yes, therapy helps!
What is humor? 4 theories about its function

What is humor? 4 theories about its function

July 19, 2024

Since the beginning of Western philosophy, humor has been one of the fundamental themes for different thinkers. However, the term "humor" was not used in the sense that we use it now.

Previously it formed part of the theories that explained the different personalities and character models and even the body fluids. It was until the eighteenth century, with the development of modern science, that the term "humor" changed its meaning and began to associate with the experimentation of the funny, or rather, began to indicate the quality of being funny or funny.

We'll see now some theories that have explained humor in philosophy and psychology over time.


  • Related article: "The use of irony and humor in psychotherapy"

Theories about what is humor

Surely when thinking about the word "humor", words such as "laughter", "comedy", "clowns", "theater", "joke", "smile" come to mind, among other concepts associated with fun.

If you ask us, what is humor? surely we could define this word as a state of mind ; a quality of joviality and grace; a willingness to do something (eg, "I'm not in the mood"); or, an attribute of personality ("has a sense of humor").

However, the latter has not always been the case. With the constant development of philosophy and science we have gone through different understandings about humor, which go from pejorative connotations to healing potentials . Next we will see 4 of the theories that have explained humor through time.


1. Humor as an obstacle to reason

One of the first to use the term "humor" in the context of fun, was Henri Bergson in 1890, in a book whose title was Laughter. However, studies of humor did not become very present in this same period. In fact, from classical philosophy to the early twentieth century, humor had been considered as something negative .

In line with the models of thought that gave predominance of reason over the body and emotions, classical and modern philosophy considered laughter, comedy, wit or joke as a way to annul self-control and rationality.

Frequently, humor was considered a quality that had to be avoided, so that the human being would not fall defeated and vitiated by laughter. Even both laughter and humor had been linked to the immoral, the malicious or the malevolent .


2. Humor as a sign of superiority

At the end of the 20th century, humor and laughter began to be signs of superiority, that is, they were considered ways of reflecting feelings of greatness on other people, or on an earlier state of ourselves. Roughly suggested that, to laugh at something or someone first we have to establish a comparison with that someone . Then, look for elements of humor that are a sign of inferiority of the other person or situation.

It is then when laughter is triggered to reaffirm this inferiority and, therefore, one's superiority. An example of this would be cases of bullying or verbal bullying based on a derogatory mood towards the other person. In other words, humor would have psychological components related to self-defense, self-competence, judgments, self-esteem, self-centeredness, among others.

3. The theory of incongruity

Given the rise of the theory of superiority, the theory of incongruity emerges. While one said that the cause of laughter were feelings of superiority, the other suggests that it is rather an effect of perceiving something incongruous . For example, something that goes against our values ​​or our mental schemes.

This theory theory of humor has generated later explanations on "the laughter of nerves" that is the one that appears in situations that seem unexpected, uncomfortable, absurd or even annoying, but that occur in a context where we can not express clearly these sensations . Through humor and laughter we let see the incongruity or discomfort that the situation generates.

Another example of this could be political humor. Once again, in the face of the incongruity of the attitudes, ideas or public behavior of people in positions of political representation, It is common to respond through humor, sarcasm, irony, ridicule, caricature . In this way, humor has an important political value: it allows us to express our disagreement in a socially valued way and that is easily shared and distributed among different people.

Four.Theories of humor as healing and well-being

One of the most representative theories of humor, both in philosophy and in psychology and even physiology, is the theory of well-being, relief or healing. Broadly suggests that humor (whose physical / muscular effect is clear laughter), has effects on the nervous system and allows different levels of tension to be discharged. Put another way, humor and laughter they have the potential to release accumulated nerve energy .

Faced with the theory of superiority, which spoke of little functional elements for coexistence; this theory that humor also has important components in adaptive terms.

Among other things, the latter has been very present in the development of different psychotherapeutic currents. Even laughter therapies have been generated whose uses and applications are very different.

Bibliographic references:

  • Kuiper, N., Grimshaw, M., Leite, C. and Kirsh, G. (2006). Humor is not always the best medicine: specific components of sense of humor and psychological well-being. International Journal of Humor Research, 17 (1-2): DOI: //doi.org/10.1515/humr.2004.002.
  • Monrreall, J. (2016). Philosophy of Humor Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Retrieved October 3, 2018. Available at //plato.stanford.edu/entries/humor/#IncThe.

What makes things funny | Peter McGraw | TEDxBoulder (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est ce que l'humour? 4 théories sur sa fonction

Qu'est ce que l'humour? 4 théories sur sa fonction

Février 2, 2023

Depuis le début de la philosophie occidentale, l’humour est l’un des thèmes fondamentaux de différents penseurs. Cependant, le terme "humour" n'a pas été utilisé dans le sens où nous l'utilisons maintenant.

Auparavant, il faisait partie des théories qui expliquaient les différentes personnalités et modèles de personnages et même les fluides corporels. Jusqu'au XVIIIe siècle, avec le développement de la science moderne, le terme "humour" a changé de sens et a commencé à s'associer à l'expérimentation du drôle, ou plutôt, a commencé à indiquer la qualité d'être drôle ou drôle.

Ensuite nous verrons certaines théories qui ont expliqué l'humour en philosophie et en psychologie au fil du temps.


  • Article connexe: "Utilisation de l'ironie et de l'humour en psychothérapie"

Théories sur l'humour

Bien sûr, quand on pense au mot "humour", on pense à des mots tels que "rire", "comédie", "clowns", "théâtre", "blague", "sourire", entre autres concepts associés au plaisir.

Si vous nous demandez, qu'est-ce que l'humour? nous pourrions sûrement définir ce mot comme un état d'esprit ; une qualité de jovialité et de grâce; une volonté de faire quelque chose (par exemple, "je ne suis pas d'humeur"); ou un attribut de personnalité ("a le sens de l'humour").

Cependant, ce dernier n’a pas toujours été le cas. Avec le développement constant de la philosophie et de la science, nous avons eu différentes conceptions de l’humour, qui vont des connotations péjoratives aux potentiels de guérison . Ensuite, nous verrons 4 des théories qui ont expliqué l'humour à travers le temps.


1. L'humour comme obstacle à la raison

L’un des premiers à utiliser le terme «humour» dans le contexte de la distraction est Henri Bergson en 1890, dans un livre dont le titre est Le rire. Cependant, les études d'humour ne sont pas devenues très présentes dans cette même période. En fait de la philosophie classique au début du XXe siècle, l'humour avait été considéré comme quelque chose de négatif .

Conformément aux modèles de pensée qui donnaient la prédominance de la raison sur le corps et les émotions, la philosophie classique et moderne considérait le rire, la comédie, l’esprit ou la blague comme un moyen d’annuler le contrôle de soi et la rationalité.

Souvent, l'humour était considéré comme une qualité à éviter afin que l'être humain ne tombe pas vaincu et vicié par le rire. Même les rires et l’humour avaient été lié à l'immoral, au méchant ou au malveillant .


2. L'humour, signe de supériorité

À la fin du XXe siècle, l'humour et le rire ont commencé à être des signes de supériorité, c'est-à-dire qu'ils étaient considérés comme des moyens de refléter des sentiments de grandeur sur d'autres personnes ou sur un état antérieur de nous-mêmes. A peu près suggéré que, rire de quelque chose ou de quelqu'un nous devons d'abord établir une comparaison avec cette personne . Ensuite, recherchez les éléments d'humour qui sont un signe d'infériorité de l'autre personne ou de la situation.

C'est alors que le rire est déclenché pour réaffirmer cette infériorité et donc sa supériorité. Un exemple de ceci serait les cas d'intimidation ou d'intimidation verbale basée sur une humeur péjorative envers l'autre personne. En d'autres termes, l'humour aurait des composantes psychologiques liées à la légitime défense, à la compétence personnelle, aux jugements, à l'estime de soi, à l'égocentrisme, entre autres.

3. La théorie de l'incongruité

Face à la montée en puissance de la théorie de la supériorité, la théorie de l'incongruité apparaît. Alors que l’un disait que le rire était un sentiment de supériorité, l’autre suggère que c’est plutôt un effet de percevoir quelque chose d'incongru . Par exemple, quelque chose qui va à l’encontre de nos valeurs ou de nos schémas mentaux.

Cette théorie théorique de l'humour a généré des explications ultérieures sur "le rire des nerfs" qui apparaît dans des situations qui semblent inattendues, inconfortables, absurdes ou même ennuyantes, mais se produisent dans un contexte où nous ne pouvons pas exprimer clairement ces sensations . Par l'humour et le rire, nous laissons voir l'incongruité ou le malaise que la situation génère.

L'humour politique est un autre exemple. Encore une fois, face à l'incongruité des attitudes, des idées ou du comportement public des personnes en position de représentation politique, Il est courant de répondre par l'humour, le sarcasme, l'ironie, le ridicule, la caricature . De cette manière, l’humour a une valeur politique importante: il nous permet d’exprimer notre désaccord d’une manière socialement valorisée et qui est facilement partagée et répartie entre différentes personnes.

4Théories de l'humour en tant que guérison et bien-être

L'une des théories les plus représentatives de l'humour, tant en philosophie qu'en psychologie et même en physiologie, est la théorie du bien-être, du soulagement ou de la guérison. Cela suggère en gros que l’humour (dont l’effet physique / musculaire est un rire clair) a des effets sur le système nerveux et permet à différents niveaux de tension d’être déchargés. En d'autres termes, humour et rire ils ont le potentiel de libérer l'énergie nerveuse accumulée .

Face à la théorie de la supériorité, qui parlait de petits éléments fonctionnels pour la coexistence; Cette théorie selon laquelle l'humour a également des composantes importantes en termes d'adaptation.

Entre autres choses, ce dernier a été très présent dans le développement de différents courants psychothérapeutiques. Même des thérapies du rire ont été générées, dont les utilisations et les applications sont très différentes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Kuiper, N., Grimshaw, M., Leite, C. et Kirsh, G. (2006). L'humour n'est pas toujours le meilleur remède: des composants spécifiques du sens de l'humour et du bien-être psychologique. Journal international de la recherche sur l'humour, 17 (1-2): DOI: //doi.org/10.1515/humr.2004.002.
  • Monrreall, J. (2016). Philosophie de l'humour Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Récupéré le 3 octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //plato.stanford.edu/entries/humor/#IncThe.

Le fonctionnement de la justice française expliqué en quatre minutes (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes