yes, therapy helps!
What is Headhunting and how does it work?

What is Headhunting and how does it work?

July 14, 2024

The high positions of a company are key figures for the good running of the company, because their actions have a determining role in the results of the organization and the performance and the occupational health of the workers.

Since their behavior affects the rest of the staff, they require a special selection process when they are hired. It is what is known as Headhunting , processes of selection of personnel destined to the executives or middle managers of a company.

Headhunting: looking for profiles of senior officials

As it is currently the case with IT recruiters (recruiters with technical expertise in the advances of the technological environment), the headhunters must possess a series of skills that allow them to specialize in this sector .


Senior managers and middle managers of a company differ from other profiles of workers because they allow generating sustainable and successful organizations and their influence on the company is greater for the position they support. These workers are a real added value for the company and a bad choice is a big budget expense.

When embarking on the process of selecting these positions, the headhunter should look for a very prepared executive, with extensive experience , that is capable of leading work teams and that has a flexible, socializing and transforming personality.

A slow process ...

The process can be slow because it is not always easy to find a profile with these characteristics , and the level of demand of a recruiter of this type is much greater because of the importance that the worker (or the person that is intended to hire) has for the company.


In order for the headhunter to carry out a successful process, it must know the requirements of the position and the organization in detail, and to minimize errors, it must establish, together with its client, the profile to be selected, in order to properly understand the situation and the needs of the company, the environment that the candidate will find and the problems to solve.

Professionalism, seriousness, social skills, leadership skills, self-confidence, dynamic personality and the initiative of the recruiter are very important in this type of selection process.

How does the headhunter work?

Headhunting is usually an option that companies outsource, since the hiring of high positions or middle positions requires specialized work. There are some companies that, in addition, have specialized in different sectors, for example, the legal field or new technologies. However, at present, headhunters are specialized in all kinds of fields.


After knowing the needs of the company, the headhunter must find the right person . The candidate must not only fit with the requirements of the job or place of work, but the recruiter must take into account how the company (its values, how it works, etc.) so that the chosen person fits in this one.

A different methodology to the classic selection processes

In the headhunting selection process candidates are not usually found among the CVs sent to the company, but an active search is usually carried out to get the right person.

Even, due to the difficulty of finding such specific profiles and offering guarantees, some professionals in this sector contact active workers, who are in companies of the same level of activity. If a company is successful it is because it has professionals capable of leading a project.

The headhunter must thoroughly evaluate the candidate

If the candidate is interested, he will be interviewed not only to present the offer , but to know if their motivations and needs fit with the position and the company that offers the job offer. The headhunter will evaluate the candidate's competence and competences through different personnel selection tests based on critical incidents, their competence, and their achievements and past results.

In short, their attitudes, motivations, personality characteristics, values ​​and, in general, their competences are evaluated exhaustively.

  • Recommended article: "Types of tests and personnel selection questionnaires"

The election of the ideal candidate

Some candidates will meet the requirements and others will be discarded . In some cases, it is the headhunter who makes the decision about the hiring. However, it is more frequent that the latter works jointly with the company to decide which candidate is better to perform the functions that the company and the position require.

Therefore, once the company has knowledge of the candidates that may be of interest to it, the headhunter advises the latter to decide who it chooses.

The most important managerial skills

And the selection of this type of professionals must be made taking into account the importance and influence that exerts on the company. There is a lot of talk about the difference between being a boss and a leader, because to be a good manager you have to be a good leader. This is only achieved by mastering a series of managerial skills, which are independent of the necessary knowledge about the area in which the professional function should be performed.

A manager can be a great economist, but may not have a set of skills that will help motivate his team. So ... what are the necessary managerial skills that the top managers of a company should have?

  • Problem management : is the ability to effectively manage and deal with problems.
  • Self-confidence : it is key to any interpersonal relationship and especially to direct work teams.
  • Decision making: a necessary skill for the success of the company.
  • Assertiveness : a style of communication in which the leader expresses his opinion respecting the other party.
  • Emotional regulation: the superiors must be emotionally intelligent.
  • Social and communicative skills: they must know how to communicate in an appropriate way.
  • Vision and strategic thinking : they must know where the company is and where it is headed.

You can delve into the different managerial skills in our post:

  • "Management skills: 12 keys to business success"

How To Work With Recruiters - Insider Secrets That Job Hunters Must Know (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que Headhunting et comment ça marche?

Qu'est-ce que Headhunting et comment ça marche?

Avril 16, 2021

Les postes élevés d'une entreprise sont des chiffres clés pour le bon fonctionnement de l'entreprise, car leurs actions jouent un rôle déterminant dans les résultats de l'organisation, les performances et la santé des travailleurs.

Étant donné que leur comportement affecte le reste du personnel, un processus de sélection spécial est nécessaire lors de leur embauche. C'est ce qu'on appelle la chasse à la tête , processus de sélection du personnel destiné aux cadres ou cadres moyens d'une entreprise.

Headhunting: recherche de profils de hauts fonctionnaires

Comme c'est actuellement le cas des recruteurs informatiques (recruteurs ayant une expertise technique dans les avancées de l'environnement technologique), les chasseurs de têtes doivent posséder une série de compétences leur permettant de se spécialiser dans ce secteur .


Les cadres supérieurs et les cadres moyens d'une entreprise diffèrent des autres profils de travailleurs car ils permettent de générer des organisations durables et performantes et leur influence sur l'entreprise est plus grande pour le poste qu'ils soutiennent. Ces travailleurs constituent une réelle valeur ajoutée pour l'entreprise et un mauvais choix est une grosse dépense budgétaire.

Lorsqu’on se lance dans le processus de sélection de ces postes, le chasseur de têtes devrait chercher un cadre très préparé, doté d'une vaste expérience , capable de diriger des équipes de travail et dotée d’une personnalité flexible, socialisante et transformatrice.

Un processus lent ...

Le processus peut être lent car il n'est pas toujours facile de trouver un profil avec ces caractéristiques , et le niveau de demande d’un recruteur de ce type est beaucoup plus important en raison de l’importance que le travailleur (ou la personne qu’il est prévu d’embaucher) a pour l’entreprise.


Pour mener à bien un processus, le chasseur de têtes doit connaître en détail les exigences du poste et de l'organisation, et pour minimiser les erreurs, il doit établir avec son client le profil à sélectionner pour bien comprendre la situation et les besoins de l'entreprise, environnement que le candidat trouvera et les problèmes à résoudre.

Le professionnalisme, le sérieux, les compétences sociales, le leadership, la confiance en soi, la personnalité dynamique et l’initiative du recruteur sont très importants dans ce type de processus de sélection.

Comment fonctionne le chasseur de têtes?

La recherche de personnel est généralement une option que les entreprises sous-traitent, car l’embauche de postes élevés ou intermédiaires nécessite un travail spécialisé. De plus, certaines entreprises se sont spécialisées dans différents secteurs, tels que le domaine juridique ou les nouvelles technologies. Cependant, à l'heure actuelle, les chasseurs de têtes sont spécialisés dans toutes sortes de domaines.


Après avoir pris connaissance des besoins de l'entreprise, le chasseur de têtes doit trouver la bonne personne . Le candidat ne doit pas seulement correspondre aux exigences du travail ou du lieu de travail, mais le recruteur doit tenir compte de la façon dont l'entreprise (ses valeurs, son fonctionnement, etc.) pour que la personne choisie s'insère dans celle-ci.

Une méthodologie différente des processus de sélection classiques

Dans le processus de sélection de chasseurs de têtes, les candidats ne figurent généralement pas parmi les CV envoyés à l'entreprise, mais une recherche active est généralement effectuée pour trouver la bonne personne.

Même en raison de la difficulté à trouver de tels profils spécifiques et à offrir des garanties, certains professionnels de ce secteur contactent des travailleurs actifs, qui travaillent dans des entreprises du même niveau d’activité. Si une entreprise réussit, c'est parce qu'elle dispose de professionnels capables de mener un projet.

Le chasseur de têtes doit évaluer en profondeur le candidat

Si le candidat est intéressé, il sera interviewé non seulement pour présenter l'offre , mais de savoir si leurs motivations et leurs besoins s’adaptent au poste et à l’entreprise qui propose l’offre d’emploi. Le chasseur de têtes évaluera les compétences du candidat au moyen de différents tests de sélection du personnel basés sur des incidents critiques, leur compétence, leurs réalisations et les résultats passés.

En bref, leurs attitudes, motivations, caractéristiques de personnalité, valeurs et, en général, leurs compétences sont évaluées de manière exhaustive.

  • Article recommandé: "Types de tests et questionnaires de sélection du personnel"

L'élection du candidat idéal

Certains candidats satisferont aux exigences et d'autres seront écartés . Dans certains cas, c'est le chasseur de têtes qui prend la décision concernant l'embauche. Toutefois, il est plus fréquent que ce dernier collabore avec l’entreprise pour décider quel candidat est le mieux placé pour exercer les fonctions requises par la société et le poste.

Par conséquent, une fois que la société a connaissance des candidats susceptibles de l’intéresser, le chasseur de têtes lui conseille de décider qui il souhaite.

Les compétences managériales les plus importantes

Et la sélection de ce type de professionnels doit être faite en tenant compte de l'importance et de l'influence que cela exerce sur l'entreprise. On parle beaucoup de la différence entre un patron et un leader, car pour être bon manager, il faut être un bon leader. Cela n’est possible que par la maîtrise d’une série de compétences en gestion, indépendantes des connaissances nécessaires sur le domaine dans lequel la fonction professionnelle doit être exercée.

Un manager peut être un excellent économiste, mais ne dispose peut-être pas de compétences lui permettant de motiver son équipe. Alors ... quelles sont les compétences managériales nécessaires que devraient posséder les dirigeants d’une entreprise?

  • Gestion des problèmes : est la capacité de gérer et de traiter efficacement les problèmes.
  • Confiance en soi : c'est la clé de toute relation interpersonnelle et surtout de la direction d'équipes de travail.
  • Prise de décision: une compétence nécessaire au succès de l'entreprise.
  • Assertivité : style de communication dans lequel le dirigeant exprime son opinion sur l'autre partie.
  • Régulation émotionnelle: les supérieurs doivent être émotionnellement intelligents.
  • Aptitudes sociales et communicatives: ils doivent savoir communiquer de manière appropriée.
  • Vision et réflexion stratégique : ils doivent savoir où se trouve l’entreprise et où elle se dirige.

Vous pouvez approfondir les différentes compétences managériales dans notre post:

  • "Compétences en gestion: 12 clés du succès de l'entreprise"

MyJob.Company : Comment ça marche ? (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes