yes, therapy helps!
What is gender equity?

What is gender equity?

May 6, 2021

There are many theoretical concepts that try to establish certain criteria when evaluating and promulgating equality between people. One of them is the concept of gender equality , that today we will try to describe and know in depth.

Equity and gender

Fairness, justice and equality are the parts on which the concept of equity is based, on the other hand, the way to associate and group individuals who share at least one or more characteristics is gender.

Gender equality and equity

"The different behaviors, aspirations and needs of women and men are considered, valued and favored in the same way"


-ABC of women workers for gender equality; Geneva, 2000, p. 47-48

Equality between men and women is protected by gender equity in the use of social services and goods . Which means suppressing discrimination between the sexes and not favoring, preferably, the man over the woman in the aspects that make up social life, as happened, in a usual way, decades ago in the whole of Western society.

Conditions for gender equity

"The rights, responsibilities and opportunities of each one will not depend on whether the person is a man or a woman"

However, in order for gender equity to occur, two essential circumstances must be generated. On one side, equality of opportunities and on the other create a series of conditions to take advantage of these opportunities .


We must bear in mind that gender equity means creating standards for those existing opportunities and distributing them fairly between both sexes . Men and women must have the same opportunities for development in all aspects; on a personal level, the opportunity to grow, realize oneself and be happy, as in the workplace. The state, therefore, must ensure that resources are allocated proportionally.

"Men and women will be treated with justice according to their own needs. The treatment given to each one may be different but equivalent in terms of rights, benefits, obligations, and opportunities. "

Gender equity at work

The woman can not have a lower remuneration with respect to the man at the time of performing the same functions as far as the labor scope is concerned, they must obtain the same according to their merits and one gender should not be favored to the detriment of the other . Regardless of gender, equal remuneration must be received in the same job, with the same responsibilities and obligations.


We must add a very important aspect, equity does not mean neglecting the characteristics of each gender in particular, an example of this is that women are entitled, in the same way men, to a longer maternity leave than a paternity leave . In this case, we attend to strictly biological questions and carry out what is called a positive discrimination between the two sexes .

What do we mean by positive discrimination?

Next we will explain a crucial concept at the moment of applying equity, it is about positive discrimination or affirmative action This term is key: it refers to actions aimed at reducing discriminatory practices against sectors , that culturally throughout history, have been excluded and considered as uprooted and vulnerable.

An example would be the individuals with some physical or mental disability and in the same way the women, who because of the influence of the Jewish-Christian and patriarchal culture, have been relegated to the category of second-order individuals. All this is further aggravated if, because of the gender, the woman also meets the condition of suffering some decrease as well as we mentioned or any other culturally negative characteristic.

Positive discrimination is translated into specific legislation designed to equalize job opportunities , exercise of democratic rights, participation in state institutions and government bodies, as well as access to education. For all this, countless years of mobilizations and social demands have been necessary.

One example is the laws for the protection of women in cases of gender violence, favoring mixed education or non-segregation by sex, financial aid or tax exemptions, among other measures.

In some developed countries, the result of positive discrimination has been very effective in the progressive equalization of women in the labor market.

What progress has positive discrimination occurred?

It should be noted that significant progress is being made to achieve this equity. . We find, to mention a fact, that in the Spanish state the so-called parity between men and women in the political sphere is promoted.

There are organizations that are exclusively dedicated to gender equity. These entities promote equality between men and women while advocating for women's rights. Constantly elaborate useful political propositions to achieve equity , thus favoring women to be present and participate in all sectors of society.

Then it is interesting to remember the most important events in relation to women's rights and equality and equity. As the Committee for the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women of 1982 and recommendation 19 that clarified that violence against women is a form of discrimination. Another event would be the unprecedented mobilization of 1993 to demand the World Conference on Human Rights that it would be positioned in favor of their rights and that led to the creation of article 18; That says so:

"The human rights of women and girls are an inalienable and indivisible part of universal human rights. The full participation, under conditions of equality, of women in political, civil, economic, social and cultural life and the eradication of all forms of discrimination based on sex are priority objectives of the international community. "

"All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights" (...) "Every person has all the rights and freedoms proclaimed in this Declaration, without distinction of race, color, sex, language, religion, political opinion or of any other nature, national or social origin, economic position, birth or any other condition "

-Universal Declaration of Human Rights; Article 1 and 2

"Spaniards are equal before the Law, without any discrimination based on birth, race, sex, religion, opinion or any other condition or personal or social circumstance prevailing"

-The Spanish Constitution of 1978; Article 14


Gender Equity (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'équité entre les sexes?

Qu'est-ce que l'équité entre les sexes?

Février 18, 2019

Il existe de nombreux concepts théoriques qui tentent d'établir certains critères lors de l'évaluation et de la promulgation de l'égalité entre les personnes. L’un d’eux est le concept de égalité de genre , qu’aujourd’hui nous essaierons de décrire et de connaître en profondeur.

Équité et genre

L’équité, la justice et l’égalité sont les éléments sur lesquels repose le concept d’équité; en revanche, la manière d’associer et de grouper des individus partageant au moins une ou plusieurs caractéristiques est le genre.

Égalité des sexes et équité

"Les différents comportements, aspirations et besoins des femmes et des hommes sont considérés, valorisés et favorisés de la même manière"


-ABC des travailleuses pour l'égalité des genres; Genève, 2000, p. 47-48

L'égalité entre hommes et femmes est protégée par l'équité entre les sexes dans l'utilisation des biens et services sociaux . Ce qui implique de supprimer la discrimination entre les sexes et de ne pas privilégier, de préférence, l’homme par rapport à la femme dans les aspects constitutifs de la vie sociale, comme cela se produisait d’une manière habituelle il ya plusieurs décennies dans l’ensemble de la société occidentale.

Conditions pour l'égalité des sexes

"Les droits, responsabilités et opportunités de chacun ne dépendront pas de savoir s'il s'agit d'un homme ou d'une femme"

Cependant, pour que l’égalité entre les sexes se réalise, deux circonstances essentielles doivent être générées. D'une part, l’égalité des chances et de l’autre créer une série de conditions pour tirer parti de ces opportunités .


Nous devons garder à l'esprit que l'égalité des sexes signifie créer des standards pour les opportunités existantes et les répartir équitablement entre les deux sexes . Les hommes et les femmes doivent avoir les mêmes possibilités de développement à tous égards; sur le plan personnel, l'occasion de grandir, de se réaliser et d'être heureux, comme au travail. L’État doit donc veiller à ce que les ressources soient réparties de manière proportionnelle.

"Les hommes et les femmes seront traités avec justice selon leurs propres besoins. Le traitement accordé à chacun peut être différent mais équivalent en termes de droits, d’avantages, d’obligations et de possibilités. "

Équité de genre au travail

La femme ne peut avoir une rémunération inférieure à celle de l'homme au moment de remplir les mêmes fonctions en ce qui concerne le travail, ils doivent obtenir la même chose selon leurs mérites et l'un des sexes ne doit pas être favorisé au détriment de l'autre . Peu importe le sexe, l'égalité de rémunération doit être exercée dans le même travail, avec les mêmes responsabilités et obligations.


Il faut ajouter un aspect très important, l'équité ne signifie pas négliger les caractéristiques de chaque sexe en particulier, un exemple en est que les femmes ont droit, de la même manière, aux hommes à un congé de maternité plus long qu'un congé de paternité. . Dans ce cas, nous nous occupons de questions strictement biologiques et réalisons ce qu'on appelle une discrimination positive entre les deux sexes .

Qu'entendons-nous par discrimination positive?

Ensuite, nous expliquerons un concept crucial au moment de l’application de l’équité: il s’agit de discrimination positive o action affirmative Ce terme est la clé: il fait référence à actions visant à réduire les pratiques discriminatoires à l'égard des secteurs , qui culturellement au cours de l’histoire, ont été exclus et considérés comme déracinés et vulnérables.

Un exemple serait les individus ayant un handicap physique ou mental et de la même manière que les femmes qui, en raison de l'influence de la culture judéo-chrétienne et patriarcale, ont été reléguées dans la catégorie des individus de second ordre. Tout cela est encore aggravé si, en raison du sexe, la femme remplit également la condition de souffrir d’une diminution aussi bien que celle que nous avons mentionnée ou de toute autre caractéristique culturellement négative.

La discrimination positive se traduit par une législation spécifique destinée à égaliser les chances d'emploi , exercice des droits démocratiques, participation aux institutions de l’État et aux organes gouvernementaux, ainsi qu’accès à l’éducation. Pour tout cela, d'innombrables années de mobilisations et de revendications sociales ont été nécessaires.

Un exemple en est les lois sur la protection des femmes en cas de violence sexiste, favorisant une éducation mixte ou la non-ségrégation par sexe, une aide financière ou des exonérations fiscales, entre autres mesures.

Dans certains pays développés, la discrimination positive a eu un effet très positif sur la péréquation progressive des femmes sur le marché du travail.

Quels sont les progrès de la discrimination positive?

Il convient de noter que des progrès importants ont été réalisés pour atteindre cette équité. . Nous constatons, pour mentionner un fait, que dans l'État espagnol, la prétendue parité hommes / femmes dans la sphère politique est encouragée.

Il existe des organisations exclusivement dédiées à l’égalité des sexes. Ces entités promeuvent l'égalité entre hommes et femmes tout en défendant les droits des femmes. Constamment élaborer des propositions politiques utiles pour réaliser l'équité , favorisant ainsi la présence et la participation des femmes dans tous les secteurs de la société.

Ensuite, il est intéressant de rappeler les événements les plus importants en matière de droits des femmes, d'égalité et d'équité. Comme lui Comité pour l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l'égard des femmes de 1982 et la recommandation 19 précisant que la violence à l'égard des femmes est une forme de discrimination. Un autre événement serait la mobilisation sans précédent de 1993 pour exiger la Conférence mondiale sur les droits de l'homme qu'il se positionnerait en faveur de leurs droits et cela a conduit à la création de l'article 18; Ça dit comme ça:

"Les droits fondamentaux des femmes et des filles constituent un élément inaliénable et indivisible des droits universels de la personne. La pleine participation, dans des conditions d'égalité, des femmes à la vie politique, civile, économique, sociale et culturelle et l'élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination fondée sur le sexe sont des objectifs prioritaires de la communauté internationale. "

"Tous les êtres humains naissent libres et égaux en dignité et en droits" (...) "Toute personne jouit de tous les droits et libertés proclamés dans la présente Déclaration, sans distinction de race, de couleur, de sexe, de langue, de religion ou d'opinion politique. ou de toute autre nature, origine nationale ou sociale, situation économique, naissance ou toute autre condition "

Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme; Article 1 et 2

"Les Espagnols sont égaux devant la loi, sans discrimination fondée sur la naissance, la race, le sexe, la religion, l'opinion ou toute autre condition ni circonstance personnelle ou sociale prévalant"

La Constitution espagnole de 1978; Article 14


L’ACS+ : Égalité ou équité? (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes