yes, therapy helps!
What is

What is "Phubbing" and how does it affect our relationships?

May 6, 2021

Since the boom of smartphones in the middle of the last decade, the presence of these devices in our lives has only grown exponentially.

The percentage of inhabitants of our planet who is a user of a mobile phone is 51% , that is, no less than 3.790 million people. This percentage of users of smartphone it rises, for example, in Spain up to 80% of the adult population. Regarding the social use of the telephone, 42% access networks such as Facebook, WhatsApp Twitter or Instagram on a regular basis in order to interact with others. In light of these data (Fernández, 2016), we can assume that the way we relate to each other is in a process of constant change.


"With their constant beeps, bells, vibrations and whistles, the phones are like a capricious child that will not behave well until he or she gets what they want. The desire of our phones is to be constantly attended. "(Roberts and David (2016)

What is phubbing and why is it normalizing?

Due to the need to describe a social phenomenon that did not exist many years ago, the Australian Macquaire dictionary developed during 2012 a campaign around the world dedicated to familiarize the population with the word phubbing (Pathak, 2013). Combination of words phone (phone) and snubbing (make a disdain), this term refers to the fact, in a social meeting, ignore someone while paying attention to the mobile phone instead of talking to that person face to face .


This behavior, certainly harmful in any social interaction, is becoming common. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh and Karen Douglas (2016), have recently investigated the psychological causes and consequences of this behavior. These authors discovered that, as could be predicted intuitively, one of the causes that leads us to deliberately ignore the person we are with is the addiction to the mobile phone .

Phubbing and addiction to smartphones

Among the factors that predict addiction to the mobile phone, and therefore phubbing, is the Internet addiction and its excessive use, which is closely related to other non-chemical addictions such as gambling addiction.

As a predictor of Internet and smartphone addiction, these researchers at the University of Kent found that an influencing factor was the user's self-control.. A lower self-control, more likelihood of addiction to the Internet, to the smartphone and, therefore, more probability of phubbing . A last important factor that was identified was the fear and concern of being left out of the events, events and conversations that are taking place in the social circle, causing a problematic use of the mobile phone.


The behavior of phubbing, the authors argue, is becoming normal and acceptable due to what is conceptualized in social psychology as "reciprocity". Repeatedly ignoring other people when they are watching the mobile causes others, intentionally or not, to return this social action.

Even though it is not pleasant for anyone to be ignored, the papers are usually exchanged throughout different social interactions , being one "ignorant" in some occasions and ignored in others. Because social learning is basic in the acquisition of new behaviors, this exchange, according to the researchers, leads us to assume the false consensus that this way of acting is acceptable and even normal. The authors confirmed this finding that those people who ignored more and those who used to be more ignored saw these behaviors as something more socially accepted.

How does phubbing affect our close relationships?

The mere presence (visible) of a mobile phone on the table can reduce the perception of closeness, trust and quality of conversation between two people, this effect being more pronounced when discussing emotionally relevant issues (Przybylski and Weinstein, 2013).

About 70% of the participants in a study on the influence of technologies on relationships (McDaniel and Coyne, 2016), stated that computers or smartphones interfered in some way in their coexistence . The higher the frequency of interference of the technologies, the greater the impact on their well-being (less satisfaction with the relationship, with life in general and more depressive symptoms).

Therefore, this behavior of phubbing is not reduced to sporadic encounters between friends, colleagues or classmates, etc.but it can directly affect the structure of our most intimate relationships and have some influence on our quality of life.

The phubbing in couple relationships

James Roberts and Meredith David (2016), from Baylor University, decided to study the effects of partner phubbing or p-phubbing, that is, interruptions to look at the mobile during a conversation while in the presence of the sentimental partner. Due to the widespread presence of these smartphones, as mentioned above, it is highly likely that interruptions occur frequently in people who share a large amount of time, such as a marriage or any couple.

Due to the attachment needs of the human being, these authors hypothesize that for a quality relationship to occur, the mere presence of the couple is not enough, but that certain affective exchanges must be given that must be reciprocal. These exchanges, as the use and presence of smartphones progresses, may be diminished. Thus, Due to interruptions caused by p-phubbing, the need for attachment and attention may not be met in the same way they are without the interference of certain technologies.

Conflicts aggravated by phubbing

Regarding the results of the study by James Roberts and Meredith David (2016), as predicted, the higher the frequency of phubbing, the greater the number of conflicts related to the use of mobile .

The phubbing and the conflicts with respect to the mobile phone were good predictors of the quality of the relationships, that is, when there were numerous conflicts and the couples performed phubbing, the quality of the relationship decreased significantly. In addition, the quality of the relationship being a factor that influences the quality of life, it could be said that interrupting our face-to-face relationships by using the mobile phone can have a negative impact on our long-term well-being. This decrease in the quality of life can cause that, indirectly, the phubbing creates a propitious context for the appearance of depressive symptoms in a progressive way.

It is important to note that in couples who interrupted their relationship more frequently due to the cell phone, the number of conflicts was even greater in those in which one of the members had an insecure attachment style , compared to the secure attachment style. People with an insecure attachment style, related to cold affective relationships and with a greater desire to control their partner, would therefore be more affected by the scorn provoked by their peer.

Conclusions

Bearing in mind that, currently, the percentage of divorces regarding marriages is 50% (without taking into account the separations of the rest of couples), the empirical evidence provided by this type of studies should be useful to make us aware of our acts

This awareness does not imply that in order to live a fruitful relationship we should isolate ourselves from the benefits brought by new technologies, but make a correct use of them. Just as a person can subjugate his partner exerting excessive control over it and preventing, for example, attending meetings with friends or friends, a mobile phone (something inert) can deprive us of moments with our loved ones. Taking advantage of our "powerful" frontal lobe we must take the reins of our relationships and be able to guide our lives towards the best quality of life possible. Of little use living in an online world if we disconnect from what is truly important.

Bibliographic references:

  • Chotpitayasunondh, V., & Douglas, K. M. (2016). How «phubbing» becomes the norm: The antecedents and consequences of snubbing via smartphone. Computers in Human Behavior, 63, 9-18.
  • Fernández, S. (2016). Spain, smartphone territory. [online] Xatakamovil.com.
  • McDaniel, B. T., & Coyne, S. M. (2016). "Technoference": The interference of technology in relationships and relationships for women's personal and relational well-being. Psychology of Popular Media Culture, 5 (1), 85.
  • Pathak, S. (2013). McCann Melbourne Made Up to Word to Sell to Print Dictionary. [online] Adage.com.
  • Przybylski, A. K., & Weinstein, N. (2013). Can you connect with me now? How the presence of mobile communication technology influence face-to-face conversation quality. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 30 (3), 237-246.
  • Roberts, J. A., & David, M. E. (2016). My life has become a major distraction from my cell phone: Partnership and relationship between romantic partners. Computers in Human Behavior, 54, 134-141.

‘Phubbing’ Is Hurting Your Relationships: Here’s What It Is | TIME (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que

Qu'est-ce que "Phubbing" et comment cela affecte-t-il nos relations?

Septembre 5, 2022

Depuis le boom des smartphones au milieu de la dernière décennie, la présence de ces appareils dans nos vies n'a augmenté que de manière exponentielle.

Le pourcentage d'habitants de notre planète utilisant un téléphone portable est de 51% , c’est-à-dire pas moins de 3,790 millions de personnes. Ce pourcentage d'utilisateurs de smartphone par exemple, en Espagne, il atteint 80% de la population adulte. En ce qui concerne l'utilisation sociale du téléphone, 42% ont accès à des réseaux tels que Facebook, WhatsApp Twitter ou Instagram afin d'interagir avec les autres. À la lumière de ces données (Fernández, 2016), nous pouvons supposer que nos relations les unes avec les autres évoluent constamment.


"Avec leurs bips, leurs cloches, leurs vibrations et leurs sifflements constants, les téléphones sont comme un enfant capricieux qui ne se comportera pas bien tant qu’il n’aura pas obtenu ce qu’ils veulent. Le désir de nos téléphones est d'être constamment assisté. "(Roberts et David (2016)

Qu'est-ce que le phubbing et pourquoi normalise-t-il?

En raison de la nécessité de décrire un phénomène social qui n'existait pas il y a de nombreuses années, le dictionnaire australien Macquaire a développé en 2012 une campagne mondiale visant à familiariser la population avec le mot phubbing (Pathak, 2013). Combinaison de mots téléphone (téléphone) et repousser (dédaigner), ce terme désigne le fait, dans une réunion sociale, ignorer quelqu'un tout en faisant attention au téléphone portable au lieu de parler face à face avec cette personne .


Ce comportement, certainement préjudiciable dans toute interaction sociale, devient courant. Varoth Chotpitayasunondh et Karen Douglas (2016) ont récemment étudié les causes et les conséquences psychologiques de ce comportement. Ces auteurs ont découvert que, comme on pouvait le prédire intuitivement, l'une des causes qui nous conduit à ignorer délibérément la personne avec qui nous sommes est la dépendance au téléphone mobile .

Phubbing et addiction aux smartphones

Parmi les facteurs prédictifs de la dépendance au téléphone mobile, et donc du phubbing, figurent la dépendance à Internet et son utilisation excessive, qui est étroitement liée à d'autres dépendances non chimiques telles que la dépendance au jeu.

En tant que prédicteur de la dépendance à Internet et aux smartphones, ces chercheurs de l'Université de Kent ont découvert que le contrôle de l'utilisateur était un facteur déterminant.. Une maîtrise de soi plus faible, une plus grande probabilité de dépendance à Internet, au smartphone et, par conséquent, une plus grande probabilité de phubbing . Un dernier facteur important qui a été identifié était la peur et le souci d'être laissés de côté par les événements, les événements et les conversations qui se déroulent dans le cercle social, causant une utilisation problématique du téléphone mobile.


Les auteurs soutiennent que le comportement du phubbing est en train de devenir normal et acceptable en raison de ce que la psychologie sociale conceptualise comme "réciprocité". Le fait d'ignorer de manière répétée les autres quand ils regardent le mobile amène les autres, intentionnellement ou non, à renvoyer cette action sociale.

Même s'il n'est pas agréable d'ignorer quelqu'un, les papiers sont généralement échangés à travers différentes interactions sociales , étant un "ignorant" dans certaines occasions et ignoré dans d'autres. Parce que l’apprentissage social est fondamental dans l’acquisition de nouveaux comportements, cet échange, selon les chercheurs, nous porte à supposer le faux consensus selon lequel cette façon d’agir est acceptable et même normale. Les auteurs ont confirmé cette conclusion, à savoir que ceux qui ignoraient davantage et ceux qui auparavant étaient davantage ignorés considéraient ces comportements comme quelque chose de plus accepté socialement.

Comment phubbing affecte nos relations proches?

La simple présence (visible) d'un téléphone portable sur la table peut réduire la perception de proximité, de confiance et de qualité de la conversation entre deux personnes, cet effet étant plus prononcé lors de discussions sur des questions émotionnellement pertinentes (Przybylski et Weinstein, 2013).

Environ 70% des participants à une étude sur l'influence des technologies sur les relations (McDaniel et Coyne, 2016) ont déclaré que des ordinateurs ou des smartphones ont interféré d'une manière ou d'une autre dans leur coexistence . Plus la fréquence d'interférence des technologies est élevée, plus l'impact sur leur bien-être est grand (moins de satisfaction à l'égard de la relation avec la vie en général et des symptômes plus dépressifs).

Par conséquent, ce comportement de phubbing ne se réduit pas à des rencontres sporadiques entre amis, collègues ou camarades de classe, etc.mais cela peut affecter directement la structure de nos relations les plus intimes et avoir une influence sur notre qualité de vie.

Le phubbing dans les relations de couple

James Roberts et Meredith David (2016), de l’Université Baylor, ont décidé d’étudier les effets de phubbing partenaire o p-phubbing, c’est-à-dire des interruptions pour regarder le téléphone portable pendant une conversation en présence du partenaire sentimental. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, en raison de la présence généralisée de ces téléphones intelligents, il est très probable que des interruptions fréquentes se produisent fréquemment chez les personnes partageant beaucoup de temps, comme un mariage ou un couple.

En raison des besoins d'attachement de l'être humain, ces auteurs émettent l'hypothèse que pour qu'une relation de qualité se produise, la seule présence du couple ne suffit pas, mais que certains échanges affectifs doivent être réciproques. Ces échanges, au fur et à mesure de l'utilisation et de la présence de smartphones, peuvent être diminués. Pour lui, En raison des interruptions causées par le p-phubbing, le besoin d'attachement et d'attention peut ne pas être satisfait de la même manière, ils ne subissent aucune interférence de certaines technologies.

Conflits aggravés par le phubbing

En ce qui concerne les résultats de l’étude de James Roberts et Meredith David (2016), comme prévuplus la fréquence de phubbing est élevée, plus le nombre de conflits liés à l'utilisation de la téléphonie mobile est important. .

Le phubbing et les conflits concernant le téléphone mobile étaient de bons prédicteurs de la qualité des relations. Autrement dit, quand il y avait de nombreux conflits et que les couples procédaient au phubbing, la qualité de la relation diminuait considérablement. De plus, la qualité de la relation étant un facteur influant sur la qualité de vie, on pourrait dire qu'interrompre nos relations en face à face en utilisant le téléphone mobile peut avoir un impact négatif sur notre bien-être à long terme. Cette diminution de la qualité de la vie peut causer indirectement que le phubbing crée un contexte propice à l’apparition progressive de symptômes dépressifs.

Il est important de noter que chez les couples qui ont interrompu leur relation plus souvent à cause du téléphone portable, le nombre de conflits était encore plus grand dans les cas où l'un des membres avait un style d'attachement peu sûr , comparé au style de fixation sécurisée. Les personnes ayant un style d'attachement peu sûr, lié à des relations affectives froides et désirant davantage contrôler leur partenaire seraient donc plus affectées par le mépris provoqué par leurs pairs.

Conclusions

Sachant qu'actuellement, le pourcentage de divorces concernant les mariages est de 50% (sans tenir compte des séparations des autres couples), les preuves empiriques fournies par ce type d'études devraient être utiles pour nous sensibiliser à notre des actes

Cette prise de conscience ne signifie pas que pour vivre une relation fructueuse, nous devons nous isoler des avantages apportés par les nouvelles technologies, mais en faire un usage correct. Tout comme une personne peut soumettre son partenaire en exerçant un contrôle excessif sur elle et en empêchant, par exemple, d'assister à des réunions avec des amis ou des amis, un téléphone portable (quelque chose d'inerte) peut nous priver de moments avec nos proches. Profitant de notre "puissant" lobe frontal, nous devons prendre les rênes de nos relations et pouvoir orienter nos vies vers la meilleure qualité de vie possible. Peu utile de vivre dans un monde en ligne si nous nous déconnectons de ce qui est vraiment important.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Chotpitayasunondh, V., et Douglas, K. M. (2016). Comment «phubbing» devient la norme: les antécédents et les conséquences du snubbing via smartphone. Computers in Human Behavior, 63, 9-18.
  • Fernández, S. (2016). Espagne, territoire smartphone. [en ligne] Xatakamovil.com.
  • McDaniel, B. T., et Coyne, S. M. (2016). "Technoference": l'interférence de la technologie dans les relations et les relations pour le bien-être personnel et relationnel des femmes. Psychologie de la culture médiatique populaire, 5 (1), 85.
  • Pathak, S. (2013). McCann Melbourne Fabriqué à Word to Sell to Print Dictionary. [en ligne] Adage.com.
  • Przybylski, A. K. et Weinstein, N. (2013). Pouvez-vous vous connecter avec moi maintenant? Comment la présence de la technologie de communication mobile influence la qualité de la conversation en face à face. Journal des relations sociales et personnelles, 30 (3), 237-246.
  • Roberts, J. A. et David, M. E. (2016). Ma vie est devenue une distraction majeure de mon téléphone portable: Partenariat et relation entre partenaires romantiques. Computers in Human Behavior, 54, 134-141.

Sommes-nous accro à nos portables ? - Je t'aime etc. (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes