yes, therapy helps!
What is forgetfulness and why do we forget important things?

What is forgetfulness and why do we forget important things?

October 16, 2021

What did you have dinner last night? When was the last time you cried? What did you do on the morning of April 15, 2008? How did you celebrate your third birthday? Surely you have not been able to answer all these questions. What is the reason for this kind of forgetting?

Let's see what are the neuropsychological mechanisms that explain this phenomenon.

What is forgetting?

The memories are not permanent, since they are kept in a tissue that changes continuously in which some neurons die and certain connections change or weaken. This supposes not only that we can lose the accessibility of the stored information, but also its availability in our cognitive system.


What is the difference between the two concepts? According to Endel Tulving, accessibility refers to the ease with which a stored memory can be recovered at a certain time, while availability refers to the presence or not of a trace in the memory store.

Thus, an experience may seem lost in its entirety only because there is no adequate recovery key that evokes the memory. This would imply an inaccessibility of the information at the time of recovery, but not necessarily a loss of availability, so it could be recovered at another time.

Types of forgetting

Attending to the studies carried out on memory, two types of forgetting are distinguished: intentional forgetting and incidental forgetting . The first undertakes processes or behaviors that intentionally decrease accessibility with some purpose, while the second occurs without the intention of forgetting. This article will focus on the latter, showing some factors that encourage and diminish it.


Factors that encourage incidental forgetting

Now, what factors influence when we simply forget some relevant data?

1. Passage of time

The curve of oblivion (described by Ebbinghaus), shows a logarithmic decrease in memory retention based on elapsed time (known as footprint decay). That is, as time passes we remember less information.

However, it is impossible to control factors such as the recall of memories or the storage of new experiences, which generates interferences, being difficult to demonstrate empirically the effect of time per se.

Other factors to consider are the fluctuations of the context and the interference.

2. Context fluctuations

When the incidental context of recovery does not correspond to the context present during coding , forgetfulness is more likely. Over time, contextual changes are, in general, greater, since the world changes and so do we. An example is the case of childhood amnesia, which refers to the difficulty that most people have to remember the first years of life.


One possible cause is that children experience things very differently from the adults they become in, things seem relatively larger in childhood. (However, the maturational process in which they find themselves must be taken into account, since they have not yet developed the brain as an adult).

3. Interference

The interference refers to the difficulty of recovering similar stored strokes. We are able to remember with greater ease and for more time experiences that are unique and easily differentiable. Thus, sticking to routines makes life remember less .

Interference becomes greater when the key that allowed access to the object memory trace is associated with additional memories, because several items compete with the objective of accessing consciousness (competition assumption). That is, if we store information similar to the consolidated one, it is more difficult to access it. For example, the memory of a summer. We will remember more easily the year we visited the village of our neighbor (unique experience) than the summer in which we went to ours, since in the second case, going every year, it will be difficult to discern what happened specifically in each one.

4. Presentation of part of the keys of the set

When part of a set of items is presented, the ability to remember the remaining items of the group is weakened.

This is due to exposure to one or more competing items , which aggravates the problems we find to recover a certain objective memory. The logic, following the situation of interference described above, is as follows: if the presentation of some items of the set strengthens the association of those items with the key, the strengthened items will produce greater competition during the recovery of the items not presented and will damage the memory.

For example, when we do not remember a word (we have it "on the tip of the tongue") it is not beneficial for our acquaintances to offer us a wide list of terms since they will promote the accessibility of the same, but not the word in question .

5. Recovery

A paradoxical characteristic of human memory is that the very fact of remembering causes forgetfulness. The intentional recovery of an experience produces an effect on memory.

If memories recover periodically, their resistance to oblivion increases . However, we must be cautious about what is being recovered, because if we recover the experience on several occasions, perhaps we are evoking the memory of what we have recovered previously (with its own context and details), and not the original situation.

This means that the more often we recover an experience, the more recovery events will exist in our memory. As long as the information retrieved is more and more accurate and complete, the process will improve recall. However, if the memories are incomplete or inaccurate (due to interferences made during attempts to reconstruct the event), what we remember might not be what originally happened.

For example, when reviewing selectively only some subjects that enter for an examination (due to lack of time), the material not reviewed will be damaged, especially if it is related to the revised one.

What factors stop incidental forgetting?

Jost's Law says that if two memories are equally strong at a certain time, the oldest will be more durable and will be forgotten more slowly. Thus, it is widely accepted that, in principle, the new strokes are more vulnerable until little by little they are recorded in the memory through the consolidation process.

Types of consolidation

There are two types of consolidation: synaptic consolidation and systematic . The first shows that the imprint of the experience needs time to consolidate (hours / days ...) because it requires structural changes in the synaptic connections between neurons. In this way, until they have been produced, the memory is vulnerable.

The second hypothesis is that the hippocampus is necessary for memory storage and subsequent recovery (as it constantly reactivates the brain areas involved in the initial experience), but its contribution decreases over time until the moment in which the cortex itself is capable of recovering information. Until the memory fails to be independent of the hippocampus, it is more vulnerable to oblivion.

Bibliographic references:

  • Baddeley, A., Eysenck, M.W., & Anderson, M.C. (2010). Memory. Alliance.

Forgetting is a part of memory | Richard Morris | TEDxMadrid (October 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'oubli et pourquoi oublions-nous des choses importantes?

Qu'est-ce que l'oubli et pourquoi oublions-nous des choses importantes?

Mai 27, 2022

Qu'est-ce que vous avez dîné hier soir? Quand as-tu pleuré pour la dernière fois? Qu'avez-vous fait le matin du 15 avril 2008? Comment avez-vous célébré votre troisième anniversaire? Vous n’avez sûrement pas été en mesure de répondre à toutes ces questions. Quelle est la raison de ce genre d'oubli?

Voyons quels sont les mécanismes neuropsychologiques qui expliquent ce phénomène.

Qu'est-ce que l'oubli?

Les souvenirs ne sont pas permanents, car ils sont conservés dans un tissu qui change continuellement, dans lequel certains neurones meurent et certaines connexions changent ou s'affaiblissent. Cela suppose non seulement que nous puissions perdre l'accessibilité des informations stockées, mais également leur disponibilité dans notre système cognitif.


Quelle est la différence entre les deux concepts? Selon Endel Tulving, l’accessibilité fait référence à la facilité avec laquelle une mémoire stockée peut être récupérée à un moment donné, tandis que la disponibilité fait référence à la présence ou non d’une trace dans la mémoire.

Ainsi, une expérience peut sembler perdue dans son intégralité uniquement car il n’existe pas de clé de récupération adéquate évoquant la mémoire. Cela impliquerait une inaccessibilité des informations au moment de la récupération, mais pas nécessairement une perte de disponibilité, de sorte qu'elles pourraient être récupérées à un autre moment.

Types d'oubli

En ce qui concerne les études sur la mémoire, on distingue deux types d’oubli: l’oubli intentionnel et l’oubli accidentel. . Le premier entreprend des processus ou des comportements qui réduisent intentionnellement l'accessibilité dans un but précis, tandis que le second se déroule sans intention d'oubli. Cet article se concentrera sur ce dernier, en montrant quelques facteurs qui l’encouragent et le diminuent.


Facteurs qui encouragent l'oubli accidentel

Maintenant, quels facteurs influencent lorsque nous oublions simplement des données pertinentes?

1. passage du temps

La courbe de l'oubli (décrite par Ebbinghaus), montre une diminution logarithmique de la rétention de la mémoire en fonction du temps écoulé (connu comme l'empreinte de l'empreinte). Autrement dit, au fil du temps, nous nous souvenons de moins d’informations.

Cependant, il est impossible de contrôler des facteurs tels que le rappel de mémoires ou le stockage de nouvelles expériences, ce qui génère des interférences, étant difficile à démontrer empiriquement l'effet du temps en soi.

Les autres facteurs à prendre en compte sont les fluctuations du contexte et les interférences.

2. Fluctuations de contexte

Lorsque le contexte incident de reprise ne correspond pas au contexte présent lors du codage , l'oubli est plus probable. Au fil du temps, les changements contextuels sont en général plus grands, car le monde change et nous aussi. L'amnésie infantile en est un exemple. Il s'agit de la difficulté que la plupart des gens ont à se souvenir des premières années de leur vie.


Une des causes possibles est que les enfants vivent des choses très différentes de celles des adultes, les choses semblent relativement plus grandes dans leur enfance. (Cependant, le processus de maturation dans lequel ils se trouvent doit être pris en compte, car ils n'ont pas encore développé le cerveau à l'âge adulte).

3. interférence

L'interférence fait référence à la difficulté de récupérer des courses stockées similaires. Nous sommes en mesure de nous souvenir avec plus de facilité et pour plus de temps, d’expériences uniques et facilement différenciables. Pour lui, s'en tenir aux routines rend la vie rappelle moins .

Les interférences deviennent plus importantes lorsque la clé permettant d'accéder à la trace de la mémoire de l'objet est associée à des mémoires supplémentaires, car plusieurs éléments entrent en concurrence avec l'objectif d'accès à la conscience (hypothèse de concurrence). Autrement dit, si nous stockons des informations similaires à celles consolidées, il est plus difficile d’y accéder. Par exemple, le souvenir d'un été. Nous nous souviendrons plus facilement de l’année où nous avons visité le village de notre voisin (expérience unique) que de l’été où nous nous sommes rendus dans le nôtre, car dans le deuxième cas, chaque année, il sera difficile de discerner ce qui s’est passé spécifiquement dans chacun d’eux.

4. Présentation d'une partie des clés de l'ensemble

Lorsqu'une partie d'un ensemble d'éléments est présentée, la capacité de se souvenir des éléments restants du groupe est affaiblie.

Cela est dû à l'exposition à un ou plusieurs objets en concurrence , ce qui aggrave les problèmes rencontrés pour retrouver une certaine mémoire objective. La logique, à la suite de la situation d’interférence décrite ci-dessus, est la suivante: si la présentation de certains éléments de l’ensemble renforce la liaison de ces éléments avec la clé, les éléments renforcés produiront une plus grande concurrence lors de la récupération des éléments non présentés et endommageront la souvenir.

Par exemple, lorsque nous ne nous souvenons pas d’un mot (nous l’avons "sur le bout de la langue"), il n’est pas avantageux pour nos connaissances de nous offrir une large liste de termes, car ils favoriseront l’accessibilité du même, mais pas le mot en question. .

5. récupération

Une caractéristique paradoxale de la mémoire humaine est que le fait même de se souvenir provoque l’oubli. La récupération intentionnelle d'une expérience produit un effet sur la mémoire.

Si les mémoires se rétablissent périodiquement, leur résistance à l'oubli augmente . Cependant, nous devons faire attention à ce qui est récupéré, car si nous récupérons l'expérience à plusieurs reprises, nous évoquerons peut-être le souvenir de ce que nous avons récupéré précédemment (avec son propre contexte et ses détails), et non la situation d'origine.

Cela signifie que plus nous récupérons une expérience, plus nombreux seront les événements de récupération dans notre mémoire. Tant que les informations récupérées sont de plus en plus précises et complètes, le processus améliorera le rappel. Toutefois, si les mémoires sont incomplètes ou inexactes (en raison d'interférences effectuées lors de tentatives de reconstruction de l'événement), ce dont nous nous souvenons peut ne pas être ce qui s'est passé à l'origine.

Par exemple, lorsqu’on examine de manière sélective seulement certains sujets qui entrent pour un examen (faute de temps), le matériel non examiné sera endommagé, en particulier s’il est lié au texte révisé.

Quels facteurs empêchent l'oubli accidentel?

La loi de Jost dit que si deux mémoires sont également fortes à un certain moment, les plus anciennes seront plus durables et seront oubliées plus lentement. Ainsi, il est largement admis que, en principe, les nouveaux accidents vasculaires cérébraux sont plus vulnérables jusqu'à ce qu'ils soient enregistrés petit à petit dans la mémoire à travers le processus de consolidation.

Types de consolidation

Il existe deux types de consolidation: la consolidation synaptique et la consolidation systématique. . La première montre que l'empreinte de l'expérience a besoin de temps pour se consolider (heures / jours ...) car elle nécessite des changements structurels dans les connexions synaptiques entre les neurones. De cette façon, jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient été produits, la mémoire est vulnérable.

La deuxième hypothèse est que l'hippocampe est nécessaire au stockage de la mémoire et à la récupération ultérieure (car il réactive en permanence les zones du cerveau impliquées dans l'expérience initiale), mais sa contribution diminue avec le temps jusqu'au moment où le cortex lui-même est capable de récupérer des informations. Jusqu'à ce que la mémoire ne soit pas indépendante de l'hippocampe, elle est plus vulnérable à l'oubli.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Baddeley, A., Eysenck, M.W., & Anderson, M.C. (2010). La mémoire Alliance

Top 6 des petits secrets que les dentistes ne partagent pas avec leurs patients (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes