yes, therapy helps!
What is schizophrenia? Symptoms and treatments

What is schizophrenia? Symptoms and treatments

November 29, 2022

If someone speaks to us with mental disorder, probably one of the first words (possibly next to depression) that comes to mind is the one that gives title to this article: schizophrenia .

And is that this disorder is one of the best known and probably the most literature has been published, there are vestiges and stories that make people think since antiquity that different people (who even considered themselves possessed by spirits) manifested visions, thoughts, behaviors and strange expressions that coincide in great measure with the symptoms of this disorder. Throughout this document we will talk about what is schizophrenia, how it affects those who suffer it and how it is treated.


  • Related article: "The 16 most common mental disorders"

What is schizophrenia?

Schizophrenia is one of the most widely known mental disorders in general, and the main one of the psychotic type disorders . We are facing an alteration that supposes and generates an important alteration in the life of the sufferer, requiring his diagnosis of compliance with a series of criteria.

Thus, the diagnosis of this mental disorder requires that during a minimum of six months most of the time at least two of the following symptoms occur (and each one for at least one month): hallucinations, delusions, alterations and disorganizations of the patient. language, catatonia or negative symptoms such as praise, affective flattening and / or apathy.


Perhaps the most common and prototypical symptom is the presence of hallucinations, usually of an auditory nature and in the form of second-person voices, which may be accompanied by self-referential delusions, persecution and theft, implantation or reading of thought .

It is important to keep in mind that these hallucinations are not something invented: the subject really feels them as something external. However, it is usually one's own thoughts that are experienced as coming from outside (it is speculated that they may be due to the disconnection between prefrontal and regions of speech that hinders the self-consciousness of subvocal speech) or of anomalous interpretations of external noises.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 5 differences between psychosis and schizophrenia"

Positive and negative symptoms

The predominant psychotic symptoms in schizophrenia They have been grouped generally into two major categories, positive and negative symptoms, which have different characteristics and effects on the patient.


The positive symptoms would refer to those alterations that suppose a exacerbation or alteration of the capacities and habitual functioning of the patient , generally adding something to that operation. An example of this would be hallucinations, delusions and strange behaviors).

As far as negative symptoms are concerned, they will refer to those alterations that suppose a loss of existing skills before. It is the case of the alogia or impoverishment of the thought, the affective flattening or the apathy.

Course of psychopathology

Schizophrenia is currently considered a chronic disorder. This disorder usually occurs in the form of outbreaks , although there are cases in which they do not emerge as such, but there is a constant deterioration. Usually psychotic outbreaks arise, in which there are many positive symptoms such as hallucinations and agitation, after which there is usually a complete or partial remission.

It is possible that a single psychotic outbreak with complete remission may arise, although usually several are occurring throughout life. As we have indicated there may be complete remission, but there may also be cases in which said remission is partial and symptoms and cognitive deterioration remain . This deterioration may remain stable or may be in progress (which is why Kraepelin called this early dementia disorder).

Difficulties

The suffering of a schizophrenia can have a large number of consequences and generate severe difficulties. And is that the set of symptoms described above significantly interfere with the normal functioning of the subject in day to day, in areas such as interpersonal relationships, work or academia.

Social interactions are often reduced and affected to a large extent, and job and even academic skills and possibilities can also be greatly altered, especially if there is deterioration. Subjects with schizophrenia usually present attentional problems and information processing, especially in those cases that present negative symptoms. Its performance in tasks of sustained or selective attention is less.

In addition, the effect that the diagnosis itself has on the subject must be taken into account: schizophrenia is a disorder considered chronic and that to this day is still very stigmatized , even by the people who suffer from it. The diagnosis is a very hard and traumatic moment for the subject, and it is possible that depressive symptomatology and / or a period of bereavement, denial of the diagnosis and opposition to the treatment appear. This last aspect is especially important, since with treatments psychotic outbreaks are greatly reduced or prevented.

Are there types of schizophrenia?

Until relatively few years ago, within schizophrenia we could find a series of typologies that they referred to a type of predominant symptomatology or a form of presentation of the specific disease.

Specifically, one could find paranoid schizophrenia (focused on hallucinations and delusions of persecutory and referential character, together with aggressiveness and other alterations), disorganized (whose main characteristic is chaotic and incoherent behavior and thinking and flattening and affective inadequacy) or the catatonic (in which the most outstanding problems were the psychomotor alterations, with silence and immobility as well as waxy flexibility and agitation), together with the residual (in which the subject had recovered from an outbreak with the exception of some symptoms that remained , usually of a negative type) or simple (with a prevalence of negative symptoms, such as emotional flattery and praise).

However, in the latest version of one of the most widely used manuals in the world, the DSM-5, this distinction is no longer agglutinate all the subtypes in a single diagnostic entity . Despite this it is a decision that is not shared by many professionals, who criticize this measure. In fact, some people propose that more than schizophrenia should be spoken of disorders of the psychotic spectrum, similar to what has happened with autism.

  • Related article: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Hypothesis regarding its causes

The causes of this disorder, like those of many others, are still largely unknown to this day. Despite this, they have been developed throughout history different hypotheses about what can lead to schizophrenia .

Biological hypothesis

At a biological level, what is known is that people suffering from schizophrenia have alterations in the levels of dopamine in certain cerebral pathways. Specifically, those subjects who present alterations of positive type as hallucinations or delusions have an excess or hyperfunction of dopamine synthesis in the mesolimbic pathway, while negative symptoms have been related to a deficit of this hormone in the mesocortical dopaminergic pathway. However, the reason for this phenomenon is still unknown.

Cerebrally, it has been observed that there are differences such as a lower blood flow to the frontal areas of the brain , differences between both temporal lobes and a smaller volume of some structures such as the hippocampus and the amygdala, as well as larger cerebral ventricles.

It has been observed that genetics seems to have a certain role, often looking for the involvement of different genes on the appearance of the disorder. Research shows that there does seem to be a genetic predisposition linked to a greater vulnerability of suffering it , although the disorder does not have to be triggered. They are going to be the set of vital circumstances that surround the individual that determine if this predisposition awakens the disorder or not.

Today, one of the most hypothesized hypotheses is that we are facing a problem in neural migration throughout the development that generates alterations that end up stabilizing and that would only generate manifestations in the presence of stressors or hormonal changes such as those produced by the passage to adulthood.

Another hypothesis links it to the existence of viral infections during pregnancy, on the basis that many subjects with this disorder are usually born in winter and that different conditions such as influenza could cause alterations in the brain.

Psychological hypothesis

In addition to biological hypotheses, there are others of a much more psychological nature that must be taken into account, although they are not hypotheses that are necessarily mutually exclusive.

The most well-known and predominant model that is employed in the psychological explanation of schizophrenia is the diathesis model (or vulnerability) - stress. This hypothesis establishes the existence of a stable and permanent vulnerability, partly biological and partly acquired, to suffer from this disorder and to present problems of information processing or problems of social competence and stress management.These subjects will face different types of stressors, such as life events or other more permanent circumstances (such as a very critical family environment or with excessive emotion expressed to which they will have to adapt), but depending on the circumstances , it may happen that they fail in this adaptation and can not adjust, this ends up generating the unleashing of the disorder.

Some of the oldest theories, of a psychodynamic nature and especially linked to paranoid schizophrenia, consider that the causes of the disorder can be found in the presence of deep psychic conflicts of which the subject defends himself by projection (placing one or some of the the own characteristics in another person) and negation of the conflict, that in occasions end up generating the dissociation of the mind with the reality. However, these explanations have no scientific value.

Treatment

Schizophrenia is a chronic disorder that has no cure recognized as such for the time being, although the symptoms can be treated in such a way that those who suffer it can have a normal life and remain stable, preventing the appearance of outbreaks.

For this, however, the treatment has to be continued throughout the life cycle of the subject in order to prevent the appearance of new outbreaks. In general, drugs known as antipsychotics are used for this purpose, which act by treating the excess of dopamine in the mesolimbic pathway and, in the case of those classified as atypical, also improving the negative symptomatology in increasing the levels of said hormone in the mesocortical pathway. .

It is also working from the psychological field, with therapies such as targeting to work on auditory hallucinations or cognitive restructuring to change cognitions and beliefs (delusions and / or about the disorder itself). As well social skills training and sometimes counseling and re-employment can be of great help to combat the difficulties generated by the disorder. Finally, the psychoeducation of the subject and the environment are fundamental.

Bibliographic references

  • American Psychiatric Association. (2013). Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders. Fifth edition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelona.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Left, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E .; Thief, A and Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Clinical psychology. CEDE Preparation Manual PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid.
  • Vallina, O. and Lemos, S. (2001). Effective psychological treatments for schizophrenia. Psicothema, 13 (3); 345-364.

Schizophrenia Symptoms : What Is Schizophrenia? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que la schizophrénie? Symptômes et traitements

Qu'est-ce que la schizophrénie? Symptômes et traitements

Novembre 30, 2022

Si quelqu'un nous parle de trouble mental, l'un des premiers mots (probablement à côté de la dépression) qui vient à l'esprit est celui qui donne le titre à cet article: la schizophrénie .

Et c’est que ce trouble est l’un des plus connus et probablement le plus documenté, il existe des vestiges et des histoires qui font penser aux gens depuis l’antiquité que différentes personnes (qui se considéraient même possédées par des esprits) manifestaient des visions, pensées, comportements et expressions étranges qui coïncident en grande partie avec les symptômes de ce trouble. Tout au long de ce document, nous parlerons de ce qu'est la schizophrénie, de son impact sur ceux qui en souffrent et de la manière dont elle est traitée.


  • Article connexe: "Les 16 troubles mentaux les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce que la schizophrénie?

La schizophrénie est l’un des troubles mentaux les plus connus en général, et le principal des troubles de type psychotiques . Nous sommes confrontés à une altération qui suppose et génère une altération importante dans la vie du patient, nécessitant son diagnostic de conformité à une série de critères.

Ainsi, le diagnostic de ce trouble mental nécessite qu'au moins deux des symptômes suivants apparaissent pendant au moins six mois (et chacun pendant au moins un mois): hallucinations, délires, altérations et désorganisations du patient. la langue, la catatonie ou des symptômes négatifs tels que des éloges, un aplatissement affectif et / ou une apathie.


Le symptôme le plus courant et le plus typique est peut-être la présence d'hallucinations, généralement de nature auditive et se présentant sous la forme de voix à la deuxième personne, qui peuvent être accompagnées de délires auto-référentiels, de persécution et de vol, implantation ou lecture de pensée .

Il est important de garder à l'esprit que ces hallucinations ne sont pas quelque chose d'inventé: le sujet les ressent vraiment comme quelque chose d'extérieur. Cependant, ce sont généralement ses propres pensées qui sont perçues comme venant de l’extérieur (on pense qu’elles pourraient être dues à la déconnexion entre le préfrontal et les régions du langage qui gêne la conscience de soi du discours sous-vocal) ou à des interprétations anormales des bruits extérieurs.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Les 5 différences entre psychose et schizophrénie"

Symptômes positifs et négatifs

Les symptômes psychotiques prédominants dans la schizophrénie Ils ont été généralement regroupés en deux catégories principales, les symptômes positifs et négatifs, qui ont des caractéristiques et des effets différents sur le patient.


Les symptômes positifs se rapporteraient aux altérations qui supposent une exacerbation ou altération des capacités et du fonctionnement habituel du patient , ajoutant généralement quelque chose à cette opération. Des hallucinations, des délires et des comportements étranges en sont un exemple.

En ce qui concerne les symptômes négatifs, ils feront référence aux modifications qui supposent une perte de compétences existantes avant. C'est le cas de l'alogia ou de l'appauvrissement de la pensée, de l'aplatissement affectif ou de l'apathie.

Cours de psychopathologie

La schizophrénie est actuellement considérée comme un trouble chronique. Ce désordre se produit généralement sous la forme d'épidémies , bien qu’il existe des cas dans lesquels ils n’apparaissent pas en tant que tels, mais il ya une détérioration constante. Généralement, des épidémies psychotiques apparaissent, entraînant de nombreux symptômes positifs tels que des hallucinations et de l'agitation, suivies d'une rémission complète ou partielle.

Il est possible qu'une seule épidémie psychotique avec une rémission complète puisse survenir, bien que plusieurs se produisent généralement au cours de la vie. Comme nous l’avons indiqué, la rémission peut être complète, mais il peut aussi y avoir cas dans lesquels ladite rémission est partielle et les symptômes et la détérioration cognitive restent . Cette détérioration peut rester stable ou être en cours (c'est pourquoi Kraepelin a appelé ce trouble précoce de la démence).

Des difficultés

La souffrance d'une schizophrénie peut avoir un grand nombre de conséquences et générer de graves difficultés. Et est-ce que l'ensemble des symptômes décrits ci-dessus interfère de manière significative dans le fonctionnement normal du sujet au quotidien, dans des domaines tels que les relations interpersonnelles, le travail ou les études.

Les interactions sociales sont souvent réduites et affectées dans une large mesure, et les compétences et possibilités professionnelles et même académiques peuvent également être considérablement altérées, notamment en cas de détérioration. Les sujets atteints de schizophrénie présentent généralement des problèmes d’attention et de traitement de l’information, en particulier dans les cas présentant des symptômes négatifs. Sa performance dans les tâches d’attention soutenue ou sélective est moindre.

En outre, il faut tenir compte de l’effet du diagnostic sur le sujet: la schizophrénie est un trouble considéré comme chronique et que à ce jour est encore très stigmatisé , même par les personnes qui en souffrent. Le diagnostic est un moment très dur et traumatisant pour le sujet, et il est possible qu'une symptomatologie dépressive et / ou une période de deuil, un déni du diagnostic et une opposition au traitement apparaissent. Ce dernier aspect est particulièrement important car avec les traitements, les épidémies psychotiques sont considérablement réduites ou prévenues.

Existe-t-il des types de schizophrénie?

Jusqu'à il y a quelques années, nous pouvions trouver dans la schizophrénie une série de typologies qu'ils se référaient à un type de symptomatologie prédominante ou à une forme de présentation de la maladie spécifique.

En particulier, on pourrait trouver une schizophrénie paranoïde (axée sur les hallucinations et les délires de caractère persécuteur et référentiel, ainsi que l'agressivité et d'autres altérations), désorganisée (dont le comportement principal est un comportement et une pensée chaotiques et incohérents et une aplatissement et une déficience affective) ou la catatonique (dans laquelle les problèmes les plus importants étaient les altérations psychomotrices, avec silence et immobilité, ainsi que la souplesse et l'agitation cireuses), ainsi que le résidu (dans lequel le sujet s'était remis d'une épidémie à l'exception de certains symptômes , généralement de type négatif) ou simple (avec une prévalence de symptômes négatifs, tels que flatterie et louange).

Cependant, dans la dernière version de l’un des manuels les plus utilisés au monde, le DSM-5, cette distinction n’est plus agglutiner tous les sous-types dans une seule entité de diagnostic . Malgré cela, cette décision n’est pas partagée par de nombreux professionnels, qui critiquent cette mesure. En fait, certaines personnes suggèrent de parler davantage de troubles du spectre psychotique que la schizophrénie, à l'instar de ce qui s'est passé avec l'autisme.

  • Article connexe: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Hypothèse sur ses causes

Les causes de ce trouble, comme beaucoup d'autres, sont encore largement inconnues à ce jour. Malgré cela, ils ont été développés au cours de l'histoire différentes hypothèses sur ce qui peut conduire à la schizophrénie .

Hypothèse biologique

Sur le plan biologique, on sait que les personnes atteintes de schizophrénie présentent des altérations des taux de dopamine dans certaines voies cérébrales. Plus précisément, les sujets présentant des altérations de type positif comme des hallucinations ou des illusions présentent un excès ou un hyperfonctionnement de la synthèse de la dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique, tandis que les symptômes négatifs ont été associés à un déficit de cette hormone dans la voie dopaminergique mésocorticale. Cependant, la raison de ce phénomène est encore inconnue.

Cérébralement, il a été observé qu'il existe des différences telles qu'un diminution du flux sanguin dans les zones frontales du cerveau , différences entre les deux lobes temporaux et un plus petit volume de certaines structures telles que l'hippocampe et l'amygdale, ainsi que des ventricules cérébraux plus grands.

Il a été observé que la génétique semble jouer un certain rôle, cherchant souvent à impliquer différents gènes lors de l'apparition du trouble. La recherche montre qu'il semble y avoir une prédisposition génétique liée à une plus grande vulnérabilité de la souffrance , bien que le désordre ne doit pas nécessairement être déclenché. Ils vont être l'ensemble des circonstances vitales qui entourent l'individu et qui déterminent si cette prédisposition réveille le désordre ou non.

Aujourd’hui, l’une des hypothèses les plus hypothétiques est que nous sommes confrontés à un problème de migration neurale tout au long du développement, qui génère des altérations qui finissent par se stabiliser et qui ne produirait que des manifestations en présence de facteurs de stress ou de changements hormonaux tels que ceux produits. par le passage à l'âge adulte.

Une autre hypothèse la relie à l'existence d'infections virales pendant la grossesse, en raison du fait que de nombreux sujets atteints de cette maladie naissent généralement en hiver et que différentes pathologies telles que la grippe pourraient provoquer des altérations du cerveau.

Hypothèse psychologique

Outre les hypothèses biologiques, il en faut d’autres, de nature beaucoup plus psychologique, bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’hypothèses qui s’excluent mutuellement.

Le modèle le plus connu et prédominant utilisé dans l'explication psychologique de la schizophrénie est le modèle de diathèse (ou vulnérabilité) - stress. Cette hypothèse établit l’existence d’une vulnérabilité stable et permanente, en partie biologique et en partie acquise, à souffrir de ce trouble et à poser des problèmes de traitement de l’information ou des problèmes de compétence sociale et de gestion du stress.Ces sujets seront confrontés à différents types de facteurs de stress, tels que des événements de la vie ou d'autres circonstances plus permanentes (telles qu'un environnement familial très critique ou une émotion excessive à laquelle ils devront s'adapter), mais en fonction des circonstances. , il peut arriver qu’ils échouent dans cette adaptation et ne puissent s’ajuster, cela finit par générer le déchaînement du trouble.

Certaines des théories les plus anciennes, de nature psychodynamique et particulièrement liées à la schizophrénie paranoïaque, considèrent que les causes du désordre peuvent être trouvées en présence de conflits psychiques profonds dont le sujet se défend par projection (en plaçant une ou plusieurs des les caractéristiques propres chez une autre personne) et la négation du conflit, qui finissent parfois par générer la dissociation de l'esprit avec la réalité. Cependant, ces explications n'ont aucune valeur scientifique.

Traitement

La schizophrénie est un trouble chronique pour lequel aucun traitement n'est actuellement reconnu, bien que les symptômes peuvent être traités de manière à ce que ceux qui en souffrent puissent mener une vie normale et rester stables, évitant ainsi l'apparition d'épidémies.

Pour cela, cependant, le traitement doit être poursuivi tout au long du cycle de vie du sujet afin d'éviter l'apparition de nouveaux foyers. En général, des médicaments appelés antipsychotiques sont utilisés à cette fin. Ils agissent en traitant l'excès de dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique et, dans le cas de ceux classés comme atypiques, améliorent également la symptomatologie négative en augmentant les niveaux de ladite hormone dans la voie mésocortique. .

Il travaille également dans le domaine psychologique, avec des thérapies telles que le ciblage du travail sur les hallucinations auditives ou la restructuration cognitive pour modifier les cognitions et les croyances (délires et / ou à propos du trouble lui-même). Aussi formation aux compétences sociales et parfois, le conseil et le réemploi peuvent être d'une grande aide pour lutter contre les difficultés générées par le désordre. Enfin, la psychoéducation du sujet et de l'environnement est fondamentale.

Références bibliographiques

  • Association américaine de psychiatrie. (2013). Manuel diagnostique et statistique des troubles mentaux. Cinquième édition. DSM-V. Masson, Barcelone.
  • Santos, J.L. ; García, L.I. ; Calderón, M.A. ; Sanz, L.J .; de los Ríos, P .; Gauche, S .; Román, P .; Hernangómez, L .; Navas, E.; Thief, A et Álvarez-Cienfuegos, L. (2012). Psychologie clinique. Manuel de préparation CEDE PIR, 02. CEDE. Madrid
  • Vallina, O. et Lemos, S. (2001). Traitements psychologiques efficaces pour la schizophrénie. Psicothema, 13 (3); 345-364.

La schizophrénie (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes