage of the persistent vegetative state and end-of-lif e decision-making. Neurology, 23; 71 (13): 1027-32.
  • Wijdicks, E.F.M. (2001). The diagnosis of brain death. N. Engl. J. Med.344; 1215 - 21

Ways to Bring the Brain Dead ‘Back to Life’ (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la mort cérébrale? Est-ce irréversible?

Qu'est-ce que la mort cérébrale? Est-ce irréversible?

Janvier 26, 2020

Quand nous pensons à la mort, nous pensons généralement à un processus plus ou moins prolongé dans lequel notre cœur cesse de battre et nos poumons cessent de fonctionner. Le terme expire pour faire référence à la mort ou des expressions comme exhalant le dernier souffle sont une référence claire à cette façon de voir la mort.

Cependant, on sait aujourd'hui qu'il est possible que les fonctions cardiorespiratoires cessent et puissent toujours être maintenues en vie grâce à des supports mécaniques. Cependant, il existe un autre aspect qui reflète définitivement la mort d'une personne en tant que telle et la fin de l'activité cérébrale. Nous parlons de mort cérébrale .

  • Article connexe: "Le rôle de la psychologie dans les processus irréversibles: 5 attitudes envers la mort"

Qu'est-ce que la mort cérébrale?

On considère que la mort cérébrale d'une personne survient lorsque le Cessation complète et irréversible de toutes les fonctions cérébrales des hémisphères et du tronc cérébral. Il est important de prendre en compte les nuances de complet et irréversible, car différents types de lésions cérébrales sont susceptibles de provoquer des symptômes similaires qui peuvent être récupérables ou ne supposer qu'une cessation partielle des fonctions. Ainsi, pour diagnostiquer une mort cérébrale, il est nécessaire de certifier qu’il n’ya aucune possibilité de guérison, et pour cela, il est nécessaire de réaliser des tests de confirmation et l’application de protocoles hautement systématisés.


La mort cérébrale est généralement causée par des lésions cérébrales massives, surtout quand le tronc cérébral est blessé (responsable de la régulation d'aspects tels que la respiration et le rythme cardiaque). L'une des causes les plus fréquentes de mort cérébrale survient lorsque la pression intracrânienne dépasse la pression artérielle systolique, ce qui aboutit à la cessation de la circulation sanguine dans le cerveau. Dans cet état, le sang, généralement chargé en oxygène et en nutriments, n’atteint pas le cerveau et cesse donc de fonctionner en raison de l’hypoxie.

  • Article connexe: "Tronc de l'encéphale: fonctions et structures"

Diagnostic: aspects clés à vérifier

Diagnostiquer la mort cérébrale n'est pas facile et pour cela, il est nécessaire de prouver la non-existence de différentes fonctions cérébrales à travers différents protocoles. Plus précisément, il est stipulé qu'au moins deux médecins spécialistes différents doivent effectuer l'examen du patient, au moins deux examens physiques et deux électroencéphalogrammes séparés dans le temps.


Dans le cas des enfants de moins d'un an, la période d'observation est généralement plus longue, ce qui nécessite un niveau de vérification plus élevé et davantage de répétitions, car leur cerveau est plus immature et qu'il est plus coûteux d'effectuer un examen neurologique.

Pour diagnostiquer la mort cérébrale, il est essentiel de prendre en compte si le sujet se trouve dans des conditions permettant une telle vérification. Pour cela, l'organisme doit posséder une stabilité cardiaque respiratoire, soit naturellement, soit par des mécanismes artificiels, un niveau adéquat d'oxygénation du sang. et un niveau de température qui reflète l'absence d'hypothermie (qui peut provoquer des symptômes similaires à la mort cérébrale). Dans ce dernier aspect, le corps doit être au moins supérieur à 32 ° C.

Aussi il faut exclure que l'organisme est en état d'ébriété dues à des médicaments ou aux effets de médicaments psychotropes, étant donné que certaines substances peuvent provoquer une mort apparente, et même de nombreuses substances de type psycholeptique ou dépresseur peuvent être trompeuses en évitant de réagir à différentes stimulations. Les affections dues à des problèmes métaboliques, telles que le coma d'insuline, doivent également être exclues.


Une fois que ces aspects préalables à l'analyse neurologique sont pris en compte, les aspects suivants peuvent être analysés.

1. État de coma irréversible et irréversible

Afin de diagnostiquer la mort cérébrale, le sujet doit être dans le coma pour une cause connue et bien établis (aspects tels que ceux mentionnés ci-dessus de l'hypothermie ou de l'intoxication, par exemple). L'un des aspects principaux à vérifier est que le sujet en question ne réagit pas du tout à la stimulation. Pour vérifier cela, on applique des stimuli douloureux, tels que l'activation du nerf trijumeau, sans provoquer de réaction végétative ou motrice.

2. Activité cérébrale: encéphalogramme plat

À travers l'encéphalogramme l'activité bioélectrique cérébrale est mesurée . De cette manière, le fait qu'il apparaisse à plat indique qu'aucune activité cérébrale n'est enregistrée, ce qui montre que le système nerveux central a cessé d'agir. En plus de l'encéphalogramme, de nombreuses autres techniques de neuroimagerie peuvent être utilisées pour vérifier l'activité cérébrale, telles que les potentiels évoqués ou divers types de tomodensitométrie.

3Fonctions respiratoires dépendant d'éléments artificiels

Un des aspects prouvés lors de l’établissement de la mort cérébrale d’une personne est qu’elle ne peut pas respirer par elle-même. Pour ce faire, le test d'apnée est utilisé , à travers lequel la respiration artificielle est interrompue temporairement (après avoir oxygéné le sang) pour observer si l'individu respire tout seul par l'observation des mouvements respiratoires et la mesure de la pression partielle de dioxyde de carbone dans le sang des artères (paCO2).

Si aucun mouvement respiratoire n’est observé et que la paCO2 dépasse 60 mmHg (ce qui indique une stimulation maximale des centres respiratoires), on considère que le test donne un résultat positif en indiquant l’absence de respiration et en reconnectant le sujet à la respiration. artificiel

4. Absence de fonctions cardiaques propres

Vérifier que le cœur ne fonctionne pas tout seul sans aide mécanique, le test à l'atropine est appliqué, l'injection dans le sang alimente la substance qui donne son nom au test. Chez les sujets ayant leur propre rythme cardiaque, ladite injection supposerait une augmentation et une accélération du rythme cardiaque, avec laquelle l'absence de réaction est un indicateur négatif.

5. Absence de réflexes dérivés du tronc cérébral

Lorsque le cerveau meurt, les différents réflexes et réactions typiques aux différents types de stimuli cessent d'apparaître. Le tronc cérébral est la zone du cerveau qui régule les aspects les plus fondamentaux et fonctionne pour la vie, de sorte que les réflexes développés dans cette zone en supposent certaines des plus fondamentales, avec ce que son absence suggère l'existence mort cérébrale.

Une des réflexions à explorer est la réflexion photomotrice , c’est-à-dire si l’œil présente / affiche une réaction pupillaire au niveau de lumière (par exemple en focalisant une lampe de poche directement sur la pupille). En cas de mort cérébrale, il ne devrait y avoir aucun type de réaction à la stimulation lumineuse.

Un autre réflexe à prendre en compte est la cornée, dans laquelle il est observé s'il y a une réaction à la douleur et au frottement par une stimulation tactile par l'utilisation d'une gaze. Il introduit également des liquides froids dans l'oreille qui, chez les sujets cérébraux, provoqueraient une réaction sous forme de mouvement de l'œil (réflexe oculo-digestif). Le réflexe oculocéphale est également vérifié en tournant rapidement la tête du patient horizontalement pour vérifier s’il n’ya aucun mouvement oculaire

Outre les réflexes du système oculomoteur, il existe également des preuves de l’existence de réflexes liés aux nerfs qui régissent la bouche et le tube digestif. Par exemple, il est destiné à provoquer des nausées en stimulant le palais et la phalange. La trachée est également stimulée afin de tenter d'obtenir des réponses sous forme de toux ou de nausée. Dans tous les cas, s’il s’agit d’un cas de mort cérébrale, il ne devrait y avoir aucun type de réaction.

  • Article connexe: "Couples crâniens: les 12 nerfs qui quittent le cerveau"

La confusion entre la mort cérébrale et d'autres concepts

La mort cérébrale est un concept qui, bien que facile à comprendre au début, est souvent confondu avec d'autres termes. Le plus fréquent de tous est le concept de coma.

Bien qu'un coma puisse aboutir à la mort cérébrale du sujet et qu'en fait, pour que le diagnostic soit diagnostiqué, il est généralement nécessaire que le patient soit entré dans un coma irréversible, mais ce dernier n'est pas associé à la mort cérébrale.

Le patient dans le coma, bien que reste inconscient et est souvent incapable de répondre aux stimuli, continue d'avoir un certain niveau d'activité cérébrale ce qui signifie qu'il peut toujours être considéré comme vivant, même si un soutien vital est nécessaire pour que son cœur continue à pomper du sang et à la respiration artificielle. Bien qu’elle ne soit pas toujours réversible dans de nombreux cas, cette possibilité existe. Les personnes qui quittent cet État le font généralement entre les deux et quatre premières semaines, mais dans certains cas, le coma peut durer plusieurs décennies.

Un autre aspect lié peut être trouvé dans le syndrome de confinement . Dans ce syndrome étrange, le sujet ne présente aucun type de réaction stimulante, mais il est néanmoins pleinement conscient de ce qui se passe autour de lui. Dans certains cas, ils peuvent bouger les yeux. Il est généralement causé par des lésions du tronc cérébral résultant de lésions, d'une surdose, de problèmes ou d'accidents vasculaires.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Le duel: faire face à la perte d'un être cher"

Cas contradictoires: le retour des morts

Comme nous l'avons vu, l'une des principales caractéristiques de la mort cérébrale est son irréversibilité. Le diagnostic est posé après des contrôles très rigoureux, systématiques et stricts. Cependant, bien que cela ne soit pas très courant, certains cas de les personnes qui ont été considérées comme mort cérébrale et qui ont ensuite été réanimées .

L’explication de ce phénomène semble simple: bien que cela soit possible, il est extrêmement compliqué d’affirmer qu’un cerveau est irrécupérable, comme cela est parfois dû à l’hypothermie ou à la toxicomanie.De cette façon, certaines personnes qui n'étaient pas encore mortes cérébralement pourraient avoir été mal diagnostiquées.

Certaines des causes possibles de ce mauvais diagnostic peut être due à la modification des tests effectués en raison de la non prise en compte de certaines conditions du sujet (état de choc, hypothermie, consommation de médicaments ou de troubles métaboliques) ou d'une confusion avec des conditions similaires à la mort cérébrale mais sans l'atteindre.

Il pourrait être possible de constater que le cerveau meurt pendant une courte période et parvient à récupérer le patient si la raison de la cessation du fonctionnement est réversible et réactive le cerveau, mais en principe la mort cérébrale suppose de manière conceptuelle qu'il y a une irréversibilité dans cet état. Donc, du moins à présent (bien que cela ne semble pas probable à l'avenir, la recherche scientifique pourrait trouver des moyens de récupérer la fonctionnalité d'un cerveau déjà mort si elle est préservée): mort cérébrale signifie la fin de la vie en tant que telle .

Don d'organes

Une fois que la mort cérébrale du patient est diagnostiquée, vous pouvez procéder à la déconnexion du support de vie artificiel . Toutefois, si le patient a voulu faire don des organes ou si ses proches en ont donné l'autorisation, ces organes peuvent être extraits et transplantés, y compris ceux qui ont été artificiellement entretenus, tels que le cœur.

À cet égard, nous devons garder à l’esprit que le don de certains d’entre eux n’est possible que si l’organe reste en activité et doit être transplanté directement après le décès tant que l’organe reste en vie.

La relative absence de vie

Le phénomène de la mort cérébrale nous dit non seulement que l’élément le plus important pour déterminer si une personne est en vie ou non en activité cérébrale .

En outre, cela montre que la ligne qui sépare la vie de la mort n’est pas aussi claire qu’on pourrait le penser en un instant, et que c’est quelque chose de relatif. Si vous disposiez des moyens techniques adéquats, il serait possible de faire revivre pratiquement toute personne, à condition que les tissus cérébraux ne se détériorent pas et qu'un moyen de réactiver plusieurs groupes de neurones pertinents soit trouvé en même temps. Ni l’absence de battement de coeur n’est le signal objectif qu’une personne a laissé pour ne pas revenir, elle n’a aucun sens.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Escudero, D. (2009). Diagnostic de la mort encéphalique. Medicina Intensiva vol.33, 4. Service de médecine intensive. Hôpital Universitaire Central des Asturies.
  • Racine, E; Amaram, R .; Seidler, M .; Karczewska, M. et Illes, J. (2008). Couverture médiatique de l'état végétatif persistant et de la prise de décision en fin de vie. Neurology, 23; 71 (13): 1027-32.
  • Wijdicks, E.F.M. (2001). Le diagnostic de mort cérébrale. N. Engl. J. Med. 344; 1215 - 21

La Mort Documentaire Paranormal choc (Janvier 2020).


Articles Connexes