yes, therapy helps!
What is oxytocin and what functions does this hormone do?

What is oxytocin and what functions does this hormone do?

October 28, 2020

The oxytocin It is one of those substances that make the fields of study of neurosciences and biology more interesting. The reason is that oxytocin is closely related to affective ties of all kinds, both those that are as strong as those experienced by couples of lovers as the most diffuse, such as those that unite a person with their community of friends and neighbors .

Oxytocin is, then, a small piece of body chemistry that allows us to scientifically explain sensations as intense and inexplicable as those that have to do with love. This is what makes many people try to understand how it works in order to get an idea about the nature of what they feel when they see a certain person, when they hug someone, or when they kiss.


What is oxytocin?

But let's start with the basics. What is oxytocin? It is basically a substance produced by our own body, specifically, in a structure of the brain called the hypothalamus and other organs spread throughout the body. In terms of its function, oxytocin is tremendously versatile, and can act as a hormone and as a neurotransmitter.

As a hormone, travels through the blood to reach different tissues and organs of the human body and cause them to react in a certain way , following protocols designed by thousands of years of evolution and that have to do with our way of adjusting to different situations in the best possible way.


As a neurotransmitter, oxytocin travels between the small spaces in which the communication between the neurons (the so-called synaptic spaces) is established and therefore has a role in the transmission of electrical signals throughout the nervous system , including the brain.

Functions of this hormone

However, one of its most significant concrete functions has to do with love and affection. Oxytocin participates in this aspect of our life as a hormone and also as a neurotransmitter.

1. Linked to love

It is often said that oxytocin is the substance responsible for the existence of love . This is still a reductionist conclusion and somewhat risky, considering that there is no single conception of what love is and, in any case, in the subjective experience related to affection and falling in love many other substances are involved. Oxytocin, as with all neurotransmitters, you never work alone: ​​it is always embedded in a biochemical puzzle that shapes our mind and our actions.


However, it is true that there are some patterns in which you can see the relationship between oxytocin and all that set of experiences and processes that have to do with love and affection.

For example, oxytocin levels increase when you have to recognize familiar faces . They also increase when they look into each other's eyes with loved ones, play a role in remembering members of their own group and, in general, are segregated in relatively large amounts in situations related to love and attachment. When we experience the sensation of sharing an intimate relationship with another person and when we feel that we are in an environment of trust, more oxytocin is secreted, as explained in the article on the chemistry of love.

In fact, it has been seen that in people with chronic depression who are given an extra dose of oxytocin, they tend to pay more attention to happy faces than to sad ones.

2. Regulator of births and motherhood

Oxytocin intervenes in other, more varied processes. Etymologically, the word "oxytocin" means "fast birth" in Greek. This is because, as a hormone, oxytocin plays a very important role in childbirth and, by extension, in breastfeeding , two fundamental processes in motherhood, as proved by the physiologist Henry Dale, who named this substance.

Specifically, oxytocin causes certain muscle fibers in the uterus to remain contracted during labor , and is also responsible for the occurrence of contractions before birth. In addition, oxytocin has certain mechanical effects on the breasts, causing them to eject breast milk.

3. The role of this hormone in sexuality

During sexual intercourse, oxytocin levels in the blood tend to be significantly higher than normal . This reinforces the hypothesis that this hormone has an important role in the chemical and mechanical processes that intervene in sexuality.

It has been proven, for example, that oxytocin intervenes in the appearance of vaginal contractions that make it easier for sperm to reach the ovule. In the case of men, it produces contractions in the prostate and seminal vesicles.Also, in both men and women Oxytocin levels in blood reach their maximum during orgasm .

4. Creating social links

As we have seen, Oxytocin is strongly associated with the generation of affective ties s , and not only those related to motherhood.

This is not accidental. The fact of being able to count on the help and support of other people is one of the great evolutionary advantages that our species has had, and that is why it can be said that oxytocin is part of that social glue that has benefited us so much . If the fact of coming into contact with a person makes us secrete more oxytocin, in the long run we enter into a chemical and relational dynamic in which personal ties are very strong. In this way, the bond becomes very resistant and remains over time.

Bibliographic references:

  • Delgado, J. M. (1998). Neuroscience Manual. Editorial Synthesis.
  • Puelles, L. (2008). Neuroanatomy Editorial Panamericana Medical.



Oxytocin - The Love Hormone (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'ocytocine et quelles sont les fonctions de cette hormone?

Qu'est-ce que l'ocytocine et quelles sont les fonctions de cette hormone?

Septembre 18, 2019

Le ocytocine C'est l'une de ces substances qui rend les domaines d'études des neurosciences et de la biologie plus intéressants. La raison en est que l'ocytocine est étroitement liée aux liens affectifs de toutes sortes, aussi forts que ceux des couples d'amoureux les plus diffus, tels que ceux qui unissent une personne à sa communauté d'amis et de voisins. .

L'ocytocine est donc un petit élément de la chimie corporelle qui nous permet d'expliquer scientifiquement des sensations aussi intenses et inexplicables que celles liées à l'amour. C’est ce qui fait que beaucoup de gens essaient de comprendre comment cela fonctionne afin de se faire une idée de la nature de ce qu’ils ressentent quand ils voient une certaine personne, quand ils enlacent quelqu'un ou quand ils s’embrassent.


Qu'est-ce que l'ocytocine?

Mais commençons par les bases. Qu'est-ce que l'ocytocine? Il s’agit d’une substance produite par notre propre corps, en particulier dans une structure du cerveau appelée hypothalamus et d’autres organes répartis dans tout le corps. En termes de fonction, l'ocytocine est extrêmement polyvalente et peut jouer le rôle d'hormone et de neurotransmetteur.

Comme une hormone, voyage à travers le sang pour atteindre différents tissus et organes du corps humain et les faire réagir d'une certaine manière , en suivant des protocoles conçus par des milliers d'années d'évolution et qui concernent notre façon de nous adapter le mieux possible à différentes situations.


En tant que neurotransmetteur, l'ocytocine se déplace entre les petits espaces dans lesquels la communication entre les neurones (les «espaces synaptiques») est établie et donc joue un rôle dans la transmission des signaux électriques à travers le système nerveux , y compris le cerveau.

Fonctions de cette hormone

Cependant, l'une de ses fonctions concrètes les plus importantes concerne l'amour et l'affection. L'ocytocine participe à cet aspect de notre vie en tant qu'hormone et également en tant que neurotransmetteur.

1. lié à l'amour

On dit souvent que l'ocytocine est la substance responsable de l'existence de l'amour . C’est toujours une conclusion réductionniste et quelque peu risquée, étant donné qu’il n’existe pas de conception unique de ce qu’est l’amour et qu’en tout état de cause, dans l’expérience subjective liée à l’affection et au fait de tomber amoureux, de nombreuses autres substances sont impliquées. L'ocytocine, comme tous les neurotransmetteurs, ne fonctionne jamais seule: elle est toujours intégrée à un puzzle biochimique qui façonne notre esprit et nos actions.


Cependant, il est vrai qu'il existe certains schémas dans lesquels vous pouvez voir la relation entre l'ocytocine et tout cet ensemble d'expériences et de processus liés à l'amour et à l'affection.

Par exemple, les niveaux d'ocytocine augmentent lorsque vous devez reconnaître des visages familiers . Ils augmentent également quand ils se regardent dans les yeux avec leurs proches, jouent un rôle dans la mémoire des membres de leur propre groupe et, en général, sont séparés en quantités relativement importantes dans des situations liées à l'amour et à l'attachement. Lorsque nous éprouvons la sensation de partager une relation intime avec une autre personne et lorsque nous nous sentons dans un environnement de confiance, davantage d'ocytocine est sécrétée, comme expliqué dans l'article sur la chimie de l'amour.

En fait, il a été constaté que les personnes souffrant de dépression chronique qui reçoivent une dose supplémentaire d'oxytocine ont tendance à accorder plus d'attention aux visages heureux qu'aux visages tristes.

2. Régulateur des naissances et de la maternité

L'ocytocine intervient dans d'autres processus plus variés. Étymologiquement, le mot "ocytocine" signifie "naissance rapide" en grec. C'est parce que, en tant qu'hormone, l'ocytocine joue un rôle très important lors de l'accouchement et, par extension, de l'allaitement , deux processus fondamentaux de la maternité, comme l'a prouvé le physiologiste Henry Dale, qui a baptisé cette substance.

Plus précisément, l'ocytocine provoque la contraction de certaines fibres musculaires de l'utérus pendant le travail , et est également responsable de la survenue de contractions avant la naissance. En outre, l'ocytocine a certains effets mécaniques sur les seins, les faisant expulser du lait maternel.

3. Le rôle de cette hormone dans la sexualité

Au cours des rapports sexuels, les taux d'oxytocine dans le sang ont tendance à être considérablement plus élevés que la normale . Cela renforce l'hypothèse selon laquelle cette hormone joue un rôle important dans les processus chimiques et mécaniques intervenant dans la sexualité.

Il a été prouvé, par exemple, que l’ocytocine intervient dans l’apparition de contractions vaginales facilitant l’accès du sperme à l’ovule. Dans le cas des hommes, il provoque des contractions de la prostate et des vésicules séminales.Aussi, chez les hommes et les femmes Les niveaux d'ocytocine dans le sang atteignent leur maximum pendant l'orgasme .

4. Créer des liens sociaux

Comme nous l'avons vu, L'ocytocine est fortement associée à la génération de liens affectifs s , et pas seulement ceux liés à la maternité.

Ce n'est pas accidentel. Le fait de pouvoir compter sur l’aide et le soutien d’autres personnes est l’un des grands avantages évolutifs de notre espèce et c’est pourquoi on peut dire que l'ocytocine fait partie de cette colle sociale qui nous a tant apporté . Si le fait d'entrer en contact avec une personne nous fait sécréter davantage d'ocytocine, nous entrons à long terme dans une dynamique chimique et relationnelle dans laquelle les liens personnels sont très forts. De cette manière, le lien devient très résistant et reste dans le temps.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Delgado, J. M. (1998). Manuel de neuroscience. Synthèse éditoriale.
  • Puelles, L. (2008). Neuroanatomie Éditorial Panamericana Medical.



HORMONES 2 6 - Le Cortisol (Septembre 2019).


Articles Connexes