yes, therapy helps!
What is frustration and how does it affect our lives?

What is frustration and how does it affect our lives?

May 10, 2021

Frustration: we define the concept and explain how to avoid falling into its clutches.

You hear a lot in the day to day, in the media. "The coach ended up frustrated when he could not overcome the match", "He felt a strong sense of frustration at not being able to achieve that position", etc.

But, What exactly is the frustration and what implications does it have for our success in the labor and personal field?

Frustration: defining the concept

The concept of frustration is defined as the feeling that is generated in an individual when he can not satisfy a desire raised . Faced with this type of situation, the person usually reacts emotionally with expressions of anger, anxiety or dysphoria, mainly.


Considering as an inherent aspect of human life the fact of assuming the impossibility of achieving everything that one desires and at the moment in which one yearns, The key point lies in the ability to manage and accept this discrepancy between the ideal and the real . Thus, the origin of the problem is not found in external situations in themselves, but in the way in which the individual confronts them. It is understood, from this perspective, that the frustration is composed of both a real situation that occurred as well as the emotional experience developed from that situation.

How to deal successfully with the feeling of frustration?

Proper management of frustration becomes an attitude and, as such, it can be worked and developed; frustration is a transitory state and, therefore, reversible . In this way, an adequate management of frustration consists in training the individual in the acceptance of both the external event -what has happened- and the internal -the emotional experience of it-.


  • Related article: "Intolerance to frustration: 5 tricks and strategies to combat it"

Frustration can be categorized as a primary or instinctive response . It is a reaction that naturally shows an emotionally unpleasant state when the occurrence of interference occurs in the pursuit of a proposed objective.

This is the approach proposed by authors such as Dollard, Miler, Mower and Sears in 1938, giving rise to a new field of research on this previously little explored subject. The intensity of the frustration reaction can vary substantially, to the point of causing impairments even at a cognitive level in situations of high severity, such as the appearance of alterations in memory capacity, attention or perception.

What is low tolerance to frustration?

People who usually react by expressing frustration are attributed a functional feature called Low tolerance to frustration . This style seems to be more prevalent in the current western society, where most of the phenomena that compose it are based on immediacy and inability to wait.


Individuals who present this way of doing are also characterized by having a rigid and inflexible reasoning, with little ability to adapt to unscheduled changes. On the other hand, often have a series of distorted cognitions that do not fit the reality , due to which they interpret as unbearable the duty to deal with more unpleasant emotions such as anger or sadness and leads them, on the other hand, to elaborate a series of previous expectations far from rational, disproportionate and extremely demanding.

Studies that link frustration with violent behavior

The study conducted by Barker, Dembo and Lewin in 1941 proved the link between frustration and aggression and it showed how determining the expectations generated by the individual are prior to the potentially frustrating situation.

Subsequently, Berkowitz qualified these initial findings and included other modulating aspects in the aggression-frustration relationship, namely, the motivations of the subject, the attitude of this person facing the problem, his past experiences and the cognitive-emotional interpretation carried out on his own reaction.

How do people with low frustration tolerance behave?

Generally and in a synthesized way, people who have an operation based on a low tolerance to frustration have the following characteristics :

1. They have difficulty controlling emotions.

2. They are more impulsive, impatient and demanding.

3. They seek to meet their needs immediately, so that when they have to face the wait or the postponement of these can react explosively with attacks of anger or extreme withdrawal and sadness.

4. They can develop pictures of anxiety or depression more easily than other individuals in the face of conflicts or great difficulties.

5.They believe that everything revolves around them and that they deserve everything they demand, so that they feel any limit as unfair since it goes against their wishes. They find it hard to understand why they are not given everything they want.

6. They have a low capacity for flexibility and adaptability.

7. They manifest a tendency to think in a radical way: a thing is white or black, there is no middle point.

8. They are easily demotivated in the face of any difficulty.

9. They make emotional blackmail if they do not fulfill what they want immediately, manipulating the other person with hurtful messages.

What factors can cause it?

From among the factors that can predispose and / or precipitate the appearance of a disturbance of low tolerance to frustration The following are distinguished:

  • The temperament : the most internal, biological and genetic dispositions such as temperament distinguish individuals in their innate abilities, among which tolerance to frustration may be included.
  • Social conditions : depending on the social and cultural environment in which it is circumscribed, the person significantly influences personal and interpersonal functioning. Studies show that in Western society the occurrence of this type of problem is significantly higher than in other cultures.
  • Certain difficulties in emotional expression : a restricted vocabulary, a deficit in the ability to identify and recognize experienced emotions and a mistaken belief that the manifestation of unpleasant emotions is harmful and should be avoided, correlate positively with a persistent operation of low tolerance to frustration.
  • Some models that show deficits in self-control: in the case of minors, they learn a large part of their behavioral repertoire based on what is observed in their referent figures. Parental models scarcely skilled in the management of frustration transmit their children that same incompetence.
  • A misinterpretation of the signals : the subject can assess the frustrating situation as intensely threatening and dangerous, making an adequate coping more complex.
  • The reward for delayed action : Every attempt on the part of the individual to carry out a self-controlled and delayed response must be reinforced in order that this behavior may acquire strength and increase its frequency.

Learning frustration tolerance (and the REPT model)

Tolerance to frustration is a learning that must be consolidated already during early stages of child development .

Very young children do not yet have the capacity to wait or to understand that not everything can happen immediately. Thus, the procedure that usually operates when a low frustration tolerance operation is applied starts at the moment when the child can not dispose of what he wants and manifests a reaction of exaggerated catastrophism for that reason.

Then, given his interpretation of this situation as something unbearable, he begins to generate a series of self-directed internal verbalizations of rejection ("I do not want to do / wait ..."), punitive (blaming others), catastrophic valuations of the situation ("it is unbearable "), Demands (" it's not fair that ... "), self-deprecation (" I hate myself ").

After this phase, emerge responses at behavioral level in the form of tantrums, cries, complaints, oppositional behavior or other similar manifestations. In this way, it is understood that there is a bidirectional relationship between the feeling of frustration and the negative interpretation of the situation where both elements reciprocally feed each other.

From childhood to adolescence and adulthood

All this, can be perpetuated until adulthood if the person has not been instructed in learning about modifying cognitive schemes and emotional interpretations that facilitate the adoption of a more tolerant and flexible style.

Among the main measures that are usually part of the training to promote an adequate tolerance to frustration are components such as relaxation techniques, learning in the identification of emotions, indication of specific instructions on when the child should ask for help in a given situation , conducting controlled behavioral trials in which potential scenarios are simulated, positive reinforcement of the achievements made by the child and acquisition of alternative behaviors incompatible with the reaction of frustration.

Therapies and psychological strategies to combat it

On the techniques and psychological strategies that are used as a resource to consolidate this type of learning in the parental-filial field, an adaptation of the Rational Emotive Therapy of Albert Ellis has been proposed: the "Rational Emotive Parental Training (REPT)" model.

The REPT is a useful tool that helps parents better understand how emotions work , what purpose they have and how they relate to the cognitions and interpretations that are generated after an experienced situation.It becomes a guide to apply in relation to children's problems as well as a self-application for adults.

More specifically, the objectives of the REPT are to provide parents with relevant information about the model that explains emotional regulation so that they can transmit this knowledge to their children and serve as a guide to use in potentially destabilizing situations, achieving an adequate management of the emotions aroused. On the other hand, is an instrument that offers a set of information that enables them to detect erroneous applied educational guidelines , as well as a greater understanding of the motivations that underlie the child's behavior. Finally, this proposal aims to facilitate the internalization of a more active operation in relation to coping and solving problems more efficiently.

The main contents included in this novel and effective model are the components: parental psychoeducation in the proper management of one's emotions that facilitate a correct educational practice and in the self-acceptance that moves them away from stigmatizing situations, training in alternative responses to frustration centered in a state of calm where the reasons for why children's demand can not be met are reasonably explained, the exercise of empathic capacity by both parties facilitates the understanding of the other and the application of the principles of Behavior Modification theories (positive / negative reinforcement and positive / negative punishment), fundamentally.

In conclusion

In conclusion, it has been observed how the phenomenon of frustration becomes a set of learned reactions that can be modified with the establishment of new alternative cognitive-behavioral repertoires.

These learnings are a very important part of the set of aspects to integrate during the child development, since they are at the base of a non-active functioning in the resolution of problems and potentially complex situations in later stages; of a general attitude of loss of motivation that can hinder the attainment of diverse life goals; and of a tendency to manifest unrealistic cognitive schemes and close to the catastrophization of experienced situations.

For all these reasons, it seems essential to carry out a joint family work from early times that prevents the appearance of this behavioral style so little adaptive.

Bibliographic references:

  • Barker, R., Dembo, T., and Lewin, K. (1941). Frustration and Regression: An Experiment with Young Children. (University of Iowa Studies in Child Welfare, XVIII, No. 1.).
  • Dollard, J., Miller, N.E., Doob, L.W., Mowrer, O. H. and Sears, R. R. (1939). Frustration and aggression. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
  • Ellis, A. Bernard, M. E. (2006). "Rational Emotive Behavioral approaches to childhood disorder". Springer Science and Business Media, Inc.
  • GarcĂ­a Castro, J.L. (s.f.). Children with low tolerance for frustration.

Is Life Freaking You Out? The Reason People Lose Their Balance - Sadhguru (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la frustration et comment cela affecte-t-il nos vies?

Qu'est-ce que la frustration et comment cela affecte-t-il nos vies?

Février 18, 2019

Frustration: nous définissons le concept et expliquons comment éviter de tomber dans ses griffes.

Vous entendez beaucoup de choses au quotidien, dans les médias. "L'entraîneur a fini par être frustré quand il n'a pas pu surmonter le match", "Il ressentait un fort sentiment de frustration de ne pas pouvoir obtenir cette position", etc.

Mais Quelle est exactement la frustration et quelles sont les implications pour notre succès dans le domaine du travail et des personnes?

Frustration: définir le concept

Le concept de frustration est défini comme le sentiment qui est généré chez un individu quand il ne peut pas satisfaire un désir élevé . Face à ce type de situation, la personne réagit généralement de manière émotionnelle avec des expressions de colère, d'anxiété ou de dysphorie, principalement.


Considérant comme un aspect inhérent de la vie humaine le fait d'assumer l'impossibilité de réaliser tout ce que l'on désire et au moment où l'on aspire, Le point clé réside dans la capacité à gérer et à accepter cet écart entre l'idéal et le réel. . Ainsi, l'origine du problème ne se trouve pas dans les situations extérieures en elles-mêmes, mais dans la manière dont l'individu les affronte. De ce point de vue, il est entendu que la frustration est composée à la fois d’une situation réelle survenue et de l’expérience émotionnelle développée à partir de cette situation.

Comment gérer avec succès le sentiment de frustration?

Une bonne gestion de la frustration devient une attitude et, en tant que telle, elle peut être travaillée et développée. la frustration est un état transitoire et donc réversible . De cette manière, une gestion adéquate de la frustration consiste à former l'individu à accepter à la fois l'événement externe - ce qui s'est passé - et l'expérience interne - l'expérience émotionnelle de celui-ci -.


  • Article connexe: "Intolérance à la frustration: 5 astuces et stratégies pour la combattre"

La frustration peut être classée comme une réponse primaire ou instinctive . C'est une réaction qui montre naturellement un état émotionnellement désagréable lorsque se produit une ingérence dans la poursuite d'un objectif proposé.

Telle est l’approche proposée par des auteurs tels que Dollard, Miler, Mower et Sears en 1938, donnant lieu à un nouveau champ de recherche sur ce sujet auparavant peu exploré. L'intensité de la réaction de frustration peut varier considérablement, au point de causer des déficiences, même au niveau cognitif dans des situations de gravité élevée, telles que l'apparition d'altérations de la capacité de mémoire, de l'attention ou de la perception.

Qu'est-ce qu'une faible tolérance à la frustration?

Les personnes qui réagissent généralement en exprimant leur frustration se voient attribuer une fonction fonctionnelle appelée faible tolérance à la frustration . Ce style semble être plus répandu dans la société occidentale actuelle, où la plupart des phénomènes qui le composent sont basés sur l'immédiateté et l'incapacité d'attendre.


Les personnes qui présentent cette façon de faire se caractérisent également par un raisonnement rigide et inflexible, avec une faible capacité d'adaptation aux changements imprévus. D'autre part, ont souvent une série de cognitions déformées qui ne correspondent pas à la réalité , raison pour laquelle ils considèrent comme insupportable le devoir de gérer des émotions plus déplaisantes telles que la colère ou la tristesse et les amènent, d'autre part, à élaborer une série d'attentes antérieures loin d'être rationnelles, démesurées et extrêmement exigeantes.

Études associant frustration et comportement violent

L’étude menée par Barker, Dembo et Lewin en 1941 prouvé le lien entre frustration et agression et il a montré à quel point les attentes générées par l'individu sont déterminantes avant la situation potentiellement frustrante.

Par la suite, Berkowitz a nuancé ces conclusions initiales et inclus d'autres aspects modulateurs dans la relation agression-frustration, à savoir les motivations du sujet, l'attitude de cette personne face au problème, ses expériences passées et l'interprétation cognitive-émotionnelle effectuée sur sa propre réaction.

Comment se comportent les personnes ayant une faible tolérance à la frustration?

Généralement et de manière synthétique, les personnes qui subissent une opération basée sur une faible tolérance à la frustration présentent les caractéristiques suivantes :

1. Ils ont du mal à contrôler leurs émotions.

2. Ils sont plus impulsifs, impatients et exigeants.

3. Ils cherchent à subvenir immédiatement à leurs besoins, afin de pouvoir réagir de manière explosive lorsqu'ils sont confrontés à l'attente ou au report de ceux-ci, avec des accès de colère ou un repli sur soi extrême et de la tristesse.

4. Ils peuvent développer des images d'anxiété ou de dépression plus facilement que d'autres personnes face à des conflits ou de grandes difficultés.

5Ils croient que tout tourne autour d’eux et qu’ils méritent tout ce qu’ils exigent, de sorte qu’ils estiment que toute limite est injuste, car cela va à l’encontre de leurs souhaits. Ils ont du mal à comprendre pourquoi on ne leur donne pas tout ce qu'ils veulent.

6. Ils ont une faible capacité de flexibilité et d’adaptabilité.

7. Ils manifestent une tendance à penser de manière radicale: une chose est blanche ou noire, il n'y a pas de milieu.

8. Ils sont facilement démotivés face à toute difficulté.

9. Ils font un chantage émotionnel s'ils ne remplissent pas immédiatement ce qu'ils veulent, manipulant l'autre personne avec des messages blessants.

Quels facteurs peuvent le causer?

Entre les facteurs qui peuvent prédisposer et / ou précipiter l'apparition d'une perturbation de faible tolérance à la frustration On distingue:

  • Le tempérament : les dispositions les plus internes, biologiques et génétiques, telles que le tempérament, distinguent les individus par leurs capacités innées, parmi lesquelles la tolérance à la frustration peut être incluse.
  • Conditions sociales : en fonction de l'environnement social et culturel dans lequel elle est circonscrite, la personne influe considérablement sur son fonctionnement personnel et interpersonnel. Des études montrent que dans la société occidentale, ce type de problème est beaucoup plus répandu que dans les autres cultures.
  • Certaines difficultés d'expression émotionnelle : un vocabulaire restreint, un manque de capacité à identifier et à reconnaître les émotions vécues et une croyance erronée selon laquelle la manifestation d’émotions désagréables est néfaste et doit être évitée, en corrélation positive avec une opération persistante de faible tolérance à la frustration.
  • Certains modèles montrent des déficits de maîtrise de soi: dans le cas des mineurs, ils apprennent une grande partie de leur répertoire comportemental en se basant sur ce qui est observé dans leurs chiffres de référence. Les modèles parentaux peu qualifiés pour gérer la frustration transmettent à leurs enfants la même incompétence.
  • Une mauvaise interprétation des signaux : le sujet peut juger la situation frustrante comme extrêmement menaçante et dangereuse, rendant la gestion adéquate plus complexe.
  • La récompense pour l'action retardée : Toute tentative de la part de l'individu d'effectuer une réponse autocontrôlée et différée doit être renforcée afin que ce comportement puisse acquérir de la force et augmenter sa fréquence.

Apprendre la tolérance à la frustration (et le modèle REPT)

La tolérance à la frustration est un apprentissage qui doit être consolidé dès les premières étapes du développement de l'enfant. .

Les très jeunes enfants n'ont pas encore la capacité d'attendre ou de comprendre que tout ne peut pas arriver tout de suite. Ainsi, la procédure qui s’applique généralement lorsqu’une opération de tolérance à la frustration faible est appliquée commence au moment où l’enfant ne peut pas disposer de ce qu’il veut et manifeste une réaction de catastrophisme exagéré pour cette raison.

Puis, compte tenu de son interprétation de cette situation comme insupportable, il commence à générer une série de verbalisations internes de rejet auto-dirigées ("je ne veux pas faire / attendre ..."), punitives (accuser les autres), évaluations catastrophiques de la situation ("c'est insupportable "), Demandes (" Ce n'est pas juste que ... "), auto-dépréciation de soi (" Je me déteste ").

Après cette phase, émerger des réponses au niveau comportemental sous forme de crises de colère, de pleurs, de plaintes, de comportements d'opposition ou d'autres manifestations similaires. De cette manière, il est entendu qu'il existe une relation bidirectionnelle entre le sentiment de frustration et l'interprétation négative de la situation où les deux éléments se nourrissent mutuellement.

De l'enfance à l'adolescence et à l'âge adulte

Tout cela, peut être perpétué jusqu'à l'âge adulte si la personne n'a pas appris à modifier les schémas cognitifs et des interprétations émotionnelles qui facilitent l'adoption d'un style plus tolérant et flexible.

Parmi les principales mesures faisant généralement partie de la formation visant à promouvoir une tolérance adéquate à la frustration figurent des éléments tels que les techniques de relaxation, l'apprentissage de l'identification des émotions, l'indication d'instructions spécifiques sur le moment où l'enfant devrait demander de l'aide dans une situation donnée. , conduisant des essais comportementaux contrôlés dans lesquels des scénarios potentiels sont simulés, un renforcement positif des réalisations de l'enfant et l'acquisition de comportements alternatifs incompatibles avec la réaction de frustration.

Thérapies et stratégies psychologiques pour le combattre

En ce qui concerne les techniques et stratégies psychologiques utilisées pour consolider ce type d’apprentissage dans le domaine parent-filial, une adaptation de la thérapie émotive rationnelle d’Albert Ellis a été proposée: le modèle de la "formation parentale émotive rationnelle (REPT)".

Le REPT est un outil utile qui aide les parents à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des émotions. , quel est leur but et comment ils se rapportent aux cognitions et aux interprétations générées après une situation vécue.Cela devient un guide à appliquer en ce qui concerne les problèmes des enfants, ainsi qu'une auto-application pour les adultes.

Plus spécifiquement, les objectifs du REPT sont de fournir aux parents des informations pertinentes sur le modèle qui explique la régulation émotionnelle afin qu’ils puissent transmettre ces connaissances à leurs enfants et servir de guide pour une utilisation dans des situations potentiellement déstabilisantes, permettant ainsi une gestion adéquate les émotions suscitées. D'autre part, est un instrument qui offre un ensemble d'informations qui leur permet de détecter des directives pédagogiques appliquées erronées , ainsi qu’une meilleure compréhension des motivations qui sous-tendent le comportement de l’enfant. Enfin, cette proposition vise à faciliter l’internalisation d’une opération plus active visant à faire face aux problèmes et à les résoudre plus efficacement.

Les principaux contenus de ce modèle novateur et efficace sont les suivants: psychoéducation parentale pour bien gérer ses émotions qui facilitent une pratique éducative correcte et acceptation de soi qui les éloigne des situations de stigmatisation, formation à des réponses alternatives à la frustration dans un état de calme où les raisons pour lesquelles la demande des enfants ne peut être satisfaite sont raisonnablement expliquées, l'exercice de la capacité d'empathie par les deux parties facilite la compréhension de l'autre et l'application des principes des théories de la modification du comportement (renforcement positif / négatif et punition positive / négative), fondamentalement.

En guise de conclusion

En conclusion, il a été observé que le phénomène de frustration devient un ensemble de réactions apprises pouvant être modifiées avec l’établissement de nouveaux répertoires alternatifs cognitivo-comportementaux.

Ces apprentissages constituent une partie très importante de l’ensemble des aspects à intégrer au cours du développement de l’enfant, car ils sont à la base d'un fonctionnement non actif dans la résolution de problèmes et des situations potentiellement complexes dans les étapes ultérieures; d'une attitude générale de perte de motivation pouvant entraver la réalisation de divers objectifs de la vie; et d'une tendance à manifester des schémas cognitifs irréalistes et proches de la catastrophisation des situations vécues.

Pour toutes ces raisons, il semble indispensable de réaliser dès le début un travail familial commun qui empêche l’apparition de ce style comportemental si peu adaptatif.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Barker, R., Dembo, T. et Lewin, K. (1941). Frustration et régression: une expérience avec de jeunes enfants. (Etudes de l'Université de l'Iowa sur le bien-être de l'enfant, XVIII, n ° 1.).
  • Dollard, J., Miller, N. E., Doob, L. W., Mowrer, O. H. et Sears, R. R. (1939). Frustration et agression. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press.
  • Ellis, A. Bernard, M. E. (2006). "Approches comportementales émotionnelles rationnelles du désordre d'enfance". Springer Science et Business Media, Inc.
  • García Castro, J.L. (par exemple). Enfants peu tolérants à la frustration.

Faut-il rester ensemble pour les enfants? (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes