yes, therapy helps!
What is positive or negative reinforcement in Psychology?

What is positive or negative reinforcement in Psychology?

May 2, 2024

B. F. Skinner, one of the key theorists of behaviorist orientation, defined reinforcement as a type of learning based on the association of a behavior with the consequences derived from it, which increase or decrease the probability that it will be executed again. When they are negative we talk about punishment, and when they are positive reinforcement.

Within the learning by reinforcement we distinguish two types of consequence: positive and negative reinforcement . While positive reinforcement occurs when the behavior involves obtaining a prize, the negative reinforcement consists in the avoidance or withdrawal of an aversive stimulus. Let's see the main characteristics of both procedures.


  • Related article: "5 behavior modification techniques"

Reinforcement and operant conditioning

The concepts "positive reinforcement" and "negative reinforcement" are framed in the paradigm of instrumental or operant conditioning . Unlike classical or Pavlovian conditioning, in which the association between a stimulus and a response is learned, in the instrumental the subject associates the performance of a behavior with certain consequences.

The operant conditioning arose from the work of the behaviorists Edward Thorndike, who studied the process by which cats managed to escape from "problem boxes", and Burrhus F. Skinner, who systematically described the characteristics of this learning procedure and what applied to diverse fields, especially education.


Skinner distinguished three types of instrumental learning : that of punishment, which consists in the appearance of an aversive stimulus after the execution of the behavior, that of omission, in which the response is associated with the absence of reward, and that of reinforcement, in which the behavior is rewarded. Within this procedure we find positive and negative reinforcement.

In the framework of operant conditioning the consequences of the behavior can be positive or negative for the recipient; however, this differentiation is not the one that separates positive reinforcement from negative, but rather when the behavior has appetitive consequences we talk about reinforcement , and of punishment when they are aversive.

When we refer to reinforcement or punishment, the terms "positive" and "negative" do not refer to the pleasantness of the consequence, but rather to the occurrence or disappearance of a given stimulus : in positive reinforcement it is learned that a reward will be obtained if something is done, and in the negative that an unpleasant stimulus will be avoided or eliminated.


  • Related article: "Operant conditioning: concepts and main techniques"

What is positive reinforcement?

In the learning by positive reinforcement the accomplishment of a behavior is associated with the obtaining of a pleasant consequence. This does not have to be an object, not even tangible ; food, substances, a smile, a verbal message or the appearance of a pleasant emotion are likely to be understood as positive reinforcers in many contexts.

A father who congratulates his young daughter every time he uses the toilet correctly strengthens a learning by positive reinforcement; The same happens when a company gives economic bonuses to its most productive workers, and even when we get a bag of chips after putting a coin in a vending machine.

The concept "positive reinforcement" refers to the award that follows the behavior , whereas positive reinforcement is the procedure by which the subject who learns makes the association. However, the terms "reinforcement" and "reinforcement" are often used interchangeably, probably because there is no such distinction in English.

From a technical point of view we can say that in positive reinforcement there is a positive contingency between a concrete response and an appetitive stimulus. The awareness of this contingency motivates the subject to execute the behavior in order to obtain the reward (or reinforcement).

Defining the negative reinforcement

Unlike what happens in the positive, in the negative reinforcement the instrumental response entails the disappearance of an aversive stimulus , that is, an object or situation that motivates the subject to escape or to try not to come into contact with it.

In behavioral terms, reinforcement in this procedure is the disappearance or non-appearance of aversive stimulation. As we have previously stated, the word "negative" refers to the fact that the reward does not consist in obtaining a stimulus but in its absence.

This type of learning is divided in turn into two procedures: escape training and avoidance training. In the negative reinforcement of avoidance the behavior prevents the appearance of the aversive stimulus; For example, when an agoraphobic person avoids using public transport to avoid the anxiety that is supposed to be being negatively reinforced.

In contrast, escape consists of the disappearance of an aversive stimulus that is present before the subject executes the behavior. Some examples of negative exhaust reinforcement they are that an alarm clock stops at the press of a button, that a mother buys her child what she asks to stop crying or that consuming an analgesic relieves pain.


Operant conditioning: Positive-and-negative reinforcement and punishment | MCAT | Khan Academy (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que le renforcement positif ou négatif en psychologie?

Qu'est-ce que le renforcement positif ou négatif en psychologie?

Juin 21, 2022

B. F. Skinner, l'un des principaux théoriciens de l'orientation comportementaliste, a défini le renforcement comme un type d'apprentissage basé sur l'association d'un comportement à des conséquences qui en découlent, qui augmente ou diminue la probabilité qu'il soit exécuté à nouveau. Quand ils sont négatifs, on parle de punition et quand ils sont un renforcement positif.

Au sein de l'apprentissage par renforcement, nous distinguons deux types de conséquences: renforcement positif et négatif . Bien que le renforcement positif se produise lorsque le comportement implique l'obtention d'un prix, le renforcement négatif consiste à éviter ou à retirer un stimulus aversif. Voyons les caractéristiques principales des deux procédures.


  • Article connexe: "5 techniques de modification du comportement"

Renforcement et conditionnement opérant

Les concepts "renforcement positif" et "renforcement négatif" sont encadrés dans le paradigme du conditionnement instrumental ou opérant . Contrairement au conditionnement classique ou pavlovien, dans lequel on apprend l'association entre un stimulus et une réponse, le sujet associe dans l'instrument le comportement d'un comportement à certaines conséquences.

Le conditionnement opérant découlait du travail des comportementalistes Edward Thorndike, qui avait étudié le processus par lequel les chats réussissaient à échapper aux "boîtes à problèmes", et de Burrhus F. Skinner, qui avait décrit systématiquement les caractéristiques de cette procédure d'apprentissage et ce appliquée à divers domaines, notamment l’éducation.


Skinner a distingué trois types d'apprentissage instrumental : celle de la peine, qui consiste en l’apparition d’un stimulus aversif après l’exécution du comportement, celle de l’omission, dans laquelle la réponse est associée à l’absence de récompense, et celle du renforcement, dans laquelle le comportement est récompensé. Dans cette procédure, nous trouvons un renforcement positif et négatif.

Dans le cadre du conditionnement opérant, les conséquences du comportement peuvent être positives ou négatives pour le destinataire; cependant, cette différenciation n’est pas celle qui sépare le renforcement positif du négatif, mais plutôt quand le comportement a des conséquences appétitives on parle de renforcement et de punition quand ils sont aversifs.

Lorsque nous parlons de renforcement ou de punition, les termes "positif" et "négatif" ne font pas référence à l’agréabilité de la conséquence, mais plutôt à la apparition ou disparition d'un stimulus donné : dans le renforcement positif, on apprend qu'une récompense sera obtenue si quelque chose est fait, et dans la négative, un stimulus désagréable sera évité ou éliminé.


  • Article connexe: "Conditionnement opérant: concepts et techniques principales"

Qu'est-ce que le renforcement positif?

Dans l'apprentissage par renforcement positif, la réalisation d'un comportement est associée à l'obtention d'une conséquence agréable. Cela ne doit pas nécessairement être un objet, pas même tangible ; des aliments, des substances, un sourire, un message verbal ou l'apparition d'une émotion agréable sont susceptibles d'être compris comme des éléments de renforcement positifs dans de nombreux contextes.

Un père qui félicite sa jeune fille chaque fois qu’il utilise les toilettes renforce l’apprentissage par le renforcement positif; Il en va de même lorsqu'une entreprise verse des primes économiques à ses travailleurs les plus productifs, et même lorsque nous obtenons un sac de chips après avoir placé une pièce de monnaie dans un distributeur automatique.

La notion de "renforcement positif" fait référence à la sentence qui suit le comportement , tandis que le renforcement positif est la procédure par laquelle le sujet qui apprend fait l'association. Cependant, les termes "renforcement" et "renforcement" sont souvent utilisés de manière interchangeable, probablement parce qu'il n'y a pas une telle distinction en anglais.

D'un point de vue technique, on peut dire que dans le renforcement positif, il existe une contingence positive entre une réponse concrète et un stimulus appétitif. La prise de conscience de cette éventualité motive le sujet à exécuter le comportement afin d'obtenir la récompense (ou le renforcement).

Définir le renforcement négatif

Contrairement à ce qui se passe dans le positif, dans le renforcement négatif la réponse instrumentale entraîne la disparition d'un stimulus aversif c'est-à-dire un objet ou une situation qui incite le sujet à s'échapper ou à essayer de ne pas entrer en contact avec lui.

En termes comportementaux, le renforcement de cette procédure est la disparition ou la non-apparition d'une stimulation aversive. Comme nous l'avons dit précédemment, le mot "négatif" fait référence au fait que la récompense ne consiste pas à obtenir un stimulus mais à en faire défaut.

Ce type d’apprentissage est divisé en deux procédures: formation à l’évasion et formation à l’évitement. Dans le renforcement négatif de l'évitement le comportement empêche l'apparition du stimulus aversif; Par exemple, lorsqu'un agoraphobe évite d'utiliser les transports en commun pour éviter l'angoisse censée être renforcée négativement.

En revanche, l'évasion consiste en la disparition d'un stimulus aversif présent avant que le sujet n'exécute le comportement. Quelques exemples de renforcement d'échappement négatif ils pensent qu'un réveil s'arrête à la pression d'un bouton, qu'une mère achète à son enfant ce qu'elle demande d'arrêter de pleurer ou que la consommation d'un analgésique soulage la douleur.


Le renforcement positif et négatif. (Juin 2022).


Articles Connexes