yes, therapy helps!
What is psychopedagogical counseling?

What is psychopedagogical counseling?

September 15, 2022

Psychopedagogical counseling is defined as an intervention from an external agent independent of the advisory body (the educational center and its professional components) in which a collaborative relationship is established between both parties in order to deal with possible problems that may arise. they may arise in the exercise of professional teaching practice, as in the global prevention of their future appearance.

Thus, in psycho-pedagogical counseling there are two main objectives: the clinical one, or "direct intervention" in real and current dysfunctional situations, and the one of "professional training", more related to the preventive aspect.


Main functions of psychopedagogical counseling

Cox, French and Loucks-Horsley (1987) made a list of the functions attributable to the advisory group, which were differentiated according to three different phases of development of the advisory intervention: initiation, development and institutionalization.

1. Initiation phase

With regard to the initiation phase, the advisory figure must assess the needs, capacities and resources presented by the educational center as well as the client with whom it collaborates and the group of final beneficiaries of the action. Further, must make an assessment of the type of practices that are applied in the center , as well as the preparation of the list of objectives and goals to achieve with the intervention.


In the same way, it should work on the creation of its proposal to improve the current practice of the center by providing training in new work strategies; organizing and assigning different functions to the teaching group; acting in the optimization of both material and non-material resources; and finally, facilitating the establishment of a positive and committed link of collaboration between the various parties involved in the intervention process.

2. Development phase

In the development phase the consultant should emphasize the offer of training in the solution of concrete problems existing in the educational practice of the center in question, as well as to follow up on the proposals of the suggested changes and carry out an evaluation of said process.

3. Institutionalization phase

In the final phase of institutionalization, the aim is to incorporate the set of actions carried out into the list of guidelines and curriculum of the intervened educational center. As well an evaluation and monitoring of the implemented program is carried out and the teacher training is continued (especially in case of new incorporations to the staff) and the allocation of resources to enable its continuity once the advisory group has finished its work in the educational center.


Characteristics of the psycho-pedagogical counseling service

Among the characteristics that define the psycho-pedagogical counseling service, it is important to point out that it is an indirect intervention, since the adviser works together with the professionals of the center (the client) so that the guidelines provided are finally reversed in the students (last users). Thus, could be defined as a "triadic relationship", in which a commitment is established between the advisory group and the client .

On the other hand, as previously mentioned, it is a cooperative, consensual and non-hierarchical relationship, in which both parties undertake to collaborate together as equals. Finally, as it consists of an independent body, the advisory group does not exercise any position of authority or control over its client, and therefore it is understood that its relationship is non-binding in nature.

Possible criticisms of the role of the psychopedagogical counselor

As stated by Hernández (1992), some of the criticisms regarding the role and intervention of the advisory figure in the educational center refer to the feeling reflected, on the part of the teaching professional team, of a decrease in one's autonomy in terms of to the performance of their daily work.

In addition, linked with this feeling of lack of freedom of action, The group of teachers can develop the idea that their task is confined to the performance of bureaucratic procedures , being limited its creative capacity to make possible innovative proposals. On the other hand, the fact of understanding the advisory group as a mediating agent between the administration and the education system can reduce the connotation of independence of the advisory figure.

Psychopedagogical counseling in the educational center

In the proposal made by Rodríguez Romero (1992, 1996a) on the general functions performed by the figure of pedagogical advice in the field of education, the following stand out: training, guidance, innovation, supervision and organization.

With the exception of the supervision function, the remaining four have been accepted and agreed upon without any theoretical-practical questioning. Regarding the supervision function, yes There is some discrepancy in that the intrinsic nature of the advisory function itself It is understood that the relationship established between the advisory body and the advisory body is one of cooperation, defined by a link between equal parts. Thus, the concept of supervision conflicts with this type of operation, since the latter term is associated with a connotation of asymmetry or hierarchy, meaning that the supervisory body is at a higher level, while the supervised body would be at a higher level. a lower level.

The Psychopedagogical Counseling Teams (EAP)

As indicated above, two are the main functions of the psycho-pedagogical counseling teams in the educational field :

The first is related to a purpose of solving real problems, already existing in the operation of daily teaching practice. This "remedial" function focuses on the problematic situation in itself and aims to offer a solution at a more precise level.

The second refers to a more preventive objective or "trainer" and is oriented to the advice given to the team of teachers in order to provide them with strategies and resources to favor the proper functioning of their professional practice and avoid future problems. Thus, the advice is not focused on the problematic situation, but on the intervention in the teaching staff to equip them with certain skills and competences to carry out in their teaching task in a general way.

This second option is the central function in the EAP teams, although they can also be used in a complementary way to the first one.

A significant consideration regarding the particularities of the EAP teams refers to their characterization as a highly professional and competent group in the field of educational counseling. This, makes associate with this figure a high connotation of collegiality in its area of ​​professional performance. Derived from the traditional generation of certain types of criticism related to the establishment of a clear and specific definition of what exactly is a psychopedagogical counseling team and what are its specific functions (role conflicts), an internal movement of self-reaffirmation has been generated in order to combat these criticisms coming from other external groups.

Bibliographic references:

  • Álvarez González M., Bisquerra Alzina, R. (2012): Educational Guidance. Wolters Kluwer. Madrid
  • Bisquerra, R. (1996). Origins and development of the counseling. Madrid: Narcea
  • Hervás Avilés, R.M. (2006). Guidance and Psychopedagogical Intervention and processes of change. Granada: University Editorial Group.

The Use of Video in Psychotherapy and Psycho-education (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce qu'un conseil psychopédagogique?

Qu'est-ce qu'un conseil psychopédagogique?

Janvier 6, 2023

Le conseil psychopédagogique est défini comme une intervention d’un agent externe indépendant de l’organe consultatif (le centre éducatif et ses composantes professionnelles), dans le cadre de laquelle une relation de collaboration est établie entre les deux parties afin de traiter les problèmes éventuels pouvant survenir. ils peuvent surgir dans l'exercice de la pratique de l'enseignement professionnel, comme dans la prévention globale de leur apparition future.

Ainsi, dans le conseil psychopédagogique, il y a deux objectifs principaux: le clinique, ou "intervention directe" dans des situations dysfonctionnelles réelles et actuelles, et celui de "formation professionnelle", davantage lié à l'aspect préventif.


Principales fonctions du conseil psychopédagogique

Cox, French et Loucks-Horsley (1987) ont dressé une liste des fonctions attribuées au groupe consultatif, différenciées selon trois phases différentes du développement de l'intervention consultative: initiation, développement et institutionnalisation.

1. Phase d'initiation

En ce qui concerne la phase de lancement, le conseil doit évaluer les besoins, les capacités et les ressources présentés par le centre d’enseignement, le client avec lequel il collabore et le groupe de bénéficiaires finaux de l’action. En outre, doit évaluer le type de pratiques appliquées dans le centre , ainsi que la préparation de la liste des objectifs à atteindre avec l’intervention.


De la même manière, il devrait travailler à la création de sa proposition visant à améliorer les pratiques actuelles du centre en offrant une formation aux nouvelles stratégies de travail; organiser et attribuer différentes fonctions au groupe d'enseignement; agir dans l'optimisation des ressources matérielles et non matérielles; et enfin, faciliter l'établissement d'un lien de collaboration positif et engagé entre les différentes parties impliquées dans le processus d'intervention.

2. Phase de développement

En phase de développement, le consultant doit mettre l’accent sur l’offre de formation à la résolution de problèmes concrets. existant dans la pratique éducative du centre en question, ainsi que pour donner suite aux propositions des modifications suggérées et procéder à une évaluation dudit processus.

3. Phase d'institutionnalisation

Dans la phase finale d’institutionnalisation, l’objectif est d’incorporer l’ensemble des actions menées dans la liste des lignes directrices et du programme du centre d’enseignement concerné. Aussi une évaluation et un suivi du programme mis en œuvre sont effectués et la formation des enseignants est poursuivie (en particulier en cas de nouvelle incorporation au personnel) et l'allocation de ressources pour permettre sa continuité une fois que le groupe consultatif aura terminé ses travaux dans le centre éducatif.


Caractéristiques du service de conseil psychopédagogique

Parmi les caractéristiques qui définissent le service de conseil psychopédagogique, il est important de souligner qu’il s’agit d’une intervention indirecte, car le conseiller collabore avec les professionnels du centre (le client), de sorte que les directives fournies sont finalement inversées. étudiants (derniers utilisateurs). Pour lui, pourrait être défini comme une "relation triadique", dans laquelle un engagement est établi entre le groupe consultatif et le client .

Comme mentionné précédemment, il s’agit en revanche d’une relation de coopération, consensuelle et non hiérarchique, dans laquelle les deux parties s’engagent à collaborer sur un pied d’égalité. Enfin, en tant qu’organe indépendant, le groupe consultatif n’exerce aucune position d’autorité ou de contrôle sur son client; il est donc entendu que sa relation est de nature non contraignante.

Critiques possibles du rôle du conseiller psychopédagogique

Comme indiqué par Hernández (1992), certaines des critiques concernant le rôle et l’intervention de la personnalité consultative dans le centre éducatif font référence au sentiment de la part de l’équipe de professionnels de la pédagogie de voir son autonomie diminuée à la performance de leur travail quotidien.

En outre, lié à ce sentiment de manque de liberté d’action, Le groupe d'enseignants peut développer l'idée que leur tâche se limite à la performance des procédures bureaucratiques , étant limité sa capacité créatrice à rendre possibles des propositions innovantes. D'autre part, le fait de comprendre le groupe consultatif en tant qu'agent de médiation entre l'administration et le système éducatif peut réduire la connotation d'indépendance de la personnalité consultative.

Conseil psychopédagogique dans le centre éducatif

Dans la proposition de Rodríguez Romero (1992, 1996a) sur les fonctions générales remplies par la figure du conseil pédagogique dans le domaine de l'éducation, on distingue: formation, orientation, innovation, supervision et organisation.

À l'exception de la fonction de supervision, les quatre autres ont été acceptés et approuvés sans remise en question théorique ou pratique. En ce qui concerne la fonction de supervision, oui Il existe certaines divergences en ce que la nature intrinsèque de la fonction de conseil elle-même Il est entendu que la relation établie entre l’organe consultatif et l’organe consultatif est une relation de coopération, définie par un lien entre parties égales. Ainsi, la notion de supervision entre en conflit avec ce type d'opération, ce dernier terme étant associé à une connotation d'asymétrie ou de hiérarchie, ce qui signifie que l'organe de surveillance se situe à un niveau supérieur, alors que l'organe supervisé serait à un niveau supérieur. un niveau inférieur.

Les équipes de conseil psychopédagogique (EAP)

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, deux sont les fonctions principales des équipes de conseil psychopédagogique dans le domaine de l'éducation :

Le premier est lié à un objectif de résolution de problèmes réels, déjà existants dans le fonctionnement de la pratique pédagogique quotidienne. Cette fonction "corrective" se concentre sur la situation problématique en soi et vise à offrir une solution à un niveau plus précis.

La seconde se réfère à un objectif plus préventif ou "formateur" et est orientée vers les conseils donnés à l'équipe d'enseignants afin de leur fournir des stratégies et des ressources pour favoriser le bon fonctionnement de leur pratique professionnelle et éviter des problèmes futurs. Ainsi, les conseils ne sont pas axés sur la situation problématique, mais sur l’intervention du personnel enseignant pour lui donner certaines aptitudes et compétences nécessaires pour s’acquitter de sa tâche pédagogique de manière générale.

Cette seconde option est la fonction centrale des équipes EAP, bien qu'elles puissent également être utilisées de manière complémentaire à la première.

Une considération importante concernant les particularités des équipes du PAE concerne leur caractérisation en tant que groupe hautement professionnel et compétent dans le domaine du conseil éducatif. Ceci associe à cette figure une forte connotation de collégialité dans son domaine de performance professionnelle. Dérivé de la génération traditionnelle de certains types de critiques liées à l'établissement d'une définition claire et spécifique de ce qu'est exactement une équipe de conseil psychopédagogique et de ses fonctions spécifiques (conflits de rôles), un mouvement interne d'auto-réaffirmation a été généré afin de combattre ces critiques venant d’autres groupes externes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Álvarez González M., Bisquerra Alzina, R. (2012): Educational Guidance. Wolters Kluwer. Madrid
  • Bisquerra, R. (1996). Origines et développement de l'orientation psychopédagogique. Madrid: Narcea
  • Hervás Avilés, R.M. (2006). Orientation et intervention psychopédagogique et processus de changement. Grenade: Groupe de rédaction universitaire.

La psychopédagogie positive expliquée : Interview de Aude (Apprendre avec plaisir) (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes