yes, therapy helps!
What is Physiological Psychology?

What is Physiological Psychology?

July 18, 2024

Although the Physiological Psychology is developed strictly in the late nineteenth century Based on a text by Wilhelm Wundt entitled Principles of Physiological Psychology, this field of study has its roots with the ancient Greeks, who were already seeking to elucidate what makes us so unique.

Although philosophers like Aristotle thought that the brain served only to cool the blood, maintaining that the mind resided in the heart, figures such as Hippocrates and Galen offered clearer scenarios about the importance of the brain over behavior.

Galen, a Greek doctor (129 - 200 AD) would consider the brain as such an important organ that he came to dissect cows, sheep, pigs, cats and dogs just to study it.


Physiological Psychology after the Scientific Revolution

Closer in the line of time, in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, the intellectual positions related to physics and mathematics maintained a central axis in the study of behavior . A young René Descartes, fascinated by the hidden mechanisms that moved the statues of the Royal Gardens in the West of Paris, traced his theory about the functioning of the body around these technological devices.

In his mind, the pressurized water that moved the mobile statues was replaced by the cerebrospinal fluid, the cylinders by muscles, and the valve by the pineal gland. This would cause more men of his time to postulate new models around the functioning of the human body.


The discoveries of Galvani

The Italian physiologist Luigi Galvani gave a blow to the way in which the system proposed by Descartes had been understood , upon discovering that stimulating the nerve of a frog caused the contraction of the muscle to which it was attached.

He observed that the brain does not inflate the muscles by sending them pressurized fluid through the nerves ; the functioning of the nervous system was not so simple and mechanical. This was a vital contribution to the state of knowledge regarding the physiology of behavior.

Johannes Müller

Johannes Müller was another key figure for the birth of physiological psychology; his work for experimentation by extirpating and isolating the organs of animals on which he made a thorough analysis of his responses by exposing them to various chemical substances would reach explain that the nerves are not only motors, but also parts of a sensor system .


His greatest contribution was precisely his doctrine of specific nerve energies: the quality of sensation does not depend on the stimulus that affects the senses but on the type of nerve fiber that intervenes in perception.

An example of this is that the electrical stimuli applied to the optic nerves will only cause light sensations.

Pierre Florens and Paul Broca

Müller's mode was also shared by Pierre Flourens and Paul Broca , who experienced directly in the organ through different techniques.

Flourens, a French physiologist of the nineteenth century considered the founder of the experimental science of the brain, examined the behavior of various animals after extirpating various parts of the brain and conclusively demonstrated that those parts of the removed organ were responsible for the affected function; in this way, an animal whose cerebellum is removed will have problems with motor coordination.

Years later, Paul Broca used principles similar to those of Flourens , but with specific patients, those with speech problems. In this way, he discovered in postmortem studies that most of his patients (with the exception of one) had damage to the third left frontal gyrus.

Broca reported 25 cases with these alterations that affected the left hemisphere. The successes of Broca were a great impulse for other characters such as Wernicke will study the neuroanatomical bases related to language , and keep the contributions related to the study of behavior. Thanks to these contributions, among other things, we know what logic is behind the aphasias.

Physiological Psychology today

Currently, physiological psychologists are based on experimentation, and use both generalization and reduction to explain behavior.

Physiological Psychology It has a multidisciplinary nature and is strengthened by sources such as medicine, biology, chemistry, etc. . Finally, mention should also be made of contributions such as Ramón y Cajal, Francisco Varela, Mark Rosenzweig, Arnold Leiman, among others.Together, they created the fundamental bases for the development of this science.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rosenzweig, M & Leiman, A. (1992) Physiological Psychology. Spain: Mc Graw Hill.
  • Sagan, Carl. 1986. Broca's Brain: Reflections on the Romance of Science. New York: Ballantine Books.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principles of Neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Carlson, Neil. (2006). Physiology of Behavior, Madrid, Pearson Education.

What is PHYSIOLOGICAL PSYCHOLOGY? What does PHYSIOLOGICAL PSYCHOLOGY mean? (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la psychologie physiologique?

Qu'est-ce que la psychologie physiologique?

Septembre 14, 2022

Bien que la psychologie physiologique soit strictement développée à la fin du XIXe siècle Basé sur un texte de Wilhelm Wundt intitulé Principes de psychologie physiologique, ce domaine d’étude trouve ses racines dans les Grecs anciens, qui cherchaient déjà à élucider ce qui nous rend si unique.

Bien que des philosophes comme Aristote pensaient que le cerveau ne servait qu'à refroidir le sang, affirmant que l'esprit résidait dans le cœur, des figures telles que Hippocrate et Galen proposaient des scénarios plus clairs sur l'importance du cerveau sur le comportement.

Galen, un médecin grec (129 - 200 ap. J.-C.) considérait le cerveau comme un organe si important qu'il venait disséquer vaches, moutons, cochons, chats et chiens pour l'étudier.


Psychologie physiologique après la révolution scientifique

Plus près dans le temps, aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, les positions intellectuelles liées à la physique et aux mathématiques ont maintenu un axe central dans l'étude du comportement . Un jeune René Descartes, fasciné par les mécanismes cachés qui animaient les statues des Jardins royaux de l’Ouest de Paris, a tracé sa théorie du fonctionnement du corps autour de ces dispositifs technologiques.

Dans son esprit, l'eau sous pression qui déplaçait les statues mobiles était remplacée par le liquide céphalo-rachidien, les cylindres par les muscles et la valve par la glande pinéale. Cela amènerait plus d'hommes de son temps à postuler de nouveaux modèles autour du fonctionnement du corps humain.


Les découvertes de Galvani

Le physiologiste italien Luigi Galvani a porté un coup à la façon dont le système proposé par Descartes avait été compris , après avoir découvert que la stimulation du nerf d’une grenouille provoquait la contraction du muscle auquel elle était attachée.

Il a observé que le cerveau ne gonfle pas les muscles en leur envoyant du liquide sous pression à travers les nerfs ; le fonctionnement du système nerveux n'était pas si simple et mécanique. Il s’agissait d’une contribution essentielle à l’état des connaissances sur la physiologie du comportement.

Johannes Müller

Johannes Müller était un autre personnage clé de la naissance de la psychologie physiologique; son travail d'expérimentation en extirpant et en isolant les organes d'animaux sur lesquels il avait analysé en profondeur ses réponses en les exposant à diverses substances chimiques atteindrait expliquer que les nerfs ne sont pas seulement des moteurs, mais aussi des éléments d'un système de capteurs .


Sa plus grande contribution a été précisément sa doctrine des énergies nerveuses spécifiques: la qualité de la sensation ne dépend pas du stimulus qui affecte les sens, mais du type de fibre nerveuse qui intervient dans la perception.

Un exemple en est que les stimuli électriques appliqués aux nerfs optiques ne provoquent que des sensations lumineuses.

Pierre Florens et Paul Broca

Le mode de Müller était également partagé par Pierre Flourens et Paul Broca , expérimenté directement dans l’organe à travers différentes techniques.

Flourens, physiologiste français du XIXe siècle, considéré comme le fondateur de la science expérimentale du cerveau, a examiné le comportement de divers animaux après l'extirpation de différentes parties du cerveau et a démontré de manière concluante que ces parties de l'organe prélevé étaient responsables de la fonction affectée; de cette manière, un animal dont le cervelet est retiré aura des problèmes de coordination motrice.

Des années plus tard, Paul Broca a utilisé des principes similaires à ceux de Flourens , mais avec des patients spécifiques, ceux avec des problèmes de langage. De cette manière, il a découvert dans des études post-mortem que la plupart de ses patients (à l'exception d'un seul) avaient subi des dommages au troisième gyrus frontal gauche.

Broca a signalé 25 cas avec ces modifications qui ont affecté l’hémisphère gauche. Les succès de Broca ont été une grande impulsion pour d'autres personnages comme Wernicke étudieront les bases neuroanatomiques liées au langage , et conservez les contributions liées à l’étude du comportement. Grâce à ces contributions, entre autres choses, nous savons quelle logique se cache derrière les aphasies.

La psychologie physiologique aujourd'hui

Actuellement, les psychologues physiologistes sont basés sur l'expérimentation et utilisent à la fois la généralisation et la réduction pour expliquer le comportement.

Psychologie physiologique Il a un caractère multidisciplinaire et est renforcé par des sources telles que la médecine, la biologie, la chimie, etc. . Enfin, il convient également de mentionner des contributions telles que Ramón y Cajal, Francisco Varela, Mark Rosenzweig, Arnold Leiman, entre autres.Ensemble, ils ont créé les bases fondamentales pour le développement de cette science.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rosenzweig, M & Leiman, A. (1992) Physiological Psychology. Espagne: Mc Graw Hill.
  • Sagan, Carl. 1986. Cerveau de Broca: réflexions sur le romantisme de la science. New York: Livres Ballantine.
  • Kandel, E.R .; Schwartz, J.H .; Jessell, T.M. (2001). Principes de neuroscience. Madrid: McGraw Hill.
  • Carlson, Neil. (2006). Physiologie du comportement, Madrid, Pearson Education.

Le stress expliqué simplement (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes